Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars irresistable
Although made as a tribute to the RAF and this episode in World War II history, it nonetheless followed the successful formula of Tora, Tora, Tora, by making the enemy human and reasonable. It captures the essential spirit of the contestants in this epic air battle. The fact it was done for real, before CGI effects were what they are today, is an asset. There is a...
Published on July 8 2004 by Harry Pandolfino

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who's responsible for this?
All of the problems noted by previous reviewers of the DVD are correct: the different opening titles, the changed subtitles, the substitution of the ineffective Walton end title music for Ron Goodwin's beautiful ending, the alternate Churchill quote, the omission of German losses in the tally at the end, etc., etc. Why? Where did this come from? Was it an early version? A...
Published on June 22 2003 by Scaramouche


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who's responsible for this?, June 22 2003
By 
Scaramouche (Redlands, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Battle of Britain (DVD)
All of the problems noted by previous reviewers of the DVD are correct: the different opening titles, the changed subtitles, the substitution of the ineffective Walton end title music for Ron Goodwin's beautiful ending, the alternate Churchill quote, the omission of German losses in the tally at the end, etc., etc. Why? Where did this come from? Was it an early version? A British theatrical release that differed from the American release? I also missed the original UA opening logo, which has been replaced by the modern MGM one. Who makes these weird decisions? Did the producers of the DVD have a clue? Did they care? The image quality is good, and no scenes or shots have been cut, as far as I can tell. The aerial scenes are intact. Like others have said, keep your VHS and laserdisc copies. I waited and waited and waited for this DVD, and what a disappointment. Maybe in 10 years there will be another with all these problems corrected, and some extra features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars irresistable, July 8 2004
By 
Harry Pandolfino (York, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battle of Britain (DVD)
Although made as a tribute to the RAF and this episode in World War II history, it nonetheless followed the successful formula of Tora, Tora, Tora, by making the enemy human and reasonable. It captures the essential spirit of the contestants in this epic air battle. The fact it was done for real, before CGI effects were what they are today, is an asset. There is a reality about it, a versimillitude, that comes from actually using the real articles. It gives the film an authentic look and thus there is no temptation to monkey with history by flooding the skies with an exaggerated computer panoply of planes or having the aircraft demonstrate exciting but very unrealistic maneuvers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy The Tape, Sept. 7 2003
By 
R. L. Smith (Lynwood, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battle of Britain (DVD)
I should have read the reviews before buying the D V D.
But as I have an old V H S copy that I love,
I thought the D V D would be so much better.
But the changes and omissions are very disappointing.
Buy the V H S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect-why the changes???, Aug. 25 2003
By 
Vincent Solfronk (Birmingham, Alabama USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battle of Britain (DVD)
As several reviewers have stated, the DVD version is almost picture perfect, but somehow the final product was fiddled with between the VHS and DVD products. The inclusion of additional subtitles is interesting for those of us who dont speak German.
Again, the real sore point is the altered ending-the original/VHS is much much better than the DVD version. WHy the change??? Whoever suggested it should be fired-the VHS ending is much much better. Still, the DVD is a good buy just for the clearer pictures and yes hopefully they will change back to the original in a "Special Edition".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful action packed movie, Battle of Britain., July 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battle of Britain (DVD)
This purchase arrived on time and was just as the seller described. I found this to be a beautiful movie, Battle of Britain, and plan to watch it agains. It has wonderful photophography and the action scenes kept me on the edge of my seat. Lots of times I wondered how the director, photographers did their work so well. I like this movie and am glad I purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battle of Britain (DVD)
Another of my favorite films from when it was first released. I just needed a north american dvd copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spitfire and Hawker, May 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Supermarine Spitfire had a lower attrition rate and a higher victory-to-loss ratio than the Hawker Hurricanes served in all the major theaters of the Second World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great war movie, Nov. 10 2013
By 
Diane Edwards - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battle of Britain (DVD)
Another awesome war movie with a superb cast. I'm very fond of good war movies and this didn't disappoint me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Battle of Britain DVD, Nov. 8 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battle of Britain (DVD)
True icon of the air war over Britain during WWII. The movie holds your interest through its entirety and appears to be a pretty accurate depiction of events. It's nice how they weave the contributions of the WAAF into the film and a reminder of the horrors that war can inflict on people in general. Excellent movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review of Battle of Britain, Oct. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battle of Britain (DVD)
Excellent war movie with an all-star cast. Amazing to see all those stars in their younger days before the ravages of time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battle of Britain
Battle of Britain by Guy Hamilton (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 15.98 CDN$ 7.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews