Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF SEAGAL'S BEST RECENT MOVIES
I NEVER THOUGHT I WOULD EVER SEE A GOOD STEVEN SEAGAL MOVIE EVER AGAIN, BUT HE DEFINITELY PROVED ME WRONG WITH THIS ONE. A PROFESSOR IS FRAMED FOR DRUG TRAFFICKING. BUT JUST DAYS AFTER HE'S RELEASED FROM JAIL, THE SYNDICATE THAT FRAMED HIM THEN KILLS HIS WIFE. WANTING REVENGE, HE GOES ON AN EXTREMELY VIOLENT QUEST TO FIND THE SYNDICATE THAT WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR IT ALL. MY...
Published on Oct. 19 2003 by MICHAEL TAYLOR

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Definately not on par.......
You know, I don't like to disagree with people a lot, but I really hated this movie! Now don't get me wrong, it had a lot of potential and some good fights, but where's the classic Segal? I want him to make more movies like the glimmer man. The acting I thought was just horrible in this! So horrible it actually made me laugh! Now, I'm sure if you are thinking about...
Published on Aug. 27 2003 by J. Rhone


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF SEAGAL'S BEST RECENT MOVIES, Oct. 19 2003
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
I NEVER THOUGHT I WOULD EVER SEE A GOOD STEVEN SEAGAL MOVIE EVER AGAIN, BUT HE DEFINITELY PROVED ME WRONG WITH THIS ONE. A PROFESSOR IS FRAMED FOR DRUG TRAFFICKING. BUT JUST DAYS AFTER HE'S RELEASED FROM JAIL, THE SYNDICATE THAT FRAMED HIM THEN KILLS HIS WIFE. WANTING REVENGE, HE GOES ON AN EXTREMELY VIOLENT QUEST TO FIND THE SYNDICATE THAT WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR IT ALL. MY QUESTION IS WHY WASN'T THIS RELEASED IN THEATRES? YOU GOTTA ADMIT, THIS DEFINITELY DOESN'T FEEL LIKE A DIRECT TO VIDEO MOVIE. FILLED WITH SPECTACULAR FIGHTS AND IT'S FILLED WITH A LOT OF THINGS TO GRAB YOUR ATTENTION. HOWEVER, IF YOU'RE SQUEAMISH, YOU MIGHT NOT WANNA WATCH THIS MOVIE DUE TO ITS EXTREME AMOUNTS OF VIOLENCE AND GORE. BUT OTHER THAN THAT, A VERY ENTERTAINING ACTION MOVIE WITH A SHOCKINGLY VIOLENT FINALE. GO TO YOUR LOCAL VIDEOSTORE AND RENT THIS NOW! YOU'LL BE GLAD YOU DID!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, Really Terrible, and That's All I Can Say, May 1 2004
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
Shot back-to-back with terrible "The Foreigner" Steven Seagal comes back with another terrible movie. It is beyond my capacity to describe how bad it is, but I can say that I slept while watching it in theater (yes, they released it theatrically in Japan, you know, what a silly decision).
The plot is non-existent, but it should be alright if there are good amount of exciting actions. Sorry, but there are none, and though the film is supposed to follow the one-man's vendetta against Chinese mafia after his beloved ones are killed by them because of the drug lord, there is no emotional power that would make us relate to the hero Steven plays. His "Hard to Kill" is not a classic, but it has a power enough to make it worth watching.
Anyway, Steven Seagal is dressed as an eminent professor of archeology (!) who receives an award from Yale University. Seriously. Well, there still would be no reason for us to doubt the authenticity of that character if only his name was something other than "Robert Burns." Come on! Is this a bad joke using the name of famous poet? The naming is as laughable as that of "Postman" where Kevin Costner called a fictional American president "Richard Sterkey" (aka Ringo Starr).
And actions are terrible. Just terrible. Because of the poor, choppy editing, you don't know what is happening on the screen. The murky lighting also damages the actions, and if they think they are shooting a noir film, they are utterly mistaken -- see how Steven Seagal's character speaks the line like "You killed my wife" as if ordering a cheeseburger, and you will know why.
Director Michael Oblowitz once made "This World, Then Fireworks," a so-so noir starring Bliiy Zane, but "Out for a Kill," together with "The Foreigner," totally erased what impressed me before. And as to Steven Seagal ... what can I say? It was 11 years ago when he hit the No. 1 at the US box-office with "Under Siege," and that was really a long time ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars More Straight to Video Pulp Nonsense, April 22 2004
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
I have been less than complimentary in my previous reviews of Mr Seagals recent offerings, but please don't think I have anything personal against him. The reverse is in fact true in that I have often been admonished for being a stalwart fan over the years. That having been said, I simply cannot recommend this cringeworthy, and dire outpouring any more than his other recent turkeys, which have been pretty awful to say the least. Perhaps his material and script choices are letting him down too much? Earlier films were exceptional in comparison, and in a competetive genre, one was always, it seemed, able to rely on Mr Seagal to deliver the goods, so to speak. In the unikely event that a comparison was ever drawn between Steven Seagal and say Clint Eastwood for example, we would see that the latter has moved graciously into older and more believable roles that expand on the character, whilst still retaining enough action and eye candy for fans and mainstream viewers. Where Seagal has stuck with the same formula that worked in the past, and has resulted in him coming across as a comical 007 character, desperately in need of retirement. A brief synopsis here finds Seagal as an archeologist battling drug lords who are using his artifacts to traffic their product without his knowledge. He does of course take umbrage to this, and after his family, dog, pet hamster and any other thing dear to him have been attacked or killed (as usual) he justifiably goes on the rampage. That's really all you need to know, and wouldn't be too bad in itself if the film were then braced with mountains of action. But sadly, even the once revered fight choreography scenes now seem also to be in short supply, and the end result is textbook formula nonsense. I didn't really care about the characters, or the plot which is a real shame. I only hope the eagerly anticipated Under Siege 3 will bring us back to the earlier Seagal, and a much greater performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy Seconds of Seagal, Feb. 14 2004
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
Seagal plays an archeologist who gets into hot water when drug traffickers decide that the artifacts he digs up are as good a place as any to hide their smuggled drugs. But Seagal doesn't like this, nor does he like the fact that they kill his wife and send the DEA and police after him. Will he prove his innocence? Will he avenge the death of his wife? Will his precious archaeological finds survive bullets, car chases, and martial arts mayhem? Who cares?
This direct to DVD mess is another one of Seagal's quickly pasted together junkers that is almost painful to watch. There are some well directed fight scenes, but they seem almost as if they were filmed for their own sakes and not for the film's (fake Shaolin monks and a classical monkey kung fu master pop up out of nowhere to fight Seagal just for the sake of adding some action scenes). The rest of the film is amateurishly directed with Seagal filmed from behind and in long shots (probably being doubled most of the time) with his voice added in later (using his standard whisper speak). That dialogue seems to come as an afterthought in an attempt to try to make some sense of what is happening onscreen since the visuals alone simply don't cut the mustard. An example of the director's lack of visual style is witnessed during scenes set at a long table filled with mafia bosses who Steven gradually offs one by one. The numbers of seated people dwindle each time the camera goes back to that table. The leader still speaks with the same determination to his men even when there's just one left sitting there. Obviously all of these scenes were filmed at the same time and the director didn't know how ridiculously repeated this visual theme would turn out.
Once again in a Seagal picture the main characters aren't developed to any extent as people with personalities to care for or despise. We are simply expected to root for Seagal because he's on the cover of the box and bad stuff happens to him in the movie so he must be the good guy. The fact that the characters he plays can always beat everyone up is now supposed to be just a given since he's Steven Seagal.
The film EXIT WOUNDS proved hopeful for Seagal fans bringing back the Steven we've come to love (an angry, big and tall, regular Joe who uses real martial arts techniques that are appropriate to his character, in that case he plays a tough cop who may have learned these skills for his job), but he has followed that film's success with rubbish. Fans deserve more than just a couple fights in the films they watch. They need at least a semi-interesting story with dialogue and visuals that help move the story along sensibly, and they need semi-interesting characters to like and hate so that the action scenes and the fights have some meaning.
OUT FOR A KILL offers a couple of okay fights for Seagal, but they stick out like sore thumbs in an otherwise poorly sewn mitten of a movie. Recommended for diehard fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Definately not on par......., Aug. 27 2003
By 
J. Rhone "adroitpirate" (Clearfield, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
You know, I don't like to disagree with people a lot, but I really hated this movie! Now don't get me wrong, it had a lot of potential and some good fights, but where's the classic Segal? I want him to make more movies like the glimmer man. The acting I thought was just horrible in this! So horrible it actually made me laugh! Now, I'm sure if you are thinking about watching this, it's not for the plot or the acting, but for the action. Now, there is alot of action, but it's done so poorly! Just about every fight is done before it even stared, with most of the fighting done by what looks like speeding up the camera and the rest is slow-motion (which is used excessively in this movie) of guys getting flipped in the air! The longest shootout/fight is in the beginning with people without weapons being gunned down in a club! I don't want to see that! I want the classic fights that last a while, and only a little slow motion here and there with people getting thrown through glass and such, not this short quick stuff. There was even a fight that seemed to be more in place in a jackie chan movie cause it was so comical instad of serious. I saw how they wanted certain scenes to be "the cool shot" but they try way too often and it just doesn't work. Sometimes its hard to see what's going on with the camera jumping around, and I have to say that if you are an action fan, there are many other better movies than this to buy, or even rent....only watch if you have seen everything else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Definately not on par......., Aug. 27 2003
By 
J. Rhone "adroitpirate" (Clearfield, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
You know, I don't like to disagree with people a lot, but I really hated this movie! Now don't get me wrong, it had a lot of potential and some good fights, but where's the classic Segal? I want him to make more movies like the glimmer man. The acting I thought was just horrible in this! So horrible it actually made me laugh! Now, I'm sure if you are thinking about watching this, it's not for the plot or the acting, but for the action. Now, there is alot of action, but it's done so poorly! Just about every fight is done before it even stared, with most of the fighting done by what looks like speeding up the camera and the rest is slow-motion (which is used excessively in this movie) of guys getting flipped in the air! The longest shootout/fight is in the beginning with people without weapons being gunned down in a club! I don't want to see that! I want the classic fights that last a while, and only a little slow motion here and there with people getting thrown through glass and such, not this short quick stuff. There was even a fight that seemed to be more in place in a jackie chan movie cause it was so comical instad of serious. I saw how they wanted certain scenes to be "the cool shot" but they try way too often and it just doesn't work. Sometimes its hard to see what's going on with the camera jumping around, and I have to say that if you are an action fan, there are many other better movies than this to buy, or even rent....only watch if you have seen everything else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ::Grunt:: ::Groan::, Aug. 25 2003
By 
N. P. Stathoulopoulos "nick9155" (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
Whoa.
Steven Seagal is the guilty pleasure movie star. He's a very bad actor, he has a pony tail, he makes movies where he bullies people and smacks them around. Yet has his own built-in appeal--a completely shameless, mysterious tough guy to the end persona.
However, his latest slew of films indicate that he is done for. A bunch of straight to DVD titles prove how far the mighty have fallen.
Out for a Kill comes very close to knocking Ticker off the list as the worst Seagal film. Only that film's more famous cast made it that much worse.
I don't know how to describe this film except BAD--as in worse than most bad TV movies. I know Seagal got a few million for this, easy, so I don't feel bad for the guy. But the quality of the film is so low that it makes early Seagal works like Out for Justice seem like masterpieces.
There are so many composite shots in this film that it tells a nasty story of making low budget films these days. People have access to cgi technology that makes the films look even worse and cheaper than the low budget flicks of the past. Entire sequences are so laughably bad, so cheap, that you may feel unsettled by the whole experience.
The film doesn't even warrant me talking about the story or plot, except to say that Seagal plays a professor(!) Of course, he's a professor who is capable of killing a lot of people violently and of spouting more spiritual mumbo-jumbo that's sure to get laughs.
I don't know what happened to this man, but he tries to portray himself as some kind of messianic figure, clad in a massive leather coat to hide the rolls of fat as he rids the world of vermin. This is embarassing all around.
I would recommend this only to the most die-hard Seagal addicts, of the just plain morbid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Out for a . . . burger and fries., Aug. 25 2003
By 
Matthew Skidmore (Stourbridge, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
With one of the worst titles for any kind of movie in recent memory, this new Steven Seagal actioner limps its way onto DVD. Produced by those kind folks at Nu Image (who have continually amazed us with such direct-to-video nightmares as DERAILED, SPIDERS and OPERATION DELTA FORCE), this is the kind of movie that makes you want to stop watching films altogether.
The story has The Tall Guy playing renowned archeologist Robert Burns, who has unearthed precious artifacts in Eastern China. However, the chinese mafia are using these artifacts to smuggle drugs overseas and within seconds, Seagal is framed, has his assistant murdered and is sent to prison. MInutes (which seem like hours) unfold as Seagal is released by the US/Chinese police, using him as bait to lure the mafia into the open. As these things usually do, everything goes wrong for the police and Seagal's wife is killed in a fiery explosion, leaving him distraught, angry and (ahem) out for a kill.
With a plot that resembles a convoluted DEATH WISH sequel crossed with a dozen Hong Kong actioners, this movie fails to involve the viewer at any point. Seagal himself seems bored out of his mind, as he casually walks around seedy areas of town tracking down the men who killed his wife, getting up to the odd rough and tumble with every kung fu villain around who manages to look at him the wrong way. A fight sequence in a gent's hairdressers manages to be not only boring, but also mildly embarrassing as Seagal's opponent is obviously on wires and his movements defy any gravity at all, and the scene comes across looking awkward and pointless.
Director Michael Oblowitz (who collaborated on Seagal's last flick, a dreadful number called THE FOREIGNER) seems to have no flair for action whatsoever, insisting on long takes, dull characterisation, lazy pacing and making no effort to get the best out of his performers at all. His MTV-lite camera work is dull, and everyone in his movies seems to be acting as though they were in a Calvin Klein commercial. What with this, the aforementioned THE FOREIGNER and the awful vampire 'non' action flick THE BREED, Oblowitz needs to take an 'Action Movie 101' course. Quickly.
Adding another dud to his CV, Seagal seems to be intent on destroying any chance of a movie career that he reclaimed with the fun actioner EXIT WOUNDS, by appearing in films like this. What with this, the headache inducing HALF PAST DEAD and TICKER (where I thought there was nowhere lower for him to go), its sad to see a former action giant running around in non-events such as these. I can only hope he goes back to Warner Bros, and makes some decent action output again. Even his last effort there, the tired FIRE DOWN BELOW looks like a DIE HARD movie compared to his latter efforts.
Columbia-Tristars' disc is clean of any extras, except a trailer. The picture and audio quality are sharp, and the only picture problems arise from the film being shot in fake neon-lights and awful bare-bones locations.
All-in-all, not a winner. If you have to put yourself through it, make sure you have a copy of EXIT WOUNDS or OUT FOR JUSTICE ready to jam into your DVD player once this one is over. Remember him for the gems he used to make, not the ones he's cranking out now . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Seagal could be on the right road., Aug. 25 2003
By 
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
I did not know what to expect from this as it had the same Director back from The Foreigner which was terrible. It seems however both the director and Seagal must of watched The
Foreigner and saw where they went wrong and tried to fix it. Seagal is back to eliminating the bad guys with good old bone crunching effect. There is a sword fight thrown in at the begining of the movie but it betrays just how slow Seagal has become these last few years in comparison to the great sword fight at the end of Marked For Death many years ago. There are several fight scenes spaced out through the movie but none are executed the way they should of been. Some are slowed down while others are speeded up. The movie seems to be aimed more at an Eastern market than at the western market. Perhaps this is where Seagal is most popular at the moment.
Seagal's acting seems to be getting as slow as his movements in his later movies. A better director may have gotten Seagal to inject some personality into the role with some witty one liners, much like in Under Seige, Out For Justice, Exit Wounds, Half Past Dead or even as terrible as it was Ticker. With a bit more personality in a role, a good action director and the right script, Seagal could be back. Some scenes in the movie do betray how low the budget was on this but worth watching for Seagal fans.
Unfortunatly there is nothing here to make non Seagal fans jump up and take notice of Steven Seagal once again as the action movie icon he once was. Not a terrible movie but not very good either, more a wasted opportunity for a return to his earlier titles in the early 90's. Next up is Belly Of The Beast with a different director who could put Seagal back on the right road where he may surprise everyone with a good solid action movie once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I feel dumber for having watched this movie, Aug. 24 2003
By 
Mark Thorne "Chewtoy" (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out for a Kill (Bilingual) (DVD)
I made the mistake of buying this movie without checking reviews (I saw it in a dvd store). OH. MY. GOD. I have been a Segal fan from way back, but his movies are getting steadily worse. I was actually sort of impressed that someone funded The Stranger, lacking, as it did, any semblance of plot or interest. The direction was awful, the effects, the cinematography, the fight sequences, soundtrack, everything. This movie was worse.
Moments of slow motion--for no discernable reason, stilted dialogue, HORRIBLE acting, poor action sequences, etc. Heck, half the action scenes (why else would you be watching a Segal movie) are from an angle that lead me to believe it's not even Segal, but a stunt double. If you make the mistake of watching the movie, you'll really appreciate the plane sequence. Segal, wresting control from the pilot suddenly scares the pilot into talking by making several dives near the ground. This is supposed to scare a pilot? Not to mention the 'movement' outside the plane windows are patently fake.
I think it says it all when the movie is forced to use text during slow motion scenes to introduce people (who die offscreen). Segal pieces together the 'mystery' of the people he's looking for by the series of helpful clues--yes, the bad guys have left a trail leading him in the right direction via tatooing their henchmen on the arms. What the hell?!? Let's lead police or bad guys to the head honcho with TATOOS?!?
For the love of god, if you want an action film, DON'T watch this one. Go watch Under Siege 1 or 2. Or Hard to Kill. Avoid this wretched excuse for a movie. While you're at it, avoid the Stranger, too.
I want 1.5 hours of my life back and the IQ points I lost from watching this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out for a Kill (Bilingual)
Out for a Kill (Bilingual) by Michael Oblowitz (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 16.95 CDN$ 4.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews