Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angus, 'Nuff Said.
Personally, I feel this release and "Powerage" are Angus's finest moments in the Bon Scott era of the band. Some might argue "Highway To Hell" deserves the honors, but for the sheer sonic ferocity of Angus's fretwork, the buck stops here. The amps are cranked up to 11 and Angus just doesn't let up. No power ballads, no acoustic guitar or...
Published on June 19 2004 by "The Woj"

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars An axed version of a great original album...
In my point of view everyone should stay clear of buying this socalled up-graded version of what was once a great classic rock album. Why, you may ask. Well, first of all this isn't the original album remastered, they have cut out one of the clear highlights of the original album; Crabsody In Blue! Why the hell did they do that??!
Secondly, they have included a song...
Published on May 24 2003 by trondgroenseth


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angus, 'Nuff Said., June 19 2004
By 
"The Woj" (Downers Grove, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
Personally, I feel this release and "Powerage" are Angus's finest moments in the Bon Scott era of the band. Some might argue "Highway To Hell" deserves the honors, but for the sheer sonic ferocity of Angus's fretwork, the buck stops here. The amps are cranked up to 11 and Angus just doesn't let up. No power ballads, no acoustic guitar or "keyboards", just flat out, pedal to the metal, rock 'n' roll. Arguably, AC/DC's rawest & purest "guitar" album. All killer, no filler. A must have for any rock fan.
Oh, & by the way...anyone who reviews this album & a George Michael album is no AC/DC fan. I ain't sellin' my soul just to crack the top 100.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock n Roll at its best, July 9 2004
By 
Jmetal86 "josh" (Grand Prairie,Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Rm) (Audio CD)
This album another fav of mine. I bought it a week ago and listen to it at least once a week. All the songs have a big heavy guitar sound. The track Let there Be Rock is my fav on this particular album. I like every track on this album and give it five stars for the great guitar sound it has its unlike any other AC/DC album. I really wish they had mixed all the other albums this way but o well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good CD. It isn't the best one though., April 18 2007
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
This is like the 7th ACDC album that I bought. First time I heard, I thought it wasn't good. Well I relistened to it that it is pretty good. The only problem is that the songs not catchy, I mean that you don't wanna hear them twice the first your heard it. I think it is because I use to have CD's like Back In Black, High Voltage, Highway To Hell, etc. In almost any other bands, this album would be VERY good, but in Ac DC's case, This album isn't that good. Also, I think this album is not constant, I mean that there 2 songs that are very very good but the two others won't be that good.

But it has good sides on it. Angus' solos are amazing (as usual). The emotion passes well on every song. Bon's vocal are hard and sweet. The drums set rocks, too. There are songs like Let There Be Rock, Problem Child, Go Down and Whole Lotta Rosie that are very good songs. Everything goes well on those tracks. Dog Eat Dog also is a song that listen very carefully. The others have something that I can't get in, these songs are too long and not catchy in my opinion. But I am not the best ACDC fan, Well If you are, Buy it, you'll love it. If you like ACDC but it isnt your favorite band, I'd say to spend your money on a record like Highway To Hell, Back in Black Or High Voltage.

Finnaly, If you are looking for pure and strong hard rock, you are there with ACDC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Una scarica di adrenalina maledettamente pura, June 22 2004
By 
Carlo (davanti al computer) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
Il 1977 è l'anno della svolta per gli AC/DC: dal rock'n'roll passano ad uno stile più grezzo e pesante soprannominato heavy and roll per via di un orientamento non ancora verso il puro heavy metal ma a metà strada tra quest'ultimo ed il rock'n'roll; come risultato abbiamo un cd più effervescente rispetto ai suoi predecessori. Ecco la tracklist:
1) Go down: Traccia sottovalutata. Chissa perchè? forse per colpa del bigotto di turno che ha voluto imporre il proprio giudizio alle masse! Una delle poche canzoni rock'n'roll dal 1977 in poi, ma molto bella. A
2) Dog eat dog: La peggior canzone dell'album ma non per questo da buttare via! A-
3) Let there be rock: Title track travolgente con un bell riff di basso in sottofondo. Angus e Malcolm qui sono come una corrente d'aria fredda e una d'aria calda: fanno un uragano di potenza!!
4) Bad boy boogie: Canzone nel cui ritornello si può sentire una vena artistica risalente ai primi anni '70. Una di quelle canzoni che riescono meglio live. A-
5) Problem child: Canzone dove gli Young e Bon tirano fuori tutto il loro carisma ("What I want I take, what I don't I break") canzone superba, peccato per il ritornello un po' troppo scontato. A-
6) Overdose: La mia preferita del cd. I solisti si incastonano perfettamente nei potentissimi riff partoriti dalla geniale mente di Malcolm. A+
7) Hell ain't a bad place to be: riff taglienti come delle rasoiate sulle balle. Assolutamente geniale! A+
8) Whole lotta rosie: Bè, provate solo ad immaginare di essere nel '77 e di ascoltare questa canzone a palla: è come essere nell'occhio di un tornado ( anche un mio amico ve lo può confermare...) A+
HEAVY METAL FOREVER

A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of there best!, March 17 2004
By 
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
Some may argue that this is AC/DC best album! And they may be right, its defnitly one of the best and one of the best hard driving great hard rock guitar albums to this date!
This is a 5 star album.....But i only give it 4 and half stars on this reissue!
I'll tell you why?
Because when the album was first released in Australia, it had a track on it called "Crabsody In Blue" which many beleive is the seaqull to "The Jack" its a diffrent sounding AC/DC song, almost slide guitar bluesgrass sounding! But the song did not make it onto the version that went world wide because someone thought it was too disqusting? or didnt want to promote a song about having crabs! HAHAHAHA....so it was replaced by a song of the Australian DDDDC album called "Problem Child" and also an unreleased world wide song "Rocker" which was on there second album in Australia TNT!
So the only downfall to this re-issue is they did not include "Crabsody In Blue" it should be there in its rightfull place amongst the rest of the great songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's all about the guitars!!, Nov. 4 2003
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
When asked to pick the best AC/DC album, it's a tough call for me between POWERAGE and LTBR. Although POWERAGE is my personal fave, LTBR is right on it's heals.
No other AC/DC album has the same loud, obnoxious, nasty guitar sound that LTBR has. Period. It's evident from the very first track "Go Down" to the very last track, the classic "Whole Lotta Rosie," and on everything in between that Angus and Malcolm just plugged in, turned it to 11, and went for the jugular. If there's every been a good argument that AC/DC are a heavy metal band (which they whole-heartedly deny), LTBR (both the album and song) is that argument.
Not only is the guitar sound great, but the songs on a whole are magnificent. Bon's writing continues to grow from the earlier albums, combining sex, drugs, and rock n' roll with a good dose of humourous storytelling. Again, "Whole Lotta Rosie" is a prime example, as is the title song. Who else but Bon could pull off a shag story about a 19 stone woman so eloquently!?! To quote Angus, Bon truly was a "gutter poet!" In addition to the lyrical content, the hooks on this album are HUGE! The title track and "Dog Eat Down" are excellent showcases of the boys ability to work out some of the catchiest licks in rock history.
Bottom line, this is an essential album for any AC/DC fan (or any rock fan in general). If you're just starting out, you can't go wrong with this one. If you're an old timer, like me, this remaster brings the sound to an even better level, so even if you have other copies of LTBR, it's well worth the effort to get this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And then there was rock, Oct. 5 2003
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Rm) (Audio CD)
This album couldn't have had a better title. At the time when this came out there were a lot of trendy styles threatening heavy metal's position in the rock world. Wimpy styles like punk, disco, funk, and new wave were trying to stop heavy metal and lay it to rest. But ofcourse there's always gonna be hardrockers whant to hear some honoust rock 'n roll and is exactly what AC/DC delivers. What also explaines the title.
AC/DC's flew straight into the face of fashion with this record and showed heavy metal was alive and kicking. In the punk period AC/DC was one of the most hated bands with their blues-based hardrock. Just like with other metal bands they were considerd as being totaly backword and they were considerd just like many hardrock bands as not being realy tough and only acting as if it is agresive. Very ignorant because Let There Be Rock blew most of the debut albums of those punkbands that come out in the same period to smithereens. Heavy Metal wasn't gonna die. In many ways "LTBR" was the blueprint of eighties metal. All those hardrock bands of the time like Accept,Krokus,Saxon,Y&T,Motley Crue etc. were inspired by AC/DC and specialy "LTRB" also the
New Wave Of British Heavy Metal wouldn't have existed without this album!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Let There Be AC/DC., Oct. 3 2003
By 
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
AC/DC's "Let There Be Rock" is just as good as any Bon Scott album except for one striking difference: it rocks with a particularly fierce aggression you won't find in much of the group's pre- "Back in Black" material. The brothers Young are completely at the top of their game, as their guitars project with demanding authority on tracks like the dynamic title cut and "Overdose." "Let There Be Rock" is also known for signature classics like "Bad Boy Boogie," "Whole Lotta Rosie," and the catchy "Problem Child." Listening to this album also helped me come to a realization: the more I listen to early AC/DC, the more I favor vocalist Bon Scott. With no disrespect to Brian Johnson, I have to say that Bon's voice had a commanding personality that complimented the music pretty well. It's as much a vital instrument as Angus's guitar. But getting back to this album: it's a thoroughly enjoyable CD with zero filler and rocks 100% of the time. Like any AC/DC record, if you're not listening to "Let There Be Rock" at maximum volume, you're not listening to it at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars An axed version of a great original album..., May 24 2003
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Rm) (Audio CD)
In my point of view everyone should stay clear of buying this socalled up-graded version of what was once a great classic rock album. Why, you may ask. Well, first of all this isn't the original album remastered, they have cut out one of the clear highlights of the original album; Crabsody In Blue! Why the hell did they do that??!
Secondly, they have included a song already released on the Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap album; Problem Child, which really doesen't belong here! Why??!!
Thirdly, in my point of view they have not managed to improve the sound quality an inch! So what's the point?
I wonder what the guys in the band think of the final product, with no info/linernotes or pictures and an axed song lineup? Have they no interest in the way their art is presentet by the record company? And what is with ATCO? They seem to destroy just about every band and original recording they can get their dirty and amaturish hands on! A disappointing fact. This cd could have been one of the best classic rock albums ever released had it not been for this company. If you want to listen to what it should have sounded like, go visit a used vinyl shop and buy the original vinyl version of the album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars An axed version of a great original album..., May 24 2003
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Rm) (Audio CD)
In my point of view everyone should stay clear of buying this socalled up-graded version of what was once a great classic rock album. Why, you may ask. Well, first of all this isn't the original album remastered, they have cut out one of the clear highlights of the original album; Crabsody In Blue! Why the hell did they do that??!
Secondly, they have included a song already released on the Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap album; Problem Child, which really doesen't belong here! Why??!!
Thirdly, in my point of view they have not managed to improve the sound quality an inch! So what's the point?
I wonder what the guys in the band think of the final product, with no info/linernotes or pictures and an axed song lineup? Have they no interest in the way their art is presentet by the record company? And what is with ATCO? They seem to destroy just about every band and original recording they can get their dirty and amaturish hands on! A disappointing fact. This cd could have been one of the best classic rock albums ever released had it not been for this company. If you want to listen to what it should have sounded like, go visit a used vinyl shop and buy the original vinyl version of the album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let There Be Rock
Let There Be Rock by Ac/Dc (Audio CD - 2003)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews