Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars second to no RPG, strategy or not
after feeling somewhat indifferent to FFT's slow gameplay and overly serious (and frankly, uninteresting) politic-based storyline, not to mention its downright broken methods of leveling which meant hours throwing rocks at your allies to get experience points, it's a massive breath of fresh air to see a game with this much spirit and style come out with everything i...
Published on Jan. 23 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not for me
I was excited about this game when I first realized it was very similar to Final Fantasy Tactics and Vandal Hearts. But after I had it for a short while, I discovered I wasn't really having much fun playing it. I think one of the contributing factors for this fact was the inclusion of a game mechanic called the Geo Panel system. It is very confusing. Of course, you can...
Published on Nov. 29 2003 by Ben


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Best buy of the year for strategy and replay., May 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Disgaea: Hour of Darkness - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Talk about a well-made game. I enjoyed playing every minute of this game. With multiple ending, tons of items, leveling items to level 100, tons of classes to choose from, character levels of 9999, that's right 4 digit levels, there is no game that could be better for tactical games. It's even better than Square's Final Fantasy Tactics.
You play as a demon creating mischief as you take over rule of the netherworld. Filled with lots of humorous moments and tactical game play this game will keep anyone busy well over 100 hours.
I would say this is the best game I purchased in 2003.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars little known awesome game..., May 17 2004
By 
Samuel B. Jones (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disgaea: Hour of Darkness - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
this is one of those games that has to be played to be believed. sure no flashy graphics and absolutely no hype but this game really shines. if you are a fan of strategy games especially final fantasy tactics, this is the game to get. only problem is this game is a little hard to find as of now, but atlus is re-releasing it in late may due to the overwhelming response to the game.
all in all a great game that can easily suck up hours upon hours with more customization and features than you will know what to do with, and that is a good thing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice change of pace, Oct. 9 2003
By 
Eric L. Willard (Maryland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disgaea: Hour of Darkness - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I gave this 4 stars because the graphics are pretty basic compared to some of the other games out there but It's still pretty entertaining. The Geo system is a bit of a hassle also but again, it takes some practice to get it down (which is something you see in every new game). You can pick up your enemies and throw them at other enemies as an attack. That was cool. You can pick up your friends and throw them to safety if they are low on health also. I'm still new to it so there's much more to learn. I definately reccommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Tactical RPG, April 27 2004
By 
Amazon Customer "lowrey4" (Dayton, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disgaea: Hour of Darkness - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
This game is wonderful, halrious, exciting, and above all execesive. If you were to compare it to the standard of the genere, Final Fantasy Tactics, it is very different. While both tactics had a serious story line, Disgaea's storyline focuses on humor, but with a just with little points of seriousness to keep you liking the story. Also try La Pucelle Tactics, which is made by the same company(Nipon Icchi), runs on the same graphics and gameplay engine as Disgaea and comes out in May!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, Dec 28 2003
By 
George Rownd (Rochester, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disgaea: Hour of Darkness - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
It is an RPG and thats the only reason it doesnt smell like radioactive sludge balls. Don't listen to the other people who fell in love with these graphics. Imagine a grown person staring at a static television with drule gussing from their mouths screaming and laughing. Thats how bad the graphics are. The characters are plausible. The Plot is amiable. The sound is credible. Watching the children do their dances is fairly boring and takes along time. Stick to Final Fantasy X and X-2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing tactical RPG, April 20 2006
This review is from: Disgaea: Hour of Darkness - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
For those unfarmiliar with the genre I suggest staying away from Disgaea, due to it's incredible difficulty. Overall this game didn't stop to amaze me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Dissapointed., July 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea: Hour of Darkness - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I didn't realize this would be a game similar to final fantasy tactics or fire emblem. I really don't like that type of grid based "chess-like" gameplay. The story is great though, and there is some fantastic voice acting. Fire emblem could really learn from that.

Bottom line: If you like games like FFTA and Fire emblem, this is probably for you. Otherwise, just watch the anime version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best platform RPG ever., March 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea: Hour of Darkness - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Of all time. Period. The end.

Seriously, play this freaking game. It will blow your freaking mind. Better than Megaman X.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars game, April 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea: Hour of Darkness - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
was different than what I expected but was still a decent game and still currently working on it . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS GAME ROCKS!, June 29 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Disgaea: Hour of Darkness - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
IF YOU LIKE STRATEGY GAMES, THIS IS PERFECT FOR YOU. THE GRAPHICS AREN'T AMAZING BUT ITS STILL WORTH IT. AMAZING GAME PLAY. THE ONLY DRAW BACK IS, IT'S HARD TO PULL YOURSELF AWAY FROM IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disgaea: Hour of Darkness - PlayStation 2
Disgaea: Hour of Darkness - PlayStation 2 by Atlus Software (PlayStation2)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 24.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews