Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "If you spill the beans, you open up a can of worms", Jan. 27 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Yes Prime Minister: the Complete Collection (3 Discs) (DVD)
Very enjoyable Brit-com. No gags a la American sitcoms. With the choicest words from the English language. Shows you how the Queen's English ought to be spoken.
My favorite episode: "The Key", where Dorothy advises the PM to clip Humphrey's wings. The dialogue between Sir Humphrey and Sir Frank has to be one of the best examples of how to answer probing questions evasively. Another favorite part of the same episode - Hacker saying (a Shakespeare-inspired) "Thank Me No Thankings, Bernard. Hacker." And Sir Frank back-tracking from his "tremendously able" evaluation of Sir Humphrey's abilities when Hacker dangles the carrot of (part of) Sir Humphrey's job.
The Benji (sheepdog) episode, the Qumrani/Foreign Affairs episode, and the "Tangled Web" episode also rank way up for the way everything is tightly woven together for the inevitable culmination with a "Yes, Prime Minister" from Sir Humphrey Appleby.
Another favorite - the banker speaking in cliches to the PM ("How can you let sleeping dogs lie if you let the cat out of the bag?", the one in the title of this review and two choice others which I will let you savour when you actually watch Sir Desmond Glazebrook speaking to PM Jim Hacker) in the episode about the scandals in the City. And the episode with the cabinet reshuffling, especially the sight of the coughing, cigar-smoking Sports Minister who is later offered (seriously... I'm not kidding... this is Satire) the Health portfolio!
The civil servants' verbiage has the choicest words and is articulated to confuse, I am sure, even the sharpest minds. Arnold is superb when offering Humphrey insight into the working of the well-oiled (?) civil service.
Full of irony; outstanding satire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the best television has to offer., Feb. 1 2004
By 
Jonathan W. Oldfield "gozorak" (Virginia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Yes Prime Minister: the Complete Collection (3 Discs) (DVD)
Absolutely wonderful. I dont think a political satire of this quality and wit has ever or would ever be produced for American television. In response to an earlier review, the "Yes, Prime Minister" and "Yes, Minister" series are not for democrats or Washingtonians alone. Anyone interested in political satire will appreciate and cherish these dvd's. The central theme fueling this wonderfuly written and performed series is the never ending conflict between the permanent unelected Civil Service(big government if you will)who administer policy and the elected, yet oh so temporary politicians(self serving populists if you will) who make the policy. There are valid and hilarious skewerings of all sides, all beliefs and all conceits. This is equal opportunity satire and well worth the rather high cost. Rather educational as well. A great way to learn about the basic workings of British democratic government. Many of the bits of humour and wisdom are as relevant here in the good old USA as they are over there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete series -- INCLUDING "Party Games"!!, Aug. 27 2003
By 
C. Bondoc "cbstar" (Boston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Yes Prime Minister: the Complete Collection (3 Discs) (DVD)
The culmination of the "Yes, Minister" / "Yes, Prime Minister" series from the BBC! I was very happy to find out that the "Yes, Prime Minister" box set INCLUDES -- and BEGINS WITH -- the "final" episode of "Yes, Minster" called "Party Games", which was rarely seen in the US.
"Party Games" was a ONE HOUR special Christmas episode; the show where Sir Humphrey becomes Cabinet Secretary and Hacker becomes PM.
Of course, all the episodes from "Yes, Prime Minister" are included.
DVD Special Features include some very interesting video clips. First, there's a bio on Paul Eddington, as well as an Eddignton interview broadcast at the start of the season. In addition, they included TV segments from BBC news shows which aired on the morning of the debut of "Yes Prime Minister" . Coincidentally, I viewed that special feature first ... and I admit that I did feel the same "anticipation" that must have been felt in 1986!
A must-buy ... along with the box set of "Yes Minister"!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Subsidies are for what people don't want but ought to have", Sept. 1 2003
By 
mwreview "mwreview" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Yes Prime Minister: the Complete Collection (3 Discs) (DVD)
--Sir Humphrey. The Yes, Minister episodes continue with Jim Hacker moving to #10 Downing Street, bringing along private secretary Bernard and, of course, reuniting with the newly promoted Sir Humphrey (whose sentences seem to get longer with each episode). The audio level is better on this set than on the previous one. The cover artwork is not as clean (there are scan lines through the images), but the back cover is very nice with new photos of the three main characters (no photos on the inside as there were in the previous 4-CD set).
The 17 brilliant episodes begin with the 1984 1-hour Christmas special that illustrated the chain events elevating Hacker to #10. The special features include the Sir Humphrey's lengthy review of the Yes Minister Diaries, "Christmas at the Ministry" clip, a 1986 Paul Eddington interview, Jonathan Lynn interview, and profiles on the main actors as well as others. A touching biography of Paul Eddington (Nigel Hawthorne was featured in the first set) in also included. The bio includes scenes from 1950s Dixon of Dock Green, Adventures of Robin Hood, and many scenes from The Good Life and some insight on what Margaret Thatcher thought of Prime Minister Hacker. Eddington's wife, Felicity Kendal, Hawthorne, and Derek Fowlds are among those interviewed. It also includes very sad clips of one of Eddington's last interviews when he was suffering through the last stages of the skin cancer that took his life. He handled his illness with much courage and the interviews with his friends and family reveals how fondly he is remembered and how many lives he touched. This set is a must-have for Yes, Minister fans. I have yet to search for the "Easter Egg" the box promises, so happy hunting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely intelligent comedy, May 14 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Yes Prime Minister: the Complete Collection (3 Discs) (DVD)
The majority of people are falling over themselves to watch brainless, charmless and incredibly annoying AMERICAN comedy like Friends and Will and Grace. I've just watched the entire second series and half of the first of Yes, Prime Minister. This is a satirical, well-observed 80's comedy about the political machinations and workings of the British Parliment and the relationships between Minister's and civil servants. Nigel Hawthorne, Paul Eddington and Derek Fowlds are all superb in this. Great acting, script, and message that puts most comedy to shame and doesn't patronize the viewer or insult their intelligence.
Highly reccomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to see again..., Oct. 26 2003
By 
Crawford Millen (Maple Ridge, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Yes Prime Minister: the Complete Collection (3 Discs) (DVD)
I would expect that anyone reading the reviews of "Yes Minister/Yes Prime Minister" already knows and loves what must be one of the most lauded comedy shows the BBC ever produced. So suffice to say, if you enjoyed watching the show before, the ability to watch them again is a unadulterated pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, Oct. 24 2003
By 
Rahul Sinha (Washington DC, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Yes Prime Minister: the Complete Collection (3 Discs) (DVD)
A must-watch for political science majors, West-wing fans, Democrats and Washingtonians. This series, and its precursor, Yes Minister, are hilariously funny, educational, and show us why the US federal gov't needs to grant far more money to CPB/PBS...
oh for a BBC of our own... *sigh*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, Sept. 4 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Yes Prime Minister: the Complete Collection (3 Discs) (DVD)
This is the finest political satire in existence. The ever verbose Humphrey almost always gets what he wants. Sometimes the Prime Minister gets a few unbridled moments of pleasure, however this is rare, the public service runs Great Britain, not the politicians. Written by two former British public servants, it's a fascinating insight into the real working of politics. Americans may find the humour hard to understand as the english vocabulary used is quite extensive, and if American sitcoms are anything to go by, the average vocabulary of an American is used twice over in an episode of Sesame Street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Political Humor at its best... Part 2!, Oct. 20 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Yes Prime Minister: the Complete Collection (3 Discs) (DVD)
If you read my review of Yes, Minister, there is little I can add to that review to describe this series. Yes Prime Minister picks up where Yes Minister left off. The premise is that the PM resigns mid-term, and a new PM is needed. A recently promoted Sir Humphrey Applebee determines there is only one person who can project the image needed yet he can control... Jim Hacker! You will see many wonderful and new looks into the political scene - yet never stating any party affiliation.
Included in this set is what I feel is the funniest episode of the series where Jim Hacker is about to hold his first press conference. You would never believe that simply the way you sit could totally change the impression of what is being said until you see this! BRILLIANT!
Also included is a great tribute to Paul Eddington, a life cut short way too soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!!!, Oct. 7 2003
By 
Karthik Ganesh (Hartford, CT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Yes Prime Minister: the Complete Collection (3 Discs) (DVD)
I have watched every single episode of Yes Minister and Yes Prime Minister. The humor is unmatched and the english delicious. If only all of us had the wit of Humphrey Applebee, a boss as dense as Hacker and a subordinate as devoted as Bernard....wouldn't our professional lives be perfect? Strongly encourage anyone who loves the Queen's english and British humor to buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yes Prime Minister: the Complete Collection (3 Discs)
CDN$ 62.48 CDN$ 40.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews