march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars331
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 9, 2004
A glowing and impossibly warm sort of magic fills your soul as you listen to Pet Sounds, and amazing beauty seems to envelope you, embrace you. Pet Sounds is the sound of a man baring his soul, a beautiful sound that is fragile and innocent as well as hard and dissilusioned.
Brian Wilson grew up on Pet Sounds, and finally came into the genius for which he is now known. Gone are the endless references to surfing, cars, and superficial love. The lyrics here are deep and powerful, emotional on levels I never knew existed. The oppening song "Wouldn't it be Nice" is an incredibly passionate song of love, in which Wilson yearns for an affair he cannot have, because alas, he is to young. The song gets you caught up in the emotion and serves as a perfect template for the rest of the album.
Every song is also an instantly memorable classic. "Don't Talk (Put Your Head on My Shoulder)" is tuneful and sweet, and has a magestic, lilting, chorus that always brings a smile to my face. "That's Not Me" tells the story of an innocent young man swept up by his hopes and dreams, and his eventual coming of age. "I Know There's An Answer" has an epic chorus line. "Caroline No" is a sweet and tragic story of the end of adolescent innocence and the harshness of the adult world.
But what truly makes Pet Sounds brilliant is the music. Every single song is a veritible symphony, with multitudes of instruments and notes that rise to castles in the sky. The music sets the tone perfectly. It is low and lamentful on the sadder songs, apologetic and hopeful on songs of regret, and uplifting and epic on songs of happiness. The music of Pet Sounds can sweep you up in overwelming emotions and take you on a journy through every passionate feeling there is. It's definatley a ride worth taking.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2004
I was first introduced to Pet Sounds when i bought the album used at a cd store, i had heard all the hype about it, but i always stereotyped it as wierd kind of like a later beatles album. At the time i was not into that kind of music, but damn how that changed as i got older. The first time i listened to this whole cd from start to finish i was like is that it? what is all the hype about. I didnt understand what all the fuss was about. So i buried the cd in my cd rack and didn't even think about it for a few years. As i got older i started getting in relationships and went through hard breakups and even fell in love. During all these changes in my life i decided to polish off the old pet sounds and give it another chance. and BANG, it opened pathways in my mind that i never knew existed. What a beautiful album by Brian Wilson, i couldnt put how beautiful these sounds i was hearing were and i couldn't understand how much sense it made to me now as opposed to a few years earlier.
I soon realized that the music was reflecting my life, and what is so cool is that this music was made in the mid sixties, and almost 40 years later it still have an impact on someones life like the way it did on mine. One song that definitly stands out in my mind is "God Only Knows" I can only hope that someday i have a wife that is also my best friend and i can play this song for them, because i do beleive it is the most beautiful lyrics i have ever heard. And it is so simplistic. "wouldnt it be nice" too is a beautiful dreamy song that im sure we all once experienced about being with someone you just think you could be with forever and you wish you didnt have to wait 8 or so years to finally be in that place. I am so thankful that brian wilson created pet sounds because it has redefined and reshaped my whole perspective on life. if you can tell, this cd is bigger then life for me, i hope this album can do something for you also.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2004
This is a exciting Beach Boys album and this is hailed a rock masterpiece by all the rock critics but they suck but I will recommend it.This album came out in 1966 and even the Beatles said "How are ye gonna top this mates".I give props to Mr.Cranky for his reviews one man with the balls to say what he thinks and everyone is going nuts about it that would be good.
1.Would'nt be nice-This one is a classic 10/10
2.You still believe in me-This one was pretty good 10/10
3.Thats Not me-This one was entertaining 9/10
4.Thats Talk(Put your head on my shoulder)-Great 10/10
5.Im wrating for the Day-This one is pretty good 10/10
6.Go Away for a while-Beautiful instrumental 10/10
7.Sloop John B-This one is another classic 10/10
8.God only Knows-This one was called the best song written 10/10
9.I Know theres Answer-This is short but sweet 10/10
10.Here Today-This one was good. 9/10
11.I just wasn't made for these times-Good 8/10
12.Pet Sounds-Another Instrumental that is great 10/10
13.Carolina No-This is the last official song 10/10 Has Dogs
14.Hold on to your ego-This is a good song 10/10
15-27 Crappy Remastered songs my dad likes I don't.
This album was produced by Brian Wilson but this should have included Good Vibrations but still it is very good album.
Lyrics 10 Production 10 Music 10 Style 10 Voice 10
Overall=50/50 Almost a perfect album still sounds Fresh in 04
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2003
While the overall sound quality of Capitol's new DVD-Audio disc of "The Beach Boys-Pet Sounds" is excellent,and the supplemental photo gallery,videos & on-screen lyric/musician credits options are excellent,remixer Mark Linnet admits in the liner notes that his mix has no center channel content,which is acceptable,given that his resychronzed vocal & instrumental multitrack session tapes give him 6 to 11 tracks to mix from for the album's 11 vocal songs(only 3 or 4 tracks for the album's two instrumental selections).But I'm highly disappointed that there's no subwoofer content,and the front to rear separation is vague.As for the album itself,it's a work of musical genius...but then you already knew that.The 15 minute video documentary is passable,but it recycles mostly already released interviews.The debut of surround & stereo remixes of "Summer Means New Love"(an instrumental from the group's "Summer Days...and Summer Nights" L.P.) is included amongst the bonus tracks.It's impressive,as is a surround sound accapella mix of "I Just Wasn'tMade For These Times".Be sure to play the appropriate side of this two-sided disc.One side is for genuine DVD-Audio/video players.The other side has all the same audio & video program contents,but for DVD-video players without DVD-audio capability.The sound quality difference is real:the uncompressed DVD-Audio has superior resolution & dynamics.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2003
This is a review of the DVD-Audio disc. I assume you love the album and my three stars doesn't reflect the music, but this particular release. First off, to those who complain about the 5.1 mix, please be reminded that this DVD-A contains FOUR mixes: improved mono, improved stereo, 5.1 stereo, and dts (5.1). So if you don't like the surround mix, switch over to the mono or stereo mixes, which sound incredible, significantly better than the early-90s CD-version (I don't know the more recent mono/stereo CD release, so I withhold judgment/comparison.)
I do feel I need to warn those buyers who do not have a DVD Audio Player, like myself. This DVD-A is indeed playable on regular DVD (Video) players. It is dual-sided, one side for DVD Audio machines, the other for DVD Video machines. I can't say that there's a difference here because I don't have a DVD Audio player to test out the other side of this DVD-A. My DVD Video player, however, has trouble playing this disk. I cannot play any song (with the exception of the instrumental-- you'll see why in a minute) without interruptions, short 1/2-second pauses in the song. These occur because (if your TV is on) while the disk plays song lyrics appear on the TV screen. These are in a big enough font to require two screens for each song, and when the DVD player moves from one screen to the other (that is, about half way through the song), my player is simply not fast enough to do this without a short silence in the audio. It's a shame, really.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2003
Brian Wilson envisioned this album as his masterpiece, and he's right. This album showed a side of the Beach Boys we had not yet experienced. Songs from the heart, the tight harmonies, and a beauty that few knew they were capable ofall graced the mono grooves of the original LP. Brian initially intended this album to be released only in mono, so he could have more control over what the listener heard. There was a "Duophonic" fake stereo version, but it sounded just that way. When the original multitrack master tapes were found, the process to create the stereo version was painstaking, but was well worth the effort. Now, those same master tapes allowed for the creation of a new, 4.1 surround version. I say 4.1 because the center channel is not used for the most part. But in the same way the stereo version added new textures to the sound, so does the surround mix. While it may have its critics, the combination of the surround sound and high resolution 24 bit, 96 kHz digital sound makes for a new experience with this fine album. Hats off to the folks at Capitol, and to the engineers who did such a bang-up job of making a great album even better. For those who don't yet have a DVD-Audio player, the DTS track is highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2004
I won't go into the music - it is fantastic. Just some comments to the DVD Audio. First: It will play on any DVD Video player and it has surround sound. However, you have to possess a DVD Audio compatible player if you want to benefit from the high res stereo or surround sound on high end equipment. (On cheap Home Cinema Systems or Stereos, it doesn't make much difference). To my ears, the surround mix leaves something to be desired. On one side it is great to listen to the heavenly harmonies coming from all around you in the living room. On the other side, it sounds - no, it feels - different to the original mono mix of Brian Wilson. Maybe it's just me but this is one LP I rather listen to in its original mono mix than the souped up stereo and surround mix.
Also, it seems as if the DVD Audio format is loosing ground compared to the competing SACD format. But I might be wrong here. If I'm right though, this might become a collector's item one day
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2004
Two essential Beach Boys CD's are out - the "Sounds Of Summer" greatest hits package, the best Beach Boys compilation ever, and the majestic "Pet Sounds", Brian Wilson's masterpiece. Wilson didn't tour while preparing this opus, and used session players with the exception of the vocals. After all, nobody could harmonize better than his own band.
What he delivered was a collection of the most beautiful pop music ever assembled on one album. Studio effects add ambience and a slight touch of the avant garde, but the songs themselves are the true gems.
"Wouldn't It Be Nice" with its impeccable harmonies and melody is one of the greatest songs ever, and Wilson tops that with one of the saddest but gorgeous songs ever with "I Just Wasn't Made For These Times." The whole album is so good that it should go on forever. Reaching the ballad "Caroline, No" is a musical journey that does not last nearly long enough, thus guaranteeing this album's playability for a long long time after buying it.
If another civilization were to ask me to give them one reason why this planet with all its hatred shouldn't be charred to a cinder, I'd play them "Pet Sounds". Maybe they'd let us off the hook for a while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2004
If you've made it to this page, you've probably heard a lot of people tell you about the historical significance of this album and it's influence, etc. But what's overlooked is that the Beach Boys are still the Beach Boys- only they sound even better than they did before. It's not the "left field" classic people seem to think it is, it's just a great bunch of songs everyone should like- because who doesn't like the Beach Boys, at least as a guilty pleasure? I suppose you could sum this up as nothing more than the Beach Boys beginning to realize that there's more to life than surfing, but before the point where the music became as much about drugs as it once was about surfing. The result: the very best of the Beach Boys. It's also a plus to have the mono and stereo versions, because it's difficult to decide which is better- the mono version sounds better at first, but on the stereo version it's nice to hear the sounds in more detail. There's a reason the Rolling Stones took out an ad in a London newspaper telling people to buy "Pet Sounds," and why Paul McCartney still says "God Only Knows" is his favorite song. Even the cheesy intrumentals can't bring the rest of the album down- that's what the skip button was invented for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2004
For those that say they "don't get it". You have to understand at that point in time when this album was released no one had ever tried any of the things that The Beach Boys IE: Brian Wilson tried that was/is "Pet Sounds". I hear a lot of babble from those that "don't it get" that it sounds like bland harmonizing vocals, etc etc. The album is a masterpiece simply because of the daring arrangements. The use of sounds that no one at that time had thought of using in the way that they were used. The drum work. You can hear how Ringo Starr was influenced on Sgt Peppers. You can hear how the use of "samples" IE: the sound of the train at the end of "Caroline NO" was used on Sgt Peppers. Or the beginning of "God Only Knows"... go listen to "Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite" off Sgt Peppers and you will hear where the influence for the beginning of that song started. These are things that make this album special, they were the 1st band to try things like this using those sounds. The arrangements themselves of the songs are just simply brilliant, they can actually be compared to Classical. The brilliance of "Sloop John B" go listen to the ballad of "John & Yoko", or "Ob Li Di Ob Li Da" and you can hear an influence of this song in those songs! The Beach Boys created brilliance. Those who do not get it are not listening or do not understand the history of music. For those who have not heard this album and are wondering if you will enjoy it. All I can tell you is to ask yourself first how much are you into musicology and if you have an open mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items