Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DDR makes you bootilicious !
DDRMax2 is the hot new way to exercise. Because it's so much fun!
First a simple overview. DDRMax2:Dance,Dance Revolution is a Playstation game where music is played on your TV screen. Arrows move across the screen. The player dances on a dance pad and attempts to move their feet to match the direction of the arrows. The better you do the more points you rack up...
Published on July 16 2004 by Lee Mellott

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME!
This is a disgrace. Whoever calls THIS a game, has problems. It's really cool! Ya get to "dance", or hit freakin' squares on a mat, while the worst techno music is being played in the backround to pornagraphic images. It is a disgrace to the dance culture! I have been taking street funk, hip-hop, world dance, and breakdancing for seven years, and I know dance...
Published on April 6 2004 by doode567


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DDR makes you bootilicious !, July 16 2004
This review is from: DDRMax 2: Dance Dance Revolution (Video Game)
DDRMax2 is the hot new way to exercise. Because it's so much fun!
First a simple overview. DDRMax2:Dance,Dance Revolution is a Playstation game where music is played on your TV screen. Arrows move across the screen. The player dances on a dance pad and attempts to move their feet to match the direction of the arrows. The better you do the more points you rack up. Sounds simple but it can be tough depending on the difficulty level you choose.
While the music is playing (and there are a number of songs to select from or let the game select for you) the background will change. Sometimes there will be videos, othertimes characters that you can select to dance with.
So each time you "play" the game looks different and you will have the challenge of trying to improve your ability level.
I purchased the game for the workout and am delighted to find that it's so much fun I could (and do) spend hours on it!
The game has the added bonus of a "Workout Mode" so you can track your calories, weight and progress.
You will need a dance pad to play the game. I bought two dance pads so my daughters could take turns working out with me or each other. Well worth the investment. I would advise buying good pads with good padding so it's easier on your joints as you will be doing a lot of moving around.
A+++++ for this great game that gets both kids and adults moving and grooving and having a GREAT time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GET ON THE DANCE FLOOR!!!!!! AGAIN, July 8 2004
This review is from: DDRMax 2: Dance Dance Revolution (Video Game)
Ok lets get started with this review!
Storyline NA/10
There is no storyline all u do is DANCE!!!!
Gameplay 10/10
This game is extremely fun u will spend hours playing this game!!! And now with the new beginner level added new comers to the game can start at a very easy level. Also with the new dancer option u get to choose ur favorite dancers from a long list.
Graphics 8/10
The graphics aren't that good, though there not meant to be, cause its more a fun loving kind of game. The dancers aren't that good graphics wise. Still the backgrounds still make up for it.
Sound/Music 10/10
YEAH of chores this gets a 10/10, the music for this game is absolutely wonder with such songs as Dive ~more deep & deeper style~, Break Down, and Legend of Max. This game has some of the best music out there.
Replay Value 10/10
U can never finish this game, there's always something new to do with it, like added options, and a whole lot of other stuff.
Overall 10/10
THIS is one of the best sports games out there! Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Groove!, July 7 2004
This review is from: DDRMax 2: Dance Dance Revolution (Video Game)
This video game is slowly spreading across the small town I live in. I heard about it from a friend of a friend and they brought it over to my house. Awesome! A video game you DANCE with. You just buy a mat to go with the game, turn it on and make sure you put it on beginner mode (if you're new to DDR) and start dancing away.
Pros:
-If you play long enough (more than 30 minutes a day) you can loose weight.
-It's great for parties, a lot of people love it.
-Theres a beginner mode for those new to it.
-And work out mode for those trying to loose wieght. You can punch in your current weight and it counts how many calories and stuff you loose.
Cons:
-All the music is techno and disco sounding, so if you're not a fan of either, you might not get into it too much.
-Depending on the mat you buy with it, it can be a bit annoying. Soft pads (unless duct taped down or something) can be annoying once you get to heavy mode. But who wants to spend 200 bucks for a metal pad?
-If you don't have any friends to play with it could become un-interesting in a matter of weeks.
- When you play on the heavier modes (lite, standard, etc) the backgrounds while your DDR'ing can be a bit annoying. Flashing colors, dancing people (you can turn those off though). After a while you learn to ingore them but at some points (not a lot) for us blind people (or ones with sucky televisions)..seeing the arrows get a bit difficult. (Not a big problem to worry about though!)
4 stars, because the music stinks and of the money you have to pay for good mats. But it's a lot fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Konami knows, June 18 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: DDRMax 2: Dance Dance Revolution (Video Game)
I'd like to commend Konami; I can see a very earnest attempt to try to create a sort of more universal acception of the Dance Dance Revolution craze. DDRMAX 2 is a very good product of that attempt.
This, and DDRMAX have had some really great song choices for the American audience; Busy Child, Love at First Sight, and Sandstorm (a stroke of pure genius) are excellent songs that promote familiarity and confidence through known artists in what "cautious" Americans deem a crazy Japanese fad. These songs allow people to ease into the game, rather than simply bash it for it's techno and Japanese-ness like I've seen many do. The beginner mode for DDRMAX 2 was extremely important, and is definitely a requisite if more people are to accept DDR; many people are not very coordinated.
On a side note, I also have appreciated Konami's choice not to include the excessively vulgar songs. This, once again, helps to create a more accepting audience.
A nip is that DDRMAX does not have a beginner mode. That would have been extremely helpful in easing in frustrated beginners. A nip at DDRMAX 2 is that it's color scheme appearance and musical selection is rather dismal. A few more faster beat, energetic, popish, and fun songs (such as Breakdown, Groove 2001) would be greatly appreciated.
Despite this, Konami of America has done a good job in DDRMAX and DDRMAX 2, but for future games, more (neglected) DDR Best Hits would be appreciated (EVERYONE has been clamoring for Butterfly and Dam Dariram), as well as more spectacular American familiarities.
I would definitely reccomend buying DDRMAX and DDRMAX 2. Together, they provide excellent song mixes for both newbies and DDR maniacs alike, and they are simply spectacular at parties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, June 2 2004
By 
Sim (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DDRMax 2: Dance Dance Revolution (Video Game)
I started playing DDR last summer. I started off having difficulty playing beginner songs, and now I have difficulty with the expert&challenge level songs. I've improved slowly, and at the same time seen the game improve slowly as well.
The PS2 versions of DDR have added music video backgrounds, freeze arrows, and other nice touches to the game, though nothing has fundamentally changed since the game's inception. The latest versions, however, have many more songs available to choose from. The songs vary in genre, but generally focus on fast moving dance music.
DDR Max 2 receives only 4 stars from me, however. I am very disappointed that we have still not seen butterfly, captain jack, or dam dariram. These three are my favorite songs in the arcade, and it seems konami is holding out on us.
As a footnote, do not consider buying this game without buying a dance pad as well. Playing with your feet and playing with your fingers on a controller come nowhere close to each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Drifting Away....., April 26 2004
By 
Conscience113 (Atlanta Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DDRMax 2: Dance Dance Revolution (Video Game)
Yea, drifting away is wut id call it, cus thats wut im doin! ( that is 1 of the songs) well, this game is great. u can burn up to thousands of calrorires!!! i reccomend this for anyone who cant sit still and play games with no action. this is a higly fun dancing game where you use a mat or controller to stayu with teh beat!!! i dont mean to brag, but i am a DDR champ... this game has 5 modes, begginer( gret 4 well, begginers!) light( an aesy to stick with mode) standard( for people who are more fast-paced) heavy(what i play on- strictly for ddr pros. if u can stay with a beat and hold on to an ultimate combo, well this mode is 4 u.) There are over 65+ songs, and over 100+ minutes of cool and fun dance music!(u do the math). If u r up for a challenge, i highly reccomend Kaemekia or whatever. it is a really cool song that uses the piano, and takes a little while to unlock. u dont start out with many dongs, but as you move ur way up the board, u get tuns. another great song is drifting away( this is what i do when i play!). this song has a pretty easiy to follow beat, and is really fun, i really like most of the videos and songs. songs i dont reccomend are the following: end of the century( easy but stupid), silent hill( easy but really stupid) and also busychild( i cant stnad that song!!!! it is really annoying) who.. i got a little off track there.... well anyway, i reccomend this game for anyone( its kinda hard not to be selfish when it comes around this) so if u have a big family ( like me , one of 8) ull be stressed down by all the people who want to play it!!! ha! well, anyway, this is one great game that anyone can follow( thank you so much ddr max creators, cus these have brot tons of joy into my life!!!!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dance like you want to win again, April 24 2004
By 
Zero (mililani, hi United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DDRMax 2: Dance Dance Revolution (Video Game)
Not nearly as good as the Japanese mixes but DDRMAX2 has something that is acutally an American release exclusive, real music videos. Granted not all songs have the music videos just
Days go by, Dream a dream, In the navey, Take me away,The whistle song but I've always wanted to see a Captain Jack music video so thank you DDRMAX2! Well one of my biggest let downs with DDRMAX2 was how many repeats they had from MAX1 but you can be the judge if there are too many song overlaps
A Little Bit of Ecstasy
AFRONOVA
AM-3P
AM-3P (AM EAST mix)
Bad Routine
BRE�ÍK DOWN!
Burning Heat! (3 Option Mix)
Busy Child
CAN'T STOP FALLIN' IN LOVE
CELEBRATE NITE
CELEBRATE NITE (EURO TRANCE STYLE)
CONGA FEELING
D2R
Days Go By
DESTINY
DIVE (more deep & deeper style)
Do It Right
Do It Right (80's Electro Mix)
Don't Stop! -AMD 2nd MIX-
DREAM A DREAM
DRIFTING AWAY
END OF THE CENTURY
feeling of love
Forever Sunshine
Get Down Tonight
GHOSTS (Vincent De Moor Original Mix)
Groove
Heaven
HYSTERIA
Hysteria 2001
i feel...
I Need You
I Was The One
IN THE NAVY '99 (XXL Disaster Remix)
Jam & Marmalade
Kakumei
Keep On Liftin'
Kind Lady
Kind Lady (interlude)
LET'S GROOVE
LONG TRAIN RUNNIN'
Love at First Sight
LOVIN' YOU (ROB SEARLE CLUB MIX)
MAXX UNLIMITED
more deep (ver 2.1)
PARANOiA (KCET CLEAN MIX)
PUT YOUR FAITH IN ME
Radical Faith
rain of sorrow
Secret Rendez-vous
Silent Hill
SILENT HILL (3rd christmas mix)
SO DEEP (PERFECT SPHERE REMIX)
SP-TRIP MACHINE (JUNGLE MIX)
Spin the Disc
STILL IN MY HEART
SUPER STAR
SUPER STAR (FROM NONSTOP MEGAMIX)
Take Me Away (Into the Night) (radio vocal)
The Shining Polaris
THE WHISTLE SONG (Blow My Whistle Bitch)
think ya better D
Tomorrow Perfume
Try 2 Luv. U
TSUGARU
TWILIGHT ZONE (R-C Extended Club MIX)
VANITY ANGEL
Will I?
Xenon
DDR is becoming increasingly popular so pick up max2 a good dance pad (if i may make a reconmendation stick with name brand stuff and if possible a hard or metal pad I've broken 2 normal ones) and practice hard because being a DDR freak is no longer that bad^^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great place to start for beginners, April 7 2004
By 
TallNerdGuy (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DDRMax 2: Dance Dance Revolution (Video Game)
One month ago, I very little interest in the DDR series. It just didn't appeal to me. But then I got a free demo disk in the mail which had ten or so samples on it, and DDRMax2 was one of them. I decided to try it out, even though I didn't have the dance pad. Well, to make a long story short, I loved it, even with only the regular PS2 controller.
I eventually bought the actual game in a combo pack that included a dance pad as well. I highly recommend that if you are thinking of buying this game, please get a dance pad to accompany it so you may get the full DDR experience. Using just the controller is impossible on the higher difficultly levels. Plus, unless you are going to work out your thumbs, the dance pad is the only way to utilize the Workout mode.
LIke my title suggests, this DDR seems to be in favor of the beginner dancer. There is a Lesson mode to teach those who need a little extra help with their stepping. Another mode is the Edit mode, where players can create custom dance steps to the songs in the game. Other modes are the training mode to practive songs and the regular game mode, which includes a Nonstop mode, which are long sessions of songs with no breaks between them. There is an information screen you can go to which has info on unlocked songs and for when you meet new goals.
The songs featured on this game are great to dance to and are primarily techno, with a little disco thrown in here and there. There are also some songs taken from the older DDR games, so fans of the series can feel right at home here. There are many songs to choose from, and no two songs sound the same. Each song's dance steps can vary depending on which of the four difficulty levels you have set. Also for the very hardcore, there are remixes of some of the songs which feature much harder dance steps, which is called the Challenge difficulty. At first, you may be getting low scores when being graded for your dancing. This happened to me and now I'm doing much better. You're best bet is to start out in Light mode, and only go into Beginner mode if you are having a very hard time. When I typed this review, I was just breaking into Heavy mode.
So rap things up, I highly recommend this game to beginners and old-school fans alike. And please get the dance pad. You'll have more fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prefect for beginners., Feb. 14 2004
This review is from: DDRMax 2: Dance Dance Revolution (Video Game)
Let's get something clear here. I am a total novice where it comes to DDR. I wanted to find a version of DDR that would let me grow from total newbie to super grand boogie master.
If you are like me, and you're a little intimidated by DDR but you really want to play, listen to me. I've looked around, and I can help you.
The version you want to start on is DDRMax2.
Most, if not all, other versions of DDR have three levels of Difficulty. (Light, Medium, Hard) And Light mode isn't really much for beginners.
DDRMax2 has those three settings, but it also has a Beginner mode. The steps Beginner mode are sufficiently simplistic enough that you can just jump into most of the songs right off. You might feel a bit foolish at times, playing in beginner mode, because of the shear amount of time between steps in some of the songs. But it's a good confidence builder and gets you used to watching the arrows fly up and to using your dance pad.
Beginner mode also shows you a kid standing on a dance pad, doing the steps with you. So you if you're unsure about what to do with your feet, there's an example right there.
The best part of this is that, two players can each select their own difficulty. (And many, but not all, of the songs have step sets for different difficulty settings.) So somebody who's very advanced, and somebody who's very inexperienced, can play together without to much hassle.
Going back to the issue of learning how to use your feet, DDRMax2 is also unique, as far as I can tell, in having a "Learning" mode. Now all versions of DDR have a "Training" mode, but that's really more like practice. (That is, you can play the different songs over and over again without being graded. But there's no actual instruction.)
Learning mode actually gives you advice and instruction about what to do with our feet. And as it does this, teaches you a few of the songs in "Light" difficulty.
Most of the hard core DDR fans I know prefer the Japanese version of Max2, or just about any other version of DDR. It's not that they don't like Max2, it's just that they seem to think that the song lists are better in other versions. This is a minor gripe at best and has yet to cause any of my DDR playing friends to not want to play at all. Usually, them mention this fact, and then they get on the pad. :)
I hope you find this helpful. See you on the dance floor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get your revolution to the max!...again!, Feb. 12 2004
By 
"lilgamer03" (You never wanna know, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DDRMax 2: Dance Dance Revolution (Video Game)
Hi, I don't usually write reviews as often as you people do, but anyways back to the game. DDR MAX2 is the super-sequel to DDR MAX1 for the Playstation 2. DDR is formally known as Dance Dance Revolution if you newbies are wondering what that meant. DDR MAX 2 is a great music game because it features over 65 songs with 100+ minutes of abstract/dance music. DDR MAX2 also features some U.S. tracks from Kylie Minogue, The Crystal Method, KC & The Sunshine Band and more. DDR MAX is really popular in Japan because it's publisher, Konami (Metal Gear Solid, Silent Hill)is related to Japanese games. Don't worry about the vocalists, it's in english.
The way DDR MAX2 works is pretty unique. First of all, there is a special dance pad for DDR. Good luck finding it included with the game. I tried, but I had to buy it seperatly. There is 4 arrows (Up, Down, Left, Right) like on the Playstation 2 d-pad. You can get a real workout in this game if you go into Heavy Mode! Or you can be a couch potato pressing the d-pad the lazy way.
DDR MAX 2 has a lot of options. Workout Mode is my favorite because you can lose at least 150 calories. Cut your Bally Total Fitness card, buy a PS2 and ask for DDR MAX2! This game also features a special 2-player option to make the game fair and fun at the same time. DDR MAX 2 also features a Nonstop Mode to keep you dying for water. [Note: Be careful when playing Nonstop Mode].
Anyways, DDR MAX2 is a must-buy music game. Check it out in your local arcades for 75 cents for 4 songs. I would rate it: 5 Stars.
But, i'm still not done. Here is my PROS and CONS of DDR MAX 2:
Pros:
- Over 65 Songs from the U.S. and Japan
- Unique Style of Gameplay
- Fun for the whole family
- Watch music videos while your dancing
- Fast-paced excitement!
Cons:
- 65 songs, still some songs are bad
- You'll kill for thrist really bad
Thanks for reading my review (if you did). If you don't disagree with me, then that's fine. Enjoy DDR MAX 2!
- =^ ^=
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DDRMax 2: Dance Dance Revolution
DDRMax 2: Dance Dance Revolution by KONAMI AMERICA INC. (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: CDN$ 34.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews