Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Evolution is more like de-evolution
For anyone who has read the original comics and seen the original series, you will be throughly surprised by this new installment. The bad points: Almost every X-Man and Brotherhood member is either a high school student or teacher. Mystique is the principal. Toad, Jean, Nightcrawler, Rogue, Cyclops, etc are students. Wolverine is sorta a mentor for them at Xavier's...
Published on May 5 2001 by Siren

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Changing Format, again and again and again and again
No one should be patting the backs of the creators on this one. If an X-men fan tried to keep up with the number changes to the X-men's format (with no explination) blood would start shooting out their nose. The comics had stay on a linary path for a reason, you can't just up and change things all around. Now I understand some changes have to made to bring the X-men...
Published on May 17 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Changing Format, again and again and again and again, May 17 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: X-Men:Xplosive Days (VHS Tape)
No one should be patting the backs of the creators on this one. If an X-men fan tried to keep up with the number changes to the X-men's format (with no explination) blood would start shooting out their nose. The comics had stay on a linary path for a reason, you can't just up and change things all around. Now I understand some changes have to made to bring the X-men team up to speed in the animated world. You have a whole new audience (mainly young boys) that have to adapt. Same goes for bringing the team to the Big Screen. This new team of X-men (and I say NEW because they only have things in common with the original team, names and powers only). This team takes off of two sources for their character structure. One the comic books: taking all the essitials of the real story and picking out only small aspects of the it: The names, the powers, and the set up (band of mutants that fight evil under Proffesor X). The other is the movie (and this is big influence). Proffessor X now has Patrick Stuarts english accent. Wolverine is no longer 5'2, but stands 6'2. Sabertooth is straight from the movie (duds and all). Then some genius (sacastically) went and put some wierd twist on the show making them attend public high school. Which so happens to have every mutant in the original comics attend this one school. I sit there and watch them butcher the origins and trates of the original X-men time and time again. The 90's animated X-men made their changes also, but they are nothing compared to what these guys did to the X-men team. I know times are changing and it's time to revamp the teams. But if the orginal team is lacking the appeal of modern day youth, then it's time bary the team and create all new X-men. Keep the dream alive, but with the modern day team.... It's like Shakespeare, you wouldn't keep messing with his format of plays time and time again and still call it a Shakespearian play. And as for the animation, stop trying to copy Batman and Superman animated cartoons. It won't work. I like the look of the 90's X-men cartoon.... Japanimation should the basic format for all action cartoons, they know how it's done. All and all, kids: have your fun with this revamped team, but don't expect to get in any conversations about with the comic X-men fans. Hopefully this cartoon will fade out soon and be forgotten. Then again, I could be bitter because I don't pencil for Marvel and only for a small company known as Wildstorm Comics. hee hee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evolution is more like de-evolution, May 5 2001
By 
This review is from: X-Men:Xplosive Days (VHS Tape)
For anyone who has read the original comics and seen the original series, you will be throughly surprised by this new installment. The bad points: Almost every X-Man and Brotherhood member is either a high school student or teacher. Mystique is the principal. Toad, Jean, Nightcrawler, Rogue, Cyclops, etc are students. Wolverine is sorta a mentor for them at Xavier's home. The school they go to is not Xavier's. It is a public high school. So they must deal with hiding their powers and looks, for some of them. Good Points: Animation is excellent. The best I have seen in a long time. I love the way Nightcrawler looks. The stories are well written. And for the most part, they have kept the key pieces of the original stories true. Wolverine and Sabretooth having a past, Wolvering not knowing everything, Rogue/Mystique and Nightcrawler/Mystique ties. Cyclops/Jean relationship. I am a new fan of X-Men, brought on by the hit movie and I do like this show. I am unsure whether die-hard, long-time fans are welcoming it as much. I think for the kiddie set (I am 22 years old), it's a good show and teached valuable lessons, as the comics from yester-years have taught about racisim and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting, March 31 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: X-Men:Xplosive Days (VHS Tape)
The episodes are much better than the first video, we no longer have what seems to be repeating scenes for each episode. (i.e. Jean Grey saying - "I know what you are going through." to pratically every female mutant that they recruit.) We also get to know one of the more interesting characters, Rouge. (Very interesting, especially considering the fact that one of the kids in it is really blue and fuzzy....)
It's aimed at a younger crowd of X-men fans, since it deals with the X-Men when they first 'started out.' But even though, most fans will find it interesting to see what happened to them when they were younger. The only thing is, we don't see Wolverine or Storm when they were younger, but showing Wolverine's past would open up another can of worms. I do think this series gets better as it progresses, so I WOULD recomend this over the first video if it weren't for the fact that you need to see the first episode to understand it all. I've seen it on TV, but it's not at a great time, so it would be better to get the video. (Although, I can't wait until the fourth video [I think...] comes out, cause there certainly was an interesting episode that I really loved)
Overall, this is a great series. The battle scenes are interesting and what leads to them isn't a whole bunch of you know what. The pace is a little slow at first, but that's what evens it all out. Especially considering the episodes it leads to later in the series. Enjoy. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars just in case you were wondering what 3 episodes this include, Jan. 15 2003
By 
spacedog "spacedog7" (boston, ma United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X-Men:Xplosive Days (VHS Tape)
i don't think anyone else has mentioned this, but the three episodes on this video are:
- mutant crush, feat. the blob and jean grey
- speed and spyke, feat. spyke and quicksilver
- and middleverse, feat. nightcrawler and forge
these were the orig. ep. 4-6 in season one of the evolution series and thus they were the first appearances of the blob (who gets recruited by mystique and who develops a crush on jean grey), spyke and quicksilver (former friends who get recruited by mystique and the x-men respectively), and forge who has been trapped in a place outside of time b/c of an invention gone slightly awry and who gets brought back when nightcrawler gets ported there.
worth 3 or 4 stars, although these episodes aren't nearly as good as the later ones, such as the ones late in season one and season two. if i were going to get just one of the vhs tapes i'd get one of the other two first, esp. since both of those inc. an episode w/ rogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Perfect!, Aug. 28 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: X-Men:Xplosive Days (VHS Tape)
For that guy that pencils (I personally am able ink without a need for pencil-many pencilers think they are so great and perfect just because they can pencil-ooo! NOT!) for Wildstorm Comics, stop crying about how they 'changed' everything so much. Who in the world wants to hear the same old story again and again? I like how they changed things in the Evolution series and the animation is top notch, just like anime. The old X-Men cartoons were good but stiff in animation with too many details, making it harder to animate. This series wouldn't have made it though without NC, so they are lucky they put him in. This new series is worthwhile to get hooked on and I have a feeling it'll be as big as the old X-Men series. The voice acting is great and animation is perfect, a great buy for anyone, age doesn't matter here! ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Xplosive Review, July 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: X-Men:Xplosive Days (VHS Tape)
This VHS contains the Episodes 4,5 and 6 of the first season.Episode 4 is Mutant Cush which introduce Fred Dukes aka The Blob.Jean Grey was just helping him but Blob takes it too seriousl like a crush.Then next is Speed and Spyke which introduces Storm's nephew Evan Daniels and his nemesis Pietro Maximoff.Storm thinks Evan is having trouble with his powers and thinks he must go to the Xavier Institute.But he has some other plans besides that.He has to deal with a fast rival who keeps getting him into trouble.And last is Middleverse which introduces the old-young Forge who accidently trapped himself in a dimension called Middleverse and Rogue accidently transported Nightcrawler to Middleverse.This three will rock your spine!You will love this tape!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quicksilver fans Buy this item!, June 21 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: X-Men:Xplosive Days (VHS Tape)
This cassette features three episodes of the first series of
X-Men Evolution.These episodes introduce important characters of good and bad nature.They introduce THE BLOB,QUICKSILVER and SPYKE even though in series three Spyke isn't a main character.
It's best to buy or watch UnXpected Changes first if you don't get the storyline.
UnXpected Changes is the first part of Series 1.
Xplosive Days is the second part.
X marks the Spot is the third part
But you'll have to pre-order the final part out in September 2003.
This video isn't as good as some of the episodes in Series 3 but they are a good way to introduce main character.
So I believe this is one wicked video.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars X-men Evolution, March 8 2002
This review is from: X-Men:Xplosive Days (VHS Tape)
The original X-men did cover a few adult issues and was quite heavy for younger children. These new series are really well done though there is a hint of The New Batman-Superman Adventures style. Overall, quite well done. The new versions of Sabretooth and Wolverine is better although there are some disappointing things such as Toad's strange and scrawny body. It doesn't look like his figure was supposed to be adapted from any place, nor comic or movie. Magneto's boundaries are better at some levels and worse than others. But the fresh plot always wants you to view it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creative and different, July 25 2001
By 
LJ "sykora02" (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men:Xplosive Days (VHS Tape)
I've been an X-Men fan since I was 14 years old. (okay so that was only 8 years), and I've seen the other X-Men cartoon. I don't know about others, but I have to say that this cartoon gives a good story even if it isn't exactly like the comic books. I like the way they present the characters; very much what I would imagine them to be animated. Yes, some things change. But that is to be expected. I think X-Men Evolution in itself presents a very good story to follow, nice animation, and great characters to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars reply to viewer: Great new series, Feb. 25 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: X-Men:Xplosive Days (VHS Tape)
wildstorm comics are all flash and no substance. Please don't compare to Marvel. Hee Hee

As for X-men Evolution, the stories are pretty good,character designs are great. The animation is as good as sat. morning animation can get. The acting was more believable than the original show which was heavy on the over dramatics. eg. "jean! Noooooooooooooooooooooo!" overall X-men is a great show and worth waiting to purchase on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men Evolution: Xplosive Days (Season 1, Volume 2) [Import]
CDN$ 7.99 CDN$ 5.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews