Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy Cooking
This product is a little slow to heat up but once it is hot it is much like using a gas heated wok. Gets very hot when set on sear and maintains the heat well. Good size for a family. Allows for deep frying with a minimum of oil for small amounts of food. So far a pleasure to use.
Published on Sept. 29 2010 by Mace

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware: You're eating the non-stick coating.
Bought this 10 months ago and was initially very pleased with the non-stick and heat of this wok. The only downside was the weight which doesn't allow one to "shake" the wok as one would with a traditional wok when stir-frying.

10 months later ... not so good.

The pan is getting scratched, even though we use it infrequently (about once or twice a...
Published 17 months ago by NotSoAncientDave


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy Cooking, Sept. 29 2010
This review is from: Breville 6L Goumet Electric Wok EW30XL (Kitchen)
This product is a little slow to heat up but once it is hot it is much like using a gas heated wok. Gets very hot when set on sear and maintains the heat well. Good size for a family. Allows for deep frying with a minimum of oil for small amounts of food. So far a pleasure to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breville Electric Wok, April 13 2011
This review is from: Breville 6L Goumet Electric Wok EW30XL (Kitchen)
I've had this wok for a year now and I use it frequently. It works very well and so far the non-stick coating is holding up very well. So I'm pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Wok!, Aug. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breville 6L Goumet Electric Wok EW30XL (Kitchen)
So far very pleased with this wok. The heat controller works well providing a high heat sear right down to a simmer as required. The durable non stick surface of the wok offers real non stick cooking and makes clean up a breeze.
The user guide contains some good recipes which was a bonus.
I have already recommended this product to friends who will likely purchase it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing!!!, April 13 2013
This review is from: Breville 6L Goumet Electric Wok EW30XL (Kitchen)
I have had this appliance for several months now and have used it for big and small dinners. Simply amazing how much you can cook in this Wok. It heats up VERY quickly and the non-stick surface is extremely hard....NOT like your typical non-stick fry pan. Love the fact that you can control the temperature, it adjusts quickly and stays uniform while cooking. The lid is top quality with a choice to vent or keep closed. Also, it cools down quickly to allow for quick and EASY cleaning. This Wok really works VERY well!! I believe the latch to release the base is on the bottom as a safety feature so it is not inadvertently released while in use. It really is not difficult at all to get back on it's base. After cleaning, I just flip it over on the counter and attach the base back on that way. REALLY simple. This is by far the best quality Wok I've seen and the Breville team has DEFINITELY lived up to it's impeccable attention to detail on this one!! LOVE it just like the other '7' Breville appliances I now own, which, I have not had a single problem with any of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware: You're eating the non-stick coating., Feb. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breville 6L Goumet Electric Wok EW30XL (Kitchen)
Bought this 10 months ago and was initially very pleased with the non-stick and heat of this wok. The only downside was the weight which doesn't allow one to "shake" the wok as one would with a traditional wok when stir-frying.

10 months later ... not so good.

The pan is getting scratched, even though we use it infrequently (about once or twice a week), the bottom center is discolouring (presumably where the heating element resides) and worst part: it's starting to stick :(

Since I'm within the 1-year warranty period, I contacted Breville customer service and the most alarming thing they said was regarding the non-stick coating:

"This is normal with normal use as the non-stick can wear off slowly.
This is not a manufacturing defect."

Wow .... surely they don't expect their users to eat the non-stick coating?

We've switched to a carbon steel flat bottomed wok ( Joyce Chen 22-0060 Pro Chef 14-Inch Flat Bottom Wok Uncoated Carbon, Steel ). With proper seasoning, it's pretty non-sticky but the peace of mind of not eating the potentially carcinogenic non-stick coating is priceless.

Would not recommend or buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best, July 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breville 6L Goumet Electric Wok EW30XL (Kitchen)
This electric wok lives up to its reputation for being simply the best! I did all the research before buying and this one always came up at the top. It performs perfectly and is super easy to clean! Buy one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breville 6L Goumet Electric Wok EW30XL
Used & New from: CDN$ 773.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews