Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars What is wrong with all you people!
Why does everybody think this movie is so stupid? I bought it on dvd not knowing what to expect and I was very pleased. My two idols from childhood Richard Roundtree(John Shaft) and Roger Moore(James Bond) are in the film and I give it five stars just for that. Anyway, the movie Boat Trip is about Jerry(Cuba Gooding Jr.)who asks his girl Felicia to marry him and she...
Published on Feb. 12 2004 by Suzanne Howland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY BUT LOW BROW HUMOR
Boat Trip is a comedy that notches up the raunch factor in the best tradition of Porky's and American Pie. The film stars Cuba Gooding Jr. and SNL's Horatio Sanz as two unlucky in love buddies who decide to take a singles cruise. Gooding Jr. playing Jerry has just had his marriage proposal to his girlfriend played by Vivica A. Fox turned down cold and really needs this...
Published on March 22 2004 by Tim Janson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY BUT LOW BROW HUMOR, March 22 2004
Boat Trip is a comedy that notches up the raunch factor in the best tradition of Porky's and American Pie. The film stars Cuba Gooding Jr. and SNL's Horatio Sanz as two unlucky in love buddies who decide to take a singles cruise. Gooding Jr. playing Jerry has just had his marriage proposal to his girlfriend played by Vivica A. Fox turned down cold and really needs this trip.
They run afoul of a vengeful travel agent play by Wil Ferrell who instead, books the pair on a gay cruise, which they find out MUCH to their shock after the ship has left the docks.
This of course sets up many of the obvious jokes as they are hit upon by other travelers on the ship, including Louis, a rich English gentleman played by former James Bond, Roger Moore.
However they eventually do find some rather opportunistic female companionship. Gooding, in a drunken state falls into the pool and is rescued by a gorgeous dance instructor played by Roselyn Sanchez. Sanz gets even more...the entire Swedish bikini team which just happens to be floating around on a raft and rescued by their cruise ship. Sanz takes an immediate liking to the blonde bombshell played by Victoria Silverstedt.
The movie is low-brow humor at its most low and there a number of rather raunchy scenes including many scenes of simulated sex, most notably Sanchez demonstrating oral sex on a banana, and Sanz having a go at the Binkini teams very strict coach. Add to that some brief nudity and LOTS of swearing and the movie definitely earns it's "R" rating.
Still, while it's no classic there are several laugh out loud moments. Moore is funny as a career military man now gay English gentleman. Gooding and Sanz seem to be a bit of an odd pairing and it's the old thin neat guy and fat slob guy pairing with them. The women of course are very gorgeous in the movie even though you'd think there's no way someone like Silverstedt would ever GO for a guy like Sanz.
Fairly funny movie and at least worth a rent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the Great Boat Trip To Take, March 3 2004
By 
This review is from: Boat Trip (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Though "Boat Trip" has some hilarious moments, this is not the greatest releases of 2003. Also, the movie cover only desplicts the two lead actors on a boat with women wearing bikinis. They don't say anything about this movie being about the men going on a gay man cruise mistakenly. This proves that the producers are sell-outs. If they would have written it on there, this would have been a wonderful gay pride movie. The plot doesn't allow the scenes to blend with one another very well. It sometimes gets confusing, though it's entertaining at times. The acting is weak by some performers. Oscar winner Cuba Gooding Jr. definitely doesn't show his tremendous talents like he has in the past, though he adds some of his own humor into the movie. This gives it some added enjoyment. "Saturday Night Live" star Horatio Sanz overreacts some of his words, he underreacts other words. The other performers are either average or good. Though "Boat Trip" offers some unforgettable moments, this movie is best to only watch once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Who writes this crap?, Feb. 14 2004
By 
Glenn Nippert "musicologist" (Alpharetta, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boat Trip (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Given the premise and the actors involved this movie should have been hilarious, but alas it is modestly funny at best. Horatio Sanz could be one of the funniest guys in movies if he could find good material.Cuba does his usual high energy shtick and is quite likeable here. Also, Roger Moore has a funny role as a leacherous old fruit with the hots for Horatio but he is sadly underused which is too bad because the movie could have benefitted from using him more. This is one of a handful of underwritten, disappointing comedies that came out like an epidemic in 2003- A Guy Thing, Stealing Harvard,Daddy Daycare etc.Maybe if the writers of these movies spent more time rewriting the screenplays and adding more comedy and jokes these movies might actually be funny more than once or twice during their hour and a half running times. The actors work overtime to make this stuff seem funny but there is only so much you can do with this crap but thanks to Cuba and Sanz this is at least a pleasant diversion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What is wrong with all you people!, Feb. 12 2004
By 
Suzanne Howland (Miami, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boat Trip (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Why does everybody think this movie is so stupid? I bought it on dvd not knowing what to expect and I was very pleased. My two idols from childhood Richard Roundtree(John Shaft) and Roger Moore(James Bond) are in the film and I give it five stars just for that. Anyway, the movie Boat Trip is about Jerry(Cuba Gooding Jr.)who asks his girl Felicia to marry him and she leaves him. Jerry's buddy Nick is told by crazy Marshall Gellar from high school to go on a cruise if he wants to get lucky with women. Jerry and Nick get into an argument with Artie Lange and Will Ferrell sends the two on a GAY cruise to get revenge. I don't want to give the movie away, but I can tell you one thing for sure, me and my friends laughed like hell throughout half the film. Have an open mind when you watch this film. How can you not like a movie with a Swedish tanning team and a BEAUTIFUL puerto rican dance instructor. The people that don't like this film are CRAZY! The best ... dollars I ever spent on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Boat Trip review, Jan. 26 2004
By 
Chris Honaker "reviewman" (Elizabethtown, Kentucky United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boat Trip (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Boat Trip is one of those movies that you definately have to have open mind when you and see it. Cuba Gooding Jr's plays Jerry who starts off being dumped by his girlfriend Vivicia A. Fox. Jerry gets lonely and figures out where did he go wrong in the relationship until Nick (Horatio Sanz) sweet talks him into a singles cruise--not realizing they've been sent on a gay singles cruise by a travel agent who has a few scufflings with Nick in the beginnning. Nick and Jerry thought they had died and went to hell as their was not one woman on the boat until found Jerry meets Gabrielle (Roselyn Sanchez) who appeared in Rush Hour 2, is a hot dance instructor is pretty much fed up men because all they wanted her for was sex. However, their chemistry is great throughout the movie. Nick finds some sexy supermodel who find him just as attractive he felt of her. Both men did what any straight guy would do, pretend that they were gay so the girls can feel very comfortable being around them. However, things weren't working out with Nick and the girl and starts to build a bond with some of the guys on the boat and believes that maybe this was the life for him. Jerry after takes numerous dance lessons with Gabrielle being to have a bond with her and he knew that she was the one for him. Of course things weren't working out with Vivica A. Fox's characters and her men with a passion for buffing and decides to find Jerry and get back together with him. When she gets on the boat and sees Jerry play into a homosexual play she is mad and ask Jerry why he never told he was gay. Gabrielle hears Jerry confess that he was never gay and revealed all the lies he had told her and wants him to stay away from her. Vivicia and Jerry decide to get married until Nick stands up and convinces Jerry that Gabrielle is really the one for him and they end up getting back on the boat and Jerry and Gabrielle do make up and become a couple and Nick after realize that the supermodel was the one for him decides to fly to Alaska to look for her but she wouldn't be back for another 3 months. The only advice I could give is if your not easily offended with homosexuality and don't mind seeing cross dressing, men holding hands and smacking each other on the rear, then you might want to check this out. However, it's not recommend for viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Embarrassingly Bad..., Jan. 5 2004
When I decided to watch this dvd, I expected a light funny movie, with crossdressers and a fun cast of eccentric characters. Instead, we get a film with gratuitous t&a, unfunny homosexual stereotypes and Cuba masquerading unsuccessfully as a gay man. Bleh.
I guess it's just me, but I struggled through watching Boat Trip, hoping there would be some redeeming quality to this dreck. Unfortunately this proved to be a waste of time. While I agree gays were quite stereotyped, the portrayal of women was downright exploitive. No opportunity was missed to show women topless and nude (including the opening DVD splash page). Ech. The purpose of such gratuitous scenes seemed to be to throw a bone to the heterosexual male audience "Yep, we know the film is full of gay men, so...Here, we'll show another topless woman..." Bleh....
Also, the main character Cuba plays never really LEARNS from his mistakes....He changes because he's forced to, not because he wants to. And this is supposed to be positive? He lies to his girlfriend the ENTIRE movie and she of course forgives him immediately? Please brother.
A disappointing film on many levels, and not remotely funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not a well made or verry funny movie, Dec 8 2003
By 
Matthew Edmundson (Winter Haven, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boat Trip (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I have to admit I was very intrigued by the idea of this movie. Cuba Gooding Jr. and Haratio Sanz going on a gay cruise. They had me sold from that point and I got robbed.
Boat Trip has a very simple plot. Cuba Gooding Jr. gets turned down by the woman he proposed to Viva A. Fox. She tells him she is going out with her car detailer and she's cheating on him. He lives in self pity for six months until his buddy Haratio gets him to go on a cruise. They tick off the cruise agent man and he gets back at them by signing them up for a gay cruise.
While on the Cruise Cuba falls in love with a woman who is the dancer instructor played by Roselyn Sanchez. Horatio is falling for a Swedeish bikini tan model who gets on the cruise because he shoots there helicopter down with a flare gun. Will they both keep the woman they love or turn gay. It's all up to you to watch it.
Cuba Gooding Jr. displayed a lot of energy in the movie. It's sad to see a guy who was so great in movies like Boyz in the Hood, Men of Honor, Jerry Maguire, and Radio do a movie like this. You have to wonder what he's doing with his carear. He's one of the best minority actors in the world. A tacky raunchy comedy doesn't show that talent and this is something only his diehard fans could love.
They aren't really offensive to gay people in the movie. I thought Haratio would have a field day with it, but he doesn't. He does some bashing, but the movie has a feel good about homosexuality theme to it I didn't like.
This is a bad movie. It's suppose to be one of those raunchy comedies and it really isn't. If you want to go see a good tacky raunchy comedy, go pick up Animal House, American Pie, or Porky's. Don't waste you money on trash like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A huge waste of any one's time, Dec 8 2003
By 
**BIG WARNING ABOUT THE DVD!!**
If you have children or family members you usually watch films with, do not watch the DVD with them. Why? The title menu has three topless women sunbathing. That's it. Great title menu huh?
Despite this un-auspicious beginning, I was willing to give this movie a shot...but the only shot I got was this movie's stupidity going to my brain.
Cuba Gooding (who is a great actor that finds himself in awful movies...a lot)and Horatio Sanz are in need of romantic recovery and sexual drive, so they book a cruise liner. Sadly, by the time they get on they realize its a gay cruise (they can't read the large letters by the side of the stairs that say "Gay Cruise").
Things go from bad to worse as the same homosexual stereotypes are used over and over again. Homosexuals are basically that in this movie: stereotypes. Even the four guys Horatio Sanz makes friends with are too poorly developed to be real characters. Things go from worse to awful when a lifeboat is picked up by the ship. And get ready for this: there's a Swedish bikini team on it. And get ready for this: they have no other clothes but their swimsuits. And of course they all want to have sex with Horatio Sanz, because he's on the tip of every woman's tongue when it comes to orgasms.
Things finally come full sucking when lil' Cuba gets a romantic interest with the dance instructor on the boat, who cavorts in see-through outfits and skimpy dresses (she doesn't like men hitting on her). It becomes nothing but the old romance formula, they get together, break up, get back together in the end, blah blah blah...
This is basically a big dumb movie. A lot of tasteless humor done by people I would never want to see do tasteless humor. Don't watch it. Please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a Look for Cuba Fans, Nov. 19 2003
By 
N. D. Harmon "ndharmon" (Baltimore USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Cuba Gooding, Jr. must have had some free time on his hands when he filmed "Boat Trip". It's definitely beneath his acting ability, but I guess he thought it would be fun. If you are one of his fans, it's worth a look. He plays a man named Jerry who is dumped by his girlfriend (Vivica A. Fox) for another man. His best friend Nick (Horatio Sanz) convinces him to go on a cruise to hook up with some women. After a squabble with a travel agent, the two friends are set up to take a gay cruise unbeknownst to them. On a gay cruise he finds of all things the woman of his dreams. The story line is lame I must admit, but there are some laughs. There is absolutely no gay bashing. The R rating is due to the nature of conversation and suggestive actions. The only nudity is watching some men walk around in those butt less pants. Plus, they have a new one. Instead of the Swedish Bikini Swim Team, they have the Swedish Bikini Tan Team on their way to an Hawaiian Tropic competition. They were rescued by the crew after their helicopter was shot down with a flair gun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "In England, we call them bangers..", Oct. 9 2003
By 
Brad Baker (Atherton, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Here's a movie that seems to have offended almost everybody. It's certainly different. Artisan Pictures snuck "Boat Trip" into theatres in early 2003, months after it's completion the year before. In 2002's "Boat Trip", Jerry and Nick are two cool Gen-X guys just looking for love; they get side-tracked onto a rollicking 5-day, non-stop European cruise. OOPS!! Too bad this cruise is just for gay guys! TV screenwriter-turned-director Mort Nathan has assembled a lively, fast-paced comedy that dares to pull it's pants down. Pardon me. His pants down. Gender-bending, gay-bashing, and outright homophobia clash with Swedish bathing beauties in this zippy, sparkling frolic. "Boat Trip" stars the remarkable Cuba Gooding Jr., and features Vivica Fox, Will Ferrell, and the delicious Puerto Rican Roselyn Sanchez. 74-year-old Roger Moore is nearly hysterical as a devilish gay queen. Flooded with bright, tropical colors, "Boat Trip" was shot in Cologne, Germany, and the alluring Greek Islands. This brand new 1.77:1 anamorphic widescreen DVD includes out-takes(not too good), deleted scenes, chapter stops, tanning tips(don't ask), a trivia track, trailers, and a documentary first aired on Showtime Cable last spring. "Boat Trip" doesn't take itself too seriously. And guess what, neither should you. Put aside 90 minutes, check your brains at-the-door, and be sure to buy a ticket for this "Boat Trip".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boat Trip (Widescreen) [Import]
Boat Trip (Widescreen) [Import] by Mort Nathan (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 10.95
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews