Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars poor image quality
Cabaret is a great musical with a very serious underlying commentary on the rise of the Nazi power. This is a film to have in your own library and it is disappointing that the transfer to DVD has been so incompetently done. The level of visual noise puts a constant crawling "haze" over the images, which is most noticeable over flesh tones. If image quality is important to...
Published on Sept. 6 2003 by Ms. Serena Steuart

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware False DVD Packaging
While this is probably not a bone of contention with most viewers, I think it's worth noting for those that do pay attention to these things, especially if you base your purchases on them, as I did in this case. The packaging on this newer DVD edition of "Cabaret" states that it is an anamorphic transfer (i.e. "Enhanced for Widescreen TVs"). It is...
Published on March 7 2004


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware False DVD Packaging, March 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Cabaret (DVD)
While this is probably not a bone of contention with most viewers, I think it's worth noting for those that do pay attention to these things, especially if you base your purchases on them, as I did in this case. The packaging on this newer DVD edition of "Cabaret" states that it is an anamorphic transfer (i.e. "Enhanced for Widescreen TVs"). It is NOT. This is the SAME disc as before, with new a label on it.
They merely changed the packaging, I guess, so that they could mention "Chicago" in the description on the back cover and tie it into the heat for that film. Shame on you, Warner Bros. We all work hard for our money and deserve better than to believe we're buying a new anamorphic transfer, when you are really marketing the exact same discs as before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE PLEASE Don't buy this!, March 19 2004
By 
Mr. G. Snow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cabaret (DVD)
CABARET is one of the greatest movie musicals ever. I adore it. It is flawless, IMHO.
Why, then am I giving it one star? Because, as others have said, Warners should be ashamed of themselves. This is not the first, but the SECOND release of this movie in a non-anamorphic transfer. I bought the original and was mighty p****ed because it was non-anamorphic. I thought they would have honored this magnificent film in the "anniversary" release. But no. It is, as stated by another reviewer, the same disc as before, in terms of picture quality.
On a small TV you won't notice. But if you care about these things, then believe me, this release sucks big time. As did the first one.
I'm angry, not at being ripped off (I sent this one back for a refund) but because a wonderful work of art has been abused by a greedy, careless film company. And I have been robbed of the chance to see the film in its glory.
Having said that, nothing could improve the truly dreadful sound quality - which was terrible from day one.
I don't suppose there ever will be another release of this movie. What a terrible shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars poor image quality, Sept. 6 2003
By 
Ms. Serena Steuart "serena" (Port Melbourne, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cabaret (DVD)
Cabaret is a great musical with a very serious underlying commentary on the rise of the Nazi power. This is a film to have in your own library and it is disappointing that the transfer to DVD has been so incompetently done. The level of visual noise puts a constant crawling "haze" over the images, which is most noticeable over flesh tones. If image quality is important to you, then this production will be disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Tomorrow belongs to me.", Sept. 9 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cabaret (VHS Tape)
There is several recordings form stage to this movie out there. This movie has songs that you remember and probably sing in the shower. It is also the only movie production of the play therefore even though it is exceptional there is no comparison.

I appreciate books that become movies and movies that are novelized. So naturally I read Christopher Isherwood's "Berlin Stories". They were o.k. However, it was not Cabaret by any stretch of the imagination.

What I found interesting is that I always heard that Germans liked to sing of things as the deer in the field and so forth. Here there was a perfect example when they broke into song with "Tomorrow Belongs to Me" You are swept up in it and forget that this is just a movie. The pacing and photography in the movie was excellent.

As long as you did not see the play you will not notice the absence of some songs such as "Don't Tell Mama" and thing that "Money Money" is a natural.

On the darker side the movie is more than just a musical romp through Germany. And the specter of the approaching NSDAP regime is also well portrayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cabaret -- Liza-style, Feb. 5 2004
By 
This review is from: Cabaret (DVD)
Liza Minelli's "Cabaret" -- and, for that matter, Bob Fosse's -- digresses somewhat from the original stage production, both in its plot as well as in its characterizations (Sally is American?). But whatever changes Fosse put into this masterpiece worked splendidly; not only did the fun and sexy atmosphere of the stage version get ratcheted up a notch, but the social commentary behind the fun also got subtly remastered (the last scene is very subtle, iconic, and powerful).
The color, the suggestive dancing, and the vocal performances are all top notch. And how can we forget the cinematography? Liza making love to the camera in "Maybe This Time" and "Cabaret," Joel Grey's ridiculously appealing Emcee in "Money, Money," and, as already stated the final money-winning shot are all wonderful. Where musicals like "Chicago" fail is where "Cabaret" succeeded: in creating a splendid mix of "razzle dazzle," heart, and social commentary. Indeed, THIS "Cabaret" improved on the originals musical and production values, paving the way for the 1998 revival -- and making cinematic history in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Engrossing, Perplexing, Jan. 30 2004
By 
This review is from: Cabaret (DVD)
I would like to begin by saying that this is a great movie and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys an engaging story of genuine human emotion and the need for fulfillment against the grain of common society. This is a very good movie. But I must admit that I have mixed feelings about this film. The story following the lives of an American expatriot cabaret singer and an expatriot English tutor in their struggles with love greed and survival in Weimer Republic Germany is honest and entertaining and the political subplot (I should really call it the major underlying theme) of the rise of Nazism and the dehumanization of Germany is thought provoking and sometimes tragic. The scene in which the youth gets up and sings the rousing patriotic song only to have the camera role back and disclose to the audience that he is a Hitler youth is almost frightening in the sharp change of emotions it ellicits from the viewer. The Cabaret song sequences serve to highlight certain themes and link the story together quite nicely. The ending is absolutely brilliant. And yet, with all these wonderful attributes I still can't decide whther or not I like this movie, and I can't explain why. I guess the only way to find out what you will think is to see it for yourself. I will say it's one of those movies that stays with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What a shame...., Jan. 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Cabaret (DVD)
This great movie classic and several others by Bob Fosse are sold to the public in some of the lousiest DVD productions I've seen. There are hardly any extras, actually there are none, with the honorable exception of recently issued "All That Jazz". The whole idea with DVD's is to offer consumers and movie lovers something they did not have on VHS. Benefits of DVD technology are conspicuously missing with this DVD and many others. That is the only reason I am giving Cabaret one star. The review posted here should assist customers with their purchase and since this is such a poor DVD package, I refuse to buy it. I suspect there will be re-issues in several years which only means more money out of your pocket - just because the product was not offered in proper production the first time arround. If this sounds like deja vu, you're right - remember all the "remastered" audio CD's that you have to buy all over again. Shame on the entertainment industry and their lousy products. They are fighting the piracy but inviting it with such behavior.
Max
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, wie wunderbar..., Dec 5 2003
This review is from: Cabaret (DVD)
Unlike 'The Rocky Horror Picture Show' and 'Tommy', Fosse's 1970's homage to everything 1930's is that rare thing - a celebrated cult (and mainstream) musical that even now, almost 30 years after its initial release, still hasn't lost its sparkle.
'Cabaret' deals with the story of a penniless writer (Michael York), who, upon arriving in pre-Hitler Berlin, meets and falls in love with a lounge singer named Sally Bowles (Liza Minnelli). His life is turned upside-down by social and sexual revolution, played out against the backdrop of a city broken by depression and crying out for change.
It's the depth of emotion in this movie that gives it the edge over its contemporaries. The Jewish Vs. Christian love story provides a metaphor for the pre-Nazi turmoil experienced by 1930's Berliners, and Marisa Berenson gives one of her best performances as the Landauer heiress plagued by uncomfortable emotion and anti-semitic feeling. Similarly, Helmut Greim's performance as the wealthy, if somewhat sleazy, playboy Maximillian von Heune, provides us with an insight into cloak-and-dagger attitudes toward wealth and sexuality, prevalant at the time.
York's performance as the hapless Brian Roberts is very good indeed, but York has almost always played this sort of character - weedy Englishman with hidden depths. He does it well, however, and we truly believe that he is enthralled by the exotic Sally. But it's all Minnelli's show anyway, and her once-in-a-lifetime performance as Sally is the true heart of this picture. She is reckless yet innocent, another metaphor for pre-Nazi Germany. Crying out for love, yet deliberately eschewing it when it does eventually come her way, we too are sucked into her web of wide-eyed innocence and ultra-feminine sexuality.
Fosse's stark direction and sleazy, obvious choreography of the Kit-Kat Club, coupled with his detached, almost-bored perspectives on a depression-era city provide a grim and realistic backdrop for these stories. His complete lack of Hollywood-style glamour stands the test of time - why should a sleazy burlesque house in an impoverished city look like a Busby Berkley staircase, anyway? It's in this gritty portrayal of realistic poverty and living on the edge that Cabaret shines, with ugly, overweight dancing girls and a malevolent, amoral Emcee (the excellent Joel Gray) fuelling the fire of a doomed train on a one-way track.
The DVD extras are also rather good, interviews abound and there's some interesting comments to be had from the production team.
All in all, 'Cabaret' still shines as a cinematic masterpiece; a cautionary tale of love and infatuation. It's not a feel-good musical, but then again, very few of those are as worthwhile as this. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life In the Cabaret, Nov. 28 2003
By 
This review is from: Cabaret (DVD)
"Cabaret" is one of the best releases of 1972, living up to "The Godfather". It won eight Oscars, including Best Director. Its combination of glitz, glamour, sex, ulginess, and turmoil wonderfully express themselves in the movie. It offers a unique musical taste not often seen. The plot was written wonderfully. They always offer surprise interest scenes when the audience least expects it. The glamour in the Kit Kat Klub switching to the Nazi troop march symbolize such surprise. Such hardtimes are expressed accurately as it happened when Hitler began taking over Germany. Daring sex scenes and sex talk offer further respect to the crew. This places them ahead of their time. Some may say "Cabaret" is also ahead of modern day time. The costume designs were craften beautifully. The drag queens resemble real-life women, a difficult task to master. Every piece of clothing accurately desplicts 1930's german styles, in and out of the cabaret. All the songs were written brilliantly. Liza Minelli deserved her Oscar win for Best Actress for her role as a greedy cabaret performer Sally Bowles. Her singing is unforgettable. Amazingly, she was only 24. Michael York's role as a man who converts to heterosexuality with a relationship with Bowles is also wonderful. He was wrongfully dissed for the Oscar nomination for Best Actor. All other performances are also brilliant, major or minor. "Cabaret" is a great musical for those looking for something unique. It still contains the attraction spark enflamed 31 years ago. This will leave many audiences entertained for many more years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was a fine affair but now it's over..., Nov. 16 2003
By 
Mathias (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cabaret (DVD)
I saw Cabaret after seeing the recent film version of Chicago, and though I expected another lavish Fosse fantasy, what I saw was a very different film altogether. Chicago is a glamorous, glorified portrait of decadence without consequence, but Cabaret reveals the garish, disappointing underside of it all. The girls, the costumes, even the orchestra is not exactly beautiful. But they are honest. This divine decadence is literally all smoke and mirrors, it is all gaudy makeup over a dirty and desperate Germany in 1931.
While I'm not a huge fan of Liza Minnelli, she is perfect as wild child Sally Bowles. Michael York is equally wonderful as the innocent and effeminate Brian Roberts. I kind of wished that the film explored the ambiguous sexuality of the characters more than it did, but given the time the film was released, it is remarkable that the film has the frankness that it does. On that note, however, Cabaret could not have been released at a better time than in 1972. The idealistic hedonism of the sixties was drawing to a close, reality was about to set in, and like Sally, America was about to see the harsh effects of its divine decadence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cabaret
Cabaret by Bob Fosse (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 18.70 CDN$ 12.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews