Customer Reviews


1,134 Reviews
5 star:
 (864)
4 star:
 (130)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (50)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Countdown to November Begins
Yes, the title says "Countdown to November", not December, when the "Return of the King" finally hits the big screens, but November, when fans of the Lord of the Rings trilogy can get their hands on "The Two Towers: Special Extended Edition", the entire movie that includes over forty minutes of extra film footage included in the theatrical release version. Many may think...
Published on Aug. 30 2003 by R. M. Fisher

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Trailers!
The extra features are a delight for fans. You can enter Middle-Earth for hours on end. I love the making of this film far more than the actual movie, which is a disappointment to Tolkien fans. But since I'm focusing on the DVD we won't get into the actual movie. The features are fantastic, especially the making of Gollum. Some of the methods for his creation are...
Published on Nov. 15 2003 by Detroclay


‹ Previous | 178 79 80114 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first!, May 14 2003
By A Customer
The movie The lord of the rings the two towers was really good.
My dad is a big tolkien fan! Maybe too big, so of course I saw it. In my oppinion it is much better than The lord of the rings the fellowship of the ring. Plus Golem is in it. Golem is a little creature that once was a hobbit. If youve read any of the books or saw any of the movies, you would know what i am talking about. The lord of the rings 2 is definetly a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Read the books, Aug. 15 2003
By A Customer
the only reason i would buy this dvd is because of the preview for return of the king.
Hopefully this movie has inspired people to read the trilogy, as well as the Silmarillion and tolkien's lost tales. Tolkien is a master storyteller and Peter Jackson can only do his best to tell the story faithfully by following the book as closely as possible.
This movie trilogy proves that reading the book is much better than the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Definite improvement over theatrical version, Dec 6 2003
By 
Lauren Schroeder (Buffalo, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs) (DVD)
The extra footage in this edition of The Two Towers goes a long way towards improving the film adaptation of this book. I was especially glad to see the fleshing out of Faramir because it shows you why he wanted to bring the Ring to his father so badly, and his parting conversation with Frodo and Sam in the sewer below Osgiliath further redeemed his character. It was also nice to see Sean Bean again as Boromir briefly in flashback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Defective Discs?, Nov. 20 2003
By 
Matthew N Griffin (Bloomington, IN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs) (DVD)
The film itself (first two discs) seems great, and is a definate must buy, but on the copy I purchased the 3rd and 4th discs do not play. They continually bounce between the 1st & 2nd index markers, never showing anything but a black screen. Trying to jump ahead does nothing. It's as if they were indexed incorrectly. Has anyone else had this problem? I'll be returning the discs to Borders today to see if it's just this copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The journey continues into classic territory, May 18 2004
By 
Cody Patton (Albuquerque, NM USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs) (DVD)
The Two Towers picks up where Fellowship left off and didn't leave any quality filmmaking behind! Peter Jackson is a brilliant director achieving what many thought (including Tolkien himself) was impossible-adapting these books into films. These are more than just films though, they are masterpieces that, like the books, raised the bar within their medium. Top notch film! It should be illegal to not see these movies at least once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings; The Two Towers (special edition), Dec 30 2003
By 
Myra Schjelderup "Ignolopi" (Salt Lake City, Utah, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs) (DVD)
Great movie - great characters - great acting - wonderful special effects - and it even manages funny moments in the midst of parts favorite characters could die any moment. And that is hard to do without making it seem silly, but they've done it here.
And the Special Edition is worth the extra money. It includes deletes scenes, extra commentaries, and much more then the normal version of the DVD.
Recommended for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Smeagol statue not as good as..., Dec 5 2003
By 
I just bought my SEECGS version of the Two Towers. The TTTEE-DVD is very cool. The added scenes really explains a lot of the story, in spite of the theatrical version. However, the extra added DVD shows a Smeagol statue which is very very well done! The Smeagol you get with the package is not! Whereas its the same statue!! I believe this might be due to the fact that they were made in enormous amounts, but still. I don't like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Cable-GET A LIFE!!!!!, Nov. 2 2003
By 
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs) (DVD)
It is literally impossible to translate everything onto film unless you want to watch a 20 hour movie. Who cares if he took some liberties with aspects of the book, the film is true to the ESSENCE and STORY. If I want to indulge myself in the complete lore of Tolkien, I will read the book. If I want to indulge myself with an excellent interpretation of the story, I will watch this fantastic movie. I recommend it to everyone!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Filmmaking!, Oct. 22 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs) (DVD)
This is one of the best movie-sequels ever made! Full of action, adventure, and drama 'The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers' is a stunning movie with spectacular special effects, wonderful music (score), and great acting. I can't wait to own the Special Extended DVD Edition of 'The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers'. It will be even better than its Special Extended DVD Edition prequel 'Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Fantasy Movies Ever Made!, July 24 2003
By A Customer
Along-side its prequel 'Fellowship of the Ring' 'The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers' is a brilliant fantasy movie! It has great acting, spectacular musical (score), and outstanding special effects! The drama, romance, action/adventure, and suspence 'The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers' has to offer is incredibly wonderful! I cannot wait to own 'The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers' when it is released in stores for video!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 178 79 80114 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs)
CDN$ 26.95 CDN$ 26.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews