Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite and spicy banquet for the soul
Food and its preparation is one of the things that define us, our culture and how we come together with our families.
Writer/Director Gurinder Chadha (who will later write and direct Bend it like Beckham) brings us her first "american" film: an exquisite, sweet and even sexy (while brutally honest) look at contemporary family dynamics in present-day L.A, using food...
Published on Jan. 13 2004 by Roberto L. Martinez

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars an human being
This is the first movie I've ever watched which was bad enough to inspire me to write a negative review. This movie is disturbing, depressing, and socially harmful. It's attempt at portraying various cultures is a good idea. However, in this film it fails these cultures badly. As all cultures have strengths and weaknesses, this film entirely focuses on the negative,...
Published on July 18 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite and spicy banquet for the soul, Jan. 13 2004
By 
Roberto L. Martinez "yukiyu99" (Clemmons, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Food and its preparation is one of the things that define us, our culture and how we come together with our families.
Writer/Director Gurinder Chadha (who will later write and direct Bend it like Beckham) brings us her first "american" film: an exquisite, sweet and even sexy (while brutally honest) look at contemporary family dynamics in present-day L.A, using food (and surprisingly enough, surfer music) as the thread to sew together the trials and tribulations of four "ethnic" families during a Thanksgiving day.
But "What's cooking" is more than "just" a food movie, or a Thanksgiving movie. Through an amazing ensemble cast (including Academy Award winner Mercedes Ruehl), ingenous cinematography, smart direction and an outstanding script, Director Chadra makes us feel the joys and pains of these characters.
The story itself is simple: follow the lives of four West L.A. families (Latino, Vietnamese, Black and Jewish) through a Thanksgiving Day. But immediately we get drawn into very powerful statements about love, family, community, divorce, diversity, racism, politics, tolerance and violence. We identify with these characters because we can all relate to their problems, and their family interactions.
I highly recommend this film because it is beautifully and skillfully done, and because of the great actor performances, particularly the female leads. Alfre Woodard is exquisite and brutally believable as the wife trying to keep her family together. Joan Chen, Lainie Kazan and of course Mercedes Ruehl all give extraordinary performances as the matriarchs of these families. Julianna Margulies and Kyra Sedgwick are a joy to watch as a lesbian couple. Dennis Haysbert ("24", Far From Heaven) is fabulous also.
For all you Seinfeld fans out there, you get a glimpse of Estelle Harris in yet another Estelle Costanza incarnation. With her, the loveable Ralph Manza as uncle David (Gepetto in "The Cigar Store Indian").
DVD extras include interviews (they're interesting, although not well edited; it feels like they were "thrown together" at the last minute,sometimes even cutting off mid-sentence, but the raw material is there), theatrical trailer, recipes, and a commentary track (with Writer/Director Chadha and co-writer and husband Paul Mayeda Berger). As expected, the commentary track gives us an inside look ad the writing, casting, production, cinematography and the filming process in general.
Expect bigger and greater things from this power couple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fun film about four families, Sept. 25 2003
By 
audrey (white mtns) - See all my reviews
This is a fun premise -- spending the Thanksgiving holiday with four very different LA families -- that is executed very well, with capable direction and a fine cast. Children are coming home and families are setting extra places as friends and members of these families -- one Asian, one Hispanic, one Jewish and one African-American -- get together and face various real-life issues such as parent-child disagreements, meeting the SO's parents, in-laws, adultery, etc. The movie could have been riddled with cliches, but a decent script and excellent cast -- including Mercedes Ruehl, Alfre Woodard, Lanie Kazan, Dennis Haysbert and Joan Chen -- make this an entertaining film that is part drama but mostly comedy. Don't watch this while you're dieting, though, as there are many scenes of the wonderful dinners being prepared.
DVD features include subtitles in English, French or Spanish; a commentary track with writer/director Gurinder Chadha (Bend It Like Backham) and co-writer Paul Berges; interview segments with the director on the characters and on Thanksgiving, with Kyra Sedgwick on Julianna Margulies, with Mercedes Ruehl on the film's premise, with Dennis Haysbert on Los Angeles, with Joan Chen on food, and with Alfre Woodard on Chadha; and recipes for Vietnamese spring rolls, tamales, rustic (apple) pie, macaroni & cheese, noodle kugel and oyster-shiitake stuffing.
Definitely a worthwhile rental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Melting Pot, Sept. 3 2003
By 
Matthew Gladney (Champaign-Urbana, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Much like her 2003 hit movie "Bend It Like Beckham", Gurinder Chadha's "What's Cooking?" is infused with people who love one another very much, and so even though some tough issues are thrown their way, we know that, because of that love, they will get through life's obstacles ok.
"What's Cooking" centers around four families living on the same block in Los Angeles. They don't know each other, however, and instead, like most modern families, are focused on their own problems and worries. Chadha makes good use of "the American melting pot" idea, as one family is Italian, one is hispanic, one is black, and one is Asian. One of the most wonderful aspects of the movie is that, even though the people are of different ethnicities, they are portrayed respectfully as human beings. We can relate to each of them. They are different, but the same. Isn't that the underlying truth of us all? People are, indeed, people.
There are some nice performances here: Alfre Woodard is great as a stressed, neglected wife. Dennis Haysbert is quiet, cool and simmering as her husband. Mercedes Ruehl shines as the mother of the hispanic family, trying to move on with her life from an ex-husband that just won't understand that it's over between them. Kyra Sedgwick and Julianna Margulies are endearing as a lesbian couple on their first trip to meet the parents. Estelle Harris (of "Seinfeld" fame) is deliciously wicked as the aunt who just keeps pushing the issue. And, of course, there's Lainie Kazan -- always a treat.
I saw this film at Roger Ebert's Overlooked Film Festival in 2003, and it was very well-received. There are dramatic, serious moments, and then there are quite hilarious moments. The theater was filled with laughter a number of times, and deservedly so. In the end, this is a 'feel-good' film. And one which will also have you salivating throughout, as each family is busy cooking and preparing their Thanksgiving dinners.
This is the second Gurinder Chadha movie that I have seen, and from what I have tell, she seems to really believe the best of people. Yes, we fight. Yes, we quarrel. Yes, we disagree. But at the heart of humanity has to be love and understanding, if we are to get along and survive. "What's Cooking" embodies this sentiment wonderfully. It was a joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great ensemble cast makes this a delicious feast..., July 31 2001
By 
Jon Rydin "~Zee MaZteR of Pop Culture~" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Directed by Gurinder Chadha, this good ensemble piece centers on four Los Angeles families (in various stages of dysfunction) attempting to come together over Thanksgiving dinner. Though the story lines are familiar, the laughter and emotions keep this movie from being a leftover Turkey sandwich.
The fantastic ensemble cast includes the always wonderful Alfre Woodard as a woman fighting the stress of maintaining peace in her family. Mercedes Ruehl turns in another good performance as a level-headed matriarch rebounding from a cheating husband. Kyra Sedgwick and Julianna Margulies are delicious as a lesbian couple trying not to spar with one set of parents (enably played by Lainie Kazan and Maury Chakin). Joan Chen is also great playing a tradition-based parent losing a battle against her rebelling teenage kids. Toss in Estelle Harris for extra laughs and wonderful turns from much of the supporting cast, and you can't go wrong.
Though the movies' editing is somehwat choppy, it comes together nicely at the end. I'd highly recommend filling your plate with an extra helping of this gem. The enjoyment of laughter, possible tears, and multi-ethnic traditions make this one a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Decent - Good for a Rental, June 6 2001
By 
Mr. JKW "jkw" (Honolulu, Hawai'i) - See all my reviews
For a movie I never heard of(being in the theaters), this was a surprisingly decent movie. The movie basically follows four families (a Hispanic family, Vietnamese family, African-American family and a Jewish family) as they prepare Thanksgiving dinner. Overall, it is a nice family movie despite the obvious dysfunction in each family (which is pretty realistic I suppose).
Among the "issues" addressed in this movie: lesbian relationships, marital infidelity, the generation gap between parents and children, single parent homes, and gun violence.
The ending of the movie surprisingly ties everything together into a nice bow but you still feel at the end of the movie like, "What a wacky world we live in."
Overall, the movie itself is a nice watch, worthy of an afternoon rental viewing. It's definitely not a waste of money.
Among the special DVD features in this film are interviews and commentaries from cast and crew members on a WIDE VARIETY OF TOPICS. The interviews are so-so. They're not worth the price of admission, but it's an "okay" bonus. The special feature in the DVD section I really liked were the recipes for some of the delicious dishes served up in some of the families' Thanksgiving dinners. That's a great DVD bonus.
Here's my rundown:
Great: The recipes in the DVD special features
Good: The overall movie itself (storyline, acting, etc).
Okay: The DVD bonus interviews, commentaries, etc
Bad: The pure dysfunction...but it's unfortunately all too true in our society...
Overall, a nice effort for the cast and crew and the DVD makers.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great cast and a realistic story...., April 28 2001
By 
Eric McCalla "reviewboy" (Denver, COLORADO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What S Cooking? (VHS Tape)
WHAT'S COOKING is a great film in not one but two genres: the family-holiday film and the contemporary American-family drama. This is a much better effort than Jodie Foster's HOME FOR THE HOLIDAYS. There are many family-holiday movies, but this one stands out for several reasons:
1) excellent casting including two of the most underused actresses working today: Mercedes Ruehl and Alfre Woodard. Every role they've done has been excellent and genuine. Kyra Sedgwick, Lanie Kazan, Joan Chen and Julianna Margulies are all strong female characters, which is not seen often in American cinema.
2) a great storyline that follow 4 contemporary American families (Jewish, Hispanic, African-American and Asian) through the ups and downs of family and friends sharing not only a holiday meal, but their secrets, emotions and personal conflicts.
3) the director edited the film so each story has time to develop: you feel like the characters are given time to express themselves.
4) the ending makes sense, and is not overly dramatic or sensational. some movies make you feel like you've wasted 2 hours on getting nowhere.
overall, well worth your time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars an human being, July 18 2001
By A Customer
This is the first movie I've ever watched which was bad enough to inspire me to write a negative review. This movie is disturbing, depressing, and socially harmful. It's attempt at portraying various cultures is a good idea. However, in this film it fails these cultures badly. As all cultures have strengths and weaknesses, this film entirely focuses on the negative, without giving any real voice or show of their strength. It does not give the viewer insight into what strengths have brought these families through generations to now. Rather, it even disparages the good in them by flipping social right and wrong. In the end, this movie does not portray the american family. It does however take the viewer on a long grueling tour of the writer/producer's social/political designs. The thought that this movie might have any influence with viewers is indeed disturbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fan-freakin-tastic!!, Jan. 15 2002
By 
There are indie films,and then there are stay-with-you always amazing indie films. The cast is only the icing to a tale weaved so subtly the ending would blow you away (well, not to give it away).

Like the culinary theme, which also left me hungry, this is one film which will whet your appetite for the acutely accurate portrayal of the immigrant society in America. I know as an Asian I was stunned by the director's resounding voice in her unflinching representation of that community. And the range of emotions it will evoke will leave you laughing, crying, thinking...just from one scene to another. I also appreciate the really uncheesy, un-gratituous lesbian story-line (but of course a lady director would know better!)

So it's a keeper. Buy it so you can share it with people you love and so you can watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What's Cooking, April 25 2001
By 
Christian Treiber "wctreiber" (Mustang, OK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What's Cooking is a film that the whole family can enjoy. Well written, acted and directed the film tells the story of four family's of different ethnic backgrounds getting together to celebrate Thanksgiving. Featuring an all star cast featuring Joan Chen, Julianna Margulies, Mercedes Ruehl, Kyra Sedgwick, Alfre Woodard and A. Martinez to name a few. Written & Directed by Gurinder Chadha and produced by Jeffrey Taylor, Ethan Hurt and Steven D. Kravitz for Because Entertainment the film skillfully weaves together a story that is both interesting and entertaining. I would highly recommend this film to anybody that enjoys the cinema but is put off by the vulgarity in so many of today's films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slight But Engaging, March 5 2001
By 
C. Manson (Destin, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This four-stories-about-one-story movie about families airing their dirty laundry at Thanksgiving isn't likely to replace "Planes, Trains & Automobiles" as my favorite, but it's worth a look for the great cast. Of note is the always incredible Alfre Woodard; the woman never fails to move me.
My chief gripe is the way the film is edited. Just as some scenes are ready to take off, they cut to something else. Too bad they didn't hire Mike Figgis to shoot this in his "Time Code" quadrant style.
Still, any film that prominently features a dachshund in the cast is alright by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What's Cooking (Sous-titres français) [Import]
What's Cooking (Sous-titres français) [Import] by Gurinder Chadha (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 16.72 CDN$ 9.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews