Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF SEAGAL'S BEST RECENT MOVIES
I NEVER THOUGHT I WOULD EVER SEE A GOOD STEVEN SEAGAL MOVIE EVER AGAIN, BUT HE DEFINITELY PROVED ME WRONG WITH THIS ONE. A PROFESSOR IS FRAMED FOR DRUG TRAFFICKING. BUT JUST DAYS AFTER HE'S RELEASED FROM JAIL, THE SYNDICATE THAT FRAMED HIM THEN KILLS HIS WIFE. WANTING REVENGE, HE GOES ON AN EXTREMELY VIOLENT QUEST TO FIND THE SYNDICATE THAT WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR IT ALL. MY...
Published on Oct. 19 2003 by MICHAEL TAYLOR

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars should have been better
Out For A Kill is not as entertaining as I'd hoped it would be, but Seagal's Belly Of The Beast was released recently and it's great. Seagal still has it, but Out For A Kill isn't very coherent. Don't let this one deter you. Give Belly Of The Beast a try.
Published on Jan. 12 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF SEAGAL'S BEST RECENT MOVIES, Oct. 19 2003
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
I NEVER THOUGHT I WOULD EVER SEE A GOOD STEVEN SEAGAL MOVIE EVER AGAIN, BUT HE DEFINITELY PROVED ME WRONG WITH THIS ONE. A PROFESSOR IS FRAMED FOR DRUG TRAFFICKING. BUT JUST DAYS AFTER HE'S RELEASED FROM JAIL, THE SYNDICATE THAT FRAMED HIM THEN KILLS HIS WIFE. WANTING REVENGE, HE GOES ON AN EXTREMELY VIOLENT QUEST TO FIND THE SYNDICATE THAT WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR IT ALL. MY QUESTION IS WHY WASN'T THIS RELEASED IN THEATRES? YOU GOTTA ADMIT, THIS DEFINITELY DOESN'T FEEL LIKE A DIRECT TO VIDEO MOVIE. FILLED WITH SPECTACULAR FIGHTS AND IT'S FILLED WITH A LOT OF THINGS TO GRAB YOUR ATTENTION. HOWEVER, IF YOU'RE SQUEAMISH, YOU MIGHT NOT WANNA WATCH THIS MOVIE DUE TO ITS EXTREME AMOUNTS OF VIOLENCE AND GORE. BUT OTHER THAN THAT, A VERY ENTERTAINING ACTION MOVIE WITH A SHOCKINGLY VIOLENT FINALE. GO TO YOUR LOCAL VIDEOSTORE AND RENT THIS NOW! YOU'LL BE GLAD YOU DID!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, Really Terrible, and That's All I Can Say, May 1 2004
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
Shot back-to-back with terrible "The Foreigner" Steven Seagal comes back with another terrible movie. It is beyond my capacity to describe how bad it is, but I can say that I slept while watching it in theater (yes, they released it theatrically in Japan, you know, what a silly decision).
The plot is non-existent, but it should be alright if there are good amount of exciting actions. Sorry, but there are none, and though the film is supposed to follow the one-man's vendetta against Chinese mafia after his beloved ones are killed by them because of the drug lord, there is no emotional power that would make us relate to the hero Steven plays. His "Hard to Kill" is not a classic, but it has a power enough to make it worth watching.
Anyway, Steven Seagal is dressed as an eminent professor of archeology (!) who receives an award from Yale University. Seriously. Well, there still would be no reason for us to doubt the authenticity of that character if only his name was something other than "Robert Burns." Come on! Is this a bad joke using the name of famous poet? The naming is as laughable as that of "Postman" where Kevin Costner called a fictional American president "Richard Sterkey" (aka Ringo Starr).
And actions are terrible. Just terrible. Because of the poor, choppy editing, you don't know what is happening on the screen. The murky lighting also damages the actions, and if they think they are shooting a noir film, they are utterly mistaken -- see how Steven Seagal's character speaks the line like "You killed my wife" as if ordering a cheeseburger, and you will know why.
Director Michael Oblowitz once made "This World, Then Fireworks," a so-so noir starring Bliiy Zane, but "Out for a Kill," together with "The Foreigner," totally erased what impressed me before. And as to Steven Seagal ... what can I say? It was 11 years ago when he hit the No. 1 at the US box-office with "Under Siege," and that was really a long time ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars More Straight to Video Pulp Nonsense, April 22 2004
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
I have been less than complimentary in my previous reviews of Mr Seagals recent offerings, but please don't think I have anything personal against him. The reverse is in fact true in that I have often been admonished for being a stalwart fan over the years. That having been said, I simply cannot recommend this cringeworthy, and dire outpouring any more than his other recent turkeys, which have been pretty awful to say the least. Perhaps his material and script choices are letting him down too much? Earlier films were exceptional in comparison, and in a competetive genre, one was always, it seemed, able to rely on Mr Seagal to deliver the goods, so to speak. In the unikely event that a comparison was ever drawn between Steven Seagal and say Clint Eastwood for example, we would see that the latter has moved graciously into older and more believable roles that expand on the character, whilst still retaining enough action and eye candy for fans and mainstream viewers. Where Seagal has stuck with the same formula that worked in the past, and has resulted in him coming across as a comical 007 character, desperately in need of retirement. A brief synopsis here finds Seagal as an archeologist battling drug lords who are using his artifacts to traffic their product without his knowledge. He does of course take umbrage to this, and after his family, dog, pet hamster and any other thing dear to him have been attacked or killed (as usual) he justifiably goes on the rampage. That's really all you need to know, and wouldn't be too bad in itself if the film were then braced with mountains of action. But sadly, even the once revered fight choreography scenes now seem also to be in short supply, and the end result is textbook formula nonsense. I didn't really care about the characters, or the plot which is a real shame. I only hope the eagerly anticipated Under Siege 3 will bring us back to the earlier Seagal, and a much greater performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad beyond belief, March 21 2004
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
I'm a card-carrying Steven Seagal fan (and have taken much abuse for it) but even I know that this movie is a dog. While no masterpiece his other flick from this period "The Foreigner" is much better. One can only hope that he slims down and ups the action for Under Seige 3 otherwise even long time hard-core fans such as myself won't even risk a rental on his movies in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy Seconds of Seagal, Feb. 14 2004
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
Seagal plays an archeologist who gets into hot water when drug traffickers decide that the artifacts he digs up are as good a place as any to hide their smuggled drugs. But Seagal doesn't like this, nor does he like the fact that they kill his wife and send the DEA and police after him. Will he prove his innocence? Will he avenge the death of his wife? Will his precious archaeological finds survive bullets, car chases, and martial arts mayhem? Who cares?
This direct to DVD mess is another one of Seagal's quickly pasted together junkers that is almost painful to watch. There are some well directed fight scenes, but they seem almost as if they were filmed for their own sakes and not for the film's (fake Shaolin monks and a classical monkey kung fu master pop up out of nowhere to fight Seagal just for the sake of adding some action scenes). The rest of the film is amateurishly directed with Seagal filmed from behind and in long shots (probably being doubled most of the time) with his voice added in later (using his standard whisper speak). That dialogue seems to come as an afterthought in an attempt to try to make some sense of what is happening onscreen since the visuals alone simply don't cut the mustard. An example of the director's lack of visual style is witnessed during scenes set at a long table filled with mafia bosses who Steven gradually offs one by one. The numbers of seated people dwindle each time the camera goes back to that table. The leader still speaks with the same determination to his men even when there's just one left sitting there. Obviously all of these scenes were filmed at the same time and the director didn't know how ridiculously repeated this visual theme would turn out.
Once again in a Seagal picture the main characters aren't developed to any extent as people with personalities to care for or despise. We are simply expected to root for Seagal because he's on the cover of the box and bad stuff happens to him in the movie so he must be the good guy. The fact that the characters he plays can always beat everyone up is now supposed to be just a given since he's Steven Seagal.
The film EXIT WOUNDS proved hopeful for Seagal fans bringing back the Steven we've come to love (an angry, big and tall, regular Joe who uses real martial arts techniques that are appropriate to his character, in that case he plays a tough cop who may have learned these skills for his job), but he has followed that film's success with rubbish. Fans deserve more than just a couple fights in the films they watch. They need at least a semi-interesting story with dialogue and visuals that help move the story along sensibly, and they need semi-interesting characters to like and hate so that the action scenes and the fights have some meaning.
OUT FOR A KILL offers a couple of okay fights for Seagal, but they stick out like sore thumbs in an otherwise poorly sewn mitten of a movie. Recommended for diehard fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What is this?, Jan. 13 2004
By 
W. J. Barnaby "Qigong" (virginia beach, va United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
I can't make any sense out of this film at all. The only highlight is a martial artist using monkey gung-fu. I'm a Seagal fan who is still waiting for him to make a come back. I admired & respected his environmental-awareness films (Fire Down Below, On Deadly Ground, The Patriot).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars should have been better, Jan. 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
Out For A Kill is not as entertaining as I'd hoped it would be, but Seagal's Belly Of The Beast was released recently and it's great. Seagal still has it, but Out For A Kill isn't very coherent. Don't let this one deter you. Give Belly Of The Beast a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ho hum, Jan. 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
Out For A Kill is not one of Seagal's better movies. It misses the mark like many films he has made that I wasn't crazy about such as The Foreigner, Ticker, and The Patriot. It's not unusual for a star to make some duds, but what is unusual is that I feel that Seagal turned out ten very fun movies in a row before being involved in some less than stellar movies. I also think that Half Past Dead and Exit Wounds were both a lot of fun and show that in recent years Seagal has delivered some decent entertainment. All actors have films that aren't the best and Out For A Kill is one of Seagal's. He's made a lot of fun movies, but this aint on of em!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Long Coat Doesn't Hide the Huge Seagal, Jan. 5 2004
By 
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
After buying 'The Foreigner' I had made up my mind to never buy another Steven Segal movie - then I weakened and bought 'Out For a Kill'. I should have followed my own advice. The long coat doesn't hide the garguantuan, old, made-up, lethargic Steven Seagal. The plot was so phoney and there must be something wrong with Seagal's voice because he sounded like a cartoon character. After two movies of long coats, the real-life, out-of-shape Steven Seagal shines forth. The obvious dyed hair (to hide the gray) didn't work. He needs to cut off the locks and create a new character - the martial arts moon has eclipsed. Maybe a hard-boiled city detective who shows the young s***s some tricks?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Definately the dumbest movie i've ever seen, Dec 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
For starter's i was a big Seagal fan in the late 80's early 90's..his movies were real,raw,and the fight scenes were classic.This has some of the cheesiest one liner's from the whole cast that i've probably EVER seen or heard,even Charles Bronson's Death Wish flicks were'nt this bad.Also the fight scenes are Speed up,slow down,speed up,slow down again,my god just fight.And i shouldnt neglect to mention the computer technology in the movie could have been done by my grandma who can't even run a computer.This is like a horrible matrix rip off with the horrible action motion,stops and starts.And its also plotless.Save yourself the pain and just go watch Finding Nemo.This goes in the movie waste ben.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out for a Kill (Bilingual)
Out for a Kill (Bilingual) by Michael Oblowitz (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 16.95 CDN$ 8.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews