Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Old School
Good, down and dirty old school rock and roll. Loving Bon Scott. Get the first 5 albums and you won't be dissapointed.
Published 1 month ago by Maiden Fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars its ac/dc, what do you expect?
ac/dc still hadnt found the perfect beat yet, but there were getting closer. i still look on this as an album, with side one being weak & side two being incredible. the first two songs and overdose are all very weak and bad boy boogie is just okay, but the rest SHRED. whole lotta rosie might be the finest thing they've ever done. so this is worth owning after you have...
Published on May 17 2001 by Mark Bychowski


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Old School, May 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
Good, down and dirty old school rock and roll. Loving Bon Scott. Get the first 5 albums and you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars review of let there be rock, March 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
Classic AC/DC. Bon Scott's voice will always be best suited to their music. A very good addition to my collection and in particular Whole Lotta Rosie as the final track to a solid collection of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "dirty" old riffs of Angus!!! REAL rock music!!!, June 10 2009
By 
D. A. GOSS "Boss745" (Coquitlam, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
This is my all time favorite AC/DC albums of the Bon Scott years. From "Go Down" to the quintessential "Whole Lotta Rosie," the speed and energy from this album will amaze you. What will surprise you is how raw this album is; it is NOT polished whatsoever and sounds like the band is playing live in your basement. Compared to other albums that they made during the Bon Scott years, this one sounds like each song is recorded in one awesome take. This is the way hard rock was meant to be heard, and truly, the best way AC/DC was meant to be heard. Angus puts his riffs pedal to the metal on this one, so I strongly recommend buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock n Roll at its best, July 9 2004
By 
Jmetal86 "josh" (Grand Prairie,Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Rm) (Audio CD)
This album another fav of mine. I bought it a week ago and listen to it at least once a week. All the songs have a big heavy guitar sound. The track Let there Be Rock is my fav on this particular album. I like every track on this album and give it five stars for the great guitar sound it has its unlike any other AC/DC album. I really wish they had mixed all the other albums this way but o well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angus, 'Nuff Said., June 19 2004
By 
"The Woj" (Downers Grove, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
Personally, I feel this release and "Powerage" are Angus's finest moments in the Bon Scott era of the band. Some might argue "Highway To Hell" deserves the honors, but for the sheer sonic ferocity of Angus's fretwork, the buck stops here. The amps are cranked up to 11 and Angus just doesn't let up. No power ballads, no acoustic guitar or "keyboards", just flat out, pedal to the metal, rock 'n' roll. Arguably, AC/DC's rawest & purest "guitar" album. All killer, no filler. A must have for any rock fan.
Oh, & by the way...anyone who reviews this album & a George Michael album is no AC/DC fan. I ain't sellin' my soul just to crack the top 100.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good CD. It isn't the best one though., April 18 2007
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
This is like the 7th ACDC album that I bought. First time I heard, I thought it wasn't good. Well I relistened to it that it is pretty good. The only problem is that the songs not catchy, I mean that you don't wanna hear them twice the first your heard it. I think it is because I use to have CD's like Back In Black, High Voltage, Highway To Hell, etc. In almost any other bands, this album would be VERY good, but in Ac DC's case, This album isn't that good. Also, I think this album is not constant, I mean that there 2 songs that are very very good but the two others won't be that good.

But it has good sides on it. Angus' solos are amazing (as usual). The emotion passes well on every song. Bon's vocal are hard and sweet. The drums set rocks, too. There are songs like Let There Be Rock, Problem Child, Go Down and Whole Lotta Rosie that are very good songs. Everything goes well on those tracks. Dog Eat Dog also is a song that listen very carefully. The others have something that I can't get in, these songs are too long and not catchy in my opinion. But I am not the best ACDC fan, Well If you are, Buy it, you'll love it. If you like ACDC but it isnt your favorite band, I'd say to spend your money on a record like Highway To Hell, Back in Black Or High Voltage.

Finnaly, If you are looking for pure and strong hard rock, you are there with ACDC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Una scarica di adrenalina maledettamente pura, June 22 2004
By 
Carlo (davanti al computer) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
Il 1977 è l'anno della svolta per gli AC/DC: dal rock'n'roll passano ad uno stile più grezzo e pesante soprannominato heavy and roll per via di un orientamento non ancora verso il puro heavy metal ma a metà strada tra quest'ultimo ed il rock'n'roll; come risultato abbiamo un cd più effervescente rispetto ai suoi predecessori. Ecco la tracklist:
1) Go down: Traccia sottovalutata. Chissa perchè? forse per colpa del bigotto di turno che ha voluto imporre il proprio giudizio alle masse! Una delle poche canzoni rock'n'roll dal 1977 in poi, ma molto bella. A
2) Dog eat dog: La peggior canzone dell'album ma non per questo da buttare via! A-
3) Let there be rock: Title track travolgente con un bell riff di basso in sottofondo. Angus e Malcolm qui sono come una corrente d'aria fredda e una d'aria calda: fanno un uragano di potenza!!
4) Bad boy boogie: Canzone nel cui ritornello si può sentire una vena artistica risalente ai primi anni '70. Una di quelle canzoni che riescono meglio live. A-
5) Problem child: Canzone dove gli Young e Bon tirano fuori tutto il loro carisma ("What I want I take, what I don't I break") canzone superba, peccato per il ritornello un po' troppo scontato. A-
6) Overdose: La mia preferita del cd. I solisti si incastonano perfettamente nei potentissimi riff partoriti dalla geniale mente di Malcolm. A+
7) Hell ain't a bad place to be: riff taglienti come delle rasoiate sulle balle. Assolutamente geniale! A+
8) Whole lotta rosie: Bè, provate solo ad immaginare di essere nel '77 e di ascoltare questa canzone a palla: è come essere nell'occhio di un tornado ( anche un mio amico ve lo può confermare...) A+
HEAVY METAL FOREVER

A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Let There Be Rock, June 13 2004
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
Let There Be Rock kicks up the energy level a notch from its predecessor, making for a bracing hard rock record of blasting guitar and basic, aggressive grooves. While slightly more metallic, AC/DC's sound was still bluesier than it would be by the time of the band's commercial breakthrough. Appealing in spite of himself, Bon Scott delivers his leering double entendres and humorous asides with typical panache, while the Young brothers' guitars bite, kick, and scratch behind him. While the music still meanders on occasion, the songwriting is overall a bit more memorable; AC/DC classics on hand include "Problem Child," "Whole Lotta Rosie," and "Bad Boy Boogie."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bon,you are not forgotten!, June 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
This would be ACDC's final album before the highly commercialized and successful "Highyway To Hell"."LTBR" is in my opinion ACDC's greatest and toughest album.Bon Scott still remains the better lead singer of ACDC,I tend to disregard the band's material with screecher Brian Johnson(he just doesn't cut it).From the perverted "Go Down" all the way to the closing riffs of "Whole Lotta Rosie",the LP proves they rocked way harder back in the day and with much more attitude.The Young brothers' riffs are loud and pulse-pounding,Bon's voice tops it all off like a cherry whether it be the sly and sexy lyrics of "Go Down" or the fast and sleek feel of the title track.Back In Black is highly overrated and compared to this baby,this is one wins by a long shot just because of that raw and unpolished sound.Bon is the essential ACDC lead singer and all the material they put out in the 70s tops everything they put out starting with Back In Black.Long live ACDC and Bon Scott!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of there best!, March 17 2004
By 
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
Some may argue that this is AC/DC best album! And they may be right, its defnitly one of the best and one of the best hard driving great hard rock guitar albums to this date!
This is a 5 star album.....But i only give it 4 and half stars on this reissue!
I'll tell you why?
Because when the album was first released in Australia, it had a track on it called "Crabsody In Blue" which many beleive is the seaqull to "The Jack" its a diffrent sounding AC/DC song, almost slide guitar bluesgrass sounding! But the song did not make it onto the version that went world wide because someone thought it was too disqusting? or didnt want to promote a song about having crabs! HAHAHAHA....so it was replaced by a song of the Australian DDDDC album called "Problem Child" and also an unreleased world wide song "Rocker" which was on there second album in Australia TNT!
So the only downfall to this re-issue is they did not include "Crabsody In Blue" it should be there in its rightfull place amongst the rest of the great songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let There Be Rock
Let There Be Rock by Ac/Dc (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews