Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Scream a Little Scream
After dealing with one cast of vampires, you'd think that a person would have had enough excitement to last a lifetime, right? Well, in the case of Peter Vincent - Vampire Killer, and Charlie Bruster - Vampire Killer Admirer, you'd be right, but there's a little problem with that. When you find yourself entangled with one of a multiple undying brood, it can only be the...
Published on May 24 2003 by TorridlyBoredShopper

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, awful presentation
Fright Night Part II is, IMO, very nearly the equal of the first movie, which itself is my favorite horror film of all time. That said, I have been waiting for a few years (ever since the release of the first FN film by Columbia TriStar in '99) for Part II to become available on DVD.
I'm not disappointed that the presentation is full-frame, 1.33:1, as from what I...
Published on Aug. 22 2003 by Gary M. Miller


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is DVD quality?, April 6 2004
This review is from: Fright Night Part II [Import] (DVD)
I have bought a few cheapie $3.99 DVD movies. Though the picture was far from great, thery were no worse than VHS picture quality. I recently bought Fight Night Part II on DVD for $10.99 and the picture quality is atually worse than the VHS that I have! What the hell happened! Don't get me wrong, I'm glad that Artisan Entertainment is digging and releasing some old classics from their vaults, but if your going to release them like this then don't bother! This is by for the worst from Artisan. Bride of Re-Animator, Waxwork, and Lair of the White Worm were disappointents because of the poor picture quality, no widescreen formats, and lack of supplemental material, but Fright Night Part II takes the cake as their worst release! MGM may be getting lazy too and only releasing their titles only in Full Screen format, but at least their movies have good picture quality! Artisan needs to shape up or get out! Artisan should sell the rights of their older movies to Anchor Bay Entertainment so they could be properly released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, awful presentation, Aug. 22 2003
By 
Gary M. Miller (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fright Night Part II [Import] (DVD)
Fright Night Part II is, IMO, very nearly the equal of the first movie, which itself is my favorite horror film of all time. That said, I have been waiting for a few years (ever since the release of the first FN film by Columbia TriStar in '99) for Part II to become available on DVD.
I'm not disappointed that the presentation is full-frame, 1.33:1, as from what I understand, the film was originally shot in this aspect ratio. I'm not even disappointed that there aren't any extras to speak of (extras being rare for any sequel DVD, really).
No, the problem lies with the ABOMINABLE transfer. The movie seems to have been mastered directly from whatever print Vista had lying around--it's very grainy and looks about the same, or perhaps slightly worse than, an SP speed VHS copy. For DVD, it's absolutely hideous. Artisan should know better than to release such product without at least attempting a remastering which would have tightened up the picture and made it worth the DVD release (look at the 2 films' DVD releases side-by-side...nothing to compare!).
If you're a Fright Night completist or just really really like the movie, buy this DVD. It'll keep your VHS copy (you know you have one!) from withering away. Don't buy the disc looking to be wowed by the digital format, you'll disappoint yourself (I did).
The movie: 4 stars (out of 5)
The DVD: 1 star
Average rating: 2.5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, lousy DVD, Aug. 20 2003
By 
Matthew S. Joseph (Huber Heights, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fright Night Part II [Import] (DVD)
I actually really like this film and thought it was every bit as good as its predecessor. I have anxiously been awaiting it to come out on DVD ever since I heard it was coming to the format this August. And what do I and I am sure countless others get? A joke of a DVD from Artisan worthy of using as the throne for your favorite cold beverage.
The transfer looks as if the master for this DVD was an old VHS rental circa 1989. Not only that but the film is presented in 1.33:1 pan & scan. Artisan states on the back of the case that the 1.33:1 aspect ratio is what the film was actually shot in. What a joke...the film was shot at a 2.35:1 aspect ratio and anyone can tell just by watching how many of the shots in the DVD presentation are framed that this is the case. Add to this absolutely NO special features and meak 2.0 Dolby Digital sound transfer and this is a DVD you should just pass by.
If I could give DVD film '0' stars, I would. I have never been unsatisfied with any of Artisan's DVDs until now; I am wholey disappointed in this purchase and I suggest you stay away...it [is not good]. No pun intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's Been Reformatted, Aug. 17 2003
By 
G. Joseph Evans (Port Jefferson Station, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fright Night Part II [Import] (DVD)
Okay, so this sequel wasn't the best, but for completists such as myself I appreciate transfers that aren't so lazy. The picture is grainy and it's been reformatted to fit your TV screen-NO WIDESCREEN transfer. Very surprising coming from Artisan. I guess that accounts for the low cost all the dealers are selling this for. Do yourselves a BIG favor and save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly as good as the first but that'd be hard to beat!, Oct. 23 2003
By 
C. Law (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fright Night Part II [Import] (DVD)
FRIGHT NIGHT II picks up a few years after the first film and finds Brewster (William Ragsdale) in college and in therapy where his therapist has convinced him that vampires don't exist. Brewster ends up believing again soon enough though when Jerry Dandridge's sister (Julie Carmen) comes after him seeking blood. So, Brewster enlists the help of fearless vampire killer Peter Vincent (the late-great Roddy McDowal) land they're off to do battle once gain.
While not nearly as good as the original, FRIGHT NIGHT II is a lot of fun. As a matter of fact this maybe the only horror sequel not totally trashed by director Tommy Lee Wallace who trashed HALLOWEEN III years earlier and VAMPIRES: LOS MUERTOS years later. This sequel is full of effective humor and horror none of which however live up to anything in the first movie. That's understandable though. The first FRIGHT NIGHT is a classic as far as vampire genre pictures go and it's always hard to follow in the footsteps of that. So if you're a fan of the first movie or just a fan of the good old fashioned horror comedy then give FRIGHT NIGHT II a try. I don't think you'll be disappointed.
C
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The suckers are back, Sept. 2 2003
This review is from: Fright Night Part II [Import] (DVD)
Fright Night is back, and so is Charlie Brewster, Peter Vincent, and a host of new frightful characters. As sequels go, this one isn't too bad. It did manage to retain some of the the charm of the original, but the surprises are a little worn. The introduction of new creatures is welcome, along with a new vampire, but they seemed a little too Euro-trashy and not as menacing to me. The story is fairly the same, with some minor changes, which was a little disappointing as I was hoping for a little more originality, being the optimist that I am....
As far as the presentation of the movie on this DVD, it is very poor. I am unsure if there was a widescreen version of this movie, but I did notice some cropping, panning and scanning which may suggest that this was originally released in a different format. The picture is at times fuzzy, grainy, and generally pretty poor all around. The sound is a little better. There are no extras, not even a token trailer. If you own this movie on VHS, do not bother buying this release, as it's virtually the same quality. Didn't appear if any effort what so ever was put into this release, which is too bad, as it deserved better. While not every release needs an extra disc of supplemental information, I was hoping for atleast a nice, clean copy of the movie presented in it's original format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars presentation=miserable, Aug. 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fright Night Part II [Import] (DVD)
WHY WHY WHY don't companies like Artisan recognize that horror movie fans, being basically nerds (like me), are more fanatical about video and sound than anyone else? Anchor Bay - bless 'em -gets it, and so can mainstream studios ("The Fog" release is brilliant).
But not Artisan. Instead of admitting that we're very intelligent film-goers who don't live in our parents' basements (well, most of us), they throw us the lowest common denominator garbage like this worthless DVD of a very good film. (Which for me very nearly equals the original; Roddy trapped atop the elevator while the bat-Regine claws her way up remains very effective.) All quibbles about wide-screen aside (I don't know which is true, but I did see it in the theatre and it sure seemed wide-screen), the picture quality is amazing for its sheer awfulness. I'm so sick of throw-away presentations like this. They put out the least possible amount of effort to get by, and assume that fans will be happy to have the film in any form.
Well, no more.
Boycott this DVD! Power to ignored and maligned horror fans everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worthy sequel, medicore DVD presentation, Aug. 23 2003
This review is from: Fright Night Part II [Import] (DVD)
I loved FRIGHT NIGHT PART II upon its original release in '89. Having picked it up again in its first DVD incarnation, I can't help but feel disappointed.
The film itself suffers from sequelitis in general. The story is nowhere near as compelling nor well-told as the first, but it is still a lot of fun with the same core protagonists from the original and features well-done effects and direction. While the original FRIGHT NIGHT still carries a strong 80s flavor, this film feels even more dated, however, and suffers accordingly. Still, those who enjoyed it back then should pick it up now - still a great late night viewing.
The DVD, on the other hand, is unfortunately typical lower-grade Artisan fare. A bare-bones DVD, the picture looks terrible - grainy, foggy and full of defects. Of course, who but perhaps Anchor bay would invest the time and money to restore a film as this (and perhaps they will some day)? Fans will doubtless be happy to own this film in any form and it looks no worse than it would on any late night cable station. Knee-jerk naysayers will bemoan the lack of a "widescreen" presentation, but this film was originally shot in a full-screen ratio (perhaps because it was directed toward a growing home-video market at the time, though it did enjoy a brief theatrical release).
All in all, a really fun film and not a bad buy at all for fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Why Even Bother?, Aug. 23 2003
This review is from: Fright Night Part II [Import] (DVD)
If I rated the movie alone, I'd give it five stars. Unfortunately, I have to warn anyone who wants to buy this DVD format from Artisan. I own over 150 DVD's and I've never come across such a sad excuse for a DVD. The picture quality is HORRIBLE! If you look closely, you can see that it was taken from a tape source, and not the original. Plus, Artisan claims on the back of the box that it is formatted from its "original" aspect ratio, and that it was shot in full screen. That is a blatant lie. It was shot in letterbox widescreen, just as the first film was. You can even tell when you watch it that it has been cropped to death, and at certain moments the screen moves from right to left to catch what's missing. The audio is 2.0 Dolby surround, which is fine. However, when you turn the volume up to hear the more quiet parts of the film, you hear tape hiss. Beware of Artisan releases on DVD. Their transfers are usually like this. I have a few other older films released by them, and they're pretty poor in the quality department. It is a great film however, and is worth having no matter what. I guess this DVD is better than not having it...Almost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scream a Little Scream, May 24 2003
By 
TorridlyBoredShopper "T(to the)B(to the)S" ("Daddy Dagon's Daycare" - Proud Sponsor of the Little Tendril Baseball Team, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fright Night Part II (VHS Tape)
After dealing with one cast of vampires, you'd think that a person would have had enough excitement to last a lifetime, right? Well, in the case of Peter Vincent - Vampire Killer, and Charlie Bruster - Vampire Killer Admirer, you'd be right, but there's a little problem with that. When you find yourself entangled with one of a multiple undying brood, it can only be the beginning of a very long, very endearing nightmare. After finding himself in therapy for three years after his little "outing" with Jerry Dandridge, Charlie thinks himself cured of all his ailments. The delusions that led him to believe that Jerry was indeed a vampire and that group hypnosis that made he and Peter see the same things confirmed that fact, they have all been explained away and now he's on the road to recovery. On this highway of discovery, he has forged himself a new life, taking on a newer, lovelier, girlfriend and finding that he now has something to look forward to besides thoughts of a high school mind and a bloodsucking neighbor living next door. Yes, he seems to have so much to look forward to. Unfortunately for him, in this series of newness, he has other things to look forward to, namely new vampiric admirers as well. And that type, well, they are the kind you never want to find.
Before looking over both Fright Night and its sequel, Fright Night 2, one has to remember that (1) sequels are rarely the original in form and effect and (2) it is an odd event when the 2nd chapter in a series is anywhere near the first. The reason I say this is not to make excuses for the movie, however, but to say that this entry, it is an abnormality in the world of potential failures. Yes, in the case of Fright Night 2, there is a strange exception to that ruling on sequels because the movie is both commendable and it does hold its own in an arena clogged with many forms of disposable outings. In it, the theme of revenge is one that reigns supreme, with someone from Charlie and Peter's past, namely Dandridge, surfacing once more - but in a rather twisted manner. His revenge, it isn't in the atypical "defying death" arena that most films give you, but rather in the sense of having friends and family that live forever and those individuals taking it rather seriously when one of their own is "dealt with." This is something that is welcome, a cast of faces that isn't the same person returning and being banished once more, and the methods they wish to adopt, while primed with ways to fail, are ones that are delightful. The original actors return in the starring roles, too, making things easy to keep up with, and the prosthetic effects are some of the better portions from the array of movies that flocked to the screen at the time. When you take all of that, blend it together, and think that vampires are going to run amok in a film that makes fun of films with vampires while using them, then you have a wonderful combination to the safe called "comedy."
For anyone that missed the movie, enjoys the campiness that vampire films carry from that time frame, appreciates good effects alongside their vengeful motives, and is willing to find it on VHS (it has yet to make its way to DVD), then this would be something worth checking into. This is especially true for those who liked the first film and wanted to find it carrying on, with the unfortunately loss of everyone's favorite character; Evil. It has many things to offer in the sharpness of wit and whittled wood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fright Night Part II [Import]
Fright Night Part II [Import] by Tommy Lee Wallace (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 228.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews