Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Right Stuff (Digibook blu-ray): wonderful movie for its history, humour & humanity with improved video & audio; a great book
VIDEO:

This 30th Anniversary Edition of The Right Stuff debut on blu-ray with MPEG-4 AVC (22.50 Mpbs) 1080p 1.85:1 encode. After undergoing a meticulous restoration prior to its 2003 DVD release, this HD transfer raises the bar yet again. The biggest difference lies in the removal of dozens of errant marks that littered the DVD. With such annoyances gone, we...
Published 5 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "There was a demon that lived in the air."
The story behind America's journey into space has always been a fascinating tale. The courage displayed by the early space pioneers cannot be understated. This select group of men placed their lives on the line for the pride of a nation and helped shape the course of space flight well into the current century. Their story has been immortalized in Philip Kaufman's "The...
Published on Nov. 29 2003 by Steven Y.


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Right Stuff (Digibook blu-ray): wonderful movie for its history, humour & humanity with improved video & audio; a great book, Feb. 21 2014
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO:

This 30th Anniversary Edition of The Right Stuff debut on blu-ray with MPEG-4 AVC (22.50 Mpbs) 1080p 1.85:1 encode. After undergoing a meticulous restoration prior to its 2003 DVD release, this HD transfer raises the bar yet again. The biggest difference lies in the removal of dozens of errant marks that littered the DVD. With such annoyances gone, we are left with a spotless, perfectly balanced image featuring slightly enhanced contrast and clarity. The letters that signify location are markedly sharper than they are on the DVD, and close-ups possess more impact (check out the shot of Cooper reflected in the nurse's eyeglasses), highlighting a host of fine facial details. This transfer offers a pleasingly film-like image that is consistently detailed, fine-grained and colourful with a widely varying palette. The 193 minute length is a little too long. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

A film that wins Academy Awards for Best Sound and Best Sound Effects Editing demands a strong audio track, and Warner delivers with a highly immersive Dolby TrueHD 5.1 mix that is smoother, richer, and more nuanced than the previous lossy Dolby Digital 5.1 track. Bill Conti's Oscar-winning music score adds an air of majesty to the proceedings, exhibiting great depth of tone as it sweeps across all my nine speakers. Best of all, no hiss, pops, or crackles disrupt the audio's purity, making this finely tuned mix one of the best restored 1980s tracks. (4.5/5)

AWARDS:

In 1984, The Right Stuff won 4 Oscars: Best Original Score (Bill Conti), Best Sound, Best Film Editing, and Best Sound Effects. It was also nominated in 4 other categories: Best Picture, Best Supporting Actor (Sam Sheppard), Best Cinematography and Best Art Direction.

PACKAGING:

The Right Stuff is packaged in Warner's slick, handsomely designed 40-page digibook, which is very informative and educational about the Mercury programs and the movie. I personally prefer this type of presentation and would buy the digibook format whenever available. I feel I get more value for the buck. Other notable blu-ray digibooks include Cleopatra, Deliverance, Chariots Of Fire, Jaws and Easy Rider.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

After 30 years, The Right Stuff still delivers the goods. Reverent and respectful, yet laced with biting comedy and a whimsy that belies the toughness of the figures it salutes, Philip Kaufman's epic chronicle of trail-blazing test pilots, America's premier astronauts, and the elusive quality that sets them apart from most mortals remains a terrifically entertaining and exciting film. Warner's handsome digibook presentation honours the film with a striking video transfer and improved audio soundtrack, both superior to its 20th anniversary DVD counterpart. You will also love The Right Stuff for its history, humor, and humanity. The digibook set is indeed “The Right Stuff” and is highly recommended.

Finally, the prices of some blu-ray releases go down after its initial release. So, I waited…In this case, since the release on November 5, 2013, the price did not go down at all, even with all the boxing day sale. Therefore, if you are thinking of buying this set, wait no more. You will get “The Right Stuff.”
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars replacing our vhs, Nov. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Right Stuff (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
this was such a good movie... a great family movie...a part of history..i recommend this. good actors which made it well made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The difference between a documentary and a film, March 11 2004
By 
"satriani47" (Takeaguess, Fl USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Right Stuff (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
If I want to see it EXACTLY as it really happened, I'll head on over to my library and check out any number of documentaries put together on the early days of the Space Program. This review is aimed at the people who have problems with certain innacuracies within the film's story line.
Film, even of the historical nature, is at least somewhat about drama. If you watch a movie like The Right Stuff and you are surprised or taken aback by certain details that you know to be innaccurate, you are missing the point. The reason that historical films often contain alterations in fact here and there is the same reason that a band should never cover a famous song unless they think that they can do it better or add an interesting new flavor to it. The early days of the Space Race were exciting, and to alter certain facts to maximize the drama of a movie (and don't forget, it is just a movie) is far from insulting.
As a young child, one of my favorite movies was The Right Stuff. I loved the excitement, the characters, and the notion that what I was watching meant a great deal to a lot of people. Years later, even after I learned that the real Jack Ridley died in the middle of the movie's depicted timeline or that John Glenn's ship was not actually guided home by fireflys (which, by the way, only an idiot would think the movie was acutally trying to depict) I still love the movie. It's entertainment, and, believe it or not, most of it really happened. If you've got a bone to pick with the Right Stuff, you've got a bone to pick with every historical film ever released, because part of what makes it a film, or a movie, or whatever you want to call it, is that it does not, and will not ever stick solely to the facts. If it did, why would anyone ever want to watch it when they could just watch some documentary. You don't have to agree, but I think that The Right Stuff is a great movie, fun, informative, and timeless. Five out of Five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT STUFF!!!!, Feb. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What a great, under appreciated film. Transfer looks great. Special effects hold up great.
The docs are ample and informative. The packaging is stellar. BUT...where is the audio commentary? This film, more than most, begs for a running commentary by the filmmakers and a 2nd one with a NASA historian. But sadly none are to be found on this disc....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Stuff, June 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have always loved this movie. It's well acted, it's entertaining, somewhat factual and keeps moving so you don't get bored. An A-ok movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Jan. 28 2013
By 
Sean Murray - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The movie stands the test of time. Worth buying and watching. A great history of the Apollo missions. The start of the space race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Right Stuff, May 12 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Even though this movie runs for over 2 hours it is a time well spent. This movie is a wonderful, witty satire, a mix of historical facts, politics, fame and human emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great from Start to Finish!, July 11 2009
By 
Neil Olsen (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Right Stuff (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
This is a long film, but it is so good that the time flies (excuse the pun). It is a fascinating story and the excellent cast capture the complex mix of personalities that made up America's fledgling astronaut programme. The bonus material is really interesting and provides useful background. Thoroughly enjoyable and well worth the investment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well done, July 9 2004
By 
Harry Pandolfino (York, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Right Stuff (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
Hollywood has mostly ignored one of the most dramatic events of the modern age, the space program. It's been willing to lavish millions on sci-fi and fantasy but has been meager in detailing the real drama. Tom Wolfe's marvelous book has been captured in this film with the same blend of irony, whimsy, humor and real drama.
The astronauts were accidental heroes, men who never expected to be elevated to such a public Olympus. They were never what the PR machine promoted but they got the job done and eventually earned the heroic status they were automatically granted by the propaganda machine of the time.
An interesting film that genuinely manages to distill out the essence of the 'right stuff.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest American Epic, June 24 2004
By 
Luis M. Ramos "Soundtrack and Film Freak" (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Right Stuff (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
The fact that "The Right Stuff" lost the Oscar for best picture to "Terms Of Endearment" is beyond me; this movie should have won. The fact that it wasn't a hit at the box office back in 1983 is also beyond me. We are talking about what I think it's the best American epic in all the sense of the word.
It's strange that a Venezuelan-born like me should talk about a movie like this, but I feel that "The Right Stuff" should have been a classic -well, it is for me. The story of the "Mercury" astronauts is portrayed marvelously by Philip Kaufman's direction, showcased beautifully by Caleb Deschanel's stylish photography, and supported by an incredible cast including Scott Glenn, Ed Harris, Barbara Hershey, Sam Shepard, Pamela Reed, Kim Stanley, and Veronica Cartwright.
In fact, I remember when I was watching that movie at home, and my late father asked me if a man that appeared on the screen was astronaut John Glenn because he looked just like him. Of course I told him he was an actor who was playing his role. That said, it's incredible to see how Ed Harris is perfectly cast as Glenn.
And I don't want to forget one of the reasons why I love this movie, and that's Bill Conti's spectacular music score. Of course it may sound a little like Holst's "The Planets", but I usually weep every time I listen to the main theme.
I'm glad that a special edition DVD of "The Right Stuff" has been released, with fantastic extras that include new interviews with the cast and crew, deleted scenes, and an incredible documentary on John Glenn. I'm also glad about it because I think that this movie should be rightfully appreciated not only because it deals with historical events like the breaking of the sound barrier and the first American astronauts, but also because, as I said before, this is a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Right Stuff (2-Disc Special Edition)
The Right Stuff (2-Disc Special Edition) by Philip Kaufman (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 24.33
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews