Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Boum!
Beaucoup d'action, coup de feu, explosion, mexique, Antonio Banderas, drogue, vengeance... C'est un bon film d'action à la mexicaine si on veut!
Published 10 months ago by LiLy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It Was Good, But ...
I was disappointed with the ending. Of course, I loved the twist, but the conclusion to the twist wasn't what I was hoping for. But hey, if you enjoy "out on a vendetta" movies as much as I do, you'll enjoy the ride.
Published on July 9 2004 by Christina


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars It was okay, Oct. 6 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was a okay movie for its time. A little far fetched though.. Antonio Banderas is cute but he's no Rambo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boum!, June 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Desperado (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Beaucoup d'action, coup de feu, explosion, mexique, Antonio Banderas, drogue, vengeance... C'est un bon film d'action à la mexicaine si on veut!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 2nd of 3 classic films!, April 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Desperado (Widescreen) (DVD)
the movie came today only after 8 days, always did love this movie, the dvd works well, great sound. more so when you have surround and everything blows up real good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars West Side Story...South of the Border, July 6 2002
By 
Judi Fryer "Judi, Entertainment-glutton" (Nicholasville, KY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
OK, may be the plot isn't relative and the weaponry a little more state-of-the-art, but the choreography.....better!
This violent, shoot-um-up-to-the-max was definitely 'death dancing to it's own rhythm'.
I viewed the Superbit DVD, but never having watched either of the previous two DVDs nor the video, I can't make any comparison. I can say the DTS was awesome. The picture quality was excellent. It doesn't get any better than this, especially since the tiny shrinking cinemaplex theaters have made my surround-sound and 32" TV the theater of choice.
Sex and guns and music from Los Lobos interwoven with campy humor, Antonio being...well Antonio (ladies, need I say more), with great support from the likes of Steve Buscemi (in one of his best roles I think), Cheech Marin, and the sultry Salma Hayek; what more could you want in an action movie. I found this film far superior to and much more enjoyable than 'Dawn To Dusk'.
Now that 'Desperado II - Once Upon A Time in Mexico'is in the works for a 2003 release with the return of Antonio and Salma and the addition of Johnny Depp and Enrique Iglesias, once again under the direction of Robert Rodriguez, we can look foward to finding out just where the loving couple rode off to into the sunset.
Seems I repeatedly say these two things:
I am not your run-of-the mill young western fan - wrong gender, wrong age, but I enjoyed it anyway;
and also reminding those who picked-at the flaws, degraded and jeered at the plot (?), questioned the reality, and just plain didn't get the campiness, to just let yourself go!
Don't take yourself and the movies so seriously. Enjoy the humor. Enjoy Antonio or Salma, whichever one sets your pulse-to-racing. Heck, just enjoy the movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It Was Good, But ..., July 9 2004
By 
Christina (Honolulu, HI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Desperado (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I was disappointed with the ending. Of course, I loved the twist, but the conclusion to the twist wasn't what I was hoping for. But hey, if you enjoy "out on a vendetta" movies as much as I do, you'll enjoy the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT ACTION FILM FOR THE AGES!, May 30 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Desperado (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I am a big fan of the "action" genre and the whole Mariachi Trilogy tops my list.Especially with Desperado my favorite.I showed this film to my friend and they were extreamly impressed.Some people say that this movie's no good because it's too too unreal.This movie wasn't meant to be real it was meant to be fun.Antonio Banderas and Salma Hayek really give this movie a "spice" to the screen.Desperado is filled with bullet-flying action,humor,and a romance.Those who've seen this movie will know what I'm talking about.If you're not into actio movies,or violent movies than Desperado is defenetley not for you.For those who are into action movies and haven't seen this movie yet,SEE IT NOW!I gaurentee you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A stupid movie of violent excess., March 20 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Desperado (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Who cares what it cost or how few people participated? There's no character development, a bunch of ridiculous stereotypes and the jokes are not that funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Man And His Revenge, March 11 2004
By 
T. Lobascio (New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Desperado (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Mariachi saga, created by film director Robert Rodriguez, gets more star power, a bigger budget, and is even crazier than the first installment was. Such is Desperado. Actor Carlos Gallardo, who played the anti-hero in the first film, is replaced by Antonio Banderas. Despite the casting change, his adventures contiue as he treks across west, playing his guitar and righting wrongs.
The no-named Mariachi (Banderas) tracks down the last Mexican drug-lord "Bucho" (Joaquim de Almeida) with the help of his best friend, and book store owner Carolina (Salma Hayek). The Mariachi takes on his entire army of henchmen in a dusty border town as an act of revenge for the murder of his love and his injured musician's hand. Also starring Cheech Marin as Short Bartender, Steve Buscemi, and even includes a "fine performance" from the great actor (Just Kidding Really) Quentin Tarantino.
Desperado is a cross between the spaghetti westerns of Sergio Leone and the action styles of say John Woo or even Tarantino himself. These characters are put in place, acting as tongue in cheek--wink wink--nods to their genre counterparts. It is clear that the film that Rodriguez has made is all in fun. The action and gunplay is well choreagraphed and exciting to watch. Banderas takes over the role and owns it. Hayek sizzles opposite Banderas and they are great together here As usual though, Buscemi, almost steals the show with his unique style of delivery.
The Special Edition DVD version of Desperado boasts another great audio commentary from Rodriguez. The track is lively and informative--but in a relaxed way. The featurette "10 More Minutes with Robert Rodriguez: Anatomy of a Shootout" takes a fun look at how these sequences in the movie get put together. The Exclusive First Look at "Once Upon a Time in Mexico" is fine as a pre release commercial--that's what it is--but since the film is also out now, strictly as a fan, I could have done without that extra (this feature is also on the El Mariachi disc). The theatrical trailer rounds out the bonus material on the DVD.
Desperado will both blow you away and delight you if you like this sort of film. Have fun with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very entertaining action film, March 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Desperado (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is a very good film. A guitar player called El Mariachi (Antonio Banderas) is searching for justice against a man named Bucho (Joaquim De Almeida) who murdered his girlfriend. He tracks him to a small Mexican town with the help of "His Only Friend" (Steve Buscemi). There he teams up with a book store owner named Carolina (Salma Hayek) who wants Bucho dead just as much as El Mariachi. The film just gets better and better with great action and good supporting roles from Cheech Marin as a sleazy bar-tender and Quentin Tarantino as "The Pickup Guy". Directed by Robert Rodriguez.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the single coolest movie in existance., March 4 2004
By 
This review is from: Desperado (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Without a doubt, Desperado is the coolest movie there is. It has everything: style, substance, great characters, amazing soundtrack, and not a single boring part in the movie. There are no sissy "dramatic" moments where there's a long period of silence, there are no confusing back-stories, there are no moments of great character development. No. This is a flat out, pure action-fest.
I'm sure you know the story by now, but if not: the movie revolves around the main character- El Mariachi. He's out for revenge against the men who killed his love from the first film. Once he arrives in town, it's non-stop action from there. Not a single scene drags on. More or less, it's a fun action film about people getting shot up, but it's not done over-the-top like some films released that year were. Robert Rodriguez is an incredible guy for getting this movie done in such little time, wich a sickeningly small crew. All the characters are well done and memorable. From Cheech Marin as the bartender, to the thug aptly named "Shrug" (since he gives at least two shrugs in each scene he's in).
And my god, you're never going to look at guitar cases the same way.
The sound quality is excellent here, though I'm sure it's better on the Super Bit version. The visual quality was (on a scale of one to ten) probably an 8 or so. You can see some grain and "jaggies" in some scenes, but if you're looking for that, then you're watching the movie the wrong way. If you want a movie to show off your 53207" flat screen HD tv and 5.1 DTS whatever they're called sound system(s), then get the Super Bit version. Desperado's full of explosions and gun shots.
The special features could've been better, but what we get are pretty nice. The commentary is by Robert (no other cast/crew members) and he really gives a good insight as to how the movie was made and how he used the same two guys for all the stunts: Hank and Troy. That helped him save money big time. He then goes on to say that if anyone didn't have more than 2 jobs in the entire movie, they really didn't need them. I thought that was funny since it's pretty much true. Watch the ending credits and you'll see for yourself- there aren't that many people. A fun fact that he mentions was that the machine gun and rocket launcher guitar cases were real, and fully functional. I found that hilarious. And he's not full of himself either about how the movie was made for seven million dollars either. Robert's a genuine cool guy, and a lot of directors could learn a lot for him. He doesn't talk much about what goes on the movie- the commentary's mostly a lesson in film making, but I still found it cool.
Robert does mention quite a few scenes that were cut and deleted, but none of them show up for some reason. One involved El using the crotch gun (seen in From Dusk Till Dawn) during the first bar shoot out. It would've been nice to see some of them, even if they would've made the movie drag on in places. We also get a feature on the 10 minute bar shoot out which is pretty cool. It shows how they went through the scene without many story boards, and got it done without any real trouble. Then there's the Once Upon A Time In Mexico sneak peek, which isn't anything special since that movie's out now. The actor bios are your standard dvd feature, but pretty up-to-date.
Overall, I give the movie a perfect 5 stars, but the dvd 4.25. Let's hope that a big box set of all three films gets made soon, with everything that we didn't get here. Buy Desperado for a fun experience, you'll be wanting more. Just don't expect Once Upon A Time In Mexico to be anywhere near as good as this one. Thanks Robert, you kick Ewok-ass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0349750)

This product

Desperado (Special Edition) (Bilingual)
Desperado (Special Edition) (Bilingual) by Robert Rodriguez (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 16.95 CDN$ 6.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews