Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun, jazzy soundtrack full of great music, March 3 2004
By 
This review is from: Triplets of Belleville (Audio CD)
From the opening sounds of "Under the Bridge," featuring car horns and bicycle spokes, you realize that this is no ordinary soundtrack album. It's full of French-flavored jazz, such as "Jazzy Bach" and "Belleville Jungle," with a pop song called "Attila Marcel" (sung by the incredible Béatrice Bonifassi), some catchy, kitschy songs such as "'Cieco Cieco' Barber" and "Pa Pa Pa Palavas," and the infectious, 1920's-flavored "Belleville Rendez-Vous."
Written by Benoît Charest ,"Belleville Rendez-Vous" is the most recognizable song from the film, having earned a deserved Oscar nomation and appearing on the album in numerous versions: French, English, Demo, instrumental and as a theme. The album also includes many samples of Charest's unique score, from the plaintive "Bruno's Theme" (with a solo, sad accordian) to the use of a refrigerator, a vacuum and other unusual instruments for "Cabaret Hoover." It's a wonderful album that evokes the look and feel of the film.
A hidden track also appears at the very end. For anyone who has seen the movie, it's definitely a pleasant surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, Nov. 11 2011
This review is from: Triplets of Belleville (Audio CD)
Good sound quality. Music is exactly as it was in the cartoon. Put it on and really enjoyed listening. THe first son an this DVD alone is woth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Swinging Belleville Rendez-Vous, Aug. 6 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Les Triplettes de Belleville (BO) (Audio CD)
Quand j'ai commencer à écouter cette album et que la chanson "Swinging Belleville Rendez-Vous" à jouer, j'ai eu une envie fous de danser que je ne savait pplus sur quelle pied danser, à un point même que j'avais cette chanson dans le tête pendant un mois.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible score writing, May 14 2004
By 
Lance (Delta Sigma) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Triplets of Belleville (Audio CD)
for the modern era of music making magic, Ben Charest does an amazing job at capturing the true adventure in song that is portrayed paralell in animation. Five stars to Mr. Charest. Hail Sinfonia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A zany throwback to swanky jazz, French surf, opera and more, May 9 2004
This review is from: Triplets of Belleville (Audio CD)
We received the "Triplets of Belleville" soundtrack as a late addition to our March in-store play. About thirty seconds after I put the CD into our carousel player, I was dumbfounded: the most discordant, strange noise crackled over our store speakers--a bizarre melody of a refrigerator, vacuum cleaner and bicycle spokes. What *was* this? (I didn't see the film until a couple of days ago, at which point it all made sense).
"This" was the amazing soundtrack to "Les Triplettes de Belleville," a joint French-Québécois animated feature about Madame Souza and her orphaned grandson Champion, who dreams of becoming a bicyclist in the prestigious Tour de France. When Champion is kidnapped by the Mafia and spirited away to Belleville (a synthesis of Paris, New York and Montréal), Madame Souza enlists the help of the Triplets of Belleville, an aging jazz-era vocal group.
The film's soundtrack reflects the jazz stylings of Django Reinhart (Belleville Rendez-Vous (there are three versions: French, demo and English (performed by -M-, and the film was nominated for an Oscar for best song), Jazzy Bach), along with melancholy French café accordion music (Attila Marcel, sung by the amazing Béatrice Bonifassi, and Bruno's Theme), French surf music (Pa Pa Palavas, performed by the film's composer, Benoît Charest), opera ("Cieco Cieco" Barber), and spy-style chase songs (French Mafia Theme, The Shadowing, The Chase).
I would have enjoyed the soundtrack more if it had been listed as it appeared in the movie, though. Also, the gorgeous "Kyrie Eleison" from Mozart's Mass in C Minor was left off. But the nineteen tracks (and one hidden track) are a wonderful mixture of old and new, jazz and Parisian café, delightfully quirky and guaranteed to put a smile on your face. Vive la différence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Music but out of order, May 7 2004
By 
Travis Copeland "megachode" (Arlington, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Triplets of Belleville (Audio CD)
I love the soundtrack, but was disappointed that the songs are not ordered as they "appear" in the film. The order on the CD then seems to be completely arbitrary. Still a great CD, but I think that it could have been better if the tracks were ordered properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing...but technology has its drawbacks, March 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Triplets of Belleville (Audio CD)
I first heard the Belleville Rendez-vous while watching the Academy Awards, and I have hardly stopped listening to this fantastic soundtrack since I got it in the mail yesterday! Jazzy, organic and original it's fun to listen to.
But you should note that the CD has some sort of copy control technology on it -- it says in small print "On some equipment, for example car CD players, playback problems may be encountered". Well, my Sony stereo -- not entry level, at least according to the money I paid for it! -- doesn't recognize the CD at all, so I can only listen to it using my computer CD player. I'm not quite sure what to do about this glitch, and I'm not willing to part with the soundtrack, but this aspect of the CD sure is annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A score even greater than its film, March 15 2004
By 
M. C. Myers (La Mesa, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Triplets of Belleville (Audio CD)
Triplets of Belleville is a great movie, but this album is even closer to perfection than the film. Great hot jazz music abounds, dominated by the "Belleville Rendez-vous" (wonderfully performed at the 2003 Academy Awards), which is reprised several times, including a demo and an English-language version. A few tracks are perhaps better in service of the film than they are as stand-alone compositions, but that is a minor point. This is perhaps the most essential soundtrack album in decades. I think I would have to go back as far as Ragtime to think of an original soundtrack album of such achievement. See the film, then get this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TWO DIFFERENT VERSIONS OF THE SAME SOUNDTRACK, March 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Triplets of Belleville (Audio CD)
Triplets of Belleville soundtrack and Belleville Rendevous are the same disc. The first is the USA version and the second is the UK version - the playlists are identical. They are being offered here as a two disc deal, but unless you're some sort of completist, this is no deal. I advised Amazon of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS! If you loved the movie...., Feb. 24 2004
By 
A. Jacobus (Fort Worth, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Triplets of Belleville (Audio CD)
i love this soundtrack! the belleville - rendevous song it just one of those you can't get out of your head...and i look forward to seeing it performed at the oscars. must have if you enjoyed the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Les Triplettes de Belleville (BO)
Les Triplettes de Belleville (BO) by Ben Charest (Audio CD - 2013)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews