Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God, or thank the Black Keys, same difference.
At the risk of just echoing previous reviews, I feel that it is necessicary to emphasize what a breath of fresh air the Black Keys are. Well, that's an ironic way of saying it, becuase this album will have you feeling like your sitting at a table in whatever smokey, dirty bar the Black Keys are playing at tonight. At a time when Emo and other soft, cookie cutter...
Published on April 19 2004 by Steven M Beliveau

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album
Yes, it is a good album, and they get alot of comparisons to the White Stripes, but I think the White Stripes are alot better, this band's music tends to sound the same and it's very monotone, the White Stripes are more energetic.
Published on Sept. 26 2003 by Sarah


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God, or thank the Black Keys, same difference., April 19 2004
By 
Steven M Beliveau (Pittsburgh, #1 Rock and Roll City in America - Esquire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
At the risk of just echoing previous reviews, I feel that it is necessicary to emphasize what a breath of fresh air the Black Keys are. Well, that's an ironic way of saying it, becuase this album will have you feeling like your sitting at a table in whatever smokey, dirty bar the Black Keys are playing at tonight. At a time when Emo and other soft, cookie cutter "rock-and-roll" groups are dominating the charts, it's refreshing to know that there is a band out there that still wants to make music, not just money. The black keys are that to a T. They are all the hype. They prove on this album that two talented musicians are better than four or five uncreative hacks. In this era of subwoofers and bass emphasized music, you won't miss the lack of a bass guitar on this album. For anyone who either misses, or is sorry they missed, the era of Jimmy Hendrix, Led Zepplin, and George Thorogood, your second chance has come along. IF you buy this album, you WILL like it, if you like real music. You don't have to like the blues, or classic rock, or any genre in particular. You just have to like listening to two talented guys enjoy what they're doing on their instuments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great sound, Nov. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
Saw the Black Keys on Leno; sold on their great sound. Haven't heard any rock this good for years. I'm sure this duo will produce a great sound for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, Nov. 19 2011
By 
Jane Skinner (London, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
I picked up this album because I liked (correction, loved) Brothers, and the cover made me chuckle ... then I heard the opening riff - raw, twangy, bluesy, call it what you will - and I was sold. Just love the way these guys rock so solidly through the entire album. As others have said, if you like blues, bluesy rock, rock with a raw etc., get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yeah!, July 19 2004
By 
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
This album is Great. I don't know how these two guys managed to get such a soulful sound while using so few resources, but I'm glad they did. Both of their albums (see also: The Big Come Up)are the kind that I never get tired of. But I should say, that I think Thickfreakness is the stronger of the two because it has a less retro sound. Check this album out, there's never a dull moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars RAAAWW, June 12 2004
By 
-> "jacksontibet" (the land of common sense) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
Yeah. Im just randomly writing reviews of albums i own. I live like 50 minutes from Akron, the home of these dudes. I love the raw dirty sound here (called Medium Fi or something and produced by the drummer) and also the sound of Dans voice. He has a way with pronunciating that makes it seeem like he's saying things in a weird way when he really isnt. Anyhoo, its the music that gets to you- Blues Punk, not like the White Stripes (who i love) but dirtier grittier and RAW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Damn right it's thick, April 19 2004
By 
D. G. Devin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
The Black Keys are two guys from the American mid-west, hard as it to believe that only two people make this thick, rich audio gumbo. They play the blues, post-modern blues with licks of psychedelia and rockabilly, white mid-west blues, punk blues. They write original music, even though you'll swear some of those songs have got to be fifty or sixty years old. Can two white kids from Akron, Ohio play the blues with anything like conviction? Oh, yeah.
Patrick Carney plays drums, and he plays them heavy, the kick-drum thuds into your stomach, the cymbals are muted like they're coated with years of cigarette smoke from greasy clubs and roadhouses. This guy ain't a showoff drummer, he's a hold down the groove until you find yourself breathing in time sort of drummer.
Dan Auerbach plays guitar like he's stringing barbed wire, through an old Ampeg amplifier that is one gig short of meltdown. And he sings like he's done time in Mississippi jails, impossible, this guy is in his early twenties, where did he get the chops to stream that kind of pain through his voice? Can he write a blues lyric? "She want to get out the car, in the middle of the road, her screamin' and hollerin', it's getting mighty old," yup, he can.
This album reeks of cigarette smoke and beer and gasoline fumes, the whole tone reminds me of Exile on Main Street, it's gritty and earthy, three a.m. blues when the band is past caring about the audience and just playing their pain away.
So, The Black Keys, with a guitarist who sounds like he's channeling Elmore James and a drummer who sounds like an idling Chevy 327 with bad lifters are now on Fat Possum records, the real deal. Their music is thick enough to chew, it tips its hat to all the right forefathers(...).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars These guys are amazing, simply amazing, April 6 2004
By 
R. Hess (Oxnard, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
I would give these guys a ten stars if I could. They are so simple yet so profound. Rock rifts that remind me of a mix between Blues and Classic Rock, yet with a style all there own. And vocals that sound like a mix of B.B. King, the Stones, Clapton, and Hendrix. Just amazing. If you can listen to "Have love will travel" and not get into them, you never will. Each song they will take you through such a raw, emotional, and rewarding journey. Try them out, I would argue they are better than the White Stripes, see for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a re-invention of rock, but maybe a re-discovery, March 15 2004
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
To me, what makes this band so incredible is that these two 20ish white boys from Ohio manage to sound like wizened and grizzled old black men from Mississippi or NOLA, who could sit around and tell you about how they used to jam with Muddy Waters. But what makes this music consistently listenable is the unique me-fi record quality, the Cream/Hendrix nostalgia, and the down low lyrics that make you feel cool and sexy while you drive down the highway in your minivan on your way to your Corporate American cubeland breadbasket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Most Refreshing, Real Albums in awhile, Feb. 14 2004
By 
Daniel J McCarthy (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
It's a struggle to find bands creating music today that doesn't sound like half-a-million other bands. The Black Keys have put together two albums that have their own style, soul and voice. The two musicians are extremely cool as weel. They hang out at the bar before their shows, casually walk up to the stage and then absolutely blow the audience away. They are an amazing group to see live. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the blues are back!, Feb. 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Thickfreakness (Audio CD)
Make that 4.5 stars. A really great band and a powerful record. The only reason I give 4.5 instead of ten is because of the muffled sound quality on the record. Definately worth picking up though. Their probably one of the best bands out right now, if not the best. Even if your not into the blues, you'll still love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa009b864)

This product

Thickfreakness
Thickfreakness by the Black Keys (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews