Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (184)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with talent
A great piece of musical theatre put to the big screen. Richard Geere is a surprise in the movie, who knew he could sing and dance his way through a film with such great success.
The story of Roxie is a reflection of our culture and our obsession with celebrity. Rene Zellwigger is a convincing "victim" of the celebrity obssessed time. The screen lights up...
Published on June 16 2004 by Barbara P. Eckstein

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie but disappointing image quality for a diamond edition
Love this movie. I thought the quality would be better than the dvd I already owned, so I purchased this special edition. The cover is sparkly and beautiful, but the image quality is no better than the previous blu-ray that was released years ago. It's hardly better than the dvd.
Published 5 months ago by Isabel Larocque


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with talent, June 16 2004
By 
Barbara P. Eckstein "ecksteinesq" (Carle Place, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chicago (Full Screen) [Import] (DVD)
A great piece of musical theatre put to the big screen. Richard Geere is a surprise in the movie, who knew he could sing and dance his way through a film with such great success.
The story of Roxie is a reflection of our culture and our obsession with celebrity. Rene Zellwigger is a convincing "victim" of the celebrity obssessed time. The screen lights up with her beauty and excellent acting ability.
Queen Latifah justly deserved the Academy Award nomination (I can't remember if she won or not)
Lots of talent packed into this movie.
Highly recomended for those who are musical theatre fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tops!, June 5 2004
By 
This review is from: Chicago (Full Screen) [Import] (DVD)
Catherine Zeta-Jones looks superb and gives a sterling performance in her role as one half of a vaudeville act with her deceased sister (whom she killed because she caught her sleeping with her husband). Renee Zellweger is captivating as the young wannabe who aspires to be something like what Zeta-Jones is in the movie. They both meet up in jail however, because Zellweger kills the man whom she ends up hating, and Zeta-Jones is in jail for killing her sister. They both employ the assistance Richard Gere, the expensive fast-talking successful lawyer, to get out of jail. In the process, they each try to win the favours of the media and grab the headlines of the papers.
First, the score, the singing, the dancing are so good that I can watch each scene over and over and still feel the magic in it! Secondly, the acting of course, by each of the actors featured in the movie, is superb. Thirdly, the set production and the costumes were dazzling and so well-coordinated. The director evidently put in a lot of hard work into this and it pays. This is no Moulin Rouge. In this film, the director has done to me what I think Baz Luhrmann couldn't do in Moulin Rouge - which is to successfully blend aspects of film with aspects of musicals seamlessly. The acting is dramatic but each actor fits the role so perfectly that you hardly suspect they're acting... you'd think they are really like that in person! And the music is so well-composed and played, that anyone who watches this will want to dance to it. My daughter is barely 2 years old, and she loves this film like she loves the other film about dancing : Strictly Ballroom. Great entertainment! (unless you're not into musicals...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Energy and Big Talent, June 4 2004
This review is from: Chicago (Full Screen) [Import] (DVD)
I thought this movie was great! I think the actors were well suited to their roles. The musical numbers are terrific and they get stuck in your mind for days. All the actors showed their talents in areas beyond just acting. Of course, all the women commit a "sure I did it, but can you blame me" type crime. It's just a fun movie to watch. Get it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicago, April 27 2014
By 
Gloria Fidler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Enjoyed by the receiver of this gift and I give it a 5 star rating and a recommendation to those who love the older movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicago (Diamond Edition)(blu ray): Newly remastered video with increased detail & contrast, plus a fantastic & robust 7.1 track, Feb. 20 2014
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO:

The Diamond Edition of Chicago arrives on blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.85:1 encode. The new master was prepared in Dolby Vision, a relatively recent proprietary technique that is said to significantly boost detail and contrast. There are indeed noticeable differences between the previous blu ray and this one. Detail is noticeably improved. Part of this is due to the increased contrast, which is most noticeable in the darker scenes. Image is wonderfully textured. The original grain structure is preserved, with cleaner and crisper details. There is a greater sense of depth. Director Rob Marshall manipulates colour like a master. The final result is a film with severe colour changes, dark scenes, stark contrast, and razzle dazzle look. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

The previous blu ray edition has a reference quality 5.1 PCM uncompressed audio transfer. This Diamond Edition has an audio upgrade to Dolby TrueHD 7.1 lossless track. Robust and powerful, yet still marvelously nuanced, this highly active, impeccably modulated track brings Chicago to brilliant life, immersing us in all of the film's varied settings and creating a seamless aural atmosphere. The surround channels are all well utilized. The musical numbers, of course, shine, with nicely prioritized vocals. The orchestrations envelop with ease, pouring out of all the speakers with fantastic fidelity and a purity of tone that exhilarates the senses. This is a fantastic and immersive soundtrack, that is totally enjoyable. (5/5)

TRIVIA:

Chicago has an estimated budget of $42 million, but has a wonderful worldwide gross of $306 million.

AWARDS:

Chicago won 6 Oscars in 2003, including Best Picture, Best Supporting Actress (Catherine Zeta-Jones), Best Art Direction – Set Decoration, Best Costume Design, Best Editing and Best Sound. In addition, it was nominated in 6 other categories.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Chicago intoxicates the senses with its effervescent blend of searing story and exhilarating song and dance. It is further distinguished by an inventive and riveting presentation and packed with breathtaking numbers, kinetic energy, and bite and cynicism galore. Zellweger had no formal dance or vocal training before she joined the Chicago cast, but her fierce dedication to the part and fearless execution of the demanding routines erase any indication she's a novice. If Zellweger is a surprise, however, Zeta-Jones is a revelation, with a well-deserved Oscar for her performance.

This Diamond Edition from Lionsgate brings this modern classic to life like never before, thanks to spectacular remastered video with enhanced clarity and vivacity, a 7.1 lossless audio track that's every bit as nuanced as it is bold, and a brand-new retrospective documentary that explores every nook and cranny of the production. Even if you have the previous blu ray edition, this Diamond Edition is definitely worth the upgrade or double dipping. Of course this set is highly recommended. When you make the purchase, make sure you choose the Diamond Edition, otherwise you may end up with the earlier version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
belle musique
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie but disappointing image quality for a diamond edition, Feb. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love this movie. I thought the quality would be better than the dvd I already owned, so I purchased this special edition. The cover is sparkly and beautiful, but the image quality is no better than the previous blu-ray that was released years ago. It's hardly better than the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CHICAGO stills the show still today!, Jan. 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is as good as the original and you can not help but enjoy the song routines and the acting is excellent.
There is not one bad scene or section of the movie that lost your attention. CHICAGO was the number one
box office movie for its year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chicago, March 11 2012
Loving this product! Great purchase & a great broadway movie!!
Keep 'em coming.... we'll keep on watching!!

Blue -ray experience is THE way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Movie Ever!, June 28 2005
I've seen this movie 80+ times, guarenteed!! It's my most played DVD by far!! (Also my most listened to soundtrack!) This is Catherine Zeta-Jones at her finest!! Renee Zellweger and Richard Gere are good as well!! It's a timeless classic! Can't...Stop...Watching...Chicago!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chicago (Full Screen) [Import]
Chicago (Full Screen) [Import] by Rob Marshall (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 16.09 CDN$ 15.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews