Customer Reviews


1,134 Reviews
5 star:
 (864)
4 star:
 (130)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (50)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Countdown to November Begins
Yes, the title says "Countdown to November", not December, when the "Return of the King" finally hits the big screens, but November, when fans of the Lord of the Rings trilogy can get their hands on "The Two Towers: Special Extended Edition", the entire movie that includes over forty minutes of extra film footage included in the theatrical release version. Many may think...
Published on Aug. 30 2003 by R. M. Fisher

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Trailers!
The extra features are a delight for fans. You can enter Middle-Earth for hours on end. I love the making of this film far more than the actual movie, which is a disappointment to Tolkien fans. But since I'm focusing on the DVD we won't get into the actual movie. The features are fantastic, especially the making of Gollum. Some of the methods for his creation are...
Published on Nov. 15 2003 by Detroclay


‹ Previous | 178 79 80114 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Movie!, July 21 2003
By A Customer
With wonderful special effects, fantastic acting, and spectacular music (score) 'The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers' is a movie that I highly recommend you buy for VHS or DVD! Winner of two Oscars, three BAFTA Awards, and four MTV Movie Awards 'The Two Towers' is NOT a movie for anyone to miss. 'The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers' is a great movie! It is even better than its marvelous prequel 'Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The One and Only, June 20 2003
By 
Liv (Beverly Hills, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs) (DVD)
The Original Two Towers was awesome and I cen tell taht the Extended Edition will clear up little confusions and issues. I am so excited this edtionis supossed tobe 45 minutes longer and with tons and tons more extra stuff. I give this five rings
o o o o o (hint,hint)Can 't wait until I have it shipped to me. This one is greater than the first movie and much, much richer. I recommend this film to everyone. You won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Shift in Focus, Dec 2 2003
By 
Michael Kaiser (Gilroy, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs) (DVD)
See...the Hobbits are supposed to be the common man, the people we relate to. Aragorn and his ilk are supposed to be the mythical, those we watch through the Hobbit's eyes. But it seemed like in this film the Hobbits played less of a role, in favor of Aragorn being the main character. More power to them, as this choice is probably safer in terms of making movie-goers happy, but it personally made me like it a bit less then the last flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once again, better than the original, Nov. 24 2003
By 
Joseph Charbonneau "entilza7" (Omaha, Nebraska United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs) (DVD)
It's difficult to say anything other than "wow!" when seeing this version of the film. It explains everything that is left in question by the theatrical release and tones down Faramir to a closer rendition of the character in the book. Basically, he's not so much a bad guy. I can't say much more than that I love it and it's worth every penny to own.
Also, look for the secret bonus from the MTV awards, it's hysterical!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first!, May 14 2003
By A Customer
The movie The lord of the rings the two towers was really good.
My dad is a big tolkien fan! Maybe too big, so of course I saw it. In my oppinion it is much better than The lord of the rings the fellowship of the ring. Plus Golem is in it. Golem is a little creature that once was a hobbit. If youve read any of the books or saw any of the movies, you would know what i am talking about. The lord of the rings 2 is definetly a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Read the books, Aug. 15 2003
By A Customer
the only reason i would buy this dvd is because of the preview for return of the king.
Hopefully this movie has inspired people to read the trilogy, as well as the Silmarillion and tolkien's lost tales. Tolkien is a master storyteller and Peter Jackson can only do his best to tell the story faithfully by following the book as closely as possible.
This movie trilogy proves that reading the book is much better than the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Definite improvement over theatrical version, Dec 6 2003
By 
Lauren Schroeder (Buffalo, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs) (DVD)
The extra footage in this edition of The Two Towers goes a long way towards improving the film adaptation of this book. I was especially glad to see the fleshing out of Faramir because it shows you why he wanted to bring the Ring to his father so badly, and his parting conversation with Frodo and Sam in the sewer below Osgiliath further redeemed his character. It was also nice to see Sean Bean again as Boromir briefly in flashback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Defective Discs?, Nov. 20 2003
By 
Matthew N Griffin (Bloomington, IN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs) (DVD)
The film itself (first two discs) seems great, and is a definate must buy, but on the copy I purchased the 3rd and 4th discs do not play. They continually bounce between the 1st & 2nd index markers, never showing anything but a black screen. Trying to jump ahead does nothing. It's as if they were indexed incorrectly. Has anyone else had this problem? I'll be returning the discs to Borders today to see if it's just this copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The journey continues into classic territory, May 18 2004
By 
Cody Patton (Albuquerque, NM USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs) (DVD)
The Two Towers picks up where Fellowship left off and didn't leave any quality filmmaking behind! Peter Jackson is a brilliant director achieving what many thought (including Tolkien himself) was impossible-adapting these books into films. These are more than just films though, they are masterpieces that, like the books, raised the bar within their medium. Top notch film! It should be illegal to not see these movies at least once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings; The Two Towers (special edition), Dec 30 2003
By 
Myra "Ignolopi" (Salt Lake City, Utah, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs) (DVD)
Great movie - great characters - great acting - wonderful special effects - and it even manages funny moments in the midst of parts favorite characters could die any moment. And that is hard to do without making it seem silly, but they've done it here.
And the Special Edition is worth the extra money. It includes deletes scenes, extra commentaries, and much more then the normal version of the DVD.
Recommended for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 178 79 80114 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs)
CDN$ 26.95 CDN$ 26.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews