Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Its about time!
First of all, I don't know what took them so long to start putting this show on DVD. I have been looking and waiting for months now. Well, it's about time because this is one of those shows that you need to get and keep. It's a good thing they put this show on HBO because it would have never worked on network or cable TV.
Arliss is one of the funniest shows I have...
Published on Oct. 31 2003 by Jason Colucci

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but interesting choices
I was a huge fan of the show when it aired on HBO Sunday Nights; however I find the "Best of" choices to be quite interesting. There were many other episodes that were much better than the ones presented in this set. Where was the episode where Kirby must outdrink the Volleyball player? or the Battle in the Big ouse boxing match or the one with the Katarina...
Published on Jan. 7 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Good but interesting choices, Jan. 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Arliss (DVD)
I was a huge fan of the show when it aired on HBO Sunday Nights; however I find the "Best of" choices to be quite interesting. There were many other episodes that were much better than the ones presented in this set. Where was the episode where Kirby must outdrink the Volleyball player? or the Battle in the Big ouse boxing match or the one with the Katarina Witt or
some of the other classics. Instead we are treated to episodes that make one yawn. Next time let's see more humorouse episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its about time!, Oct. 31 2003
By 
Jason Colucci (Cleveland, OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best of Arliss (DVD)
First of all, I don't know what took them so long to start putting this show on DVD. I have been looking and waiting for months now. Well, it's about time because this is one of those shows that you need to get and keep. It's a good thing they put this show on HBO because it would have never worked on network or cable TV.
Arliss is one of the funniest shows I have seen. Not sitcom family funny, but adult only almost X-rated funny at times. Believe me, this show is not for the kids, it is adult humor all the way. Arliss Michaels is a sports super agent and the show basically deals with his everyday life and the headaches and problems he has to go throw. Everything from making deals between players and teams to finding the next big plan to make more money! Arliss is an original show that is very smart and funny. There are a ton of cameos from actors and sports stars that are fun to watch! If the sports world or sports agents interest you at all then you will like this show. It's a good time, pick it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tones of Jerry MaGuire? Please!, July 25 2003
By 
GARRY D. DEBOER "TheBear228" (New Jersey, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best of Arliss (DVD)
I find it ridiculously dense of people who think Arli$$ is nothing more than a show trying to ride the cotails of the success of Tom Cruise's hit. Further, I think it's pretty idiotic to pigeon-hole anything involving sports agents into Jerry Maguire. The world of athlete representation is a vast one, more entertaining and intriguing than 95% of careers in this world. What Robert Wuhl has done has taken this profession, satirized it, and made it an enjoyable show for people who are sports fans and fans of comedy. Does he have some similarities to Cruise's character? Sure. But most good agents will anyway. MaGuire is a character in a profession, just as Arliss Michaels is. You'll find Arli$$ is a better representation of Drew Rosenhaus than anything, but that would require research and knowledge of the industry....something some editorials have proven otherwise. All in all, it's a great show if taken at face value. Highly reccommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, Great DVD Set, June 23 2003
By 
Michael Marriott "Michael Marriott" (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best of Arliss (DVD)
I'm waiting for more episodes from this smart and witty comedy series which is easily the best show from HBO in a while. Whilst The Sopranos and Sex In the City get all the critical attention and Today show fawning Arliss is the show that deserves all the accolades. It is all due to Robert Wuhl, the goofy reporter from Batman, who would have guessed? But the guy is a comic genius and this show is great. Every episode leaves you with a smile, even when they are serious, which some of them are. The sense of life in this series is very benevolent, which is what makes it so much better than the other two HBO series. The DVD is of great quality, only adding to the enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Suddenly Susan of the HBO lineup., June 17 2003
By 
Brian M. Benway (Madison, WI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best of Arliss (DVD)
The title of this Arli$$ release seems to indicate that it is the first of a series of "best of" DVDs. The surprising thing, however, is that I was unaware there was enough "best of" material to even fill a single DVD, let alone a set of them!
The longevity of Arli$$ is inexplicable, just as it was unbelievable that Suddenly Susan ran for so long in NBC's coveted Thursday night lineup. Everything here is stale, from the hackneyed storylines, to the obvious Jerry Maguire overtones that may have been relevant in 1996, but have long since overstayed their welcome.
Save your $$. This show ain't worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is great stuff!, June 14 2003
By 
Curtis Jones (Chattanooga, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of Arliss (DVD)
Yes, I know...many snobby critics and magazines, along with SNL trashed this show over the years, but it was laugh-out-loud funny more often than not. Robert Wuhl created a memorable character, with great support from Sandra Oh and Jim Turner. The athletes (in their cameos) proved without a doubt they are not actors, but that was half the fun....watching them struggle!
A few of these episodes deserved to be award winners, and guests like Ed Asner and Ken Howard are at their best.
Thanks HBO for seven great seasons....longer than many critics' careers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Underrated Comedy-Drama, June 13 2003
By 
Max A. Collins (Muscatine, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best of Arliss (DVD)
ARLI$$ was promoted in its first season as a sports-world LARRY SANDERS SHOW, and ever since, this fine series (which lasted an impressive seven seasons) has been kicked around and wrongly criticized. SANDERS is rightfully respected for its acid show biz comedy, but ARLI$$ takes a different approach, with a solid regular cast of selfish but not mean-spirited characters. Creator Robert Wuhl as sports agent Arliss Michaels is a standout -- a cynic with a heart of marshmellow. The tone swings wildly but from slapstick humor to genuine pathos, and yet consistently scores, as Wuhl and company explore serious topics unflinchingly in this satiric context. (As in the Wuhl-starring film COBB, a frequent topic is heroes with feet of clay.) This is a fine selection of first-rate episodes, but it's a pity this Hall of Fame-worthy comedy has been such a whipping boy so as to convince HBO only a "best of" is deserved, and not full season collections. I'm not a diehard sports fan, but the insider show biz stories, the quirky but appealing regulars and surprisingly sensitive treatment of contemporary problems has turned me into a stone ARLI$$ fan. You wuz robbed, Mr. Wuhl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of HBO's Two Big Mistakes, Jan. 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Arliss (DVD)
I was stunned they put out this critically bashed, unpopular show on DVD. Any disc containing something called "The Best of Arliss" should be blank. There was no "best." This stinker tied with "The Mind of the Married Man" as the worst two shows in HBO's history. How come this junk is available on DVD and either "Police Squad" or "Sledge Hammer" isn't?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best of Arliss
Best of Arliss by Robert Wuhl (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 24.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews