Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddy and Patsy get "special"
This DVD comprises the 2 ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS 'specials', "The Last Shout" and "Gay".
"The Last Shout" - In the AB-FAB timeline, this special takes place after Series 3, when Jennifer Saunders was adamant that this was to be be last-ever AB-FAB story. Eddy and Patsy take a trip to the snowfields of Val de Ser, leaving Saffy at home with...
Published on April 16 2004 by Byron Kolln

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and slapped together DVD release.
For those of us that pre-ordered the DVD, you were probably unpleasantly suprised to find that Jennifer Saunder's commentary is NOT on this Disc. I know it's always a chance actually expecting what they say will be among the special features will acutally be present but this time they've gone cheap. Figuring if you like AbFab you'll buy anything no matter how slap dash...
Published on Oct. 2 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddy and Patsy get "special", April 16 2004
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
This DVD comprises the 2 ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS 'specials', "The Last Shout" and "Gay".
"The Last Shout" - In the AB-FAB timeline, this special takes place after Series 3, when Jennifer Saunders was adamant that this was to be be last-ever AB-FAB story. Eddy and Patsy take a trip to the snowfields of Val de Ser, leaving Saffy at home with her stuffy new boyfriend Paolo Carlo.
During their event-filled holiday, Eddy becomes convinced that she is Christ returned after having a near-death experience on a mountaintop where she visited God (Marianne Faithful). Patsy is evicted from her flat above the Oddbins in the Kings Road, and Mother has shacked up with some old friends in a grotty caravan.
Saffy and Paolo decide to get married, leaving Eddy to plan the wedding of the century...
"Gay" - In the AB-FAB timeline this story takes place after Series 4. Eddy discovers that her absent son Serge is gay and living in New York. Since she and Patsy are in town during Fashion Week anyway, she decides to seek him out. With the help of Goldie (Whoopi Goldberg), a lesbian marriage celebrant, Eddy and Serge are reunited...but for how long?
AB-FAB fans will relish adding these stories to their collections. Always a fantastic show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and slapped together DVD release., Oct. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
For those of us that pre-ordered the DVD, you were probably unpleasantly suprised to find that Jennifer Saunder's commentary is NOT on this Disc. I know it's always a chance actually expecting what they say will be among the special features will acutally be present but this time they've gone cheap. Figuring if you like AbFab you'll buy anything no matter how slap dash it is.
The commentary was the big selling point to me and now I feel cheated a bit.
I'm even a bit ticked about the vaguely homophobic description of the Gay episode on the box.
As other reviews have said, they went with a poor scan and pan instead of showing the *slightly* letterbox version. If Comedy Central could get it right, why not BBC video? Isn't that why we buy DVDs?
The outtakes from both shows are on the disc and that's it for extra's. Also disappointing is the lack of subtitles (though I guess it's closed captioned if you have a TV that can display those).
Comedically, definitely 5 stars and one of my favorites comedians. The DVD techinical quality? I give it 1 star.
The season 4 2-disc set was excellent and filled with extra's, commentary, and no annoying 'pre main menu' commecials. Guess I got my hopes up after that.
Frankly, this is an "Absolutely Miserable" release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To quote Pasty, "It's just recycled vomit...", Feb. 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
I'm sad to say that "Gay" is just recycled jokes from previous Ab Fabs. With that said, it's still better than anything on American television. I just hold Jennifer Sauders on a higher level and when she starts to recycle the same lines it's time to let the series go. I've got my fingers, toes, and everything else crossed in hopes that she can bring back the "Fabulous" wit that we all look forward to.
For all you Ab Fab fans out there, don't buy the DVD. Just rent it from Netflix and keep it for a long week so you can watch it a few times. Unfortunately it's not a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you ready for this Sweetie?, June 14 2003
By 
Michael Olivarez "ImpossibleGeisha" (San Bernardino, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
The girls from Ab fab are back!!! A new DVD containing the two Ab Fab movies sweetie...The New York Special and The Last Shout, with audio commentary and outtakes!!!
The New York Special entitle "GAY"- Jennifer Saunders, in an homage to her gay fans, has brought Serge out of the closet and created a one-hour special around his reunion with his ridiculous mum, Edina Monsoon. Not only do we get to see Debbie Harry of Blondie perform the AbFab theme "This Wheels on Fire", Edie and Patsy get married by Whoopi Goldberg, we get to visit fashion week, location shots at many familiar gay landmarks in NYC and cameos by many gay icons. Also includes the rest of the ab fab gang, Buddle, Saffy, and grams
In "The last Shout" we see Edina floating with a dolphin in a pool located in her bedroom for spiritual cleansing. She contacts Patsy, who has been renting an apartment conveniently located above a liquor store, to get ready for her job interview. Patsy does get up, but only so far as to walk into a pub. And guess what...Saffy has a boy friends. Will she Marry him, and will Edina aprove of him?
A must buy for any ab fab fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY SPECIAL (THE LAST SHOUT / IN NEW YORK, May 9 2004
By 
ILONKA KELLY (CRYSTAL RIVER ,FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
"LAST SHOUT IN NEW YORK" WAS WHAT THEY NAMED IT...ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!! THE NAME OF THE SHOW TOTALLY FITS EVERY EPISODES MADE.I CAN'T GET ENOUGH OF EDINA AND PATSY.THE CLOTHES ACCESSORIES ARE AWESOME.I AM 25 AND I HAVE WATCHED ABFAB SINCE IT AIRED. I WAS DESTITUTE WHEN THEY TOOK A BREAK. PLEASE KEEP ON GOING!!!5 STARS!!! I WOULD LIKE TO FIND SAUNDERS&FRENCH PRODUCTIONS DVDS ALL OF THERE WORK.
I LOVE YOUR SHOW,
ILONKA KELLY
MY ADDRESS
721 NORTH DOVE POINT
CRYSTAL RIVER, FL
34429
PHONE #
(352)564-8140
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Negative Reviews, Jan. 31 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
I suppose if you do not like Whoopi Goldberg, you may not find her funny in this DVD. I suppose if what you REALLY want to see is the commentary and if it's missing, you may be disappointed. However, if you pay attention to the episodes, which is why I purchased the DVD, they are hilarious! My Ab Fab collection wouldn't be near complete without this one. In fact, "Gay" is one of my favorites. Jennifer Saunders & Dawn French are brilliant writers...always the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fabulous, Jan. 9 2004
By 
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
Ignore the negative reviews, my boyfriend and I are diehard fans with all the tapes and dvds there are to have of this series and we loved it. The Last Shout is priceless and In New York continues the quality of humour we have come to expect from this great series. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything she touches turns to platinum, Jan. 9 2004
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
Both of these specials are fantastic. I watch ABFAB all the time, it never gets old. When I first saw "Gay," I didn't think it was as great as the original episodes, but there are some very funny parts in it. I think Whoopi is perfect in her part and I always crack up when Eddy and Pats are in the office with her. The clubbing at the end is great. And, the part where Pats is reading the designers' names in the hotel room... Timmy Holefinger, Ellis, D...KNY (LSD). She's just clever in her own little way. I think some of these things only come out after watching the episodes 5 or 500 times. Anyhow, I will buy everything Saunders ever makes because she is a creative genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars panned and scanned version of widescreen show YUCK, Jan. 5 2004
By 
S. Phillips (Las Vegas, NV United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
There are 2 problems with this disc. First, the commentary by Jennifer Saunders that was promised is missing, and second, "Gay" is presented in cropped format instead of the original widescreen as broadcast in the UK. This is stupid, as Season 4 was correctly released in widescreen, so why isn't this follow-up? If you want to see the entire picture, import the Uk disc which also includes the commentary. "The Last Shout" is fine as it was filmed before widescreen TV took over in the UK. Avoid the US DVD and get the UK one if you have a region free player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars How lame could "Gay" be? Extremely, Nov. 19 2003
By 
Peter DePalma (Richfield, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
The New York special "Gay" is extremely weak. What makes it worse than just mediocre is the use of Whoopi Goldberg... the queen of unfunny comedians. Who let her into this special? They ought to be fired twice.
It was Ab Fab in search of actual gags... horrible. Most everything flopped. Like at least one reviewer mentioned, Mo Gaffney is actually funny in this special (which is a pleasant surprise). Of course, Jane Horrocks as Bubble is fairly good, and she's just as good in her other appearance. ;)
To be fair, most people are going to get this for "The Last Shout"... and that's worth the price BBC/WB asks for, but it's still not as good as the good old days. Perhaps it's on par with series 4.
Buy it if you must, but shake your fist in complaint because "In New York/Gay" is some of the worst drivel produced for television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import]
Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] by Jennifer Saunders (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 53.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews