Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant pop record
When the Bangles reunited to record this album, I had huge expectations. They were one of the best bands from the 80's, although they broke up way too soon to leave a lasting impression on the wide public. Would they be able to make a solid album after all these years ?

"Doll Revolution" is good from top to bottom. There are 15 songs here, so for once it's...
Published on Jan. 4 2008 by Louis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "Oh my love/You say this is the end..."
I quote the first line from "Between the Two", the fourteenth track off the Bangles' latest album Doll Revolution, because I'm wondering if this is going to be their last album. It's been 15 years since they recorded an album together, and when I looked at the liner notes -- actually, there really aren't any, which makes you wonder if they just rushed into the studio to...
Published on June 1 2004 by Anthony Rupert


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant pop record, Jan. 4 2008
By 
Louis (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doll Revolution (W/Bonus Dvd 1 (Audio CD)
When the Bangles reunited to record this album, I had huge expectations. They were one of the best bands from the 80's, although they broke up way too soon to leave a lasting impression on the wide public. Would they be able to make a solid album after all these years ?

"Doll Revolution" is good from top to bottom. There are 15 songs here, so for once it's really all Bangles, meaning that each of the four members get many songs to prove their respective abilities. Michael Steele, the band's most underrated asset, once again proves that she is the best musician and songwriter of this band; her "Song For A Good Son" is a masterpiece, with its striking visual references and feelings of regrets and alienation, and her rocking "Between The Two" is so great that you can only wish there'd been more on the album. Susanna Hoffs is as great as ever, and her voice has gained a rougher, raspier edge over the years; ballads like "I Will Take Care Of You" and the debut single "Something That You Said" show the full range of her exquisite and expressive voice. Debbi Peterson also leaves a deeper impression than on the band's 80's albums; "Lost At Sea" is a high point of the album, and "Ask Me No Questions" proves that Susanna Hoffs isn't the only Bangle able to carry a ballad. Vicki Peterson's songs are the only minor disappointments of the album; songs like "Mixed Messages" and "Single By Choice" lack the tough in-your-face attitude of past songs like "Angels Don't Fall In Love" and "All About You" - but they are still great, just not as strong as her bandmates' efforts. I particularly like her "Stealing Rosemary", so original and catchy. And what can I say about "Ride The Ride", which they all sing together ? It's the album's best song, and should be released as a single as soon as possible. It's that good !

All in all, this is an album like they don't make 'em anymore. Honest production, catchy songs, expressive vocals, trademark harmonies, down-to-earth arrangements, great musicianship. What more can you ask ?

As for the bonus DVD, it's quite okay but not great. It's a nice addition, but for die-hard fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond "Everything" . . ., June 26 2004
This review is from: Doll Revolution (W/Bonus Dvd 1 (Audio CD)
It doesn't seem like fifteen years have passed between Everything, the Bangles last studio album, and Doll Revolution, the reunion release from the all female pop quartet. Those who remember where the group left off, will find that the band has resumed very close to that point, playing the same light, melodic mid-tempo rock, with a tinge of 60's flavor. The band is back stronger than ever with poignant songwriting, and the trademark background vocal harmonies that thicken the mix with their sweetness.
The years have naturally brought maturity and introspection to the songwriting, but the music retains a mostly positive vibe. As before there is balance, with the vocal duties divided between the band's members. Also as before, the singles feature the luscious voice of Susanna Hoffs. Something That You Said is a touching musical gem, with a breathy vocal that is Susanna at her best. Changing pace, she leads the band as they rip and tear into Doll Revolution, showing that these ladies can still rock. Her gentle ballad, I Will Take Care of You, with its light accompaniment and orchestral backing, is reminiscent of the group's last #1 hit, Eternal Flame.
While Hoff's voice may strike the most familiar chord with those who remember the Bangles only for their hits, she is just one of four gifted voices in this remarkable band. The wealth of talent results in great diversity and range in the music. Stealing Rosemary, sung by guitarist Vicki Peterson, is simply one of the best Bangles songs ever. Drummer Debbi Peterson's Here Right Now, with its groovy beat, optimistic message, and catchy chorus, is destined to become a classic. Ride the Ride is a bouncy rocker that just elevates your spirits. Vicki's anthem Single By Choice, is a song that reverberates, and resonates its message. And she scores again with The Rain Song, a moving tune about triggered memories.
Michael Steele steps up big time, adding some darker flavors and intriguing lyrics with her contributions. The melancholy Song for a Good Son, tells a fascinating and ambiguous tale of death and destiny. The hypnotically captivating Nickel Romeo, draws you in to get a glimpse of a man who habitually uses women. Despite not being a great guy, you'll still probably find yourself singing "Hey Mister ...Nickel Romeo". The production is reminiscent of George Martin's, with an eastern flavor. Parting can be rough sometimes, and Between the Two chronicles one such instance, covering again the theme of coping and overcoming.
If you liked Everything, you will love the diversity of Doll Revolution. Dedicated to "George" (Harrison), it is quite simply the best thing the Bangles have ever done. Many years removed, the band has continued along the same musical direction, showing both growth and maturity. The melodies, the harmonies, the emotion, and the beat, are all there. The Bangles are now seasoned veterans who can still connect with their audience, make them warm and comfortable, and bring a tear to the eye. "There's no place better than here right now", and it's wonderful to have them back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "Oh my love/You say this is the end...", June 1 2004
This review is from: Doll Revolution (W/Bonus Dvd 1 (Audio CD)
I quote the first line from "Between the Two", the fourteenth track off the Bangles' latest album Doll Revolution, because I'm wondering if this is going to be their last album. It's been 15 years since they recorded an album together, and when I looked at the liner notes -- actually, there really aren't any, which makes you wonder if they just rushed into the studio to put this album out. Also, this album is on Koch Records, and Koch seems to be the place where everyone eventually ends up -- well, either there or TVT.
All the other three-star reviews for this album are pretty accurate, and each person seems to have a different opinion of which song(s) stands out. To me, the best song on here is the song they have out now, "Something That You Said" (its video also appears on the bonus DVD). And "Mixed Messages" is pretty catchy despite the lyrical shortcomings. But the rest of the songs aren't that great.
A lot of these songs really could have been written better. At times the lyrics go from lazy ("Ride the Ride", "Ask Me No Questions") to crazy (Elvis Costello's "Tear Off Your Own Head"). "Grateful" is tolerable, but it's the kind of song you'd expect to hear from them when they were still in their teens, not in their forties. And sorry, but the ballad "I Will Take Care of You" sounds like a watered-down version of "Eternal Flame".
People say a lot of the songs on here sound better live than they do on the album, and if that's the case, then you should just see them in concert. Or else if you're still feeling nostalgic about the Bangles, then just pull out their '80s albums or their Greatest Hits package. The ladies can still play and sing, but I wouldn't really call Doll Revolution a revolutionary album.
Anthony Rupert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars In line with the their other albums, May 28 2004
By 
S. Smith "metal forever" (Sanford, ME United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doll Revolution (W/Bonus Dvd 1 (Audio CD)
I certainly think the Bangles are talented, but I never believed they could make a complete, start-to-finish, solid album like the Go-Go's and other bands could. The good songs are great, and the not-so good ones are forgettable. I think this has been true on all their albums. So the high-points? The songs Doll Revolution, Single By Choice, and Mixed Messages are great. So, that's 3 songs out of 15...you decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars what could have been great, April 27 2004
By 
Mark McLaughlin "pop culture junkie" (Deerfield Beach, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doll Revolution (W/Bonus Dvd 1 (Audio CD)
instead seems uninspired in parts. if these ladies had kept it together instead of doing this whole thing this band would have been amazing. Too bad people have personalities and stuff that interfere with what's important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jangle-y, Bangle-y perfection!, April 6 2004
By 
Eric J. Anderson (Ankeny, Iowa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doll Revolution (W/Bonus Dvd 1 (Audio CD)
Al Stewart (had a big radio hit with the song Year of the Cat) said recently that he still has a great fondness for "jangle-y bands" -- guitar-based good time pop music that rocks, but not too hard. What the Bangles have produced on Doll Revolution is a classic of the jangle-y genre.
When a band takes a break of over a decade and then re-forms for a new project, there is always justifiable worry that the old magic can't be captured again. The Bangles proved an exception to the rule by producing the strongest work of their career on this long-awaited new album. Granted, not every tune on Doll Revolution is a solid gold gem, but there are at least ten well-turned songs on this record, which is about the most anyone can reasonably ask.
If you liked the old Bangles, there is no reason you shouldn't be happy with the new Bangles. They can still rock, and sing beautifully produced and sincere love songs. If anything, their harmonies are sweeter and more perfect than ever. The recording does not have state-of-the-art clarity, which is a bit of a disappointment, but the fidelity is at least equivalent to their previous records from the eighties.
There is one sour note, not in the music, but in the fact that if you want the lyrics, you won't get them in the booklet. They are found only on the limited edition DVD version -- on the DVD. So you are supposed to run to your DVD player every time you want to check out the song lyrics? Not cool.
The Bangles have shown that you *can* go home again. They recorded this album on their own terms, took their time, and carefully crafted something they could be proud of. And they should be proud. This is good stuff. It isn't revolutionary, despite the title. They sing of love, loss, confusion, frustration, and loneliness. They make it rhyme, and they make us tap our feet and smile. I can't ask for more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just your ordinary reunion, Jan. 25 2004
By 
Louis (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
When the Bangles reunited to record this album, I had huge expectations. They were one of the best bands from the 80's, although they broke up way too soon to leave a lasting impression on the wide public. Would they be able to make a solid album after all these years ? Well, duh ! Yes, of course !
"Doll Revolution" is good from top to bottom. There are 15 songs here, so for once it's really all Bangles, meaning that each of the four members get many songs to prove their respective abilities. Michael Steele, the band's most underrated asset, once again proves that she is the best musician and songwriter of this band; her "Song For A Good Son" is a masterpiece, with its striking visual references and feelings of regrets and alienation, and her rocking "Between The Two" is so great that you can only wish there'd been more on the album. Susanna Hoffs is as great as ever, and her voice has gained a rougher, raspier edge over the years; ballads like "I Will Take Care Of You" and the debut single "Something That You Said" show the full range of her exquisite and expressive voice. Debbi Peterson also leaves a deeper impression than on the band's 80's albums; "Lost At Sea" is a high point of the album, and "Ask Me No Questions" proves that Susanna Hoffs isn't the only Bangle able to carry a ballad. Vicki Peterson's songs are the only minor disappointments of the album; songs like "Mixed Messages" and "Single By Choice" lack the tough in-your-face attitude of past songs like "Angels Don't Fall In Love" and "All About You" - but they are still great, just not as strong as her bandmates' efforts. I particularly like her "Stealing Rosemary", so original and catchy. And what can I say about "Ride The Ride", which they all sing together ? It's the album's best song, and should be released as a single as soon as possible. It's that good !
All in all, this is an album like they don't make 'em anymore. Honest production, catchy songs, expressive vocals, trademark harmonies, down-to-earth arrangements, great musicianship. What more can you ask ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best new album this year, Jan. 18 2004
By 
Gregory P. Carrier "gcarrier" (Iowa City, IA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doll Revolution (W/Bonus Dvd 1 (Audio CD)
I was a big fan of the Bangles in the 80's, when a lot of people wrote them off as a lightweight girl band. What a mistake -- they were always a serious band who could write, play, sing, and rock with the best of them. When I heard they had regrouped and were working on a new album, I was excited, but prepared for another typical lukewarm reunion album. Well, Doll Revolution is anything but lukewarm. These women have still got it big-time. In fact, this is probably their strongest album yet. Not only is there a real maturity to their work, but they still have the spark that was so evident in the early days. And, unlike a lot of rock reunions, they sound as much like a band as ever, not just a group of solo artists pooling their songs because they'll sell better under a group name. This album is full of passion, intelligence, hooks, great voices, great playing, and great songwriting. Oh, and it rocks. Really rocks. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tim Sendra is clueless, Jan. 15 2004
By 
"kriskadh" (Norfolk, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doll Revolution (W/Bonus Dvd 1 (Audio CD)
If you are like most people you cannot stand today's glutton of Disney Corp backed cute for the sake of cute so called pop artists. The Bangles were a refreshing and harmonious guitar crunching band that left an eternal mark on the fabulous music of the 80's. There reunion could not have been better timed.
Some critics have blasted the group for displaying no new sound just a return to their old sound or doing more covers. I say; Good call, Bangles!
The 15 years without them shows in the style and sound but this is all for the good. Michael Steele's dark side adds depth and character. Sussanna Hoffs' sweat girlish vocals are complimented by Vicki and Debbie Peterson's more rugged ones.
Several of Amazon's reviewers have given their thoughts on each of the tracks and my opinion mirrors many of them. Ride The Ride, Lost At Sea, and I will Take Care Of You catapult me right back to the mid-eighties. Doll Revolution, Single By Choice, and others hark back to those years but show the benefits of experiance and the passage of time.
I've read some very critical reviews of this album and I have but one comment to them; If you expected something other than classic Bangles then you missed the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Glad they're back, now somebody give them catchier songs, Dec 3 2003
By 
This review is from: Doll Revolution (W/Bonus Dvd 1 (Audio CD)
The Bangles rattled off a series of exciting upbeat pop rock hits in the eighties and now they are back...for the fun, I guess, and for 2 extra seconds of fame. Does this album compare well with their better-known work from their younger years? No, not really, but then perhaps it isn't fair to compare, so let's look at this album on its own. It's fair to say that the band can still play; they were always good musicians. Unfortunately, what I hear here isn't a joyful reunion, but rather a group of solo songs by the band members, thrown together on the same (long) album. The opening track is a suitably raw version of Elvis Costello's "Doll Revolution," which is not one of Costello's best songs, but it's pleasing enough to hear the girls give it a bash. The radio-ready hit "Something That You Said" has the slick hook it needs, but the production kind of lets it down; it lacks crucial punch, and Susanna Hoffs' fine voice sounds muted and restrained. Debbi Petersen's "Stealing Rosemary" is an intersting song after a few listens. Michael Steele's songs are mostly forgettable dark folk numbers. Indeed, after about four tracks I began to tire of the lack of sonic variety and the dry, modern digital sound of it all; I think the producer needed to give it some warmth somehow. So, Bangle fans will be glad the band is back, and they do play well, for a fairly ephemeral offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac6454c8)

This product

Doll Revolution (W/Bonus Dvd 1
Doll Revolution (W/Bonus Dvd 1 by Bangles (Audio CD - 2003)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews