Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another reason why the 80's were the best
Seriously, what more could you ask for? Gremlins, Back to the Future, Ghostbusters, The Goonies and yes....CRITTERS! While most may disagree, I loved Critters. You find yourself caring about the characters, even the dirty sister up in the barn. And get this...the acting is good too! The effects arent all that bad either, you gotta realize this was made in 1985 and...
Published on June 18 2003 by Randy Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun Movie
I remember renting this movie with a friend when I was like 10, and it was a lot of fun and scary as hell. Unlike some of the other horror movies that featured monsters or aliens as the nemesis, the concept of critters was pretty original, and although it's not award material, it's a pretty decent sci-fi/horror film.
Don't go into this thinking that it's another...
Published on Dec 26 2003 by Scott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another reason why the 80's were the best, June 18 2003
This review is from: Critters [Import] (DVD)
Seriously, what more could you ask for? Gremlins, Back to the Future, Ghostbusters, The Goonies and yes....CRITTERS! While most may disagree, I loved Critters. You find yourself caring about the characters, even the dirty sister up in the barn. And get this...the acting is good too! The effects arent all that bad either, you gotta realize this was made in 1985 and released in 86'. Definatly pick these movies on DVD, they arent confusing either, they all have connection to the previous one. Unlike those Leprechaun films. Infact, part 3 is "to be continued" and the series is finished off in the far future in part 4. It gets real serious in part 4 and the series ends with a huge surprize twist. Get these DVDs on August 5th. I know I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Critters (1986), May 26 2004
By 
This review is from: Critters [Import] (DVD)
Director: Stephen Herek
Cast: Dee Wallace, M. Emmett Walsh, Scott Grimes, Don Opper, Terrence Mann.
Running Time: 87 minutes.
Rated PG-13 for violence, some gore, and language.
Possessing all of the ingredients of a sure cult-classic even while still in the theaters, "Critters" is an extremely enjoyable science-fiction monster yarn that will make you laugh, scream, and cr...(well not cry), well you get the idea. The premise is simple and humorous all the same: A spaceship directed by fiendish little alien creatures that are searching for blood crashlands on earth on a farm owned by Dee Wallace and M. Emmett Walsh. Their rambunctious teenage son, played by Scott Grimes, suspects that something is up, but he can not convince his parents otherwise--only the goofy repair man Opper believes Grimes. The aliens speak their own hilarious extra-terrestrial language, roll into balls when they need to gain ground on their pray, shoot sedative porcupine needles, and grow larger with every victim that they eat.
In hot pursuit of the evil little creatures are two bounty hunters that can change forms and faces. These crazy characters are nearly as tormenting as the flesh-eating critters, shooting their bazookas all over the place and causing a stur. While almost too ridiculous to be believable, the great cast does a fine job keeping a straight face and with the blend of a few genuine scares, "Critters" is a superb, campy romp similar to frighteningly funny flicks such as "Killer Klowns from Outer Space" and "Gremlins". One of the better little gems of the horror genre in the middle 1980's. Spawned three sequels--but the original is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More like 4.5 stars, May 5 2004
This review is from: Critters (VHS Tape)
OK, what can I say about critters...CULT CLASSIC OF THE 80'S!
Critters is a horrific story of carnivorous aliens who come to Earth in a feeding frenzy for human flesh. Although i said its "horrific" there really is only one scary part, the rest is hilarious! this movie is seriously one of the best out there! you can normally find it really cheap at places like wall mart or shopko or hastings! if you like this one get the second one and maybe the third one...but skip the fourth one! Its crap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Critter 1 in the Buss., April 6 2004
By 
J. P. Suhr "Slagar" (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Critters [Import] (DVD)
The best horror movie I have ever seen. If you like action there is plenty of it. Critter is horror but it also has some fun parts in it. Like when crit says they have weapons. The other says so what the wife blast him to bits with her rifle. The other Krite says the f word and rolls away. Don Opper is wonderfull as Charley. Bradly brown is adorable as a little boy. The funnet horror movie since Gremlins. If you like this there other three. Note 3 and 4 are not as good as 1 and 2. Only 2 people get killed during all of three.
If you want to she lots of gore you second one you want. Critters was and alway will be best exitent horror series ever written. There should not of stop making them. If you are really sensitive you should not watch these film. There was this one guy who review Critters 4. There was one guy that saw Critters 4 that cried for 3 hours after he finished watching them.
The krites are evil like the gremlins but not a smart they do some dumb things. Eatting and drink inatimate objects one thing that is done in Critters 1 2 and 3. A good series funny and hillarious. I recetly purchsed these 4 in DVD format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Campy fun that is sure to keep the viewer entertained!, Aug. 18 2003
By 
C. Law (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Critters [Import] (DVD)
It's still amazing to me how many little monster movies Hollywood churned out after the success of GREMLINS. You had MUNCHIES, you had GHOULIES and you had CRITTERS, which surprisingly enough turned out to be the best of the bunch. Not that I have anything against GREMLINS but CRITTERS has far more depth and character development than it does and it's leagues above the other two.
Directed by Stephen Herek, who would later go on to helm BILL & TED'S EXCELLENT ADVENTURE and ROCK STAR with Mark Wahlberg, CRITTERS is a sci-fi/horror/comedy about a group of fur-ball aliens who escape from a prison space ship and come to Kansas for a bite to eat with a pair of intergalactic Bounty Hunters, who can take the face of nearly anyone they want, on their trail. Now as ridiculous as it all may sound, the characters are genuine and the family, along with Charlie, is real enough that you will end up caring about them by the time it's all over.
Still, in the end though CRITTERS is nothing more than campy fun but it's campy fun that will keep its viewers entertained. Check it out. You'll see what I mean.
B-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, The Long Awaited DVD Arrives, July 2 2003
This review is from: Critters [Import] (DVD)
There was a point in my life when I never would have thought in a million light years from now, that the Critters series would be released on DVD. Critters has to be one of my all time favorite horror/cult movies. The score was great, I never had a feeling you get when watching a horror movie where you felt something for the characters and yes, even the little Critters(a.k.a Krites; alien name). Have any of you seen those little bugs best known as rolie polies? That's what I think when I see these fury critters. Mutated rolie polies from outer space. That's a killer, right there. Cute, harmless, rolie polies that got transformed into something out of this world, with fangs, fur, and claws, oh my! Some people might mistake them for a strange bunny rabbit or something of the sort, until it faces you face to face with rows and rows of jagged teeth ready to attack you! Now the Krites like to head for the neck and stomach mostly. So, if you or I were to face one of these critters, then it would be best to wear a protection thing around your neck and probably would wanna wear a bullet proof vest or something to prevent them from eating your guts out. Yes, I know that sounds horrible, but that's the critter's nature. Eat, destroy, and eat some more. Their teeth can cut as sharp as cutting through metal, now that's sharp! And they're messy, little critters. So, if you want my advise: Stay away from the Krites as far as possible. They come mostly in packs, rarely in singles. So they are never really alone. That way, when you are alone, they can gang up on ya, and rip the flesh from your bones, just as fast as a pirana fish would. You might be asking yourself: Where do these critters come from? Well, as silly as they may seem, they come from outer space in a space ship. Yes, that's right. Outer space. In a space ship. How else would they travel? They're aliens. Man-eating fur ball aliens from outer space. How do you kill 'em you ask? With anything you got: Machine guns to knives to whatever! Just kill 'em before they kill you! Oh, I should mention that these Krites also shot posin darts from their backs and aim them at your neck and make you weak so that they will have a better chance of attacking you when unconscience. So, my guess is, to watch out for these mean, green mothers from outer space and make sure that you have protection or you can say bye-bye you. Now, enough of about the critters, and more about the DVD. I'm worried that since the price is a little lower than most normal DVDs cost, that there might not be any special features access to them. I'm one of those DVD freaks that like to explore the making-of featuretts and so forth. So, I'm hoping that this DVD isn't much of a dissapointment. But all in all, the Critters movies are still the greatest horror cults of the 80s, which makes them the number one on my horror movie list. Long-live the Critters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THEY CAME FROM OUTER SPACE..., June 15 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Critters (VHS Tape)
This film is an entertaining sci-fi/horror crossover with comedic elements. Mayhem occurs when a spaceship, containing carniverous furballs that have escaped from an intergalactic maximum security prison, land in sleepy, rural Kansas. Shooting poisonous quills from their bodies and sporting razor sharp teeth, these creatures, called "Crites", are far from cuddly.
Hellbent on eating anyone or anything that stands in their way, these space invaders make their way to the Brown farmhouse. There, they proceed to terrorize the Brown family, and matriarch Helen Brown (Dee Wallace) spends her time shrieking in horrified desperation. Fortunately for all concerned, two bounty hunters from outerspace arrive, dressed from head to toe in brown leather and armed with what look to be telescopic bazookas. The leader of the two looks like a rock singer. The other bounty hunter cannot quite seem to make up his mind as to whom he wishes to look like. What follows on the heels of their arrival is sure to keep the viewer entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and scary, April 3 2001
By 
R. Wallace "Bob Wallace" (St. Louis, Mo USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Critters (VHS Tape)
A bunch of hairballs? furballs? dustballs? with very sharp teeth escape from a prison ship and land--guess where? on Earth. In an sleepy little town, of course. And of course they cause a great deal of mayhem. Down comes a bunch of alien bounty-hunters (these at least _look_ human) to blow away the escapees (known as "Krites") with sort of hand-held bazookas. And of course they cause a great deal of mayhem. The Krites are actually sorta scary--they seem to enjoy greatly destroying everything they can get their teeth into (and they shoot poisoned porcupine needles at people), the bounty-hunters are sorta scary, and the whole thing is surprisingly amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Campy Good Fun, April 27 2003
This review is from: Critters [Import] (DVD)
I have been a fan of the Critters Movies, since I was a little Boy. I remember being about three years old and sitting on my fathers lap, watching these Movies. I was really scared. Now I watch them and I'm not that scared, there just very good campy fun. And there is little to no gore, and maybe 3 Adult Terms, through the hole film.
The first film, "Critters," starts out with a young farm boy, who is very interested in Comics and Sci-Fi. After a little bit, he witnesses what he thinks is a metor crash, but when him and his father go investigating it turns out to be a space-ship. Them him and his family, start to be attacted by little alien hair-balls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun Movie, Dec 26 2003
This review is from: Critters [Import] (DVD)
I remember renting this movie with a friend when I was like 10, and it was a lot of fun and scary as hell. Unlike some of the other horror movies that featured monsters or aliens as the nemesis, the concept of critters was pretty original, and although it's not award material, it's a pretty decent sci-fi/horror film.
Don't go into this thinking that it's another "Leprechaun" or "Jack Frost" type of film. The film isn't about gore and despite the absurdity at how the Critters look on the cover, they are pretty scary in the film.
I gave the film only 3 stars because I'm hesitant to give a horror film much more, but it really is a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Critters [Import]
Critters [Import] by Stephen Herek (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 6.73
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews