march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars64
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 17, 2004
For Those About to Rock gets a bad rap. People expected Back in Black 2 and that just wasn't going to happen. What they got, however, was an outstanding follow up to one of the greatest metal albums ever.
This album is much edgier than back in Black, harkening back to the Highway to Hell days. The songs are heavier than Back in Black on the whole and have a much darker feel.
The title track is a staple of AC/DC live shows to this day, unfortunately, because the overwhelming consensus is that this is a 'weaker' album, they don't do as many of the other tracks as they should. The lesser known tracks that are standouts from For Those About to Rock are Evil Walks, C.O.D., and Let's Get it Up.
If you buy this with expectations, you may be disappointed. If you buy it and just take it at face value you will have discovered a gem that is often overlooked.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2003
I'd give it 6 stars if I could.
If it wasnt for an album entitled "Back In Black" ... this would have been THE quintessential rock album of all time that bands needed to live up to. It kills me that this album gets little to no respect as its predecessor does because the volume of material here IS IN FACT on par and at times eclipses "Back In Black".
My humble and honest opinion (I refuse to use internet acronyms) is that "For Those About To Rock" came out way too quickly for its own good. The phrase *too many chefs* comes to mind here ... if they wouldve released the "ever too average" Flick Of The Switch BEFORE this release then I think it wouldve faired much better than it did, in sales and elsewhere.
Not too mention that not too long after "Back In Black" came out there was the invasion of the lame glam rock scene. And YES, I myself totally bought into that whole scene and lived it! But after all these years later .... what am I still listening to these days?? "For Those About To Rock" ..... yep .... gimme the great songs entitled, "C.O.D." (always my favorite!!), "Put The Finger On You", "Evil Walks", "Snowballed", "Breaking The Rules"!!!! Hell yea, this album kicks some serious ass!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2003
This album leads off with one of 'DC's greatest songs ever, the title track, a brooding rocker that builds to an awesome cannon-powered climax. The ball keeps rolling with the throbbing "Put The Finger OnYou" and the forgotten classic, "Let's Get It Up". From there, the songs become decidedly more generic. "Inject The Venom", "Snowballed", and "Evil Walks" are all good tunes, but nothing special. "C.O.D." is an obvious attempt to capture the same vibe as "You Shook Me All Night Long", and it isn't nearly as effective. "Breaking The Rules" and "Night Of The Long Knives" regain some ground with a catchy chorus and great riff, respecitvely. "Spellbound" is their typical slow bluesy album closer, but it isn't as memorable as "Night Prowler" or "Rock N Roll Ain't Noise Pollution". Mutt Lange continues the clean production he gave the band on its previous two albums.
In the lengthy back catalog of AC/DC albums, this one ranks firmly in the middle. Nowhere near as good as classics like "Back In Black", "High Voltage" or "Highway To Hell", but certainly better than "Fly On The Wall" or "Blow Up Your Video". If you own more than half a dozen 'DC discs or so, this should be one of them, but it's certainly not the best place to start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2002
Of course, following up 1980's record breaking "Back in Black" would be quite difficult, whether you make that assumption by sales or by quality. But leave it to AC/DC to carry on the true tradition of classic rock-n-rollers, with 1981's "For Those About to Rock (We Salute You)." Here, the band explores all of their expected territory with epic rock anthems (the classic title track) and the predictably fashioned wine, women, and song scores ('Let's Get it Up,' 'Put the Finger on You'). But in a stunning yet well balanced manner, AC/DC brings listeners to a world on the streets, taking elements of frustration (the excellent 'Spellbound'), distrust (superbly crafted 'Night of the Long Knives') and rebellion ('Breaking the Rules'). 'COD' is classic AC/DC all the way, while the marvelous rockers 'Evil Walks' and 'Snowballed' seem to contradict the quintet's classic subject matter. Lead vocalist Brian Johnson's lyricism and bellows give the album its broad feel, while the guitar playing of Angus & Malcolm Young lead the rhythm section of Cliff Williams and Phil Rudd. Here in its remastered form, "For Those About to Rock" is one of AC/DC's peak accomplishments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2004
I'm an AC/DC fan, I have 7 or 8 of their albums, and out of the ones I have (all Bon era save Powerage, Back In Black, this, Razor's Edge) I think that this is my least favorite. I'm not saying it's all bad, however. It has perhaps 3 or 4 really good songs. For Those About To Rock, C.O.D., Evil Walks and Night Of the Long Knives are all worth a listen. I'm tempted to say, however, that the rest of this album is pretty much crap. I think that they were trying to make the follow up to Back In Black (NOT their best album, btw. Highway to Hell is) and they ended up putting a lot of filler on it so they could get it out to the hungry masses before they got bored. If you want a good Brian era album, get the Razor's Edge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2004
Okay, AC/DC with Bon Scott will ALWAYS outrank AC/DC with Brian Johnson, but this album ain't half bad. Apart from Brian's first (the classic Back in Black) and his last (for now...the reinvigorating Stiff Upper Lip), this is his best effort for the band. I can't name a bad song off this album, and I think the only reason it suffers in the eyes of fans is because it came a year after their powerhouse Back in Black. Any AC/DC fan should own this one. Highlights are the title track, "Night of the Long Knives," "Snowballed," "C.O.D.," "Inject the Venom," "Breaking the Rules," ....actually, the whole album is a highlight. Don't miss out on this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2003
For those about to rock...we salute you! The name of the album says everything. Brian Johnson's second album with the band and its great! Brian Johnson is still screaming his lungs out and it sounds good. My favorite song on this album is the title track, such a powerful hard rock song! Has a great chorus and it feels empowering when Brian yells "For those about to rock... FIRE!!!..." and Malcolm and Cliff scream out "... WE SALUTE YOU!!!" The cannons firing are nice flavor touch. Some of the other songs that are my favorites are "Snowballed", "Inject the Venom", and "C.O.D". Lyrics are well written and the guitar riffs are great! Excellent album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2004
This was a good album nothing more nothing less but if you want a really good Brian Johnson album that came out after Back In Black get Flick Of The Switch and Razors Edge.Both of those albums may have a song as popular as For Those About To Rock but they have more energy and better sonwriting.All I can see thats good about this album is the title track and some good choruses on some of the other songs like Inject The Venom and Spellbound.Other than that it is pretty mediocre but what would you expect it came out only a year later than Back In Black so it was kind of rushed.They put more effort into the third one that came out in 83.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2004
Ok this is NOT as good as Back In Black, but then again how could you ever have an album that good again?? "Those About To Rock" has the nicely polished Mutt Lang produced sound, and although most of the album IS filler, it's pretty solid stuff that packs a whallop! The high-lights would be, IMO, the title track, "Let's Get It Up", "Put The Finger On You", and "COD". This new digi-pack remaster is GOLD, as it features the artwork of the original LP, like the embossed cover, and gatefold cover!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2003
If you can find this version of "For those about to rock" you're in good company, because the brownish gold cover is identical to the copy on vinyl that I own, which means it's among the initial pressings.
With Back in Black, AC/DC raised the bar so high that no one could top it, not even themselves. The only way you're not going to like For Those About to Rock is if you compare it to Back in Black, which is understandable, but for me personally I enjoy the album to the same extent as Back In Black.
The title track was inspired by a the saying "For those about to die, we salute you" and the band simply changed a word. The song features cannon noises which build up for a grand finale. It is a concert staple, and justifiably so, but there's plenty more noteworthy tunes, among them are the verse-riff tandem of "Inject the venom", the relentless rocking of "Snowballed", "Night of the long knives" had a Back in Black-style groove, "Breaking the rules" is an anthemic, semi-bounce track. I recommend "For those about to Rock" wholeheartedly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse