Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny!
While this isn't as good as SAY ANYTHING..., John Cusack's later movie, it is still very good and very funny. John Cusack is better in his earlier romantic comedies like this one, SAY ANYTHING...(a classic and my favorite movie) or the hilariously offbeat BETTER OFF DEAD than he is today (with the exception of HIGH FIDELITY, I didn't like AMERICA'S SWEETHEARTS at all). He...
Published on April 3 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's Important
This 1980's teen genre comedy is not as good as the earlier "Ridgeway High." It's not as good as "Pretty In Pink" or the other John Hughes movies. But it has its moments and certainly is far better than the awful "Valley Girls" which appeared in 83. Rob Reiner has an easygoing hand on the direction. He's not going to be remembered as Hitchcock or Ozu, but again, sweet...
Published on June 16 2004 by R. A Rubin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's Important, June 16 2004
By 
R. A Rubin (Eastern, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sure Thing,the [Import] (DVD)
This 1980's teen genre comedy is not as good as the earlier "Ridgeway High." It's not as good as "Pretty In Pink" or the other John Hughes movies. But it has its moments and certainly is far better than the awful "Valley Girls" which appeared in 83. Rob Reiner has an easygoing hand on the direction. He's not going to be remembered as Hitchcock or Ozu, but again, sweet comedy is Reiner's best stuff. I always found John Cusak movies vaguely unsatisfying. His roles are the smart aleck kid that revolts against middle-class etc... But in this movie of boy-girl opposites, he's good, even handsome in a Tom Cruse way. Alison Bradbury is fine as the anal co-ed, and thank you movie god, she's a brunette, not a blonde. This is a "Road" flick and the usual rain drenched hitchhiking scenes unfold. America is big and beautiful. Hard to miss with this material. The moral, getting laid is less important than finding someone you adore. Not a bad idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny!, April 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sure Thing,the [Import] (DVD)
While this isn't as good as SAY ANYTHING..., John Cusack's later movie, it is still very good and very funny. John Cusack is better in his earlier romantic comedies like this one, SAY ANYTHING...(a classic and my favorite movie) or the hilariously offbeat BETTER OFF DEAD than he is today (with the exception of HIGH FIDELITY, I didn't like AMERICA'S SWEETHEARTS at all). He is very funny throughout the whole movie, but my favorite scene of his is in the pool scene when he's imagining his future ("When I get out of jail, I'm 36 years old.") if his love interest doesn't help him pass English. The love interest, Daphne Zuniga, is also very funny (especially when she tries to prove to J.C. in the car that she's not stuck-up-if you've seen the movie, you know which scene I mean). Overall, very funny. Like all romantic comedies, it is predictable, but the comedy, good acting and chemistry make this movie not MONEY FOR NOTHING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Love you Daphne!, March 31 2004
By 
Mitch (New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sure Thing,the [Import] (DVD)
What can I say about this movie other than I love it! John Cusack (Gib), and Daphne Zuniga (Allison) are perfectly cast in this movie and given their young age (John Cusack was only 17), makes their performance that much more impressive.
But what makes this movie so enjoyable and memorable is the feelings it provokes. Remember the rush of emotions when you first meet someone who makes your heart beat out of your chest and feel lightheaded? Acting like you really don't like someone when deep down inside you would give anything to be with them? Going to a party and flirting with other people hoping that they would see you and get jealous? That's what this movie does for me. It makes me realize just how much I miss the innocence, passion and emotion of those days.
The acting is wonderful and you really get drawn in to their plight as they make their way across the country to be with the one they "think" is their own "sure thing". The great thing about this movie is that every time it looks like they are finally going to get together, something pulls them apart.
While there are many funny lines and memorable scenes in this film, by far my favorite is at the end when Gib's essay is read aloud. Allison's facial expressions let you know just how painful it is for her to hear it. The final scene is wonderful. I tear-up whenever I see it, and I'm a guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great DVD - lots-o-features!, March 29 2004
By 
Robert Anderson (Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sure Thing,the [Import] (DVD)
This movie is a cult-classic in my (wife's) family, so we've all seen it a dozen times or more. Sure, people will dismiss this movie as a teen, lightweight, romantic comedy. Maybe it is, but it's also hillarious and well acted and packed with lines that you'll find yourself quoting throughout life ("we speak each others unspoken language, - fluently"). Personally, I think this is John Cusak's best acting role ever. Even the smaller parts (such as Tim Robbins' are hillarious).
Additionally, this DVD has great features. For example you can watch in either widescreen or normal mode. You also have the option of turning on the director's (Rob Reiner) commentary so you can listen to him speak over the movie giving his comments on the actors, scenes, etc. There's also a trivia feature that will play the movie while popping up little triva-blurbs on each screen. There are also "featurettes" that discuss the casting, wardrobe, etc.
Some DVD's are simply the VHS movie put on a different media, but this one is packed with great features - plus it's a great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best John Cusack film, Jan. 7 2004
This review is from: Sure Thing,the [Import] (DVD)
If you're a true fan of this movie, or even just a fan of John Cusack, then this DVD is a "must own." The audio commentary by Rob Reiner is just right -- he explains lots of cool things, doesn't get preachy, and knows when to sit back and watch. For example, he confesses that he was too embarrassed to film the opening shot of Nicolette Sheridan oiling herself up, so he had his production assistant do it. There's also a Trivia Track feature which displays popups during the movie -- they're a little hard to read though. I wish it included the original theater trailer, but alas, it does not.
The movie is about two college students Walter "Gibb" Gibson (John Cusack) and Allison (Daphne Zuniga) and how they end up hitchhiking cross-country together. Allison is going to visit her boyfriend; Gibb's friend Lance (Anthony Edwards) has set up a "sure thing" for him. The Sure Thing is played by Nicolette Sheridan; her name is never mentioned. It's not the usual sappy version of "romantic comedy" -- it's actually funny and intelligent. It's not a dumb "Meet The Parents" style teen flick either -- there's no toilet humor or frontal nudity.
When I discovered that my wife (back then, girlfriend) and I both liked The Sure Thing, I knew we were meant to be together. Ten years later, we're still married and we still watch it every six months or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Sure Winner, Aug. 26 2003
This review is from: Sure Thing,the [Import] (DVD)
The Sure Thing is director Rob Reiner's second film and his first conventional movie after the mockumentary format of This Is Spinal Tap. The film has the classic teenage plot of boy meets girl, girl at first hates boy and then in the end they end up together. But instead of being just another cliché, The Sure Thing features such likable and winning performances by the two leads, John Cusack and Daphne Zuniga, that it becomes a memorable and lovable film. Mr. Cusack stars as Walter "Gib" Gibson who is in a slump when it comes to getting girls. Everyone around him at his New England campus seems to be scoring, except him. He meets a pretty girl, Alison (Ms. Zuniga) in his English class and tries to hook up with her. Alison is a straitlaced girl, who schedules everything she does to the second, while Gib is a spontaneous guy who lives life minute to minute. Alison agrees to tutor Gib in English and he tries to seduce her, but he fails miserably and she ends up hating him. His best friend from high school, Lance (Anthony Edwards) is out at college in California where he has set up a date for Gib who is a "sure thing". All Gib has to do is get to California by 12/22 and he's in. The problem is he has no money to fly, so he finds a ride with a couple who are driving out to Los Angeles. As fate would have it, Alison is also in the car as she is heading out to see her boyfriend in LA. The couple Gary Cooper and Mary Ann Webster are upbeat squares who sing showtunes on the trip. Gary is played by a young Tim Robbins in one of his first roles. Gib and Alison are constantly bickering at one another and eventually they are thrown out of the car and forced to hitch. Along the way, Alison starts to see the real charm in Gib and starts to fall for him. Eventually they reach LA and go their separate ways. They both end up at the party where Gib meets his sure thing (Nicolette Sheridan). Jealousy ensues between the two and Gib eventually takes his sure thing up to Lance's bedroom. The movie flashes forward where Gib and Alison are back in English class and we learn that Gib didn't cash in on his sure thing and Alison and Gib end up sharing a kiss under the stars. Mr. Cusack got his first leading role after a series of bit parts and he shines in his opportunity. He shows that offbeat charm that would become his signature trait. Mr. Reiner perfectly captures life on the road in America and the film is a low-key success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cusack, man., Aug. 19 2003
By 
This review is from: Sure Thing,the [Import] (DVD)
First, to who said it wasn't as good as Say Anything - the two movies are too different to even be compared. The characters and basis of both movies are too different to be compared. If you want to compare The Sure Thing with any other movie, compare it to Hot Pursuit, as they have more in common than Say Anything and The Sure Thing. (And it's my ultimate belief that, while Hot Pursuit is a good movie, it's just not as good as The Sure Thing.)
Now, to the important matters at hand...
This is my numero uno favorite movie of all time on my top 5 list. This is a movie that you can watch over and over again and it never gets old. The whole movie is hilarious, and it makes me want to go on a cross country road trip.
Tim Robbins' cameo as a goody-goody is hilarious and Anthony Edwards as Cusack's high school friend going to college on the west coast (the guy who sets Cusack up with a "Sure Thing", the entire reason for the road trip) is also a definate plus.
This movie is filled with hilarity, great quotations, and funny one liners. A must see not only for fans of John Cusack, but everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I command you to see this movie...(minor spoilers), March 7 2001
This review is from: Sure Thing, the (VHS Tape)
Obey me at once, I say! Seriously, it's definitely worth the price of a rental. I rented it and after watching it twice in a row had to immediately add it to my video library.
We've all seen those cross-country buddy movies (MIDNIGHT RUN, PLANES, TRAINS AND AUTOMOBILES), and they range from so-so to way-beyond-very-good. This one falls into the latter category.
Gib and Alison are at odds from the moment they meet (though, being a healthy, red-blooded American boy, Gib would still nail her in heartbeat if given half the chance) but learn through their travels that they have more in common than they originally thought -- and they learn from each other. The ending, as the professor reads Gib's final paper aloud in class is one of the best ways of telling someone how passionately you feel about them without actually saying it that I've ever, ever come across. Truly funny and moving at the same time.
Just a sample of how great the dialogue is (the scene has Gib and Alison pretending to be married with Alison pregnant so they'll be more likely to hitch a ride -- sure enough, a kindly lady stops):
Lady in Car: What are you gonna name it?
Alison: What?
Lady in Car: The baby.
Alison: Well, if it's a girl, Cynthia, and if it's a boy, Elliot.
Lady in Car: Those are lovely names.
Gib: Elliot? You're gonna name the kid Elliot? No, you can't name the kid Elliot. Elliot is a fat kid with glasses who eats paste. You're not gonna name the kid Elliot. You gotta give him a real name. Give him a name! Like Nick.
Alison: Nick?
Gib: Yeah, Nick! Nick's the kinda guy you can trust. Nick's your buddy. Nick's the kinda guy you drink beers with. The kinda guy that doesn't care if you puke in his car. Nick!
I was already a huge Rob Reiner fan, but this movie made me a huge Cusack and Zuniga fan as well. Trust me, you won't regret watching this classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Holds Up Well, Jan. 15 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sure Thing, the (VHS Tape)
I saw this movie in the theater right after it came out and rented it this weekend (after watching "When Harry Met Sally" on DVD) for my wife who had never seen it. Despite some obvious "80 isms" that date it a little (the party scenes are extremely 80's - great music though), the story really holds up well. It is timeless. The plot and outcome is no mystery, you know early on how it will ultimately end up. However, John Cusak and Daphne Zuniga are so appealing that you don't mind taking your time getting there. I was in college when I first saw it. I got a greater appreciation for the movie looking back now with 16 years more of life under the bridge. It is interesting to look at this film in light of John Cusak's later work (he would perfect this type of character in "Say Anything." Also, there are some similarities in this movie found in "When Harry Met Sally," one of Rob Reiner's later works. The dialogue and the situations the actors find themselves in (with the exception of the final scene in English Class which my wife and I both found a little contrived) ring true. This is a great, well written and well acted movie and I (like many other reviewers), think we ought to see a DVD version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uber-cool, Dec 26 2000
This review is from: Sure Thing, the (VHS Tape)
I just put down a few of my thoughts about "Say Anything," another John Cusack classic, and I thought I'd say my piece about this one as well... First of all, as Austin Powers may have said once or twice in his life, my overall reaction to this film could perhaps most concisely be expressed via the simple phrase, "yeah baby." This movie is fun, funny, romantic as all get out, very intelligent, and packed with lines you will never forget. John Cusack and Daphne Zuniga's characters are the ultimate odd couple. I once (seriously) used their two characters in an academic setting, as examples to illustrate the opposing sides of various parts of the Myers-Briggs Personality Inventory. He is freewheeling, she is straitlaced. He lives his life by making things up as he goes along, she plans everything out in excruciating detail. It's like watching a photographic negative of "Dharma and Greg." They learn from each other over the course of the movie, and both end up doing some real maturing, as well as reaching more of a happy medium, personality-wise...
For the record, watch for the scene (early in the film) where John Cusack and Daphne Zuniga are up on the roof of a building, looking at the stars. The constellations they are talking about are real -- find a "Peterson's Guide to the Night Sky" and look up Perseus, Andromeda, Cassiopeia, Draco, and Cepheus. They're really up there, they are very easy to find in the northern hemisphere, and it's one of the coolest group of mythologically interconnected constellations in the heavens.
Anyway, this movie is fantastic. It's so worth it. Please see it, if you want to have fun, and also if anyone has ever, at any point in your life, told you you need to do some growing up. Two thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sure Thing,the [Import]
Sure Thing,the [Import] by Rob Reiner (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 15.98 CDN$ 7.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews