Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun even for nongamers
I am not a hardcore gamer. I wouldn't even really call myself a gamer at all -- I'm of the "if my husband's playing it and it looks really fun, I'll give it a try" school.
Well, I've never played D&D in my life, but I am a HUGE Neverwinter Nights fan. I love being able to customize my character's appearance and skills, I love the graphics, I love the...
Published on May 16 2004 by Alexis Coxon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark
Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark adds more of everything. The new Prestige Classes are generally more interesting and useful than those in the previous expansion pack (Shadows of Underntide). The new feats, like the Prestige Classes, are also much more interesting and useful than the previous expansion. The list of epic spells, improved henchman, max level, and...
Published on March 29 2004 by kniteflux


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fun even for nongamers, May 16 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark Expansion Pack (Video Game)
I am not a hardcore gamer. I wouldn't even really call myself a gamer at all -- I'm of the "if my husband's playing it and it looks really fun, I'll give it a try" school.
Well, I've never played D&D in my life, but I am a HUGE Neverwinter Nights fan. I love being able to customize my character's appearance and skills, I love the graphics, I love the adventures and the ability to roleplay my character in many different ways (from goody two-shoes to black-hearted villain).
Having finished the original Neverwinter Nights and the Shadows of Undrentide expansion pack, I started in on Hordes of the Underdark. Without a doubt, it's my favorite so far. The quests are more interesting (some even stumped me, and I had to go to the Bioware site for a little help!). There are new classes, which are fun to play, and there's even a little romance in the game! I have to admit, I thought that was a great element. I don't know how the guys who play this cared for it, but it really added some fun for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark, March 29 2004
By 
"kniteflux" (Maple Grove, MN United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark Expansion Pack (Video Game)
Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark adds more of everything. The new Prestige Classes are generally more interesting and useful than those in the previous expansion pack (Shadows of Underntide). The new feats, like the Prestige Classes, are also much more interesting and useful than the previous expansion. The list of epic spells, improved henchman, max level, and tile sets are all improvements for the game.
Hordes of Underdark also adds a new set of official modules with the expansion. The plotline, dungeon layout, puzzles, and feel of the modules are far superior to that of previous official modules (and even better than most player/fan-base modules). A major problem is that it was designed for single-player only. Technically, you could play the game multiplayer, but the player hosting the game would have to be well versed in using the DM Client commands from the Player Client interface to combat these "issues."
Hordes of the Underdark has also released more glitches and bugs than even the original unpatched game. Even after Hordes being patched, most users experience occasional freezes and crashes. This is not such a big deal when you have the auto-save feature turned on, but still detracts from the excitement of playing the game.
One problem that I have witnessed in Neverwinter Nights from the beginning is that there has never been a large player/fan-base Mods for high levels (level 20). With the new cap of level 40 in Hordes, I have still not witnessed many high quality Mods for characters level 20-40. Lastly, those Mods that have been designed well for the higher levels frequently have a bias for more warrior based characters.
For players whose main focus in NWN is the single-player mode and enjoyed the expansion of freedoms in Shadows of Underntide (classes, feats, etc), those who enjoy "maxing" out a character or designing super templates, enjoy designing their own Mods or like to be able to keep up with playing the most current Mods, then Hordes of Underdark is an excellent expansion. For players whose computer's limits were being pushed by the previous expansion (Hordes doubles the "recommended" RAM requirement), who play primary/solely multiplayer mode, or for those who get their kicks by challenging high-level content, then Hordes doesn't deliver as much as it seems to contain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Keeps crashing! Very fun but completely unstable., March 15 2004
By 
Keith Tokash "twigles" (Laguna Niguel, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark Expansion Pack (Video Game)
I'm about half way through this game and it honestly feels like a 4.5 star game, except it won't stop crashing! I played the original NWN without a problem (skipped SoU) as well as dozens of other games, all with my existing hardware, software and configuration. I'm running all mainstream stuff:
Win2k, Service Pack 4 with all relevant hotfixes (so...5,000).
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro - great card.
AMD 2200+ on an Abit mobo, 512 ram.
Patch 1.62, installed on March 12th 2004.
So basically what happens is the game either locks up during a save and after about 30 seconds crashes to desktop corrupting that save file in the process, or the system reboots. Neither scenario gives any warning and if I play for 3-4 hours then I'm about guarunteed to have at least one of each crash.
So the game is great. Graphics are nice, sound is fine, nothing special. The battles are a lot of fun and I really enjoy watching my dwarven fighter charge a drow cleric amid fire and ice storms. The power given to you is awesome as your guy gets around level 20, and since the game starts off with you generating a character and leveling it up to level 15 you can customize the bejeezus out of it. The game bogs down a little sometimes, which annoys me since I greatly exceed the recommended specs, but that doesn't happen enough for it to be a problem.
Summary:
Buy this game if you liked NWN, it is tons of fun. But either research your PC setup online to see if others are having problems or at least wait until patch 1.62 is no longer the latest. I'm going to think really hard before buying Atari again.
UPDATE: I updated my graphics driver to the latest catalyst driver from ATI (version 4.3 at this time) and the machine reboots seem to have stopped. However the game still locks up about 1 time in 10-20 while saving. I hit ctrl+alt+delete and kill the process after it freezes and I've caught the game using 210MB of memory! The log files it says it is generating are useless, they just describe event within the game itself before it crashes.
Maybe Atari is one of those things to avoid now so as to keep our fond childhood memories....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The weakest Neverwinter title yet, Feb. 23 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark Expansion Pack (Video Game)
I had far more technical problems with this expansion than with the original or the previous expansion pack (yes, I installed the latest patches). The game locked up several times, my character turned green from enemies and stayed that way, I unintentionally lost my (out of control killing machine) henchmen, my inventory would open to a blank screen about half of the time. While I am a big fan of the original Neverwinter nights, and I really liked the first add on, the technical problems brought on by this expansion were too severe to allow me to characterize it as anything other than uncooked. Perhaps this game was squarly aimed at powergamers that care less for story than I do, but the NPCs seemed far more bland and two dimensional than in the original or previous game (with the notable exception of your henchmen, who don't seem to be able to shut up), the game universe seemed less expansive and more limited than with the previous modules. The game felt like it was rushed to market too fast and that the story was jotted down on the back of a napkin, or made up as they went along (the story felt crafted in the previous games).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the same game., Jan. 8 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark Expansion Pack (Video Game)
I bought Shadows of Undrentide primarily because it had added many new prestige classes. This sounded cool, along with the new creatures you could summon. There are a few problems, though, that I could not overlook. I enjoyed making items for my characters through DM mode. But now, you immediately are robbed, making this taxing. Even if you create stuff outside of the room, it winds up dissapearing.
Another problem is it's interface. It just feels like a player created mod. It lacks the depth of play that the other games had. Drogan sends you on these boring "Find me this" missions, that just get old soon.
The amount of experience you get from killing creatures also makes it feel like it is not worth it. It levels you up to 15, and then gives you 30 EXP drow elves for you to slaughter. My Level 13 sorcerer/2 arcane archer annihilates the competition with one spell.
To summarize, this is a good game, and continues out the story (while not to the best of NWN's ability), and gets the job done as a D&D sim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a power gamer's dream, Dec 27 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark Expansion Pack (Video Game)
This is a review for Hoards only(it should say at the bottom referring to Hoards of Underdark version or something) Aside from the plot, thier is a bit too much power in this game. I prefer classic RPG's with heros, not gods to be the central character. If playing V P I recommend being as redundant as possible(for macho RPG purpose I pick a powerhouse Champion Paladin for riteiousness and spells with 6 fighter levels for devastating sword play (the HoU play guide has wimpy paladin characters with only 12 strenght. In PVP the more similar classes you stack together the more devastaing you are. a Rouge/CoT/fighter just won't cut it, you should be reduntant and pick three warrior classes, three mage classes or three thief classes. both for RPG purpose and Powergame purpose. It is incredibly advantagious. My CoT/Pal/Figh character can hit hard and acurate like a fighter, can heal like a Champ and can cast and resist like a paladin. WMaster, Fighter Barbarian works well with this too(use the cute Cleric as your healer and the Bard as your spell caster) The class system is great, however the demi-god status isn't. I don't play RPG's to be a god, I play Populous or Light/Dark to be a god. Baldur's Gate had this flaw. Other than that, it is a good romp in the Hellish Undermountain and Underdark. Epic battles against terrifying foes. Drizzt doesn't show up because he is already on the surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging single player adventure, awesome toolset content, Dec 17 2003
By 
MBG (Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark Expansion Pack (Video Game)
I have to admit, I'm enjoying the new campaign in Hordes of the Underdark more than either of the previous Neverwinter Nights campaigns (the original game or the Shadows of Undrentide expansion). It has a strong "Forgotten Realms" feel to it, and it's great for people who've been wanting a high level adventure with tons of Drow, Ilithids, Beholders, and other denizens of the Underdark. The new prestige classes, spells, feats, etc... are a lot of fun and should definitely add to the re-playability factor. I've personally played through this expansion twice: with a Druid/Shifter and Bard/Dragon Disciple, and I'd certainly consider playing it again.
Also, from a module builder perspective, the new toolset content is quite impressive. To mention just a few things: new tilesets, new magic item abilities, intelligent weapons, improvements and added scripting functions, vastly improved henchman AI... and your characters can now wear robes! These are things that the Neverwinter community has been clamoring for, and it's nice to see the wishes of the players and module creators being addressed. Kudos to Bioware for listening to its customers. This expansion brings Neverwinter Nights to a new level of maturity with regards to the sheer wealth of possibility for fans who design modules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars more like 2 and a half, Dec 16 2003
By 
Ed Kuehn (troy, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark Expansion Pack (Video Game)
Bioware seems to be learning from previous mistakes and then simply making new ones. While one could go into the fact that the original (and required) basis for this expansion pack - Neverwinter Nights - and the first expansion - Shadows of Undrentide - are still quite buggy and in need of further patching with the release of yet a second expansion, there are more pressing concerns about Hordes of the underdark.
First, the good stuff:
- The campaign that ships with Hordes is simply stellar when comapred to the campaign that came with the original NWN. Some would fret that that isn;t saying much considering how abyssmal the original was. But, rest assured, hordes delivers a good single player experience.
- Your henchmen are smarter, participative and worth having around. You get 2 now, and you can tell them when to cast spells and when to stop blowing all of their offensive power on weak little minions that present no real challenge and save the fireworks for the big dogs.
- The new tilesets are well done and the presentation of the whole campaign shows care and attention to detail - it is beautiful.
- The musical score is top notch - one of the best i have heard in a CRPG.
Now, the bad:
- Your epic wizard types are severely hamstrung here. Your character barely advances in any measureable way as a spell caster past 20th level. Instead you get to spend your feat(bonus bailities you get as you advance) on a selection of epic spells (there are only 6 to pick from). You can only take each spell once and it is usable only once per day. So, not only do you get no spells or increas ein spell power past 20th level, but you only get 6 spells from level 21-40.
- The class imbalance only gets worse. It has never been a huge secret that some classes - Druids, Bards and Rogues for example - are pretty much left behind in the class balance area. With new epic levels, they are totally left behind. Very little is added to these classes to make them worthwhile vs say a cleric or fighter.
- The new prestige classes are basically for clerics and fighter only. The new wizard prestige classes add no spell casting ability, and the shifter class for the Druid adds little to bring them up to par with everyone else. Monks get nothing.
- The new spells are nothing special. New spells for all classes are not game breakers, and the new epic spells are so easily resisted by 20+ level character that they are barely worthwhile - keep in mind your spell caster abilities stopped at level 20. Vs a 40th level opponent you are still casting as a 20th level mage.
- The system requirements jumped from a p3 450 to a p3 800 without warning. A small thing, but certainly something to take notice of if you have a minimum spec machine for NWN you cannot use Hordes.

all in all this expansion is worth buying, but bear in mind it suffers from the same problems as the rest of the series - hasty implementation with little playtesting for balance coupled with the fact that it is based on a ruleset that isn't exactly perfect to begin with.
it would be nice to see what Bioware does in the future with it upcoming original material that won;t be tied to the flawed dungeons and dragons rule system, but the NWN series is basically a good game hampered by a poor foundation of rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Difference is Epic, Dec 10 2003
By 
S. Wold "boomersiesta" (chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark Expansion Pack (Video Game)
Having played through "Hordes of the Underdark", I am more than pleased to report that this expansion is a far, far greater single-player experience than either the original or the "Shadows of Undrentide" campaigns. Besides the ability to reach beyond 20 levels, the story is epic enough to match your burgeoning god-like hero.
Of course, there are the additions similar to what "Shadows" offered: New monsters, feats, skills, spells, prestige classes, custom items, environments, toolset wizards and the like, but the epic-level advancement of characters and magic items is what will really extend the life of NWN (at least until a sequel, or possibly another expansion).
A not-inconsiderable point of contention to the many positives of "Hordes" is that it is *not* backwardly-compatable with previous versions of NWN online. While this will most likely be fixed in a future update, it should not have shipped this way to begin with. Very annoying.
All in all, this is a highly worthwhile purchase (unless you play multiplayer online often - if this is the case, wait until Bioware fixes the compatibility issues). Even if no further expansions are made for NWN, this is a fitting tribute to the best computer representation of the D&D world so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hordes: An instant "Must Have" Classic, Dec 10 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark Expansion Pack (Video Game)
Cinematic, flashy, epic, and thoroughly satisfying - Hordes of the Underdark is the truly phenomenal culmination of the Neverwinter Nights franchise. While player reviews were mixed in regards to the original NWN campaign and the first expansion campaign, I have seen little if anything for Hordes except high praise. It brings to the table both a well written and dramatic campaign and an avalanche of new game features like feats, prestige classes and skills and the much-awaited Epic Levels - expanding the game from 20 class levels to 40 - all of it in an extremely smooth and meticulously produced package.
The official Hordes campaign is not only my most enjoyable Neverwinter Nights play experience yet, but also ranks as the single most satisfying RPG game experience I've ever had. If you haven't ever played Neverwinter Nights, now is the time to buy NWN Gold and Hordes and get down to business learning this fantastic game.
The plot of the Hordes campaign is, on the one hand, the same plot every RPG has - "save the world." However there's nothing formulaic about the plot of Hordes. Bioware has made a compelling story that you will have trouble walking away from. The story is complex and well written, taking you to many well-portrayed locations classic to the D&D genre, such as Undermountain, the Underdark, and Beholder and Illithid cities. These locations are moody, alien, dark and disturbing in a truly tangible way. You will not explore these locations *wondering* how you should react - you *will* react, tangibly and viscerally, to their disturbing lighting and ailen architecture.
In addition, throughout the campaign Bioware has made extensive use of the new cinematic camera features added by SOU, bringing a sense of big screen urgency to this adventure. No more reading in a little text box about how important it is you undertake this quest. Instead you watch beautiful, dramatic, in-game cutscenes that show you horrors being unleashed upon the world that only you can stop. And as you approach the close of the story, you are not wondering how you should feel, or fiddling with your equipment because you're bored. You will forget game mechanics and move urgently towards the resolution of the story.
When all is said and done, you will be left with a character that is roughly 25th-30th level. And you will truly see your character as an epic hero - not becuase of a number on your character sheet, or because of feats and skills you chose, and not because of your epic loot. (And there's plenty of awesome loot if you like that.) You will see your character as an epic hero because of your vivid memories of the epic *actions* that your character has performed. "Level 30" will seem meaningless compared to looking at your character and remembering an entire city looking to you as it's only hope - and actually leading that city to *defeat* an entire army in order to realize that hope.
Having now played the OC and tried multiple game features, I have to say that this expansion has an extremely professional and clean feel to it. I was troubled by only a single bug during my play through of the campaign - a moment when a cutscene didn't fire perfectly. This certainly didn't stop my game play. Every feature added has a very polished feel, as if a great deal of care and attention was placed on each of the new game additions. The smallest features, such as the new icons used to represent added feats, are attractive and show care in design.
Henchman AI is much improved in Hordes, and you can now take 2 of them with you while you travel. Playing on Hardcore difficulty, I had a henchman die only once. Countless times my party-mates contributed smart decisions to battles. For example Deekin would use his Fear spell only on foes that were vulnerable to it, often with great results. NPCs that join your party have been given a *lot* of side chatter, comments, and extra interactions with either each other or you - and it's often hilarious. You will definitely NOT feel like you are alone on this adventure with a mute robot that often dies.
I've commented so much on the OC that I don't have much space to comment on the multitude of other great features. Six new Prestige Classes are added, and judging from the Bioware forums they're all a huge hit for different reasons. Many new feats, some epic and some not, were added. Weapon and armorcrafting skills now allow you to modify the appearance of your items - so you can pick between a chain shirt having all those metal loops, or that leather trim. Cloth, leather and metal dyes allow you to completely customize the colors of your armor and helmets. Intimidate and Bluff skills allow new and different types of social interactions. Robes have been added to the game and they look amazing. Items in your inventory can now be the target for spells and items, allowing you to poison your blade, or cast spells on your items that give them new properties.
After NWN's rocky life story, HotU has erased any doubts about Bioware and their commitment to quality. They demonstrate so many gifts and talents in Hordes - care, precision, smart design - and most importantly, an essential understanding of what an RPG gamer wants when they sit down to play. Bioware has really hit the nail on the head with this great campaign: it leaves you feeling like a true hero from myth or legend.
In an era of RPGs that largely disappoint, Bioware has produced a classic - a resplendent gem that is impressive on so many levels that is almost impossible to rate the game high enough. If you have any love for 3E D&D or for NWN, you simply must buy this expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark Expansion Pack
CDN$ 49.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews