Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars The Bob Dylan I didn't know could be
Some very good stuff here including unusual (and enjoyable) versions of Dylan stuff you'll never hear elsewhere (Los Lobos cover is a great take). I had heard 'about' Charlie Sexton's guitaring many, many years ago - he was fronting his own band and earning accolades from guitar gods, and then he kind of disappeared somewhere for a decade (from my little world at least)...
Published 2 months ago by K.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly uneven, but some nice material
A decent CD with some very good stuff, some okay stuff, some bad stuff. Don't buy it unless you're willing to fast forward about half the album!
Good:
On a Night Like This (Los Lobos) --- this song could have been written by Los Lobos! Lively, joyful.
Rap version of Like a Rolling Stone --- Okay, I was surprised at this one, but it's quite good.
Most...
Published on Dec 13 2004 by Brent Wittmeier


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The Bob Dylan I didn't know could be, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masked & Anonymous (Audio CD)
Some very good stuff here including unusual (and enjoyable) versions of Dylan stuff you'll never hear elsewhere (Los Lobos cover is a great take). I had heard 'about' Charlie Sexton's guitaring many, many years ago - he was fronting his own band and earning accolades from guitar gods, and then he kind of disappeared somewhere for a decade (from my little world at least). So, I'm watching this engaging film that has some great actors and, I keep thinking.. the main character looks alot like Bob Dylan (who I've never been a fan of and therefore don't follow). I figure out 1/3 of the way into the film it is Dylan and the tight, funky band in the movie is his road band- with Sexton driving the tone - and a guitar lesson ( Note: the film is not about Dylan, nor Dylan's road band. It's an engaging, twisting, comedic tale that happens to have Dylan as the main, unassuming lead (next to some powerhouse actors) and just happens to showcase his rip band).

Most musicians don't age gracefully. They try to be what they once were and end up looking and sounding pathetic. We can all think of several that quickly come to mind. Not so with Dylan and this band. While they are all different ages, they all gel like the 'whole that is greater than the sum of its parts', and there is nothing remotely ostentatious, redundant, or gratuitous. This is a visual and sonic lesson that evolving well can be done. It's worth seeing the film and buying the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly uneven, but some nice material, Dec 13 2004
By 
Brent Wittmeier "bwittmeier" (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Masked and Anonymous (Audio CD)
A decent CD with some very good stuff, some okay stuff, some bad stuff. Don't buy it unless you're willing to fast forward about half the album!
Good:
On a Night Like This (Los Lobos) --- this song could have been written by Los Lobos! Lively, joyful.
Rap version of Like a Rolling Stone --- Okay, I was surprised at this one, but it's quite good.
Most of the Time(Sophie Zelmani) --- a sweet and innocent female version (but can you rhyme "sure" with "him")
Okay:
The Dylan performances, Grateful Dead, One More Cup of Coffee for the Road, City of Gold, Gotta Serve Somebody
Not so good:
The Japanese version of My Back Pages --- it could drive you crazy! I didn't like If You See Her, Say Hello
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dylan tunes: What's missing from the movie..., April 22 2004
By 
Craig Fisher (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Masked and Anonymous (Audio CD)
In the movie Masked and Anonymous, there are 9 live Dylan tracks used in the movie, yet only 4 appear on this "soundtrack." Songs that are MIA on the CD include 5 others (!): "I'll Remember You" and "Drifter's Escape" (both of which Dylan and the boys are filmed playing), but also absent is a killer "Blowin' In the Wind," which rolls during the final scene and the credits. Also missing are the songs "Watching the River Flow" and "Dirt Road Blues" (both were listed in the credits, but I personally did not recognize in the movie...instrumentals perhaps?). The Dylan songs that did make it onto the CD are all phenomenal (especially if you are a fan of Love and Theft), but this soundtrack really could have been something special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting, April 16 2004
Since almost every known band (famous and not) has recorded some cover version of a Dylan song this compilation (and movie soundtrack)contains
the most experimental,curious and particular ones
Music style varies from Tribal,Hip Hop,Rap,Country,Folk,Rock,psych
and others..Even if most of readers here,myself included, do not
know some of the artists who play on this CD,the first intention could be not to buy the album ,but after listening to the whole
thing you'll agree with me when I say these cover songs are extremely good,in few words Dylan Songs in a different point of view.
It's a pity the man himself has excluded "My Back Pages" by punk Metal band Ramones or "This Wheel's on fire" by Siouxie and the Banshees in that case i should have given 5 stars .This is not a Best of Bob Dylan,there are alread 100 -best of- cd around here,some reviewer misunderstood the meaning of this album
altough the rating is not 5 stars,Masked and Anonymous is worth buying then most of the releases of these modern years.cya
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is great!!!, April 5 2004
By 
James E. Duckworth "oahu-street" (Clinton, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Masked and Anonymous (Audio CD)
Bob Dylan can do no wrong. Get this...get the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic in the Best Sense, March 5 2004
By 
This review is from: Masked and Anonymous (Audio CD)
As a serious - probably too serious - Dylan fan, I feel that for the sake of my credibility, I should immediately concede that the movie was perfectly dreadful. Confused, poorly staged, and boring as hell. The only moments of drama came in Bob's scenes. His discomfort was so palpable, it was nearly impossible to watch without growing queasy. In other words, a terrible experience... for which our greatest songwriter is largely responsible.
The accompanying soundtrack of "Masked & Anonymous" does, I think, go a great distance towards making up for the disaster of the film. Dylan and Co.'s super-tight performances of "Down In The Flood" and "Cold Irons Bound" are proof of what dedicated fans realized long ago - in the last 12 or so years, Bob has been performing at the highest level, a real golden era of touring.
Meanwhile, the Italian version of "If You See Her, Say Hello," translates beautifully, Los Lobos does a bang-up "On A Night Like This," and Jerry's "Senor (Tales of Yankee Power)" is very nice.
One does wonder at the absence of the outstanding version "I'll Remember You" featured in the movie, but we'll have to hope it emerges elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Ego trip, Feb. 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Masked and Anonymous (Audio CD)
Save your money and buy something else. The Dylan performances are few and uninspired. The rest -- peformances of Dylan -- are sometimes good, sometimes amusing, sometimes odd, but don't amount to much as a collection. I wanted to see the movie until I heard the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to mongrel-new-world Dylan,translated into Spanglish, Feb. 13 2004
By 
Rob Wilson (Santa Cruz and Honolulu) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Masked and Anonymous (Audio CD)
The soundtrack to "Masked and Anonymous":-- it is pretty mongrel and weird and fully wondrous, this Dylanesque music new world order: all these Japanese/Spanglish/Italian and Turkish translations of the BD canon done over and sampled in innovative ways, plus a gospel song by the Dixie Hummingbirds that is maybe one of the best sacred do-wop songs ever written... or sung... for me, it's a version of Saint Augustine's City of God, but lyric, sad, and pithy. This is sustenance for the post-ironic pilgrim soul in us, even as we are fallen into the toxic Babylon (well, this city space nation looks like the NAFTA-zone of Los Angeles gone even more lawless and wild) of the new-world-lyric-order as portrayed in the movie that goes along with these amazing songs. Gratitude is much in order here... for BD and his cast of thousands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth Buying for the 4 Dylan Tracks (But Where's the Rest?), Jan. 25 2004
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Masked and Anonymous (Audio CD)
Disclaimer: I have not seen the movie. Which probably puts me in the same category as most here (the movie played exactly 1 week in Cincinnati--I guess the DVD rental will have to do).
The "Masked and Anonymous" soundtracks (14 tracks; 66 min.) is a hodge podge of Dylan songs and Dylan covers by notable and less-known (if not to say, anonymous) artists. The 4 tracks from Bob are excellent: new versions of "Down in the Flood" and "Cold Irons Bound", and also new songs "Diamond Joe" and "Dixie". Bob's songs were recorded live (on the movie set, in a matter of 2 days!) with Bob's current back-up band, which, if you have seen Bob in concert in the last couple of years, is simply excellent. All 4 songs sound like outakes from the "Love & Theft" sessions, and I mean that as a compliment.
The covers are a mixed bag. The Dead's "It's All Over Now, Baby Blue" is pleasant enough, as is "Senor" from the Jerry Garcia Band (lifted from their 1990 double live album). The best cover is the gospel take on "Gotta Serve Somebody" by Sherley Caesar. There are some real misses as well, for example the Italian "rap" version of "Like a Rolling Stone".
Interestingly, the liner notes make clear that Dylan recorded 8 songs for the movie, but only 4 are on here. Where are the other 4 songs? Why are they not included on the soundtrack? Ot do we have to wait for the "deluxe" edition of the soundtrack in a few years (and fork over more money...)?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five and that's no jive!!!, Dec 28 2003
By 
James E. Duckworth "oahu-street" (Clinton, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This recording is great stuff!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Masked and Anonymous
Masked and Anonymous by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews