Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth The Upgrade
Since anyone considering buying this probably knows what a great album it is, I am writing this simply to address the Hybrid SACD version of "Blue Train." This is one of those albums that I, personally, have spent the money to upgrade 3 times (it's THAT good).
While I can't speak for the recent RVG Series re-issue, I can say that this version sounds considerably...
Published on Dec 31 2003 by Thomas Shea

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars This Train Left the Station a Little Early
Unless you're a John Coltane fanatic/collector, you'll miss nothing of importance by not passing on this really quite pedestrian blowing session. The lineup seems impressive enough at first glance, but the session wound up as a perfunctory-sounding changes run by all involved - - aside from John's solo on 'Moment's Notice,' there really isn't any magic here. Jay Jay...
Published on Aug. 13 1998


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth The Upgrade, Dec 31 2003
By 
Thomas Shea (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Train (Audio CD)
Since anyone considering buying this probably knows what a great album it is, I am writing this simply to address the Hybrid SACD version of "Blue Train." This is one of those albums that I, personally, have spent the money to upgrade 3 times (it's THAT good).
While I can't speak for the recent RVG Series re-issue, I can say that this version sounds considerably better than the 1996 re-issue, "The Ultimate Blue Train" - bass is richer, drums crisper and over-all live feel of the recording is unprecendented. If are considering buying the RVG remaster, why not spend a few dollars more and get this Hybrid SACD since it plays in both Super Audio and regulars CD players. It is worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A sensational jam session., Feb. 22 2004
By 
Tom W.C Oppenheim (Victoria, Australia.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blue Train (Audio CD)
For me, the recordings Coltrane made between 1957 and 1959 were his greatest of his entire two decade career. Milestones, Kind of Blue and Blue Train all showcase Coltrane at his best. Unlike the two recordings he made with the Miles Davis Sextet, this music is more easy listening and for that reason offers the perfect introduction to John Coltrane. Coltrane plays with fire on a wonderfully exciting blues journey, Blue Train; his solo being perfectly complemented by an equally exciting solo by trumpeter Lee Morgan. This piece is one of the most famous of all Coltrane recordings and rightly so. The recording captures the freedom and ambience of a true jam session sound. My personal favourite, however, is the only cover track on the album, I'm Old Fashioned. Here, Coltrane showcases, what for me, is the highlight on any John Coltrane solo - his sound. Coltrane had one of the most sublime saxophone sounds in the history of jazz, for me, second only to Charlie Parker. On this track, Coltrane bares his sound for all to hear, free of the intense technical displays which tend to obscure it. Like many other Coltrane ballad interpretations, he plays the pure melody, with slight augmentations, but always with simplicity and honesty. John Coltrane truly had one the most individual and beautiful sounds of all time and it is truly exemplified on, this, his most accessible of all recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Trane, Oct. 19 2003
By 
Samuel Chell (Kenosha,, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Train (Audio CD)
The rating, of course, is relative. Practically any recording by Coltrane before 1966 deserves five stars, but "Blue Trane's" singular importance, it strikes me, has been exaggerated. National Public Radio lists it in its "Basic Jazz Library" but omits "Giant Steps," the recording that changed the harmonic language of jazz.
"Blue Trane" is one of many Van Gelder-engineered sessions featuring Coltrane's tenor in the 1950's. Besides the Miles Quintet dates on Prestige there's sterling work by Trane on sessions with Kenny Burrell, Ray Draper, and Hank Mobley, to name a few.. "Blue Trane" is certainly an exemplary session, one moreover than inspires both Morgan and Fuller to reach new heights (though Fuller falters a bit on "Old Fashioned." One wishes J.J. Johnson, especially after his superb Blue Note session with Rollins, had recorded with Coltrane).
The problem with the session, compared to the Miles Quintet recordings, is simply that Trane has to give up solo space to an additional horn (if a sixth horn is to be added to the ensemble, it may as well be Cannonball Adderly's). Also, opinions will vary, but an undeniable sameness attaches itself to the familiar, up-close, "Van Gelder sound." Unless you're a Coltrane collector, the better bets from this period are the Columbia recordings, especially "Round Midnight" and "Kind of Blue." They capture superlative and stunning solos by Coltrane within the context of cutting-edge ensembles and three-dimensional sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My All-time Favorite Coltrane, Oct. 15 2003
By 
This review is from: Ultimate Blue Train (Audio CD)
This album (CD) is without a doubt my favorite all-time Coltrane work. I can't seem to get enough. The greatest Coltrane song ever written - "Blue Train" - is on this CD. This song has been featured in several movies (e.g. 'Singles')and has a style and rhythm that is like no other jazz song in the history of jazz music. In fact, 'Blue Train' is the consummate jazz song.
What's even greater than the above is the fact that every remaining song on this CD follows suit. 'Moment's Notice' has a nice friendly flow to it, and Curtis Fuller has some great trombone work on this song. Other songs like 'Locomotion' -which gives a locomotion feel to it - and 'I'm Old Fashion'- a lazy, flowing romantic melodious tune which draws the listener into the music - are also great additions. In fact, there's not a bad song on this CD. I Love this CD.
If you are a big fan of Coltrane's, a big fan of jazz music or just someone who would like to get introduced to Coltrane - this is the best album to begin your journey through the land of Coltrane (where many other great CDs exist). I highly recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Coltrane's most satisfying recordings, Oct. 15 2003
By 
Joost Daalder "Joost Daalder" (South Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Blue Train (Audio CD)
This is not quite as startlingly 'original' a Coltrane recording, perhaps, as some of the later ones which many, myself included, see as probably ultimately more 'important' or 'innovative'. But is that the way we should look at things? Here, Coltrane is already masterly, and with a clear discipline that is often more inviting and accessible than his more difficult and yet brilliant music still to come. Moreover, he wrote some great themes for this album, not the least of them 'Blue Train' itself, which is both hauntingly blue and Trane indeed, and exciting in each of the versions presented on this CD. But ALL the tracks offered are good. The sound is superb. The other musicians are also very, very good, with Lee Morgan and Curtis Fuller excellent on trumpet and trombone, and a hard-driving but richly varied performance by the "rhythm" section. In some ways the thematic material is perhaps more revolutionary (listen for some things not unlike those subsequently found in 'Kind of Blue') than the solos, but those are nevertheless uniformly great and super-duper listening, sometimes more in a funky Horace Silver/Jazz Messengers mode. A good record to own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Greatest Jazz Albums of All-Time, Sept. 24 2003
This review is from: Ultimate Blue Train (Audio CD)
This was the first jazz album that I have ever bought and the first of 15 Coltrane albums. I am no expert when it comes to the techniques or even the jargon of jazz, but I can relay what my ears have heard: this is some of the greatest music I have ever heard!
This is the only *true* jazz album that Coltrane did for the legendary jazz label, Blue Note. The story goes like this: Coltrane was not signed to a label at the time (late 1956 to early 1957) and went to see legendary Blue Note producer, Alfred Lion, for some Sidney Bechet albums. They talked about a record deal but the guy who handled that had already left for the day. However, Lion gave Coltrane the albums and a little advance and Coltrane said that he would return in a couple of days. But he never did and later signed with the Prestige label (the first of 3 labels that Coltrane recorded for as a main performer); he remembered later the talk with Lion and insisted that he cut one album for Blue Note, thus "Blue Train". Whether that is the way it really happened is debateable, but it makes for a good story!
Getting to the music: the personnel is outstanding as it is headed by Coltrane on tenor sax, the brilliant Lee Morgan on trumpet, the sublime Curtis Fuller on trombone, pianist Kenny Drew, and the Miles Davis rhythm section (who Coltrane was a part of at that time)of Paul Chambers on bass (who I think is the greatest jazz bassist of all-time) and Philly Joe Jones on drums. The first 2 numbers, "Blue Train" and "Moment's Notice" have become jazz standards and the version of the old standard, "I'm Old Fashioned" is outstanding. The rest of the album is excellent and there are even 2 bonus tracks in alternate versions of "Blue Train" and "Lazy Bird". If you have a MacIntosh Computer, you can even see an interview of Coltrane from this CD!
There are several versions of "Blue Train" out there including a recent release of a Rudy Van Gelder series. Don't waste your money on that version or any others; this is the version of "Blue Train" to buy. Also, if you are afraid that you have to be a Coltrane diehard or a free jazz fan, don't. This album is an excellent introduction to not only a great artist who had a tragic short career, yet brilliant one as well as jazz in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An hour of perfect music, and video as a bonus..., Aug. 10 2003
By 
William E. Adams (Midland, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Blue Train (Audio CD)
If you want the Blue Train album, and you have a computer available, it is worth it to get "Ultimate" and spend 30-40 minutes watching and listening to the enhancements. There is a video clip of Trane playing "So What" with Miles Davis (from a black and white TV special around 1959) and a wonderful segment on Rudy Van Gelder. He's the engineer par excellance who was first an optometrist. He began recording jazz artists almost accidentally in the living room of his parents' house in Hackensack, NJ. That success led to getting a separate studio built in nearby Englewood Cliffs and to the abandoning of RVG's day job with eye exams. There are also interviews with six or seven men who played with Coltrane on various projects, and some audio clips from '50's albums in which Trane was not the leader. You can even listen to the music on this CD through your computer speakers if you wish. Read six or seven of the other reviews which describe the tunes and the playing in detail, then buy this. Along with "Kind of Blue" and a handful of other classic recordings, "Blue Train" is the cream of '50's jazz. Seeing and hearing the added features via computer, even just once, will help you understand why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Too Many Blue Trains, Aug. 7 2003
By 
Michael B. Richman (Portland, Maine USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Train (Audio CD)
Wait a minute, I already own "The Ultimate Blue Train" so what is this CD supposed to be, Super-Ultimate?! Clearly with this reissue of John Coltrane's classic "Blue Train," the folks at Blue Note have returned to the mindset they had during the deletion-happy, series-slashing days of the late 1980s (when they reportedly deleted the majority of that year's jazz releases to make way for a then new Garth Brooks album). I am delighted that Rudy Van Gelder has been able to remaster one of the greatest sessions that he ever recorded, but that fact alone does not warrant another reissue. "The Ultimate Blue Train" was worth buying to replace the original CD -- it had remastered sound, two bonus tracks, and a multi-media component featuring rare photographs and more. It was what CDs were supposed to be! Yet another CD reissue of the same material that we all are supposed to buy again, that furthermore confuses potential new jazz buyers, is not! The only reason I give this CD four stars and not less is because this album contains some of the greatest jazz ever made. I love John Coltrane, but I hate manipulative marketing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best from the 50s, Feb. 3 2003
By 
MurrayTheCat (upstate New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ultimate Blue Train (Audio CD)
John Coltrane was a monster of the tenor sax as early as 1955, when he first joined Miles Davis' band. An overachiever, Coltrane had a relentless and unvarying passion for practice, for improving his skills as an artist. As he progressed through his quite legendary career, he never ceased to amaze.
BLUE TRAIN (1957) is a classic; an album often heralded as one of the greatest records of the 1950s by fans and jazz educators alike. It gives the listener a very clear view of what made these musicians so great. You will notice things like Coltrane's (and pianist Kenny Drew's) tasteful and masterful usage of the blues scale in the chant-like title cut. Many musicians have the tendency to drive that scale into the ground when playing the blues. Not so here: these guys were well beyond that sort of thing. On Jerome Kern's "I'm Old Fashioned," you will hear Coltrane's (or was it Kenny Drew's?) ascending-stepwise reharmonization. The Lee Morgan and Curtis Fuller solos on "Locomotion" are a delight, but that's true of the entire album.
It is well known that the Coltrane composition "Giant Steps" (released in 1959) is a bear to play, to improvise on the changes. But, even here, Coltrane was writing tunes that could shake a few people up. "Moment's Notice" is one such tune. It has an ABAC structure (8 bars, 8 bars, 8 bars, 14 bars: a total of 38 bars for one time through)--hard enough to follow--along with a barrage of formidable chord changes. Some say the song got its name when Curtis Fuller asked, "You expect me to play these changes at a moment's notice?"
BLUE TRAIN is certainly deserving of being hailed as a "classic," a term grossly overused these days. Imagination or creativity doesn't always come in the form of extreme busyness, and if you give this album your full attention, it will offer riches galore. There is good reason why BLUE TRAIN is listed on many a jazz educator's essential recordings list: It IS essential. (Seeing that this reissue gives you all the bonus extras for just a few bucks more, I can't see going for the earlier one.)
Cheers,
Murray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Blue Train" - a Classic Remastered., Jan. 21 2003
By 
This review is from: Ultimate Blue Train (Audio CD)
Is "Blue Train" my favorite John Coltrane album? No, it isn't. Is it still a classic? You bet. Here is a record that captures the essence of cool and exudes style and grace so effortlessly, the music almost seems to float on air. John and his band give nothing less than 100% throughout this album, and their superb playing helped shape up what is now known as probably the most familiar jazz record that isn't performed by Miles Davis. It's been a while since I've listened to this album, but having recently gotten the newly packaged edition, I've reintroduced myself to a "Blue Train" that actually improves over the original recording. For one, the remastered version presents the album the way it was meant to be heard: clean and crisp. The incredible title track and "Locomotion" benefit most from the remastering, and Coltrane's sax playing is even more commanding this time around. Also, we get alternative versions of 2 tracks: the better of the two is "Blue Train." On this version, Coltrane's playing differs quite significantly, but it works just as well. In addition, the disc has an enhanced portion for your PC where you can listen to retrospective interviews from engineer Rudy Van Gelder, as well as a brief black-and-white video where Coltrane is performing with Miles Davis onstage. So if you're new to Coltrane and are unsure which version of "Blue Train" to get, this baby is the one to pick up. The remastering provides a better sound, you get two bonus tracks, and there's a decent handful of extras to view/listen on your computer. "Blue Train" still holds up as a classic, and its remastering and repackaging are well deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Train
Blue Train by John Coltrane (Audio CD - 2003)
Click for more info
In stock on September 23, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews