Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A great actress in a Great movie.
This film was awesome! I loved "The Nanny" and still watch it today on Lifetime. Fran Drescher is one of the great actors of our time. Her unique voice and offbeat style puts her over the top. This movie would have lost all of it personality and perkiness if not for Fran Drescher. Two Thumbs up!
Published on July 1 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The King And I is redone
Fran Drescher is a beauty school teacher transplanted to Slavic Europe in Anna and the King of Slavitsky, or Beautician and the Beast, whatever they decided to name it, an obvious knockoff of The King And I. He's a power monger, she's a bright American who softens and civilizes him. Very comforting to the American ego. Some of the movie is funny, some is stupid,...
Published on June 12 2000 by Len Feder


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A great actress in a Great movie., July 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beautician and the Beast (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This film was awesome! I loved "The Nanny" and still watch it today on Lifetime. Fran Drescher is one of the great actors of our time. Her unique voice and offbeat style puts her over the top. This movie would have lost all of it personality and perkiness if not for Fran Drescher. Two Thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, June 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beautician and the Beast (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I think this is one of the best family/childrens movies. It has alot of different issues that are important, and it also has an adorable theme. Its beauty and the beast mixed with Cinderella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Loved this Movie!, June 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beautician and the Beast (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I, Being a Hard-core 'The Nanny' fan, i desided to rent The Beautician and the Beast because i heard it had a simaliar plot to the Nanny(She was hired as a teacher/nanny and falls in love with her boss) and i loved it!! I loved the line where her mom fed her pet chicken and she said, "Ma! You fed the Chicken Chicken?!?! Its like Silence of the Chickens!!!"
I rate this movie 5 outta 5!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, May 18 2004
By 
P. French (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beautician and the Beast (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie is very sweet, I love it. And it's so funny, omigod! My favorite part is when Joy finds her mother feeding her *pet* chicken, and she goes, "Ma! Ya fed the chicken chicken?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Comedy, March 8 2004
By 
David (Jacksonville, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beautician and the Beast (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I can't say that I have been a fan of Fran Drescher, mainly because I never watched any of her TV shows. However, she does very good job in the role of a New York City beautician who is mistakenly recruited as a teacher for the children of an eastern European dictator played by Timothy Dalton.
Much of Drescher's comedy is geared around, believe it or not, her voice. It has an Elmer Fudd quality to it--especially when she laughs.
Drescher goes with the flow in attempting to teach Dalton's four children, but goes well beyond the three Rs--much to his consternation. Still, her down to earth style slowly wins Dalton's heart and transforms into something of a more acceptable world leader.
While the ending is predictable, it is nonetheless satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Devastating Dalton Delights Again, Dec 15 2003
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beautician and the Beast (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
As a lifelong Timothy Dalton fan (since 1968, sad isn't it?), I will watch absolutley anything he is in, though a lot of his stuff is a bit grim for my taste. In this delightfully frviolous romantic comedy he plays a stern Eastern European Dictator whose heart is softened by the feisty New York girl he engages as governess for his children. The plot is extremely silly but who cares, it's funny and romantic, a sort of whimsical updateing of 'The Sound of Music' (thankfully without any singing). The scene at the ball where Dalton suddenly sweeps the girl into his arms provoked an involuntary whimper of excitement and envy from me, causing my oldest son to exclaim "Oh honestly, Mum" in that disgusted tone teenagers are so good at. Even if you are not a Dalton fan you will enjoy this film if you are partial to romantic comedies that aren't too soppy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Fran!, Nov. 13 2003
By 
ooga (Williamsville, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beautician and the Beast (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Although this movie was rather cliche`, I thought it was wonderfully hillarious! This is another fabulous Fran masterpiece about a young woman who longs to go somewhere in her life, which isn't helped by her nagging parents. Then one day she is mistaken for a school teacher and, with a twist of fate, is whisked off to an East European country, There she is forced to tutor the President's uptight children, but she teaches them more than school material. Let's just say that the Preisdent learns a thing or too also. Leave to a nazel nosed upbeat American like Drescher to unite family and friends in this motivational comedy about following your dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute and fun, Oct. 23 2003
By 
K. Stuckey "kateling" (Port Huron, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beautician and the Beast (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
There are few actual laugh-out-loud funny moments in this movie but it is cute nonetheless. It has a plotline very much similar to Fran Drescher's TV show "The Nanny". Fran is a beauty college instructor who, through a misunderstanding, ends up in the fictional country of Slovetzia as the tutor of the president's children (one is played by the "bee Girl" from the Blind Melon video *hee-hee*). She brings the children out of their shells and also teaches the president a thing or two (about opening up, freedom and love). Unfortunately it takes her leaving for him to realize it, but there is a 'happily ever after' ending. This movie is a must-have for Fran Drescher fans needing a fix!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fran is the queen of all kingdoms, March 27 2003
By 
Edmond Gauthier (California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Loved the movie, hated what the European (Prague) weather looked like. Makes me glad I live in the USA instead of over there.
Location aside, I have to laugh at all the snippy internet reviewers of this movie in general, who want to hold up Fran's acting in comparison to the standards of a Carole Lombard or a Mae West.
Strange how these same reviewers have no problem agreeing that terrible actresses like Paltrow and Kidman should have Oscars shoved at them, with no comparison of them to real actresses like a Meryl Streep or a Jane Fonda.
Anyway, it's just supposed to be a light comedy, so lighten up!
This flick, which is The King And I meets Beauty And The Beast, is all about Fran, so hang the rest. If you're not a fan, get over it and go watch something else, without raining on the parades of others.
But if you're a good little Nanny nosher, then there is nothing but enjoyment to be found in the lighthearted banter and cute outfits that our favorite Flushing girl offers.
Even the political slant of poking fun at dictators has taken on more relevance in recent years, if one wants to look closer at the plot. But who cares about dull things like script construction when there's so much of gorgeous Fran to see?
Naturally, though, all us Nannyholics have been waiting impatiently for the widescreen DVD release of this movie - so get on it, you lazy studio execs out there!
~~~~~~
UPDATE: On June 24, 2003 this movie indeed WAS released on a wonderful widescreen DVD! Thank you, studio folks!
Oy, I know there's no original trailer, so it doesn't get five stars, but I've changed my earlier 3 star rating to a 4 since there IS audio commentary by the fabulous Fran herself! So enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beaution and the Beast, March 20 2003
By A Customer
This movie is hilarious! It is one of the best i have seen! See it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbde3c888)

This product

The Beautician and the Beast (Widescreen) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 109.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews