Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant Ending
This is a fascinating and complex film that, if you are a Chaplin fan, will hit you with many emotions and make you think. The movie is rather dreamlike, in the sense that it re-invokes memories of his father, the music halls of his youth, his no-longer-attainable desires for beautiful young ingenues, and nighmares of losing an audience. As the last film he ever made in...
Published on April 8 2004 by Villemar

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As the Years Passed By....
l saw this movie when it first came out and was totally entranced. l laughed, l cried, l wondered, l was in awe. And l saw it at least 3 more times over the course of the same year (either 1952 or 1953). lt became one of my most favorite films.
And the years went by, and lo! in the mid-'80's it was scheduled to appear uninterrupted on one of the Cable channels and l...
Published on June 8 2004 by eduardo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As the Years Passed By...., June 8 2004
This review is from: Limelight (DVD)
l saw this movie when it first came out and was totally entranced. l laughed, l cried, l wondered, l was in awe. And l saw it at least 3 more times over the course of the same year (either 1952 or 1953). lt became one of my most favorite films.
And the years went by, and lo! in the mid-'80's it was scheduled to appear uninterrupted on one of the Cable channels and l joyfully told friends not to miss it because of its greatness and l had a small party, a gathering of selected friends to watch the movie with me. l was a veritable Press Agent for the film in my neighborhood.
And the film started...and the friends at my house left around 3/4 of the way through the movie, the others asked me (the next day +) if l was kidding them....in summary, the movie just didn't stand up to today's standards. The sets were cheesy, the acting often overdone, the emoting embarrassing and l and all of my friends were disappointed big-time...yet another "old-time" movie that didn't stand up to the test of time.
But it's Chaplin and should be at least rented and seen. l myself just can't add it to my DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Chaplin revised, July 7 2004
By 
T. ANDREASSON (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Limelight [Import] (DVD)
A pretentious, dull and tedious movie about a vaudeville clown saving a ballerina from suicide. Calvero(Chaplin) goes on and on with self indulgent monoloughes and performs on stage comedy for two year olds.
He even took the opportunity to reduce the great Buster Keaton to a studio intern. Heartbreaking to witness.
I regret I saw it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant Ending, April 8 2004
By 
Villemar (Long Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Limelight (DVD)
This is a fascinating and complex film that, if you are a Chaplin fan, will hit you with many emotions and make you think. The movie is rather dreamlike, in the sense that it re-invokes memories of his father, the music halls of his youth, his no-longer-attainable desires for beautiful young ingenues, and nighmares of losing an audience. As the last film he ever made in the US before he was declared persona non grata, it is an apt bookend to a 38 year film career. If the tramp was killed off by Monsier Verdoux, Charlie's remaining avatars confront death with elegance and melancholy in this underrated treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Movie of All Time.....No Other Can Compare, Dec 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Chaplin:Limelight (VHS Tape)
I love Chaplin, and most especially I love this movie. Chaplin viewed life mostly as either a comedy, (laughable - though not necessarily funny) or tragic....and this movie is a complex yet tender tale of just that. He is soulful and kind in the character he plays.....and after reading his autobiography and studying him as best I could over the years, this movie seems to come from out of his experiences, either growing up and watching the death of vaudeville....and the acts that flowed from it...and people, generally. Hit wit and wisdom is brilliant and his on-screen personality with Bloom as Thereza is magnificent. I fell in love with him myself. His talent was beyond belief; he wrote the story and the music....and played the music....and with clever quips such as "But isn't it too late for music? Not if we play a nocturne!".... I've watched this movie again and again many times owing to its hypnotic qualities, yet every time I watch it I see things that stand out to me. Of course the ending is sad and tragic.....and I think it ended entirely too soon.....it could have gone on and on.... A beautiful story from a beautiful man of character and depth. His passing was a huge loss, though inevitable.
When he made this film he was about 64 years old....yet bouncy and buoyant...very charismatic, sweet and charming. Also he brings a sophistication to the screen that is one of the highlights of the older movies and actors originating from the UK.
Limelight is on my shelf...though well worn from playing it over and over. I highly recommend it be on yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clowntime is over, July 18 2003
By 
This review is from: Limelight (DVD)
To this day, the audiences don't know whether to laugh or cry when encountering this long-winded melodrama about an aged performer and a troubled young ballerina.
Director Bernardo Bertolucci is among those who consider "Limelight" Charles Chaplin's masterpiece. When the tramp clown breathes his last, "Who is dying here is not Calvaro, but Charlie Chaplin," Bertolucci says in the DVD documentary. "With 'Limelight,' tears flow very easily."
The MK2 documentary for "Limelight" is the Chaplin Collection's best so far. It covers the period in which Chaplin left the United States, only to return once, reluctantly, for his honorary Oscar.
The docu doesn't address the old charges that Chaplin spiked Buster Keaton's best work in the film. Regardless, the extended Keaton-Chaplin slapstick sequence remains the highlight for many viewers. The DVD photo gallery includes W. Eugene Smith's terrific stills of the men at work.
The film enjoy across-the-board improvements in video and audio, including digital transfers from Chaplin family elements and Dolby Digital 5.1 mixes. Imaginative bonus features inform and entertain without wearing out their welcome.
"Limelight" extras include footage of Chaplin getting a hero's welcome in London and revisiting the places of his youth. Home movies from the 1950s show Geraldine Chaplin as a child and teenager. (The great Chaplin comes across like any other proud goofy dad, playing with his kids.) A hilarious 1919 short shows Chaplin on the loose as a flea-circus wrangler.
Chaplin and his collaborators' luscious score, which won a belated Oscar in 1972 -- once the film finally qualified by screening in L.A. -- can be enjoyed separately, as an extra. The music sounds fine in mono or in the 5.1, but the surround seems to introduce some boominess.
The film has an intro by Chaplin biographer David Robinson, rendered pretty much useless by placement on disc 2 (almost all of his information is repeated in the docus anyway).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Clown and The Ballerina..., July 16 2003
This review is from: Chaplin:Limelight (VHS Tape)
...I like tug at your heart melodramas.
This story is like an opera without the mezzo soprano voice. A down and out, alcoholic clown takes in a "paralyzed" ballet dancer and inspires her to greatness, while he falls deeper and deeper into failure. A shadow of his former self, Calvero, the great clown performer, is reduced to street performances and passing the hat for money. What will definitely stir the movie viewer is that even in the age difference, the drinking binges, and the apparent class differences, the ballerina, Thereza, wants to marry Calvero and that she "would do anything" to make the clown happy. What devotion! You will love Chaplin's flea circus bit and his over the top violin performance with Keaton. Note: although the film was made in the 50's, it has a feel to it like it was done earlier. The movie viewer will enjoy it, nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ken from Brooklyn, June 11 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Chaplin:Limelight (VHS Tape)
So many aspects of this film are wonderful...not just Chaplin's relationship to his dwindling careet or to the drink he needs to revive the ecstasy of performance...not just the father/sister/lover/nurse(!) relationship he has with the dancer...not just the routine with Buster. There are so many important small moments in this film, my favorite are the scenes with the landlady and those with the tramp band. Chaplin lays it all bare here, but perhaps it is a difficult film for anyone who is not also a clown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Comedy....., Dec 7 2001
This review is from: Chaplin:Limelight (VHS Tape)
I really do like this movie. It's not intended to be funny or comedic, it's not a 'tramp' film. Instead, it is the musings of an old man, who has reflected on his life, realized how great he was once, how poorly he has become, and yet never gives up hope. This is a pretty serious dramatic film, actually, which seems to me why people didn't accept it too well: they were expecting something silly. The film does have its sillier moments, of course, especially with Buster Keaton, and a bit of clowning and dialouge, such as the flea circus bit.
I find that Chaplin had an incredible speaking voice, and was very well capable of playing a dramatic role. Considering how his life went, as the movie seems to follow pretty closely, it makes sense. The relationship between the Chaplin and the ballerina is fascinating, how they keep each other from death, how they give each other hope. It is a great movie, and I wish there were more as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Limelight - a clown's perspective, May 14 2001
By 
Tom Raymond "professional clown" (Wausau, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chaplin:Limelight (VHS Tape)
A truly wonderful film; it swiftly became one of my favorites. In a nutshell, it's the story of a once-great stage comedian (Calvero, a formerly great tramp clown, played by Charlie Chaplin), who's been failing in his career, and has become an alcholic, who saves the life of a despondent ballerina (played by Claire Bloom) from a suicide attempt. The film is a juxtaposition of these two personalities, one who rallies & goes onward, the other who falls further. It contains some of Chaplin's funniest & finest moments, include a nice pantomime of a flea circus, and a duet towards the end of the film with Buster Keaton. Interestingly, neither comic legend played their most famous characters; Chaplin wasn't the tramp, but rather another tramp comedian, a manic violinist. Keaton wasn't his well-known stone face, but rather a near-sighted pianist. Some have suggested that Chaplin jealously cut Keaton's time on screen, but as Jerry Epstein (Chaplin's assistant on this film, and the other person besides Chaplin in the editing room) noted, Chaplin cut far more of his own moments from the scene. When asked why, Chaplin replied to the effect, that no matter how funny something was, if it didn't move the scene forward, it had to go. Something that modern clowns (and film makers) would do well to take to heart. A bittersweet film, that runs perhaps slightly longer than it should, but I frankly think it's "just right." I recommend it very highly, either for fellow clowns to learn from, or for fellow human beings to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Touching!, Sept. 10 2000
By 
This review is from: Chaplin:Limelight (VHS Tape)
A very touching drama about a ballerina who falls in love with an agingmusic hall performer. Not Chaplin's best, but pretty close!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Limelight
Limelight by Charles Chaplin (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 182.81
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews