Customer Reviews


1,128 Reviews
5 star:
 (859)
4 star:
 (130)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (49)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special Features List from Pop-Up On Official Site!!!!
FEATURE (approx. 214 minutes) -
A new version of the second installment in the epic trilogy! The film includes over 40 minutes of never-before-seen footage incorporated into the film, made especially for this video release:

Widescreen (2.35:1) version of the Special Extended Edition
Dolby Digital EX 5.1 Surround Sound
DTS ES 6.1 Surround...
Published on June 20 2003 by MAB

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Trailers!
The extra features are a delight for fans. You can enter Middle-Earth for hours on end. I love the making of this film far more than the actual movie, which is a disappointment to Tolkien fans. But since I'm focusing on the DVD we won't get into the actual movie. The features are fantastic, especially the making of Gollum. Some of the methods for his creation are...
Published on Nov. 15 2003 by Detroclay


‹ Previous | 178 79 80113 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely super, Aug. 26 2003
By A Customer
Being an avid reader of mystery and western since age 8, I didn't read Tolkien at all. When Lord of the Rings came out, I watched it, loved it, then went back and read all 3 of the books in the series. So approaching from another angle (not a purist)I also could see diffences, but it made no difference. This movie (no movie is perfect after all)is just mind boggling. No bad language or lurid sex as is the calling card of so many movies now. Lots of adventure, excitement, sense of responsibiltiy to others, great actors portraying their rolls..what else could one want in a movie. What a wonderful job Peter Jackson has done to put such complex books into a series of movies that just makes you want to see the next one as quickly as possible. I have seen the lst 2 several times and have purchased the 4 disc copy of LOTR's and will also of The two towers. Just wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as FOTR, but a very close second, Aug. 26 2003
I can't believe all the noise about added and deleted scenes. Come on it is a movie! The only way to make it 100% true to the book is to make it into TV-series! BTW some of the new scenes came from the "Unfinished Tales" by Tolkien. Do your self a favor and read his other works.
Elves at Helm's Deep... At the same time as humans were fighting in the south-east of the Middle Earth, dwarves were battling orks at the Lonely Mountain, Grey and Noldor elves were fighting at Lothlorien and Greenwood the Great. Instead of jumping back and forth over and over again, why not bring elves to Hornburg. "This perils belongs to all" (Elrond, FOTR)
Many of the questions were answered in my ... Magazine.
I will buy theater AND the Collector's versions. I figure I will have to rent it at least 5-6 times before November 18th, so why not save money and buy it?
[ ]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another master piece!, Aug. 26 2003
Fantastic! Loved every bit of it! The movie was a bit different from the first one, the story continued with Frodo and the ring, yet the creatures rose up and the war began. It was amazing to watch the fighing between the forces of darkness and the man kind. The only thing I got left to say is that I just CANNOT wait to own it on DVD and see The Return of the King!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars aewsome movie, Aug. 25 2003
By A Customer
this is an awesome movie! i loved in from beginning to end. peter jackson did a wonderful job directing and the cast is great. i could watch this again and again i loved it so much. if you haven't seen it, see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review of the DVD Video and Sound Quality!, Aug. 25 2003
On the FULLSCREEN DVD of The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers, the video and sound quality are a mixed bag. The movie itself was not meant to be seen in fullscreen, because with the FS, you cut off half of the beautiful landscapes of New Zealand and it doesn't look right. But the sound quality is not restricted or confined, because it sounds perfect. The DD 5.1 EX track is very loud and abstract. The 2.0 Surround Stereo track also sounds good for those of you without home theater setups and are listening just with your TV's speakers. If I were you, I wouldn't pick up the fullscreen just because you hate the black bars, if you are a movie fan and really want to see the movie, do yourself a favor and GET THE WIDESCREEN VERSION or better yet wait until November for the Extended Edition because according to the trailer on this DVD it is going to be awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It has a right to not follow the book, Aug. 24 2003
By A Customer
ok, i've read half of the Two Towers already, and i have to admitt that yes, the movie sevearly changes the plot of the book by extending some sceens (Helms deep battle, shortening others (Most of the Ent stuff), and making up a whole lot (that dog/beast battle). But so what?? movies would be extremely boring if they follow the book. Look at Harry Potter and its 2 movies. If you read the book, there is no need for you to go see the movie, they practicly leave nothing out and that gets boring. With the Lord of the Rings, Peter Jackson took the story in his own hands to make it more understandable and more interesting. BUt you have to remember before going to see this movie that it is a fantasy based on a real book. It isnt going to be one of those stupid movies held in New York that is wipped up from a director and/or writer. It is completely different, and of course, you have to make it seem scary and discusting with those hidious Orcs. That is what makes it original. Though the only problem i have with the movie and the book is that it is so male oriented with only 2 woman maximum. But you cant change that because it is based on the book. It is bad enough, however that they slap on Liv Tyler on every poster and enlarge her so that she sticks out from the main characters, where she is not one.
Anyway that isnt important. But just go see the movie and try to respect it for what it really is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Wat a film!!!!!!!!!!, Aug. 24 2003
By A Customer
After i saw this movie i have to say, wow. wat a great film. I loved the first one and i think this one is even better. The acting is incredible especially from Elijah Wood and Viggo Martensen. I think this movie should have won at least a couple Academy awards. This has got to be one of the best films of the year!!! If this movie is any indication, i believe The Return of the King will be AWSOME!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Peter Jackson=Schmuck. Movie=Good., Aug. 24 2003
By 
"articwolf87" (Pembroke Pines, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
Any LOTR fan who has read the book and expected the movie to be a near seamless adaptaion of the book is extremely heartbroken as am I. Everyone who has given it a negative rating knows this, but it is kind of unfair to do that to the movie. The movie was indeed an excellent movie. Despite the fact that I want to personally remove Peter Jacksons genetilia and digest them and feed him my excrements.
The movie was excellent. Once I forced myself to forget that I had read the book I realized the movie was still very good. Although I refused to forgive pj's for sacriglegiously marring the charecter of Faramir. I'm praying this Aussie schvatza doesn't do the same to the ROTK. All fans of the book know to hate the director. But, don't hate the movie. The movie has excellent musical score, unprecendented scenery and prop use, and extraordinary charecter development. There's nothing more you can ask for in a good movie. Just, if you need to vent, send pj's a bomb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars agh burzum-ishi krimpatul, Aug. 23 2003
By 
"ngeldust" (Phoenix Mauritius) - See all my reviews
It`s very difficult to say more that has already been said but I`ll try.As it`s said in the previous review, most of the so-called "purists" will find something to say but guys, PJ and the others did a great job we can`t compare the books to the movies.This movie has great photography,good casting and like it and love it for what it is...can`t wait to see ROTK. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Warm Up to the Extended Edition, Aug. 23 2003
By 
Since everyone has seen it, I won't say much about the movie itself except to say that it continues the excellence started by "Fellowship." Gollum has to be a landmark in digital characters. One other note is that it has more changes from the book than Fellowship did, but I won't criticize since I can't even begin to imagine what adapting a massive story like "Lord of the Rings" to cinema would be like. Peter Jackson had a huge task, and I'm sure we'll here all about his reasons for the changes in the Extended Edition commentary.
Anyway, the features of this disk (inc. a preview of the Return of the King movie, a preview of the ROTK game, and a preview of the Extended Edition to name a few) are a great appetizer for the Extended Edition. I also like how the menus keep in line with the first DVD edition of "Fellowship." Even once the Extended Edition comes out, I would keep this as it represents the director's orginal work and there are things on this DVD that won't be on the Extended Edition. I've been counting down the days to the release of this DVD since December 2002, and am finally glad to have this landmark film in my own home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 178 79 80113 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb045e7e0)

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Widescreen Extended Edition) (4 Discs)
CDN$ 26.95 CDN$ 25.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews