Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love Nancy Drew Games!
I am in love with Nancy Drew games! They are a lot of fun. I have completed quite a few of them (as in 6 maybe...). I highly recommend them to anyone who has enough patience to sit in front of a computer screen. Although I do admit that sometimes they are frustrating, you always seem to work through it. These games are also neat because you get to actually play the...
Published on Nov. 4 2005 by a Hilary Duff fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Least of Nancy Drew
The game is easily the least challenging of the Nancy Drew games (best were Scarlet Hand, Treasure in the Royal Tower, The Final Scene and Ghost Dogs of Moon Lake). The puzzles are too few and too easy, and basically you just wait until a clue or necessary game piece is given to you instead of having to really figure out where to look for it. The ending is a REAL...
Published on Dec 27 2003


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love Nancy Drew Games!, Nov. 4 2005
This review is from: Nancy Drew: The Haunted Carousel (CD-ROM)
I am in love with Nancy Drew games! They are a lot of fun. I have completed quite a few of them (as in 6 maybe...). I highly recommend them to anyone who has enough patience to sit in front of a computer screen. Although I do admit that sometimes they are frustrating, you always seem to work through it. These games are also neat because you get to actually play the role of Nancy (a dream for fans of the books). So, if you're looking for an entertaining and interesting computer game series, this is the one to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunted Carousel, July 1 2004
By 
This review is from: Nancy Drew: The Haunted Carousel (CD-ROM)
I have to say i loved this game it was really fun, even though it is the shortest one, taking me about 2 days to solve. It is easy, so it is good for someone who is playing their first game. It lets you ride the "Haunted" carousel, play the games on the midway, and also explore the insides of the shut down rides like the roller coaster and the haunted house. This game is not too suspensful, though, But i have to say i still enjoyed playing the band organ and making nancy pig out in her hotel room. The room service idea is kinda cool. But i think it was not a good idea to put a laptop in her room, since the game is already so easy. But all in all, it is a really fun game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, cool, and better than the previous one!, July 30 2003
By 
Molly P. (Portland, Oregon USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nancy Drew: The Haunted Carousel (CD-ROM)
"The Haunted Carousel" is the eighth Nancy Drew PC game, and this one likely won't disappoint. Rich in detail, this game was obviously well-planned and well-made. The graphics are awesome, the storyline is believable, the characters are interesting and amusing, and the game is all-around great.
In this game, you, as Nancy Drew, get full access to an amusement park where, recently, some very odd occurances have taken place. Search for clues, play games, solve puzzles and riddles, and -- in the end -- solve a mystery and outwit the villain. Like all the Nancy Drew games, "Haunted Carousel" brings gamers hours of entertainment and lots of fun.
"Haunted Carousel" is, in my opinion, much better than its predecessor, "Ghost Dogs of Moon Lake," which I found to be rather disappointing due to the fact that the games and puzzles seemed dull, and didn't tie well into the game. In "Carousel," the presence of a carnival midway allows for the presence of games without the feeling that the games are weirdly out-of-place. Also, the educational elements of this game (which are present in all ND games) are incorporated nicely and subtly.
I encountered one small problem with this game, however, and that involved the "Barnacle Blast" mini-game. It was impossible to beat/solve this game (a game that resembles "breakout") because the "paddle" used to hit the ball was too small. However, this problem can be solved on some computers by running the computer in "safe mode," thus making the paddle bigger. (Some computers may not enounter this problem at all, but I wanted to mention it in case yours has the same trouble mine did.)
All in all, a great game... appropriate for ages 10 and up... adults will like it, too! Perfect to play in groups or even alone... "The Haunted Carousel" earns 5 stars from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Game from Nancy Drew, June 11 2004
By 
C. Cates (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nancy Drew: The Haunted Carousel (CD-ROM)
This game was very enjoyable though it was not the best in the Nancy Drew series. The plot was a little dry and the characters not as well developed as the games in the past but there were some good parts to balance it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Carousel Ride, May 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Nancy Drew: The Haunted Carousel (CD-ROM)
I wish we had read a review of this game before we had purchased it. Having purchased and played all preceeding Nancy Drew games with my children (where we were very satisfied and impressed with the quality) the Haunted Carousel was a noticeable letdown. Each game claims a minimum of 20 hours playing time and we have found this to be true with the exception of Carousel, which we finished in under 6 hours, at the highest difficulty level. The game contains far fewer problem solving opportunities and too much "help". You can't even wander through the park. I would suggest it only if it's hugely discounted as it is only about one third the playing time and quality level as other games in the Nancy Drew series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easily The Best Nancy Drew Mystery Ever, May 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Nancy Drew: The Haunted Carousel (CD-ROM)
I am eight years old and I enjoyed this one easily the best from the other nine mysteries. Haunted Carousel lets you try for the brass ring on the carousel, play a mouth organ, check out a cool haunted house and much more. The ending is really hard to think of but you get it through with a couple of second chances. Try this one out next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The worst game in the series, March 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Nancy Drew: The Haunted Carousel (CD-ROM)
I was excited about getting "The Haunted Carousel" when i orderd it.What a let down.This is by far the most boring game in the series.Its way to easy.Plus you are limited by where you can go.This is a major step back to the quality of the first game in the series.Cheap and fast way of making Herinteractive a quick buck.They just threw this together.I hope future games,they take the time to really think things through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not as challenging, Jan. 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Nancy Drew: The Haunted Carousel (CD-ROM)
I've played all of the Nancy Drew games and found this one to be too easy. My daughter found it a little boring (except for the ending). I would get this as a starter game. If you are a veteran of these games I 'd suggest that you wait until it's on sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Least of Nancy Drew, Dec 27 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Nancy Drew: The Haunted Carousel (CD-ROM)
The game is easily the least challenging of the Nancy Drew games (best were Scarlet Hand, Treasure in the Royal Tower, The Final Scene and Ghost Dogs of Moon Lake). The puzzles are too few and too easy, and basically you just wait until a clue or necessary game piece is given to you instead of having to really figure out where to look for it. The ending is a REAL disappointment, especially compared with the more exciting endings of earlier games. And Bess obsessing over Matt calling her is SOOOO lame. Best features are Nancy's new cell phone and the To Do list that can be checked off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nancy Drew Haunted Carousel, Nov. 13 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Nancy Drew: The Haunted Carousel (CD-ROM)
The Haunted Carousel game was a big disappointment to me for several reasons. I am a fan of the Nancy Drew software and only have good things to say about the *other* titles in this series by Her Interactive. That said, this particular game is too short, has fewer clues and puzzles (which are much too easy), other characters are barely fleshed out, and overall, it lacks any sense of mystery or intrigue basic to this type of game. I suspect that HerInteractive was in a crunch to get Danger on Deception Island out quickly in time for Xmas, and so they skimped on this particular game. I do not recommend it at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nancy Drew: The Haunted Carousel
Nancy Drew: The Haunted Carousel by Her Interactive (Windows 2000 / 95 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 13.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews