Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!!
Good book for boys that don't really like reading. Keeps them interested and the language use is very simple and easy to understand.
Published 3 months ago by K. Wright

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute
Holes is a cute movie. You have to have a vivid mind to enjoy it. It's more a joy for kids than for adults.
Published on July 8 2004 by chicoer2003


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!!, Dec 23 2013
By 
K. Wright "Advocate" (Toronto, On) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Holes (Bilingual) (DVD)
Good book for boys that don't really like reading. Keeps them interested and the language use is very simple and easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Nov. 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Holes (Bilingual) (DVD)
I hadn't seen this movie since it was in theatres but when I saw how cheap it was - I knew I had to get it. So glad I did! It's long and a bit scary for young children but overall great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Holes, Oct. 17 2012
This review is from: Holes (Bilingual) (DVD)
My class watched this movie after reading the text. It was a great video and closely followed the book. My students loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney's best in years!, Oct. 2 2003
By 
Blake Petit "Novelist, columnist & reviewer" (Ama, Louisiana United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disney's Holes (Bilingual) (DVD)
"Holes" surprised the heck out of me.
I read the book on the advice of a friend who knew I was interested in children's books. I was blown away. Then I heard Disney was making a movie -- I was apprehensive about the story getting Hollywoodized, but when I saw the finished product, I realized my fears were unfounded.
It didn't hurt at all that they got Louis Sachar, the author of the novel, to write the screenplay, but the casting of this movie was wonderful as well, with the kids turning in strong performances all around and the adults clearly relishing their roles, particularly the scene-chewing Jon Voight.
This is a pretty good DVD as well, especially by Disney standards, with a comentary and some nice behind-the-scenes features. Best of all, Disney actually gave movie fans a widescreen version for once -- thank heavens! I can actually watch the movie the way it was meant to be seen in my own home! All in all, one of the most satisfying products from the House of Mouse in many a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Holes, great family movie, July 14 2009
By 
This review is from: Disney's Holes (Bilingual) (DVD)
Terrific movie, totally recommend for a family with kids (boys in particular) ages 7 to 12. We all enjoy this movie, every time we watch it. Family fave for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adults can watch it with their kids and all actually enjoy!, July 16 2004
By 
Mark J. Fowler "Let's Play Two!" (Blytheville, Arkansas (The "the" is silent)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disney's Holes (Bilingual) (DVD)
The wildly popular novel for youngsters "Holes" gets turned into a movie that is completely in keeping with the spirit of the book.
The young cast bring to life the beloved characters at Camp Green Lake, where convicted juvenile delinquents are sent to toil in broiling Texas sun. It was great to see X-Ray, Zero, Armpit and of course Caveman brought to life. The adult parts are played by Jon Voight, Sigourney Weaver and Tim Blake Nelson, and they look like they're having a WORLD of fun playing the malicious staff at Camp Green Lake. The story is not insulting to kids, and adults can watch it and be entertained the entire length of the movie. Vignettes back at Caveman's home where Stanley Yelnats the second and third live under the curse incurred from the first Stanley Yelnats, and trips back in time where that first Stanley was cursed by European VooDoo Woman Eartha Kitt as well as the back-story around Kissin' Kate and her treasure all add to the viewing pleasure.
The DVD comes with just the right amount of supplemental features, interviews and commentaries.
Not many "children's movies" are as appropriate for all ages. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you don't like this movie - shame on you!, July 12 2004
By 
iluvkanyewest (hell's kitchen, new york, usa, NA, the world, the earth, the universe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disney's Holes (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is a movie for the entire family to watch and love with its humorous and clever plot, based on the hit book "Holes" by Louis Sachar, who also writes the screenplay for this. The movie is about a twelve-year-old boy named Stanley Yelnats who's family has been cursed due to his "no-good, rotten, pig of a grandfather". He's walking along the road when a fantastic pair of shoes fly out of nowhere. He thinks his luck has finally started, when he finds police chasing him and in a courtroom because those shoes were the greatest basketballer player's of all time, and it was for a charity event where the money raised would be given to homeless children. He is sent to Camp Greenlake, where once was a beautiful lake, which is now a dry and scorching desert. Deadly adventures befall him there as he makes a friendship with Zero, a mysterious, shy boy. Their adventures lead them to a hidden treasure that belongs to Stanley... If you want to findout more, watch the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cute, July 8 2004
By 
chicoer2003 "chicoer2003" (Fresno, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disney's Holes (Bilingual) (DVD)
Holes is a cute movie. You have to have a vivid mind to enjoy it. It's more a joy for kids than for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Curse of Stanley Yelnats III, June 30 2004
This review is from: Disney's Holes (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is one of the best adventure/drama/comedys that Disney has ever put out. Everything just seems to come together. Jon Voight as Mr. Sir and Sigourney Weaver as the Warden of Camp Green Lake add a real touch of Comedy with their over the top performances. Voight's expressions and looney hunting of deadly Yellow Lizards will have you rolling on the floor. Weaver will have you shaking your head wondering how can a woman be so evil.
The boys at Camp Green Lake all give awesome performances as well. Stanley Yelnats aka "Cave Man" does a wonderful job of showing us the pain and joy of a young man that just can't seem to get a break. "Zero" shows us that no matter how berated you are by peers and adults there is always hope and friendship to be found. Squid, Armpit, ZigZag, Magnet, and X-Ray are great in their support roles.
The background story behind why the warden wants holes dug all over the desert is one of the best I have seen. In fact it is pretty much a movie on it's own. It is like getting two movies for the price of one. I have to say I sure hope to see more Disney movies like this and "Pirates of the Caribbean". They are both excellent films and have me anxious to see what is next. The DVD picture and sound quality are great and it includes commentary, documentary, gag reel, deleted scenes, music video, and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie, June 20 2004
By 
Kelli (Somewhere out west) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disney's Holes (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is a great story done really well. The only reason I gave it four stars was because it was a bit confusing, with all its skipping to different side stories. My mom was confused when she was watching it. Other people have told me, though, that they didn't think it was confusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf105d98)

This product

Holes (Bilingual)
Holes (Bilingual) by Andrew Davis (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 6.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews