Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Underrated Album of All Time!!!!!!
You may not recignise any of tracks of this album. But beleive me, if your into hard rock and AC/DC then this is a must have album!
Any AC/DC fan will tell you this is there most overlooked and underrated album of them all!
Any freind ive played this album to has loved it and also asked why its not popular? Its because it didnt get any promoting! The album is a...
Published on March 17 2004 by Micheal Hunt

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Grade D The Worst of the Johnson Era
By the time this cd came out, AC/DC was metal champs, have 3 big selling cds, and what is probably there 3 best cds musically as well. This time there tried and true formula of power chords and guitar solo's over Johnsons skreeching scream, is annoying. And the lryics are getting dull. Not to say you can't find a decent song or two. Nervous Shakedown and Flick the...
Published on Dec 4 2003 by Eric J. Weik


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Underrated Album of All Time!!!!!!, March 17 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Flick Of The Switch (Audio CD)
You may not recignise any of tracks of this album. But beleive me, if your into hard rock and AC/DC then this is a must have album!
Any AC/DC fan will tell you this is there most overlooked and underrated album of them all!
Any freind ive played this album to has loved it and also asked why its not popular? Its because it didnt get any promoting! The album is a definite classic and imo is not just the most underrated AC/DC album, its possibly the worlds most underrated album!
Every song is a great master peice and the rock n roll sound will blow your ears off! The re-issue probably could have done with a few of the songs that did not make the album back in 198somthing when it came out, but trust me, this album is a must listen to!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Grade D The Worst of the Johnson Era, Dec 4 2003
By 
Eric J. Weik "ejwtfw" (Dyersburg, TN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Flick Of The Switch (Audio CD)
By the time this cd came out, AC/DC was metal champs, have 3 big selling cds, and what is probably there 3 best cds musically as well. This time there tried and true formula of power chords and guitar solo's over Johnsons skreeching scream, is annoying. And the lryics are getting dull. Not to say you can't find a decent song or two. Nervous Shakedown and Flick the Switch make for a couple good listens every year or two. Other than that, it's been there done that, at least 10 times, or what ever number this cd is. This time without the help of producer Mutt Lang, the songs have lost their shine, and made for a dull cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Now Declare The "Rock Switch" To Be In The On Posistion, July 22 2003
By 
Chris Pollman (Ummm....well.....uhhhh....Was-wait no...hmmm...) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Flick Of The Switch (Audio CD)
From a band who proves that it isn't impossible to have four hit albums in a row, comes the momentous "Flick Of The Switch." With everything an AC/DC album should have in tow, the band aims to please with each song, a task completed one hundred and fifty percent every time. Opening this classic piece of rock is the raw, beefy sound of "Rising Power", with a scorching burn to it. A strong vocal on the chorus as well makes this song a worthy and sensible intro to the album. Following is another burner, "House Is On Fire."
Then comes the in-your-face rock of "Flick Of The Switch." A powerful array of chords, and a noteworthy display of riffage on the low E and A strings help bring this creation to life. Brian's vocal delivery is great
as well. After that is "Nervous Shakedown". Aside from others, it is one of the best songs on this album.
The guitars sound so raw and fresh, nothing showy of special, just the pure joy of rock and roll in it's purest, grandest form: none other than AC/DC. It's obvious that on some albums, after a while the second half seems to fall away, or drone on. But AC/DC? Hell no. Each song, each album, is great. And speaking of great, let's move on to "Landslide". With it's rapid-fire shoot-out of Herculean riffage, supplied by Mr. Angus Young, a steady backbeat, and the salacious voice of Brian Johnson remind you just what rock and roll should be about. "Guns For Hire" is yet again, a great work of art. It's filled with the rapid-paced soloing of Angus, the earth-shattering rhythm guitar of Malcolm Young, the sturdy foundations built by Phil Rudd and Cliff Williams, and as always, Brian howling in the lead. Amazing. Gnarly intro, as well.
"Deep In The Hole" is perhaps the weakest song here. But that doesn't mean it's not good. It holds strong throughout, and is worth a listen. "Bedlam In Belgium" ensues, and is exactly what the title suggests, without the Belgium part. (Unless, of course, you happen to be in Belgium while listening to this.)
It's full-frontal assault attacks you, the earthquake inducing might of the song is just pure rock. The chorus is held up by the perfect interlocking of Cliff, Malcolm, and Brian's voices, giving this piece even more kick and bite. On "Badlands", the band slows down, but doesn't get softer.
A mid-tempo rock number, 'Badlands" supplies you with a maximum dose of swaggering bravado meets slow-burn rock. And closing this album, is the up-tempo "Brain Shake." It's worthy of closing the album, too. And to open or close any live shows, or albums, is one of the highest honors a song can receive.
"Brain Shake", is built around mainly D G and A chords, with a cantering riff that ascends a few frets, and then flows over into the next block of chords.
All in all, "Flick Of The Switch" is a truly amazing album. It's robust equilibrium is no less apparent than the unmistakable impact that AC/DC themselves had upon not only the music world, but the world all together. If you're looking for the perfect album to add to you collection, or the perfect album to give as a gift to your rocker family member or friend, "Flick Of The Switch" is the ideal solution.
(PS: I know I already wrote a review for this, but I consider my second summary to be more well-written, and I'll be re-writing all the reviews I've done so far, just to help out a little.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I repeat, VERY underrated!, April 30 2004
By 
Michael K. Middleton "Doofus" (Muzak City USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Flick Of The Switch (Audio CD)
I think this just might be AC/DC's #3 best of all time, next to "Highway To Hell" and "Back In Black," and unlike the latter of those two, hasn't been so overplayed on classic rock radio that it will induce vomiting. The opening track,"Rising Power" immediately sends the listener into a headbanging frenzy with its HUGE opening riff. The title track is also a killer trademark AC/DC song with its lead guitar line ascending to a gut-crunching monster riff. "Guns For Hire" is also a killer track, and other moments of pure hard rock heaven can be found on "Badlands," "Deep In The Hole" and "Bedlam In Belgium." There are some weak moments here, but it is overall an excellent and very underrated disc. Also, if you listen to the work former producer Mutt Lange was doing with Def Leppard at this time, you can tell that he did the Aussie boys a huge favor by not producing this record! It is raw and full of boundless energy that the band hasn't captured on any record since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rising Power from the main men of hard rock!, July 2 2003
By 
Chris Pollman (Ummm....well.....uhhhh....Was-wait no...hmmm...) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Flick Of The Switch (Audio CD)
After completing two back to back blockbuster albums, 1980's
"Back In Black", 1981's "For Those About To Rock", they band set out to record another kick-ass album. With their rocking, raunchy tunes, and cannon fire guitar riffs of brothers Angus and Malcolm Young, 1983's "Flick Of The Switch" yet again delivers another dose of high voltage rock and roll.
All the tunes here are great, and in my own opinion, this album surpasses "For Those About To Rock", and might even surpass the almighty "Back In Black". Who could forget a single song from this disc? The scorching opener, "Rising Power" kicks off the album with classic AC/DC rock. "This House Is On Fire" is as well a rocker, and one of the best. The two following songs,
"Flick Of The Switch" and "Nervous Shakedown" are two of the three best songs on here
(number 3 being "Guns For Hire.") And, living up to it's name, "Landslide" is another rocker which moves along jsut like it's title. The riffage of Angus Young on this song is superb, and proves yet again, AC/DC never fail to please. "Deep In The Hole" is good as well, and is a complement to the album. After that, "Bedlam In Belgium." Awesome song. Actually, now, there are four best songs here, being, of course, "Bedlam In Belgium",
"Guns For Hire", "Nervous Shakedown", "Flick Of The Switch".
The closing two songs, "Badlands", and "Brain Shake", are great as well, and helps boost the rocking magnanimity of
"Flick Of The Switch". All in all, I'd say this album is well worth buying. No one will be dissatisfied, and you'll be happy you took my advice, which is... GO OUT AND BUY IT, ALREADY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Dec 11 2009
Ce commentaire est de: Flick Of The Switch (Audio CD)
A very good album....not well promoted but if you like AC DC go get the remastered version. It is worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ACDC Flicks A Switch That Kicks Them Into Overdrive!, Feb. 9 2004
By 
A. Bouchard "mad-ad" (Hodgdon, Maine United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Flick Of The Switch (Audio CD)
Flick Of The Switch I really think is a great piece of work! It's hard not to love anything that ACDC records! So i'll just say this! I recomend this to every rocker out there!But there are some other ACDC cd that are better than this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, but they went a different way...., Jan. 15 2004
By 
Venompig890 (Boston, Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Flick Of The Switch (Audio CD)
This album is absolutely fantastic! There are great songs on here, the title track, "Nervous Shakedown", and the best song on the album in my opinion, "Landslide". This album was the beginning of AC/DC's decline. Producer John "Mutt" Lange is gone, and so are the bells and cannons. It seems like the pressure from the fans and touring really got to the hard-rockers. At this album, they lost all the hype they gained, they produced their own album, and they had no giant switches to turn on thousands of lights at concerts, just a simple album. And it seems the fans didnt want simple, they wanted shooting cannons and giant ringing bells. Everyone said, "Well ok, this is pretty simple, and the songs are damn good, I guess I can go without the special kick-ass stuff for once". But, unfortunatly, the follow-up album "Fly on the Wall" was basically the same thing, a simple rock album. Not to say the boys got lazy, they were just tired after rockin for a decade of giving every ounce of strength they had to make special effects and stuff. As far as effects, they went down, but onstage, the guys still rocked, and they rocked hard. Johnson still sings good, hits those notes well, and there are some great riffs here. This was also the last album with drummer Phil Rudd. Tensions between him and Malcolm were rising, and hard to believe how well they made this album inspite of that.The only thing I dont like are the videos that you can access, all of them are with Simon Wright! I dont want to see Simon Wright on an album that he didnt even friggin play in!But aside from that, this album is great, not 5 stars, but definetly not 2 or 1. Keep on rockin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of their Best, Nov. 27 2003
By 
Dan "platinum aero" (Latham, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Flick Of The Switch (Audio CD)
In my opinion this album is one of the best by AC/DC. Brian Johnson's voice hits those high notes as if it's something routine, and Angus plays awesome solos on his guitar. Their new drummer for this album is pretty good, although i don't like how the producer somehow managed to drown out angus's solos by the drums. nevertheless, this is a solid album, and definitly should be owned by AC/DC fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heavieest AC/DC album ever., Nov. 21 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Flick Of The Switch (Audio CD)
FLICK OF THE SWITCH is the heaviest AC/DC album ever and, in my opinion, their last really great album (RAZOR'S EDGE is also very good, but Brian's voice was already well below the high standards featured in FLICK OF THE SWITCH).
The album is raw, heavy, unpolished (but not "unproduced", like ST. SH..T, from an ex-band called "SH..TALLICA) It's heavy rock all the way, and with plesant suprises in the AC/DC formula, like "Nervous Shakedown", "Badlands" and "Deep In THe Hole". The lyrical subject is also more diverse. The opening "Rising Power" was perfectly chosen to open the album, it's highly energetic.
As for tthe new reissue series by Epic, that's another matter... In typical AC/DC low profile style, the text in the booklet offers no new information, makes no mention whatever of why Phil Rudd left the band or about the persisten rumours that some of the drum tracks were not recorded by Phil. Some of the magazine articles spread along the booklet are more informative than the text, but there are only small pieces of each article.
As for the bonus material (audio and video) they are good, but it would be better to have them on the CD itself (like the Iron Maiden remastered series), not having to access them via Internet. (I know, I know, this was probably due to combat unlicensed copies...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flick Of The Switch
Flick Of The Switch by Ac/Dc (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews