Customer Reviews


1,131 Reviews
5 star:
 (862)
4 star:
 (130)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (49)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special Features List from Pop-Up On Official Site!!!!
FEATURE (approx. 214 minutes) -
A new version of the second installment in the epic trilogy! The film includes over 40 minutes of never-before-seen footage incorporated into the film, made especially for this video release:

Widescreen (2.35:1) version of the Special Extended Edition
Dolby Digital EX 5.1 Surround Sound
DTS ES 6.1 Surround...
Published on June 20 2003 by MAB

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Trailers!
The extra features are a delight for fans. You can enter Middle-Earth for hours on end. I love the making of this film far more than the actual movie, which is a disappointment to Tolkien fans. But since I'm focusing on the DVD we won't get into the actual movie. The features are fantastic, especially the making of Gollum. Some of the methods for his creation are...
Published on Nov. 15 2003 by Detroclay


‹ Previous | 178 79 80114 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An incrediable film!, Aug. 26 2003
By 
K. Schade "krizzby" (Highland Lakes, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read the entire Lord of the rings tril. including many of Tolkiens other works, I must say this movie is truely awsome. I am on many peoples side in saying "Hey! That never happened in the book!" or "Wow! That was totally messed up!" but I must agree some of the changes made were for the BETTER! When i say better I don't mean take Gimli's axe an hack up Tolkien's work, but I mean it is for the better of the movie. Tolkien didn't get as into the love story as the movie did, granted, but the love story makes it more appealing for a large audiance. Now people can root for Aragorn cleaving off an Uruk Hai head as much as they can root for him to marry Arwen.
Also, I have heard it so many times my head is going to explode. yes we know the elves didn't go to Helm's Deep. And that is perfect for the book, but when you see 10,000 Uruk Hai marching to Helm's Deep and 300 rohan soldiers, which a large portion is old men and children, you gotta wonder how are they ever going to pull this off? Petter Jackson made a good move in my oppion in making the elves go to Helm's Deep for two reasons. I think the non-reader would actually be saying "How did 300 soldiers hold off those Uruk Hai like that?" Rohan needed help, and in order to make the survial look possible, those elves were needed. Also, a overwhelming majority of people love elves, so what better a way that to show them fight at Helm's Deep, looking crisp and ready for action! I believe that Peter Jackson made a smart move there.
i will say this though, Aragorn falling off the cliff? That was....weird. On a more comic note, imagine waking up to his horse? Scary huh? But the whole falling off the cliff made it possible to explore the love a little more. Because in the book, it kind of seemed the love theme was diffently out of it, and sort of appeared out of no where in return of the king.
Overall I rate this movie very highly and recommend it to anyone. It is hard to juggle waiting till Novemeber to get the special edition or buying the one released. So I say go for the special edition and borrow the one released from a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie in its own right, but far removed from the book, Aug. 26 2003
By 
Paul Pearce "Shrewd" (Miami) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is an Epic film in its own right, the script the scenery, the special effects (gollum is absolutely marvellously done and its a crime it didnt get the oscar).
I enjoyed this movie immensely, but felt rather sad that Mr Jackson felt the need to add his 'personal touch'.
The first movie in this trilogy was brilliantly done, we got to know the characters in depth and even though it strayed oft from the exactness of the first book it really did so out of necessity (as most audiences would have fallen asleep 30 minutes into the movie if it had kept to the book).
However, the second book needed no enhancements (except maybe some humour, in which Jackson neatly introduced the fast growing friendship of Gimli and Legolas as such). But the elves at helms deep just blew it for me, the legends of the "last alliance of elves and men" just got thrown out the window, Jackson destroyed the feeling if middle-earthness within the movie. It left a sour taste in my mouth.
But having said that, im still buying it the day it comes out as it is still a wonderful movie to behold. I just hope Jackson gets back on track with the final movie as there really is no need for any deviation at all, as the last book is packed full of action to a point where most who read it consider it should have been twice the size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best DVD this side of Mordor, Aug. 26 2003
By 
Thomas A. Meshanko (Monroeville, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Best movie of all time. I am very pleased with the adaptation of Tolkien (I have read LOTR 3 times). They did a great job with Gollum and everything else. I cannot wait for Return of the King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely super, Aug. 26 2003
By A Customer
Being an avid reader of mystery and western since age 8, I didn't read Tolkien at all. When Lord of the Rings came out, I watched it, loved it, then went back and read all 3 of the books in the series. So approaching from another angle (not a purist)I also could see diffences, but it made no difference. This movie (no movie is perfect after all)is just mind boggling. No bad language or lurid sex as is the calling card of so many movies now. Lots of adventure, excitement, sense of responsibiltiy to others, great actors portraying their rolls..what else could one want in a movie. What a wonderful job Peter Jackson has done to put such complex books into a series of movies that just makes you want to see the next one as quickly as possible. I have seen the lst 2 several times and have purchased the 4 disc copy of LOTR's and will also of The two towers. Just wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as FOTR, but a very close second, Aug. 26 2003
I can't believe all the noise about added and deleted scenes. Come on it is a movie! The only way to make it 100% true to the book is to make it into TV-series! BTW some of the new scenes came from the "Unfinished Tales" by Tolkien. Do your self a favor and read his other works.
Elves at Helm's Deep... At the same time as humans were fighting in the south-east of the Middle Earth, dwarves were battling orks at the Lonely Mountain, Grey and Noldor elves were fighting at Lothlorien and Greenwood the Great. Instead of jumping back and forth over and over again, why not bring elves to Hornburg. "This perils belongs to all" (Elrond, FOTR)
Many of the questions were answered in my ... Magazine.
I will buy theater AND the Collector's versions. I figure I will have to rent it at least 5-6 times before November 18th, so why not save money and buy it?
[ ]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another master piece!, Aug. 26 2003
Fantastic! Loved every bit of it! The movie was a bit different from the first one, the story continued with Frodo and the ring, yet the creatures rose up and the war began. It was amazing to watch the fighing between the forces of darkness and the man kind. The only thing I got left to say is that I just CANNOT wait to own it on DVD and see The Return of the King!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars aewsome movie, Aug. 25 2003
By A Customer
this is an awesome movie! i loved in from beginning to end. peter jackson did a wonderful job directing and the cast is great. i could watch this again and again i loved it so much. if you haven't seen it, see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review of the DVD Video and Sound Quality!, Aug. 25 2003
On the FULLSCREEN DVD of The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers, the video and sound quality are a mixed bag. The movie itself was not meant to be seen in fullscreen, because with the FS, you cut off half of the beautiful landscapes of New Zealand and it doesn't look right. But the sound quality is not restricted or confined, because it sounds perfect. The DD 5.1 EX track is very loud and abstract. The 2.0 Surround Stereo track also sounds good for those of you without home theater setups and are listening just with your TV's speakers. If I were you, I wouldn't pick up the fullscreen just because you hate the black bars, if you are a movie fan and really want to see the movie, do yourself a favor and GET THE WIDESCREEN VERSION or better yet wait until November for the Extended Edition because according to the trailer on this DVD it is going to be awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It has a right to not follow the book, Aug. 24 2003
By A Customer
ok, i've read half of the Two Towers already, and i have to admitt that yes, the movie sevearly changes the plot of the book by extending some sceens (Helms deep battle, shortening others (Most of the Ent stuff), and making up a whole lot (that dog/beast battle). But so what?? movies would be extremely boring if they follow the book. Look at Harry Potter and its 2 movies. If you read the book, there is no need for you to go see the movie, they practicly leave nothing out and that gets boring. With the Lord of the Rings, Peter Jackson took the story in his own hands to make it more understandable and more interesting. BUt you have to remember before going to see this movie that it is a fantasy based on a real book. It isnt going to be one of those stupid movies held in New York that is wipped up from a director and/or writer. It is completely different, and of course, you have to make it seem scary and discusting with those hidious Orcs. That is what makes it original. Though the only problem i have with the movie and the book is that it is so male oriented with only 2 woman maximum. But you cant change that because it is based on the book. It is bad enough, however that they slap on Liv Tyler on every poster and enlarge her so that she sticks out from the main characters, where she is not one.
Anyway that isnt important. But just go see the movie and try to respect it for what it really is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Wat a film!!!!!!!!!!, Aug. 24 2003
By A Customer
After i saw this movie i have to say, wow. wat a great film. I loved the first one and i think this one is even better. The acting is incredible especially from Elijah Wood and Viggo Martensen. I think this movie should have won at least a couple Academy awards. This has got to be one of the best films of the year!!! If this movie is any indication, i believe The Return of the King will be AWSOME!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 178 79 80114 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs)
CDN$ 26.95 CDN$ 21.76
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews