Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddy and Patsy get "special"
This DVD comprises the 2 ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS 'specials', "The Last Shout" and "Gay".
"The Last Shout" - In the AB-FAB timeline, this special takes place after Series 3, when Jennifer Saunders was adamant that this was to be be last-ever AB-FAB story. Eddy and Patsy take a trip to the snowfields of Val de Ser, leaving Saffy at home with...
Published on April 16 2004 by Byron Kolln

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and slapped together DVD release.
For those of us that pre-ordered the DVD, you were probably unpleasantly suprised to find that Jennifer Saunder's commentary is NOT on this Disc. I know it's always a chance actually expecting what they say will be among the special features will acutally be present but this time they've gone cheap. Figuring if you like AbFab you'll buy anything no matter how slap dash...
Published on Oct. 2 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddy and Patsy get "special", April 16 2004
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
This DVD comprises the 2 ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS 'specials', "The Last Shout" and "Gay".
"The Last Shout" - In the AB-FAB timeline, this special takes place after Series 3, when Jennifer Saunders was adamant that this was to be be last-ever AB-FAB story. Eddy and Patsy take a trip to the snowfields of Val de Ser, leaving Saffy at home with her stuffy new boyfriend Paolo Carlo.
During their event-filled holiday, Eddy becomes convinced that she is Christ returned after having a near-death experience on a mountaintop where she visited God (Marianne Faithful). Patsy is evicted from her flat above the Oddbins in the Kings Road, and Mother has shacked up with some old friends in a grotty caravan.
Saffy and Paolo decide to get married, leaving Eddy to plan the wedding of the century...
"Gay" - In the AB-FAB timeline this story takes place after Series 4. Eddy discovers that her absent son Serge is gay and living in New York. Since she and Patsy are in town during Fashion Week anyway, she decides to seek him out. With the help of Goldie (Whoopi Goldberg), a lesbian marriage celebrant, Eddy and Serge are reunited...but for how long?
AB-FAB fans will relish adding these stories to their collections. Always a fantastic show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and slapped together DVD release., Oct. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
For those of us that pre-ordered the DVD, you were probably unpleasantly suprised to find that Jennifer Saunder's commentary is NOT on this Disc. I know it's always a chance actually expecting what they say will be among the special features will acutally be present but this time they've gone cheap. Figuring if you like AbFab you'll buy anything no matter how slap dash it is.
The commentary was the big selling point to me and now I feel cheated a bit.
I'm even a bit ticked about the vaguely homophobic description of the Gay episode on the box.
As other reviews have said, they went with a poor scan and pan instead of showing the *slightly* letterbox version. If Comedy Central could get it right, why not BBC video? Isn't that why we buy DVDs?
The outtakes from both shows are on the disc and that's it for extra's. Also disappointing is the lack of subtitles (though I guess it's closed captioned if you have a TV that can display those).
Comedically, definitely 5 stars and one of my favorites comedians. The DVD techinical quality? I give it 1 star.
The season 4 2-disc set was excellent and filled with extra's, commentary, and no annoying 'pre main menu' commecials. Guess I got my hopes up after that.
Frankly, this is an "Absolutely Miserable" release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To quote Pasty, "It's just recycled vomit...", Feb. 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
I'm sad to say that "Gay" is just recycled jokes from previous Ab Fabs. With that said, it's still better than anything on American television. I just hold Jennifer Sauders on a higher level and when she starts to recycle the same lines it's time to let the series go. I've got my fingers, toes, and everything else crossed in hopes that she can bring back the "Fabulous" wit that we all look forward to.
For all you Ab Fab fans out there, don't buy the DVD. Just rent it from Netflix and keep it for a long week so you can watch it a few times. Unfortunately it's not a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You're going to buy it anyway, Nov. 7 2003
By 
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
I am an AbFab fanatic. I wanted to see the episode where Edina finds Serge - especially after Jennifer Saunders said in the commentary on the Series 4 DVD that they never would do Serge because there was too much build up. I didn't care if it sucked. Seeing it was a need.
If you feel the way I did, then you should buy this DVD. I definitely don't regret buying. I don't plan on trying to sell it off. I might even be very reluctant to loan it to a friend. It is precious to me.
That being said, I gave this DVD 3 stars because only a fanatic would shell out money to buy it. There isn't a whole lot of extra stuff, and it's obvious that it's supposed to be shown in wide screen format. I don't know why they couldn't have done the little black bars thing, but whatever. You pay whatever you pay for it because you want to see Eddy find Serge. There's a brief section of outakes from AbFab in NYC after the outakes from the Last Shout, but it seems like a last minute addition and leaves you wanting much much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Relatively Un-Fabulous, Oct. 19 2003
By 
Day of Defiance "tangoyank" (California, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
Overall, this is still sublime comedy, but compared with other AbFab packages, this is at the bottom of the barrel.
Although I miss the commentary and letterboxing of Series 4, my biggest complaint is the lack of theme song. One of the best things about "The Last Shout" is the theme-song version of "This Wheel's on Fire" sung by guest star Marianne Faithful. Apparently, Warner is too cheap to pony up for the song rights for the DVD, so that version (along with the regular version on "In New York" a.k.a. "Gay") has been excised. If you want to hear it, you can try to get ahold of a copy of the out-of-print VHS version of "The Last Shout."
Let's face it - in relation to the regular "series" episodes, these "specials" are not quite up to par. "The Last Shout" was intended to be the series finale and/or a botched AbFab movie. While Part 1 of "Last Shout" rivals the early-series travel episodes for its French skiing adventures, "Part 2" is predictable melodrama - did anyone really believe Saffy would tie the knot with a character we'd never seen before?
As for "In New York," this is perhaps the weakest of any AbFab production, down there with the awkward guest episode in "Roseanne"'s disastrous final season. This episode is actually titled "Gay," but for whatever marketing reason, is called "In New York," on this DVD. It is a shameless shout-out to AbFab's gay fans, but also a completely clumsy and dishonest stunt. First of all, Serge wasn't meant to be gay - in an early episode, Eddie, Pats, and Saffy discovered a stack of heterosexual adult magazines in Serge's American-Football-themed old bedroom (one issue featuring a young Patsy baring all). Secondly, once Eddie and Patsy arrive in New York, this episode dissovles into comedic purgatory, with Whoopi Goldberg (!) poorly playing a PFLAG-like counselor and the ladies engaging in an unwitting gay wedding. It's not funny or genuine to the characters or to the audience. I doubt the gay community was hollering for an awknowledgement as unfunny and forced as this.
That being said, we are still talking about one of the best, most original comedies created in the last quarter century. Here's to hoping Series 5 will get the show back on track (although the idea of Saffy giving birth isn't sounding so promising, either).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment! What did WB do to this?, Oct. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
I love Absolutely Fabulous. I had never seen the NY special, so I've really been looking forward to this dvd. BBC screwed up by letting WB anywhere near it, I guess. The production quality is so sloppy and cheaply done, it almost spoils the entire special.
Don't expect commentary, or more than a couple of minutes of NY outtakes. Bad conversion as well. Basically "Gay" was quickly tacked onto the "Last Shout" special dvd with little else added and little effort taken. AbFab fans deserve much more than this.
I love this series and it hurts to say this, but I was even disappointed with the NY special itself. Parts are funny, but I was expecting more. I couldn't believe it ended so quickly; it seemed like it was just gaining momentum and getting interesting (after wading through some lesser, filler stuff), then it was over. Great, but not AbFab great. I'm hoping it's setting up the new series and we'll see more. Mo Gaffney is at her best here, though - some of the funniest bits are Mo's. Note: I watched again and realized that the West Hollywood spotlight review is right. I think a lot of the comedy is lost because of the botched transfer and close cropping. Really a shame. If you can somehow get ahold of a better version, Gay may actually be funnier than it shows on this DVD.
Also an observation: If you're using the averaged number of stars given as a guideline, keep in mind that the vast majority of 4 and 5 star reviews here aren't reviews of this actual DVD. They were AbFab fans writing about the DVD before they even saw it; before it was even released. So, they may be reviewing Last Shout and Gay as they saw it on TV, but they are NOT reviewing this particular DVD. It's really different. Look at the reviews written after the actual DVD release date, 9/23, by people who actually have seen the DVD, as a better guide.
I hope all future BBC/Warners dvd productions aren't botched in this way. I'm a die-hard AbFab fan, but if I'd known the quality of this dvd, not sure I would have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheers.....thanks a lot.....!!!!, Oct. 1 2003
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
Six years span the two 'special' episodes that are included on this Fab disc and they're finally here and almost worth the wait.
The material is hilarious, as usual, and the out-takes...most of which are from 'The Last Shout' are not only just out-takes but extended/alternate and deleted scenes. The out-takes from 'Gay' are relegated to a mere few minutes....Damn!!!
Doesn't matter though...what is here is great. And a welcome completion to anyones AFBAB dvd collection. The aspect ratio isn't all that disturbing....as a matter of fact.....coming from someone who has been pro-widescreen since the early days of special VHS letterbox editions of films.....it didn't matter to me at all....but if you need something to be disappointed in....that would be it.
'The Last Shout' is broken down into its proper televised 2 parts...with part 1 running 42:56 and part 2....42:24. 'New York' or 'Gay' clock's in at 54:10. Both 'special' episodes include footage that for some reason failed to make air when BBC America ran them at their debut times. And, of course, the bleeped language is intact. You have the option of selecting which episode to view OR running the whole thing. The out-takes run 13:43. That's about it...No commentary...No optional language selection. Bare bones....but anything ABFAB is hardly that!!!
The guests that appear on the 'Gay' episode range from the cute as hell Rufus Wainwright to Whoopi Goldberg. Graham Norton gives a nod to Patsy's past and Debbie Harry/Blondie does most of the soundtrack culminating with an appearance at a New York club singing "...if your memory serves you well..." Hardly singing 'Wheels On Fire' as you may have read in previous reviews. Josh Hamilton, who if you haven't seen in 'Urbania'...DO!!!, is perfect as 'not-at-all-fabulous' Serge. The collection is complete...that is until Series 5, YAY!!!!, takes its bow later in the Fall. If you love ABFAB....you need this disc. So....go get it......load up your multi-disc player....pour some Boli....and have an Absolutely Fabulous Weekend chock full of laughs!! Cheers, Sweeties!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Botched transfer on newest of the two specials, Sept. 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
There are two special episodes of AbFab on this disc, and first of all Warner Home Video should be thanked for packaging them together at a good price. BUT (and you knew it was coming) - the latest special, titled "Gay" on screen and "AbFab in N.Y." on the box cover art, suffers from a really bad transfer error.
As you may already know, all of Season 4 and this newest episode were shot in High Definition (HD) by the BBC, and on the Season 4 DVD set those episodes were transferred correctly into anamorphic widescreen.
While the vast majority of viewers won't benefit from this process just yet (until they upgrade their sets) HD widescreen material can be dealt with properly on DVD for standard TVs by slightly letterboxing the image (i.e. putting small black bars at the top and bottom of the screen image).
Unfortunately rather than just letterbox the newest episode (and properly do an anamorphic transfer) they decided instead on this release to severely crop the sides of the picture to fill up the screen. While this would be OK with most TV shows, as they are shot with a "safe area" in mind, it simply does not work with AbFab because the director very boldly took advantage of the widescreen format to lay out his shots and character interactions.
What this means for both widescreen and regular sized screen viewers is that in almost every shot where there are more than two people in the frame characters are now totally cut off on either side of the screen. You end up missing a lot of reactions by the actors to each other, and not seeing who they are talking to in the frame many times. The show really suffers for it comedy-wise, not to mention how cramped the scenes now can play.
While this series may not sell a lot of DVDs for Warners (and, again we should note that it is a good thing that they do release it), it is really important to transfer episodes properly so viewers can see each episode as it was framed for broadcast. If they didn't want to spend the additional money to do the correct anamorphic transfer they should have at least letterboxed the newest episode so actors didn't get cut off the screen.
This is a major disappointment in an otherwise well done package - which not only offers outtakes from the older episode from its original video release by the way, but also adds new outtakes from the most recent episode.
While Warner Home Video will most likely let this disc slide, let's hope they go back to doing things properly for the upcoming new Season 5 episodes when they come to DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars How lame could "Gay" be? Extremely, Nov. 19 2003
By 
Peter DePalma (Richfield, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
The New York special "Gay" is extremely weak. What makes it worse than just mediocre is the use of Whoopi Goldberg... the queen of unfunny comedians. Who let her into this special? They ought to be fired twice.
It was Ab Fab in search of actual gags... horrible. Most everything flopped. Like at least one reviewer mentioned, Mo Gaffney is actually funny in this special (which is a pleasant surprise). Of course, Jane Horrocks as Bubble is fairly good, and she's just as good in her other appearance. ;)
To be fair, most people are going to get this for "The Last Shout"... and that's worth the price BBC/WB asks for, but it's still not as good as the good old days. Perhaps it's on par with series 4.
Buy it if you must, but shake your fist in complaint because "In New York/Gay" is some of the worst drivel produced for television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE LAST SHOUT ON DVD -- FINALLY!!, Oct. 20 2003
By 
This review is from: Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] (DVD)
I can only speak for myself when I say that I am ecstatic that the last shout was put out onto dvd. I have been waiting for YEARS for WB/bbc to make this available. In fact I even bought it on Amazon.uk over a year ago and had it shipped to my house before I knew what a R2 means -- regardless to say, I lost out on $25. Sure, the DVD contains almost no special features, and the digital transfer of the episode "gay" could have been better...blah blah blah. $19 for the last shout alone is worth it and I would have gladly paid for it standing alone [the VHS that came out in the 90's and has been OOP for years and the British DVD], but I ended up getting the NYC "Gay" episode as a bonus...
a fanatic of Ab Fab that owns the first 4 seasons on dvd should definately purchase this dvd for their collection, if you have $20 to spend...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import]
Absolutely Fabulous:Absolutely [Import] by Jennifer Saunders (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 34.99 CDN$ 32.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews