biss Up to 40% Off CBC's Canada Reads 2016 Shortlist boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars20
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$18.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 14, 2003
With some artists, you just get lucky. I'm talking about those great albums that came across by coincidence or some lost good friend. It was a small act of grace that have me meet this wonderful music. The "Mission"s are a married couple and their best friend, all deeply Christian, writing and singing some gorgeous harmonies over touching folk ballads, many about being married and having children. Either you get the drift of how great this is or you may need to listen to it once, at which point, you'll be converted to their beauty.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2003
While I am a devout Innocence Mission fan and enjoy their latest effort's beautiful, spare folk music that I've come to expect from this gifted band, I have two minor complaints: First, the album, around 35 minutes, is too short. Second, there is a sameness to the music with some exceptions. Having said this, the album is a must-buy, not just for the canvass of mellifluous sounds throughout, but for track 6, which is one of the most distinct, haunting melodies I've ever heard by the Innocence Mission.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2003
I've been a fan of the Innocence Mission since Karen Peris first floated her vocals over a couple of synthesizer riffs on the first album. With Befriended, IM shows that they've really matured as a band without losing what was great about them before -- a unique vocal sound and touching lyrics.
Strangely, I think the album is equally suited to a low-key hipster coctail party and a baby's room. It's just that kind of an album -- soft and real and interesting.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2003
Lately, I have been entranced by 'Befriended', and 'Me Died Blue' by NJ singer/songwriter soundscape creator Steven Delopoulos. Both of these gorgeous releases are living proof that incredible, deep music is still being made. I cannot stop playing them both. My family thinks I have gone off the deep end.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2003
I've been a fan of The Innocence Mission for over a decade, and I think that Karen could sing the phone book and I'd buy it. But this is a beautiful, haunting album. It's intimate and nuanced. Perfect for a chilly Sunday morning or a cold rainy winter day.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2003
This CD should only be puchased by music afficionados who are willing to have their hearts torn open by music that is both incredibly intimate yet transcendant, seemingly simple yet so very complex. Perfect>
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2003
In a world so full of violence, chaos and division The Innocence Mission continue to give us music of such pure joy, tranquility and love it seems almost essential for ones spiritual being.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2003
This album is complete with astonishingly beautiful music that is all composed, arranged and performed in near perfection. An album that will be enjoyed for years.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2003
A few more lakes of light from Lancaster, PA, like a calming late afternoon walk in Elizabethtown. Befriended is a candle burning by your bed, fragile but vivid.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2004
Great music that won't bog you down, but will enlighten your spirit.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse