Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, though admittedly flawed
This movie had me on the edge of my seat, I could hardly watch it! The rape scene is horrific, as is the death scene, but that's why this movie is good. A rape and death scene SHOULD be horrific and unwatchable! Hollywood makes these subjects entertaining, not horrific. The only reason I didn't give this movie five stars is because the dialogue is absolutely atrocious in...
Published on July 29 2003 by Reed

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the movie I would watch
I saw this movie, I did not like this movie because I gave this one star. Stick to other Monica Bellucci movies.
Published 1 month ago by Kevin Barton


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, though admittedly flawed, July 29 2003
By 
Reed "ag575" (Stewart, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Irreversible (Version française) [Import] (DVD)
This movie had me on the edge of my seat, I could hardly watch it! The rape scene is horrific, as is the death scene, but that's why this movie is good. A rape and death scene SHOULD be horrific and unwatchable! Hollywood makes these subjects entertaining, not horrific. The only reason I didn't give this movie five stars is because the dialogue is absolutely atrocious in parts. Just horrible. But the first twenty minutes is filled with such terror and energy, with the camera swooping up and down, it's enough be cause nausea. Watch Irreversible with the lights out, the surround sound on loud, and your hands on the edge of your seats. It's loud, twisted, horrific, and unapologetic about it! Monica Bellucci does an incredible job, and she is not outdone by the technical aspects of the film, which is basically made up of scenes that were done in one take. Be prepared for an intense film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not the movie I would watch, March 17 2014
By 
Kevin Barton (Whitby, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Irreversible (Version française) [Import] (DVD)
I saw this movie, I did not like this movie because I gave this one star. Stick to other Monica Bellucci movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst movies ever, March 23 2013
This review is from: Irreversible (Version française) [Import] (DVD)
This movie is horribly written, filmed and the message is disgusting. Soundtrack designed to induce nausea. This director should be banned from making films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast, Nov. 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Irreversible (Version française) [Import] (DVD)
my previous movie order took around 4 weeks to ship... this was 2 days, and I didn't even select the fastest option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Love Monica Bellucci - Hate this movie, Sept. 12 2012
By 
Roger Weaver "movie collector" (BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Irreversible (Version française) [Import] (DVD)
I bought this movie because of Monica Bellucci. It is the worst movie ever, it will make you feel like you are on a bad drug trip or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Blowin' Masterpiece!!!!!!, June 21 2003
By 
Y.A. (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Finally!!! a REAL FILM!!!!!!!!.....
I'm so tired of wasting 2 hours of my life seeing worhtless, so-called films that I can't believe anyone would fund (usually millions of dollars for) such nonsense.
In this film you will see the true meaning of the human condition.
The style of the film is pure brilliance. The acting is thrilling ...its sheer perfection.
Warning: the first scene, is horrifying, (with shockingly, explicit violence) but continue watching, it is well worth the ride.
Don't just see it..buy it! Its a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enter If You Dare., Sept. 6 2003
By 
This review is from: Irreversible (Version française) [Import] (DVD)
"Irreversible," the new film from French director Gaspar Noe, is a crude revenge fantasy dressed up as an art-house film. As the movie begins with the ending credits, it tells its sordid story in reverse a la "Memento," and the camera jitters during each scene so nervously, you'll be reaching for your Dramamine within just minutes. Its hero, Marcus (Vincent Cassell), seeks to avenge the savage rape of his girlfriend Alex (the attractive Monica Bellucci), and in so doing, he begins a violent journey that leads him into a sleazy gay club called, of all things, the Rectum. "Irreversible" has quickly gotten a reputation for being one of the most visually graphic movies ever made. Having seen this movie, I can testify that its reputation is well earned. One scene involves a man getting beaten (literally) to a pulp with a fire extinguisher; the beating is so relentless that it's impossible not to squirm even once. But the more unsettling scene involves the nine minute rape of Alex, which has to be the most horrific depiction of violence I've ever witnessed on a screen. While many people reportedly bolted out of theatres during this scene, I saw the whole thing in its entirety. (Then again, your stomach may be not as strong, so think hard before you see this movie.) It's a long and agonizing sequence that leaves almost nothing to imagination, and it's at this point where most people stop watching "Irreversible." But while Noe is a talented stylist with the camera, the script has flaws. Prior to her rape, Alex is not only dressed in a skin-tight dress but also approaches a poorly-lit subway station after dark. I find it hard to believe that most women in the 21st century would use such incredibly poor judgment. Also, the film's subplot involving the club carelessly aligns homosexuality with sleazy behaviour. "Irreversible" is certainly intriguing, but it's pretty tough for me to recommend as a purchase. Who would buy this DVD? Considering its nasty content, this isn't a movie you'll want to watch multiple times. You won't be scanning back and forth to certain chapters to re-watch "favorite" scenes. But if you've got the iron stomach for an ugly thriller done with interesting camerawork, then "Irreversible" might be worth a look--provided you'll be able to keep both eyes open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars some of the most disturbing scenes ever, June 28 2004
By 
Roland E. Zwick (Valencia, Ca USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Irreversible (Version française) [Import] (DVD)
If there's one thing that can be stated with utmost certainty, it is that "Irreversible," a French film by writer/director Gaspar Noe, is not for the faint of heart or weak of stomach. In fact, this tale of the brutal rape of a helpless young woman is one of the most harrowing films ever made and features two of the most graphic scenes ever committed to film: the rape itself and the killing of the man responsible for the rape.
Although I imagine that very few people will end up subjecting themselves to this film in the long run, those who do will witness an amazing piece of work in many ways. Like the movie "Betrayal" from 1983, "Irreversible" tells its story in reverse chronological order. It begins with a frenzied man racing through a gay sex club, madly searching for someone we know merely as Le Tenia. Only as the story develops - as we are taken ever further back in time - do we begin to understand what is going on: that this young man, Marcus, is seeking vengeance on the rapist who has brutally attacked his pregnant girlfriend. Noe keeps us in a state of confusion by filming the scene in such a way as to reflect the maniacal state of Marcus' revenge-obsessed mind. The camera bounces around in epileptic confusion while the audience attempts to get its bearings. Eventually, as the filmmakers backtrack to reveal the events that have led up to this moment, the camera calms down and we get to see the whole ugly story acted out in painfully graphic detail. In fact, in the rape scene itself, Noe reverses his filmmaking style 180 degrees, deliberately leaving the camera stationary and focused on the event as it plays itself out. He simply won't allow us to stop looking.
There are some, I imagine, who might object to this film on moral grounds, feeling that it is little more than a cynical exploitation picture with artistic pretensions. Yet that condemnation would do a disservice to the makers of this film who, I believe, do not want us to revel in the sordidness of what we see, but rather to be appalled by the unspeakably brutal way in which human beings can treat their fellow human beings. By having us sit and witness every moment of this brutality without the comforting filter of cutaway shots or easy dissolves, Noe forces us to face the ugly truths about ourselves as a species. The reverse-order structure of the film heightens the tragic nature of the story for it allows us to see just how happy and hopeful these characters are in the time right before the rape shatters their lives. The latter half of the film contains no physical violence, yet watching it unfold is an ineffably sad experience, for we, unlike the characters themselves, are privy to the Sword of Damocles so precariously poised over their unsuspecting heads, yet find ourselves helpless in being able to rescue them from the inevitable destruction it will cause. Thus, the structure robs us of even the remotest option of hoping against hope that the tragedy can somehow be avoided - for we have seen it as an already completed action. For while the film may be "reversible," life itself is not. In the case of this film, at least, form does, indeed, become content.
Vincent Cassel as Marcus, Monica Bellucci as his girlfriend, Alex, and Albert Dupontel as their mutual friend, Pierre, all deliver excellent, heartfelt performances.
I doubt that many people will have the intestinal fortitude to make it through large segments of this film, but those who do will surely never forget what they've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Existentialism, June 20 2004
By 
J. MacAyeal (libertyville, illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Irreversible (Version française) [Import] (DVD)
Irreversible is a film that displaces the viewer in such a significant way that to watch it is more akin to dreaming about a real-life experience. The film, through dialogue, actions, and character archetypes, suggests that only way to make sense of and live through the horrific and reversed melodramatic anti-revenge storyline is to view the film through a near existential psychological perspective. Yipe. In easier language, the film demands your own removal of pre-conditioned emotional responses to rape, murder, revenge, humor, sexual excitement, intimacy, sadness, rage, and especially blame. The very beginning of the film features the man from the feature I STAND ALONE telling another man how he messed his own life up...that time destroys all things. His companion ultimately nay-says this, indicating that any crimes or tragedies are just what they are, nothing more...a series of events. Noe challenges the viewers to attempt to view Irreversible in that very detached state, not for or against what you see. (nutty camera moves...) By doing so you will be able to live through the incredibly sad and horrific storyline. By Noe telling the story in reverse, he rescues the film from melodrama, vengence, or "true crime" genre BS. Together, almost in a 50/50 contract deal, Noe and the viewer can attain the meaning of this story about Alex, Marcus, Pierre, the Tenia, ramifications and origins of any and all the events you see in Irreversible. The result will vary, I believe, from person to person...as it should. I can only echo other reviews in warning you of the intensity and violence, but the sadness and (yes) beauty of the film's meaning that I derived was phenomenal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than just the graphic scenes you've heard about, June 6 2004
By 
This review is from: Irreversible (Version française) [Import] (DVD)
French films ... what can I say about them? They can be raw, violent, timid or just weird. Irreversible is a VERY interesting film, simply because it is thought provoking. When was the last time you saw a film which engrossed you so much, but at the same time you wanted to switch it off?
Right from the beginning, IRREVERSIBLE pulls you in and while the initial camera work is annoying, it helps create a mood of sheer eeeriness. When the siren-like music begins, you know it's not going to be a pleasant ride.
The film makes you question human behaviour, and the total disrepect that humans can have towards other humans. The film is shown backwards and it really works in this format. You know what is going to happen to the characters, before they do. This of course will make you cry because the main characters do not deserve what happens to them.
SUMMARY:
IRREVERSIBLE is a very sad film which shows the disgusting side of human behaviour, while in so many ways it is a beautiful film. The two awful scenes are what everyone is talking about. However, if you can get through these scenes, you will be rewarded ... simply because beyond those scenes, the film has much more to tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa99c23a8)

This product

Irreversible (Version française) [Import]
Irreversible (Version française) [Import] by Gaspar Noé (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 16.83 CDN$ 16.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews