Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive collection
My 20+ years of adoration for this man and his music would only warrant 5 stars.
1978- Zerox (Punk Era)If you recall the late 70s it was filled with disco and manilo, and this was just so opposite of that.
1980- Kings of the Wild Frontier,Dog Eat Dog,Antmusic,Your'e So Physical- All of these tracks are strong and original.
1981- Stand and Deliver, Prince...
Published on Jan. 26 2004 by Emily

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More Concise than "Antics"
Adam and The Ants were probably more exciting than their actual music, but while they were shaking people up with their antics, they were great fun. Their lone really good album, "Kings Of The Wild Frontier," is well represented here, but with the exception of updating the song list to include a couple of later day 80's and 90's songs, it's hard to call any of...
Published on May 5 2004 by Tim Brough


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars More Concise than "Antics", May 5 2004
By 
Tim Brough "author and music buff" (Springfield, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Essential Adam Ant (Rm) (Audio CD)
Adam and The Ants were probably more exciting than their actual music, but while they were shaking people up with their antics, they were great fun. Their lone really good album, "Kings Of The Wild Frontier," is well represented here, but with the exception of updating the song list to include a couple of later day 80's and 90's songs, it's hard to call any of this music "essential." The digital remaster does enhance the flat sounding CD's from Ant's career, and maybe a notch better than "Antics." I'm also grateful that someone realized that, historically, "Dirk Wears White Sox" smelled of old laundry, and limited this collection solely to "Zerox" from his formative period.
If you remember the post-"Dirk" videos and songs fondly, this is an entertaining byproduct of the video happy era when "Antmusic" lured in hip college and high schoolers (I was a college junior at the time). So to my tastes, I'd had wished for "Beat My Guest" over the vile annoyance of "Ant Rap" and the inclusion of "Vive Le Rock" from the album of the same name. Had that been the track listing, I may have bumped the CD up a star. But like most of the many labels "Essential/Millenium" styled series, there seems to be an unwritten rule to give not quite everything worth having on each disc.
These days, Adam's personal problems are certainly overshadowing his days of rock and roll notoriety. But there's just no denying it, when Adam and secret weapon/guitarist Marco were in their prime, they racked up a string of hooky singles that most song writers would sell their beads and makeup for. Even his last two hits (the dance heavy "Room At The Top" and the dreamy "Wonderful") have a certain charm that belie Adam's 15 year run as a record maker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive collection, Jan. 26 2004
By 
Emily "Emily" (pittsburgh pa usa) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Essential Adam Ant (Rm) (Audio CD)
My 20+ years of adoration for this man and his music would only warrant 5 stars.
1978- Zerox (Punk Era)If you recall the late 70s it was filled with disco and manilo, and this was just so opposite of that.
1980- Kings of the Wild Frontier,Dog Eat Dog,Antmusic,Your'e So Physical- All of these tracks are strong and original.
1981- Stand and Deliver, Prince Charming
1982-Friend or Foe, Goody 2 Shoes, Desperate but Not Serious,Place in the Country - Signature sound of the "80s"
1983- Strip, Puss n' Boots
1985- Apollo 9
1990- Room At The Top
1995- Wonderful - Excellent song! One of my all time favs.
** I do like this collection but I would have preferred a few different tracks. I think that they should have ditched the Apollo 9 track, and used the version from Live-Aid because it was/is infinately better.
** Can't Set Rules About Love should have been on this instead of Room at the Top, if they had to pick one from that album.
** Vampires and Beautiful Dream should have been considered from the Wonderful CD.
The early stuff is the best, but overall a nice collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Don't Drink. Don't Smoke. What Do You Do?", April 20 2003
By 
Ce commentaire est de: The Essential Adam Ant (Rm) (Audio CD)
Confessing that you like Adam Ant still won't win you credibility points in a few elite circles, but the truth remains that he was one of pop music's most vibrant figures in the last 25 years. Often a collaboration with guitarist Marco Pirroni, the music of Adam Ant (born Stuart Leslie Goddard) was a hybrid of punk rock, African tribal rhythms, and pop sensibilities that dominated the UK charts for much of the early 1980s. And though his popularity waned by the release of 1985's catastrophic "Vive Le Rock," fans were still humming to many of his hits. Speaking of hits, "Essential Adam Ant" is a collection of his work from 1979 right up to 1995's "Wonderful." Digitally remastered for superior sound, these hits give me back some fond memories of the good old days. The most familiar track is the Top 20 hit "Goody Two Shoes," but there are other fun tunes like "Stand and Deliver," "Desperate but Not Serious," and the Phil Collins-produced "Strip." While the previous compilation "Antics in the Forbidden Zone" has more tracks, "Essential" covers his material more comprehensively and includes his work from the 1990s. It's unlikely that he'll ever make such a big splash as he did 20 years ago, but we can always turn to this disc as a reminder of why he was so popular in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everything the casual Adam Ant fan would ever want!, April 8 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Essential Adam Ant (Rm) (Audio CD)
Sony's "Essential" hits collections, like Warner's similarly-named "Essentials" line and MCA's "20th Century Masters" retrospectives, appear on the surface to be assembly-line compilations of the better-known songs from the likes of Billy Joel, Willie Nelson and, yes, Adam Ant. Although one might assume this CD might suffer from scattershot and tiresomely predictable song selection, the Adam Ant collection does quite well in it's attempt to mash everything onto one disc. Why, Sony has even seen fit to include "Room At The Top" and "Wonderful", which were released by other labels after Adam left Epic in the late 80's. While there are a few tracks I'd have liked to have seen represented, this CD does a fine job including just about every Adam Ant track a casual fan would recognize and makes for a great introduction to the world of Antmusic for new fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Adam Ant came and went, almost as fast as he arrived., April 7 2003
By 
Robertomelbourne (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Essential Adam Ant (Rm) (Audio CD)
Somewhere along the way, Adam Ant was conveniently or is that inconveniently forgotten in the whirlwind that was 1980's pop music.
Adam Ant came and went, almost as fast as he arrived.
In spite of a relatively short career, Adam Ant produced a number of very perfect pop songs, such as Ant Music, Stand and Deliver, Friend or Foe, and Goody Two Shoes.
Adam probably never got the right sort of credit for his music. For so long eclipsed by his stage persona, the quirkiness, and simplicity of his highly catchy pop songs were never completely accepted by either critics or by the general public.
It's a pity, that pop music today, lacks the energy that was evident with Adam Ant, and the whole musical period between 1981 to 1985.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This or Antics in the Forbidden Zone?, May 21 2003
Ce commentaire est de: The Essential Adam Ant (Rm) (Audio CD)
We all already know who Adam and the Ants, maybe even some of us already own the Essential Adam Ant [ORIGINAL RECORDING REMASTERED] disc together with the previous best of collection: Antics in the Forbidden Zone.
Excuse me, I don't have the luxurious to experience this disc, I just wonder if this remastering has significant improvement over the Antics In The Forbidden Zone disc (cheaper and contain more tracks)? Is there anybody has both of this disc and compared them let us know, please?

Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, Dec 12 2003
By 
C. Reed "expeditious motorist" (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Essential Adam Ant (Rm) (Audio CD)
Adam Ant is one of the greatest pop-punk artists of all time. This CD is lacking some of the early greats like Whip in My Valise or Rancheros... I recomend Antics in the Forbidden zone before this album. The only great addition to this album is Wonderful. All of Adam's work is fun, upbeat and fantastic.... think Clash with a horn section and less of a heavy bass line. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adam Ant is 'Wonderful', June 29 2003
Ce commentaire est de: The Essential Adam Ant (Rm) (Audio CD)
This comprehensive collection includes all of his more familiar songs with the addition of his post 80's hits. Great compilation of one of the best pop artists ever! Takes me back to being 12 years old and completely in love with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories of high school, April 18 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Essential Adam Ant (Rm) (Audio CD)
i own all the the ablums and cassettes, i also have some hard to find imports. this cd will go great with my collection. now i can listen to adam ant in my car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars edit, Feb. 9 2004
By 
Emily "Emily" (pittsburgh pa usa) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Essential Adam Ant (Rm) (Audio CD)
oops- i meant to say replace apollo 9 with live version of vive le rock from live aid, on the last review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Adam Ant (Rm)
The Essential Adam Ant (Rm) by Adam Ant (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews