Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!
I was - to put it mildly - delighted to receive this as a Christmas present, being a massive fan of the show. Even though I'd seen the episodes featured, they are so packed with jokes and layers of humour that you'll probably miss something the first time and notice it the next. The makers are absolute geniuses and they always deliver! Long Live The Simpsons, it'd be once...
Published on Nov. 24 2007 by Chris

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Very Christmas-y
Fox really should have planned this DVD better. The first episode on it, the ancient 'Simpsons Roasting Over An Open Fire', is already on the Season 1 box set so why would we want it on this? 'Mr Plow' will be on the Season 4 set and really has nothing to do with Christmas aside from the fact that there is snow in the background. 'Miracle on Evergreen Terrace' is a good...
Published on Nov. 23 2003 by Inspector Gadget


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Ehhhhhhks-celent (Mostly), Dec 11 2003
By 
C. T. Mikesell (near Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simpsons: Christmas (DVD)
This is a solid collection of Simpsons Christmas episodes. Although "Mr. Plow" isn't technically a Christmas episode it does demonstrate what Jesus would do if He had tricked His best friend and rival snow-plower into taking an impossible and life-threatening job. The other four episodes are all straight-up holiday classics. However, while the Mr. Burns "featurette" is amusing, it falls short of being fantastic.
While some episodes may be available in other collections, there's no disk swapping or hunting for the one you want involved with this DVD. There is a significant delay when accessing the various options on the navigational menus, which is unfortunate because delayed gratification and Christmas don't go together too well these days.
Still, it's Our Favorite Family that we've come to spend the holidays with, and that means putting up with minor quirks and idiosyncrasies. Because whether it's Homer in or out of a Santa suit strangling the boy, or Maggie trying to trick Lisa back into the spirit of the season with a candy cane, or Bart drinking a dozen glasses of water to make sure he gets to the Christmas tree - and gifts - first, or turning the Venetian blinds so Grandpa can't see in the house, or Marge telling Homer to leave the Mr. Plow jacket *on*, these are the memories that will warm our hearts for Christmases to come. As long as you have this DVD, that is.
Now somebody pass me a bloody spearhead cookie, please.
Mmmmmmm, spearhead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea , poorly executed, Nov. 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Simpsons: Christmas (DVD)
This disc was a good idea but poorly executed. I seem to remember a simpsons christmas episode where bart burns all the presents. That was a good episode and wasn't on the disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome for those of us without Fox/Sky, Nov. 19 2003
This review is from: The Simpsons: Christmas (DVD)
I am quite prepared to admit that it is annoying Fox leave such a long time between season sets, and so it is actually a good thing to have this. All the episodes are classics, especially the two newer ones (Grift of the Magi, She of Little Faith), and for those of us in the UK without Sky it is VERY WELCOME to get some episodes from beyond year 10. This is probably true in most other countries apart from the USA. The episodes themselves are great, it's nice to see them without breaks, aerial problens etc., so unless you have Fox, Sky or equivalent, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Is it worth it?, Oct. 19 2003
This review is from: The Simpsons: Christmas (DVD)
For $13.50 you get 5 episodes - one of which (the first Xmas special) is already on the Season One DVD and another (Mr Plow) which will be on Season Four (whenever they release it). Marge Be Not Proud (Bart gets busted for shoplifting at x-mas) was left off for whatever reason. The only special feature is a Mr Burns featurette. It's much like the Kodos and Kang featurette on the Treehouse of Horrors dvd - nothing special by any means. I also found the response time on the menu screen annoyingly slow as it is on the THoH dvd.
But it is only $13.50. If you just like to enjoy Simpsons episodes on dvd in all their uncut splendor and clarity then it's a good cheap temporary fix while we wait for Season 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Episodes, But We Want More!, Oct. 5 2003
This review is from: The Simpsons: Christmas (DVD)
One reviewer wrote, "I salute the idea of a special Christmas DVD. Bet next year a volume two comes out." I also salute the idea of a special Winter-themed DVD, but I *hate* getting a DVD with only five episodes on it, crossing my fingers that maybe they'll release a "volume 2" at some point! Come on, folks, what the heck are we waiting for? I'm not getting any younger, you know.
This set gets five stars because I love the Simpsons, and yes, Mr. Plow is one of the Best. Episodes. Ever. But still, that episode will be out when season 4 comes out. Are we really going to have to wait another year for season 4? This is a really sneaky way to extract even more dollars from us, Fox Home Entertainment. I wonder how many sales you're losing due to making consumers angry...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Please view the disk before reviewing it., Oct. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Simpsons: Christmas (DVD)
I have the disk bought it September 30th. The reviews I read so far are from those who have not viewed the dvd and those folks don't even have the dvd features correctly. People please wait til you have an item in hand before reviewing it.
Here's the line-up:
Simpsons Roasting on an Open Fire
Mr Plow
Miracle on Evergreen Terrace
grift of the Magi
She of Little Faith
Mr Burns Finest Moments Featurette
I viewed half of it so far.
You get 5 episodes and 1 special featurette. You get Christmas (or snow) related episodes all on one disk. These people who are writing think that everyone is going to go out and purchase each seasons box sets at $40 each. Hello people?!?!? I for one am glad that Fox has put out single disks with episodes on it. And most of these episodes have not been released yet on DVD.
I salute the idea of a special Christmas DVD. Bet next year a volume two comes out. Getting all these episodes for such a low price was a great deal. And one of my favorite Simpsons episodes, Mr Plow, is included. My only gripe is that the Mr Burns featurette is only 3 minutes 20 seconds long. If you are thinking of buying this dvd for the featurette don't.
Highly recommend for everyone except maybe those that will buy every Simpson box set that Fox puts out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nice try, FOX, Sept. 25 2003
This review is from: The Simpsons: Christmas (DVD)
Obviously, FOX takes their sweet time between the releases of DVD box sets - and The Simpsons has been no excpetion to this rule. FOX obviously released this set to make a quick buck between box sets. This is terrible, because the time spent to make this DVD could've been better used on the box sets themselves. To make things worse, this only has FOUR episodes! And besides, WHY BOTHER WITH THIS IF THESE EPISODES WILL EVENTUALLY BE IN SEASON BOX SETS ANYWAY? And if FOX has these episodes on DVD NOW, what's taking so long with the box sets?
FINAL VERDICT: DON'T BUY THIS - ONLY BUY THE SEASON BOX SETS! Show FOX what you really want. The only reason I gave this two stars instead of just one is the fact that it's a Simpsons item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stink, Stank, Stunk! (Unless You Like Your DVDs Cheap), Sept. 24 2003
By 
Mike Smith (Tonkawa, Oklahoma United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simpsons: Christmas (DVD)
Okay, we already have one Simpsons Christmas episode on DVD ("Simpsons Roasting On A Open Fire" on the Season One Box Set, commentaries and all), but, if this is like the Treehouse Of Horror DVD (Christmas episodes never before released on DVD, as well as little or no bonuses), then we'll be happy to kill time until the box sets come out.
The Christmas episodes that they concerning putting out (Other than the first one):
Marge Be Not Proud (Season 7)
Miracle On Evergreen Terrace (Season 9)
Grift Of The Magi (Season 11)
Skinner's Sense Of Snow (Season 12)
She Of Little Faith (Season 13)
Let us hope they put out all of those there!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simpsons: Christmas
The Simpsons: Christmas by Dan Castellaneta (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews