Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Music for Music Lovers
The saturated music market today is full of bands or singers that have as little substance as a Chuck Norris film. The Innocence Mission defy most modern acts by churning out graceful album after album. Befriended, the seventh edition to the bands catalogue is packed full of wonderous lyrics that will no doubt make even the most cold hearted person feel sentimental...
Published on Dec 3 2003 by smartguy70

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
Being a fan of IM for many years, I was disappointed in their latest effort, BEFRIENDED. The writing is spare - repetitive and morose. The music is draggy and simple. I expected the spiritual uplift that I adored with "You chase the light" and "Wonder of Birds". "Every Hour Here", "Umbrella" and "Joan" were little...
Published on Oct. 2 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Befriending Spirit Itself, Dec 14 2003
By 
Juan Mobili (Valley Cottage, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Befriended (Audio CD)
With some artists, you just get lucky. I'm talking about those great albums that came across by coincidence or some lost good friend. It was a small act of grace that have me meet this wonderful music. The "Mission"s are a married couple and their best friend, all deeply Christian, writing and singing some gorgeous harmonies over touching folk ballads, many about being married and having children. Either you get the drift of how great this is or you may need to listen to it once, at which point, you'll be converted to their beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great music on a short album, Sept. 12 2003
By 
M. JEFFREY MCMAHON "herculodge" (Torrance, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Befriended (Audio CD)
While I am a devout Innocence Mission fan and enjoy their latest effort's beautiful, spare folk music that I've come to expect from this gifted band, I have two minor complaints: First, the album, around 35 minutes, is too short. Second, there is a sameness to the music with some exceptions. Having said this, the album is a must-buy, not just for the canvass of mellifluous sounds throughout, but for track 6, which is one of the most distinct, haunting melodies I've ever heard by the Innocence Mission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars matured and melodic sound, Oct. 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Befriended (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of the Innocence Mission since Karen Peris first floated her vocals over a couple of synthesizer riffs on the first album. With Befriended, IM shows that they've really matured as a band without losing what was great about them before -- a unique vocal sound and touching lyrics.
Strangely, I think the album is equally suited to a low-key hipster coctail party and a baby's room. It's just that kind of an album -- soft and real and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shimmering beauty! Check out 'Me Died Blue' as well., Sept. 24 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Befriended (Audio CD)
Lately, I have been entranced by 'Befriended', and 'Me Died Blue' by NJ singer/songwriter soundscape creator Steven Delopoulos. Both of these gorgeous releases are living proof that incredible, deep music is still being made. I cannot stop playing them both. My family thinks I have gone off the deep end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful album for a cold, rainy day, Nov. 19 2003
By 
Charles B. Miller (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Befriended (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of The Innocence Mission for over a decade, and I think that Karen could sing the phone book and I'd buy it. But this is a beautiful, haunting album. It's intimate and nuanced. Perfect for a chilly Sunday morning or a cold rainy winter day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING, Oct. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Befriended (Audio CD)
This CD should only be puchased by music afficionados who are willing to have their hearts torn open by music that is both incredibly intimate yet transcendant, seemingly simple yet so very complex. Perfect>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gift from the heavens, Dec 4 2003
By 
Paul Ripley (Bloomington, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Befriended (Audio CD)
In a world so full of violence, chaos and division The Innocence Mission continue to give us music of such pure joy, tranquility and love it seems almost essential for ones spiritual being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Revelation, Sept. 18 2003
By 
Robert Bergan (Auburn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Befriended (Audio CD)
This album is complete with astonishingly beautiful music that is all composed, arranged and performed in near perfection. An album that will be enjoyed for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lakes of light, Sept. 5 2003
By 
Christian (State College, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Befriended (Audio CD)
A few more lakes of light from Lancaster, PA, like a calming late afternoon walk in Elizabethtown. Befriended is a candle burning by your bed, fragile but vivid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful, March 26 2004
By 
Gannon Murphy (Edina, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Befriended (Audio CD)
Great music that won't bog you down, but will enlighten your spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Befriended
Befriended by The Innocence Mission (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews