Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Bauer Fans
I have seen every Season of 24 and Season 2 is my favorite - a truly captivating story, packed with action. Kiefer Sutherland plays his role perfectly, he is very believable as CTU's No. 1 agent Jack Bauer.
Published on Jan. 18 2012 by Mi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Problem with 24
24 represents some of the best story telling and acting that has ever been on television. But that does not mean that it's without serious faults. The most dominant of which is the grotesque liberal writing, especially in Season 2. The most obvious problem with the writing is the utter lack of concern to writing stories that are polarizing. You will either love or...
Published on April 19 2004 by S. Newman


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars FAST DELIVERY, March 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 24: Season Two (DVD)
UNIT ARRIVED REAL FAST AND IN GOOD SHAPE. WOULD OF GAVE IT A FIVE STAR BUT THE END OD DISC TWO AND THE BEGINNING OF DISC THREE DISC WOULD STOP PLAYING . TRIED IT IN A NEW PLAYER AND SAME RESULT, WENT TO MY BROTHER AND SAME THING , HAD TO BE THE DISC, THE OTHER DISC WERE ALL FINE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Bauer Fans, Jan. 18 2012
This review is from: 24: Season Two (DVD)
I have seen every Season of 24 and Season 2 is my favorite - a truly captivating story, packed with action. Kiefer Sutherland plays his role perfectly, he is very believable as CTU's No. 1 agent Jack Bauer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it., July 15 2003
By 
Gary D. Clark (Victoria, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 24: Season Two (DVD)
I can't think of anything to say now that hasn't already been said. If you like suspense, action, and drama even to the slightest degee, buy this set and prepare to be glued to the TV.
The first season of '24' was something different and new. There had never been anything like it on television before, and the season was as much about experimentation as it was entertainment. How to keep the action up hour to hour, how to make it all 'real time', what should happen when, how to resolve it all in 24 hours...
At the end of the year, it proved to be a learning experience. Some things worked, some didn't. But the idea of another season was tricky from the get go. How can you rework the magic without falling in the same traps? How can you make the storyline more suspenseful (the first is hard to beat)? How do you explain what happened in the break from season 1 to 2 in an hour of real time? Fans had a lot to worry about that long summer. But November finally rolled around and old and new fans switched their sets on for what would be the first episode of an incredible year of TV.
But the second time around, the creators were all set and ready to go. Gone was the write-as-you-go style, the odd pacing, and the impossible scenarios. Everything was planned...hour by hour the pieces of the puzzle slowly fit into another...the plot growing larger. The intricacy of it all was amazing. The shocks were all inserted perfectly and at the right time, the action was well-paced, and the acting was better.
Season two learned from season one's mistakes, and proved to be a defining year in TV.
New fans were coming everyday to the Fox forum for the show. Spoilers were popping up everywhere. Ratings climbed.
Placing the show after "American Idol" certainly helped the ratings.
In the end, by the time the finale was aired in May, fans had become addicts to this adrenaline-pumping show.
When waiting 3 weeks for the new episode was hard, waiting months on end for the new season seemed harder.
We're still waiting. But for those of you wondering if this is all hype or if you should just save a few bucks...don't. You can hardly consider buying this set a waste of money. In fact, if you like suspense and action, it's as essential as food.
Pop in the disc and see what fans have been raving about, and remember we had to wait a week or sometimes 3 between those episodes!
Turn on and enjoy.
The only thing you have to lose is sleep because you won't be able to turn the damn thing off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars www.filmwiseguy.funtigo.com, July 8 2004
By 
Kelvin H. (miami, florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 24: Season Two (DVD)
Season 2 is probably the best of the three. This one is much more gripping and does not include farfetched moments such as sudden amnesia in Season One. Everything in season 2 is suspenseful; from finding the nuclear bomb to the 24th Amendment on President Palmer and the aftermath of the nuclear bomb. "24" is so ingenious in making everything so fresh and original in each episode despite following one guideline throughout the year which is to stop the bomb. The finale is much more exciting with a cliffhanger ending that makes you wish this show would be called "48." I can't wait until season 4 for more suspense that only "24" can deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Interesting Scenario, May 6 2004
By 
J. Reynolds (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 24: Season Two (DVD)
A nuclear bomb is going to be detonated in Los Angeles. A former Counter Terrorist Unit agent is reactivated to eliminate the threat -- and the chase is on. It's puzzling, though, how the viewer reviews for this story overwhelmingly support the protagonist, who obviously understands terrorists and does not hesitate to employ lethal force against them in the pursuit of victory. Everyone backs the striving hero who is trying to save people from a horrible catastrophe, even when (perhaps especially when) he acts unilaterally and pre-emptively. This agent is not asking himself why the terrorists hate us. He is not being compassionate, tolerant, understanding or inclusive with the terrorists. He is not enlisting the United Nations to form a coalition and pass resolutions. No, he is merely hunting down the terrorists and wiping them out -- which is the only sort of action in the world that terrorists comprehend or respect. The viewers who cheer for this agent all know that is the proper way to confront terrorism... both on television, and most certainly in the real world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well done, but over the edge at times, July 3 2004
This review is from: 24: Season Two (DVD)
Anthony, you shouldn't be so hard on Chris. People who talk about the "WORST (or BEST) ever, in history, etc. are either very young or use extremes for discription. Unfortunately that is the trend in this country. I have the first set and will get this one. The reason it is 4 stars is the constant confusion at HQ, with traitors, personal relations, and temper tantrums to a degree NO organization (much less national security) could ever permit. I wonder how long the series can continue--by using "superman" plots it is hard to keep coming up with something the audience will accept. I'll be very surprised if it goes beyond 4 seasons--but maybe the writers can tone it down a bit (which would be good anyway).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining, June 24 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 24: Season Two (DVD)
This is high-quality TV that makes other TV programs and even most movies look amateur by comparison. To those of you who have used words like "ludicrous" and "implausible" to describe the plot of Season Two, how exactly do you know? Truth is a lot stranger than fiction. If you're biased against Kiefer Sutherland to begin with, then you'll find reasons to dislike the program that has revived his career, and nothing will convince you that 24 is worthwhile TV. To all others, try to be objective and calm while watching 24. Refrain from throwing stuff at your TV screen. We've all grown so accustomed to watching schmaltzy, amateurish garbage on TV that causes us to roll our eyes in disgust. But for once the producers, writers, and actors in Hollywood have risen to the occasion. Give them a chance. One warning: Season Two is quite violent. A lot of characters are killed and/or tortured over the course of 24 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chris doesn't know anything, June 18 2004
By 
Anthony R. Nelson (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24: Season Two (DVD)
Everyone out there that has read Chris' review, don't listen to him. Chances are Chris from St. Louis probably does not even know what he is talking about. Truth be told, it sounds like he has never even taken the time to watch season two. Chris, if you see this review, why don't you try watching 24, and then write a somewhat intelligent review, otherwise don't write about stuff you know nothing about, because it just makes you look stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars In ten seconds the bomb will explode, June 18 2004
By 
Chris (St.Louis,MO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 24: Season Two (DVD)
This show is one of the worst in TV history come on it just plain sucks I predict in the Season Premier there will be some kind of Bomb it will take place in L.A. and this clown has to save us all.I'll take my chances on someone else.Don't support crappy TV like this.The Worst show on Television bar-none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 24 is the best military drama on TV., June 16 2004
By 
Anthony R. Nelson (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24: Season Two (DVD)
24 is the best military drama on tv. I was first introduced to the incredible power of 24, when FX had the season two marathon. Before that I had heard this and that about the show but had never gotten to watch any of it. Once season three began to air I started watching it on a regular basis. Now I own both season one and season two, and I am a very loyal fan, I have nothing bad to say about 24
The season two storyline had a very strong impact on the viewers as well as all of America. Following the very intense and tragic incident of 9/11, the writers of 24 wrote a story that we could not only relate to but could feel with intense emotions.
Following the very tragic death of his wife, CTU agent Jack Bauer decides to resign from active duty. Estranged from his daughter and isolating himself from the rest of the world he now lives in a Los Angeles condo. Until one day when the President calls him and personally request that he return to CTU in order to help them on their latest mission. What is the mission? There is a dirty nuke in LA that has been brought into the country by a middle eastern terrorist group with the help of some american businessmen. The ultimate plot? Detonate the bomb on american soil. Why? So that america can start a war with the middle east. Some may ask "Why would american businessman want to start a war with the middle east?" There could be many reasons, but for the sake of those who have not seen season two, I will let you find out the reason on your own.
24 is a very intense and realistic show. There is no doubt that some may not be able to handle it. But for those who can I suggest that you get your hands on both season one and season two, I promise you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

24: Season Two
24: Season Two by Kiefer Sutherland (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 69.98 CDN$ 57.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews