Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chilling movie about an evil house
HIll House has been standing empty for almost 90 years. Whipsers of strange phenomena have kept would-be ocupants away for a long time; not even the owners will live their. That is, until Dr. John Markway assembles a small team to invesitgate the supposed supernatural events of the house. He invites Theodora, a psychic who lives a very different lifestyle; Eleanor, a...
Published on June 12 2004 by gac1003

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very poor video transfer....
This is one of my all-time favorite 3 movies in this genre and I was greatly disappointed in the DVD release. I purchased this when it came out in August 2003 and I was appalled at the horrible quality of video: all the dark scenes (the opening scene of the house is a great example) are shimmering (a good word that another reviewer wrote) and flickering, especially the...
Published on April 27 2004


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chilling movie about an evil house, June 12 2004
By 
This review is from: The Haunting (DVD)
HIll House has been standing empty for almost 90 years. Whipsers of strange phenomena have kept would-be ocupants away for a long time; not even the owners will live their. That is, until Dr. John Markway assembles a small team to invesitgate the supposed supernatural events of the house. He invites Theodora, a psychic who lives a very different lifestyle; Eleanor, a sheltered young woman who recently lost her canterkaerous mother and has had experienece with poltergeist phenomena; and Luke Sanderson, soon to inherit Hill House and acting as the family's representative. Together, they begin to study the house, it's history and architecture. Or, has the house chosen one of the team for its own purposes?
Horror film director Robert Wise does a magnificent job with this adaptation of the Shirley Jackson novel. Very few visual effects are used, instead relying on lighting (the one scene with the wallpaper in Eleanor's room is eerie), atmosphere, sound and the viewers own fear to create a creepingly chilling film. They make the viewer feel like actors in the movie instead of bystanders. All the actors give fine performances: Clair Bloom as Theo, Russ Tamblyn as Luke, and Richard Johnson as Dr. Markway. But, Julie Harris' performance of Eleanor makes the film. Her almost childlike confusion, fear and determination to stay the course keep you enrapt in the film.
It's very refreshing to see a horror film that doesn't rely so much on expensive special effects to get the chills across, instead using acting, lighting and story to convey terror and fright. This is a classic horror film that still delivers to this day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sustainability, Jan. 31 2008
This review is from: The Haunting (DVD)
I first watched part of this movie when I was 10 (when it first came on TV). I only got to the part where the woman falls down the stairs then my father had to turn the television channel for fear of my hysterical reaction. For decades I thought the movie was called "Hill House". When I finally saw the movie in total it still held the increasing suspense and mystery that makes it a classic. This movie should NEVER be put into colour and is best seen in a basement with all the lights off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the scarest 60's films in the world., June 28 2004
This review is from: The Haunting (DVD)
Most people see the remake and won't bother with this one, but this film is really truely pure horror unlike the remake, one of the scarest films ever made, it also tells a classic story of a repressed women and a house that makes her lose her mind, the film is so much more than all of that though, it has all the events timed perfectly as it keeps bulding more and more untill the frightning conclution, If you're a true horror fan give this one a shot, you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best horror movie ever made, Nov. 21 2001
By 
This review is from: Haunting, the (VHS Tape)
"The Haunting" is undoubtedly the best horror film ever made. This is better than anything Hitchcock made, better than anything Hammer made, better than anything else in the genre. "Psycho" looks subaverage and tame compared to this utterly terrifying masterpiece. Parts of this movie will have any sentient lifeform wizzing their proverbial pants and shuddering, spellbound but totally frozen in fear. The character of Eleanor is tragic, sad, and totally believable:the actress gives one of the best performances I've ever seen on the stage or in film. Everything was simply done right with this movie. I would go so far as to say that this movie alone, even though it was made in 1964, is a solid justification for the past and continued existence of horror movies--and there have been far more bad and just objectionable/desensitizing horror movies than substantive and intelligent ones. This surpasses the book, and the book was a classic. One of the most effective, noirish, decadent, fascinating, enigmatic movies ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In The Grip Of Hill House No One Is Safe, Sept. 6 2003
By 
T. Lobascio (New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Haunting (DVD)
The original 1960's version of The Haunting, still manages to run circles around the dopey 1999 remake, even though it had little to no special effects or gore. Indeed, director Robert Wise's take on author Shirley Jackson's novel, remains an all time favorite haunted house film of mine. Rather than flood the viewer's senses with what Wise sees as "scary", he allows our fears and imagination of what might be out there to push the story forward. By the time of the big reveal at the end, so much tension has been built in, that the ending is much more effective and satisfying.
After her mother's recent death-and driven by a total belief in the supernatural, Eleanor Vance (Julie Harris) deciedes to join an expedition to explore Hill House, a New England mansion. She's invited there by anthropologist Dr. Markway (Richard Johnson), along with the bohemian exotic Theodora (Claire Bloom), who has extrodinary extra-sensory abilities, and a stuck up playboy Luke Sanderson (Russ Tamblyn) who will inherit Hill House if it is clean of any strange goings on. As you might imagine, strange things start to happen, shortly after the group arrives.
The character's fears (as well as our own) propel the film. The scares in the movie are driven by the mind. Screenwriter Nelson Gidding crafted a fine adaptation, that along with Wise's atmosheric touches, and a fine ensemble, allows for a fun film watching experience.
Happily the DVD has a great audio commentary with Julie Harris, Claire Bloom, Russ Tamblyn, director Robert Wise, and screenwriter Nelson Gidding. Each of whom, offer some fine stories about the making of the film and bring a unique perspective to the track. For someone who has been around awhile as a director, Wise still exhibits wit, wisdom, and class, that infects the others as well. The DVD also includes an interactive essay entitled, "Things That Go Bump in the Night", a still gallery, and a vintage theatrical trailer.
Shot in black and white, The Haunting, comes highly recommended. Watching this version will help one to forget the mistakes of director Jan De Bont's needless remake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diving Under the Covers, July 25 2013
By 
D. G. Anderson "gordonbennett" (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you're watching this film for the first time, you'd be well advised to have a blanket handy so you can dive under it from time to time. Definitely not for the faint of heart. You might also want to conscript a friend or two to join you. The first time I watched this (long ago) I didn't sleep properly for a couple of weeks, afterward. Forget the popcorn, it'll just wind up on the floor.

For the film buffs, watch for the masterful use of the POV shot. So creepy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible masterpiece! A dynamic experience!, March 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Everything of the cinematography brought to create this movie is a top quality and well orchestred!

Please forget the 1997 haunting! The true wonder is right there!

Some may believe when you see, you tend to fear, but what you can't see, the tension is right through your spinal chord, reaching all the nerves of your system. The doubt is fear bringer, the one true detail taht makes all the difference!

This is why you need to see this movie, horror fans! All that needs to be must return to this! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scariest movie ever made., Dec 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although blu ray is an improvement on most colour films, the added sharpness in B&W is about all you can expect of a BR in monochrome.. Still, the version is the best I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghostly Chilling, Aug. 19 2010
This review is from: The Haunting (DVD)
I watch quite a bit of horror movies. However none seem to frighten me, this one is different. While I was watching the movie I ACTUALLY got scared (which is rare for me). This movie has a chilling plot, and wonderful actors. I was really afraid but yet I wanted to finish watching the movie. I am glad I did. This in my opinion is one of the best horror movies. I would put it in the Top 5. The remake (1999) is very poor compared to this one. When I watch it I don't even get a little fright. The acting is not that great, compared to this masterpiece. So if you are looking for a good scream, some chills, good acting, and a ton of fun. This is YOUR movie! You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few things you should know about 'The Haunting', June 3 2010
This review is from: The Haunting (DVD)
No ghost is ever seen in this film by Robert Wise;
The atmosphere's created by suggestion and surmise.

This feeling of suspense - of things not properly understood
Or not yet revealed - makes the film especially good.

The set design evokes a sense of claustrophobic dread,
With splendid cinematography (some shot in infrared).

The plot concerns four very different people and their search
For ghosts at night in a haunted house, ostensibly for research.

Leading the expedition is the ruthless Dr. Markway,
Determined to get proof that spirits really exist in some way.

Luke, by contrast, is a wisecracking cynic,
While Theo's a decadent lesbian, who's partially clairvoyant.

But the central figure of the film is lonely Eleanor,
A disturbed individual who is sick of being ignored.

For Eleanor, the house, no matter how disturbing,
Represents a refuge from her past life so perturbing.

"I want to stay in here forever," she implores,
"Where I'll never be frightened or alone anymore."

Whether a result of the house 'possessing' her mind,
Or her love for Dr. Markway, is never quite defined.

This film's success rests largely on the things that aren't explained,
In contrast to the patronising movies of today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbb095f0c)

This product

The Haunting
The Haunting by Robert Wise (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 46.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews