Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham Movie, July 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I did loved this movie, enjoyed the dancing and singing, my favorite Indian actor is Shahruk Khan, so any movies from him I like a lot, since I am not from India, unfortunately I have to order Bollywood movies with English Subtitles, but even with the subtitles I enjoy them very much. I do love the culture and fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Substantive film concerning romanticism and tradition, Jan. 9 2004
By 
Lawrence Louis (Houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham... [Import] (DVD)
The perennial struggle of a couple who, being in love, goes against the traditions instilled in them by their parents, is common fare for the Indian cinematic industry (Bollywood). What makes "Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham" (K3G) so markedly distinct from the vast sea of Bollywood films that concern this topic, and what makes K3G much more meritorious, is its intimate portrayal of what happens in the aftermath of this conflict. Where typical Bollywood blockbusters such as "Saathiya" and "Kaho Naa... Pyaar Hai" focus more of their story on the lives of the young couple that seek a relationship at the expense of severing the bonds with their families, K3G tends to emphasize the guilt and pain incurred by all sides - both children and parents - as children are estranged from their parents, when parents dogmatically preserve tradition, and children break free from the shackles of tradition, and rush headlong into romance. K3G gives a complex portrayal of Indian marriages and how central family life is to the whole affair, while also being empathetic to both the plight of the tradition bound parents and the romantically linked children, something uncharacteristic of Bollywood productions.
K3G starts off when Rohan (Hrithik Roshan), who spent many years away from his family in boarding school, returns home. When Rohan inquires about the reasons behind his older brother, Rahul's (Shah Rukh Khan) departure, his grandmother tells of the events that lead to his brother severing ties with his father, Yashovardhan (Amitabh Bachchan), and his doting mother, Nandini. Hence, nearly half of K3G is told in a flashback. We learn that despite Rahul's adopted status, he is clearly the favorite of the two, ironically I suppose, because Yashovardhan and Nandini chose Rahul when they thought they could not produce a child naturally, hence Rahul seemed like a Godsend. Rahul, though reciprocating the intense love his parents had for him, eventually betrays, unintentionally, the patriarch of the family by falling in love and eloping with Anjali (Kajol), a girl who comes from a working class family whose background and lifestyle are much in contrast to the wealth, prestige, and opulence, that the Raichands enjoy. Thus, Rahul is disowned by his father. In the rest of K3G we see Rohan, who Rahul does not recognize because of years of separation, trying to coax his brother and his father into mending their relationship. Throughout this process we see how the void left by Rahul's flight and his father's dogmatism are affecting the family. Though Rahul has prospered financially on his own, with a seemingly bubbly family life, there is a definite sadness that wears on Rahul's face. Yashovardhan and Nandini though ostensibly close in the beginning of the film, are now slowly growning detached from each other.
The acting from the three main stars (Bachchan, Roshan, and Khan) is superb. Each actor suffuses his performance with believable pathos. Granted tears flow so readily and profusely that they - especially Roshan and Khan - could probably fill up the Ganges ten times over, and this fact maybe a sign of overacting, but given the nature of the story, a little sappiness fits nicely. Yashovardhan's wife (Jaya Bachchan), is a woman who in keeping with her traditional role, stands by her man, even when he is mule headed. Yet at the same time Nandini shows uncharacteristic strength for a traditional Indian house wife, when she finally confronts her husband's stubbornness, and through some poignant dialogue that gives a tempered feminist reflection on conservative Indian culture, that respects tradition, but at the same time puts her husband and his pride in their place.
The flaws in K3G are apparent when it decides to depart from its substance at specific intervals in its story, and seeks to be visually and verbally ostentatious. Maybe the producers, director, and writers behind K3G thought this would entertain western audiences, but like all other attempts at Bollywood to emulate the west, their efforts come across as just plain unnatural, or downright tacky. There are more tactful ways to demonstrate the affluence of the Raichands than by constantly showing them flying in planes, helicopters, having brand names emblazoned on their clothing (Indian film makers apparently forgot the subliminal portion of subliminal advertising) or driving a Lamborghini across a college campus. Sometimes I felt more like I was watching an Indian version of "Life Styles of the Rich and Famous" than a movie. Secondly, there is no need to interject trite English phrases into the dialogue, like when Roshan says "What's up Dad?" or when Pooja (Kareena Kapoor) obnoxiously exclaims "Its raining men", whenever she gets boy crazy.
Since we are on the subject of gaudiness and superficiality, no one embodies this more than Kareena Kapoor. Here is a bit of advice for Bollywood producers and directors concerning this actress. Number one: SHE IS NOT GOOD LOOKING - she is just one of those ugly girls, like the ones you knew in high school, who got in with the popular crowd because her sister was attractive. Number two: SHE IS NOT A GOOD ACTRESS - if you are going to articulate western clichés don't get an actress who sounds like a FOB articulating western clichés. Number three: A WOMAN WHO BEHAVES AND LOOKS LIKE A FLOOZY- will turn off a mature audience. Bollywood would do well to never have Kareena Kapoor star in another major motion picture. Besides, her mannerisms and appearance are wasted on cinema when they would be better suited for other lucrative professions, say...as prostitute on the streets of Mumbai.
Once you can overlook the loud display of commercialism, unrealistic demonstrations of wealth, and the most irritating offense to the eyes and ears, Kareena Kapoor, you will appreciate a film that has a lot of heartrending substance to it. You will witness a film that is quite a rarity in this day and age - one that sees the value in the spontaneity and romanticism of the new world and the traditional laden culture of the old world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT CAST, June 9 2004
This review is from: Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham... [Import] (DVD)
This film stars the Legend of Bollywood AMitabh BAchchan and The Superstar of Bollywood Shah Rukh Khan. Alongside Amitabh's reallife wife Jaya Bachchan in a magnificent role. This film will apeal to anybody who likes bollywood Film. its very Fun and emotinally entertainingly Heart warming. One Actress who almost ruined it with her ridiculouly unnatural acting in the film Kareena Kapoor. Otherwise.. Great 4 Bollywood Fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Canned Gulab Jamun, April 13 2004
By 
Rebecca Whiting (Beautiful Bell Gardens, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham... [Import] (DVD)
Gulab Jamun, fried milk balls in syrup, is extremely sticky sweet and is served lukewarm. It is one of the most popular Indian desserts.
The priviliged family of whom we have a portrait in K3G is also rich and saccharine. The excessive strings in the orchestra, the daze of colors, the histrionics of the actors -- everything is done in exquisite lack of taste. It is the most perfect example of its genre.
I cannot imagine a better example of what Bollywood has to offer, or what the huddled masses throughout the world most like to view when indulging in entertainment escapism.
There is nothing like watching Shah Rukh Khan knit his brow and protest to the beautiful creature beside him "M.B.A. is a hard job." Those who beef about Kareena Kapoor and her delightful "It's Raining Men" bit have failed to enter into the spirit of the movie. Miss Kapoor is perfect!
If you like eating canned dessert, you will love this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must See!!!!, March 11 2004
By 
Kadi Ann Spencer "kadith" (Queens Village, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham... [Import] (DVD)
One of the Best Bollywood has produced
K3G was the very first bollywood movie i saw. Almost immediately you are dragged into the world of colour and beauty that is missing from hollywood films. The storyline surrounds a rich indian family and what happens when you follow your heart instead of what others want for you; in this case the patriarch of the family played by Amitah Bachan an icon in bollywood. Rahul, played by Shahrukh Khan who by the way gives an awesome performance- is the oldest son of the family and is all set to take over the family business when he meets and fall in love with Anjali(played by Kajol) the niece of the lady who raised him who is unfortunately from the ' wrong side of the tracks' so to speak. His father on the other hand has already chosen a wife for him and when he refuses and marry the one he loves he is disinherited and moves to London. All of this is told to his younger brother Rohan played by bollywood lastest sensation Hritik Roshan,by his grandmother ten years later. At this point the movie has lost its colour and good vibes as it show a family torn apart by the separation. The mother played by Jaya Bachan mopes and grieves for the son that was ripped from her side by her uncomprimising husband whose word is law in the family. Rohan sets out for London to look for his brother to try to repair the damage done to his family and to return the joy that was missing from his mother's life. Rahul now lives with Anjali and their son Krish along with her sister Pooja who later becomes Rohan love interest in London. Rohan reignite the friendship he had with Pooja and gained access to the house wrangling an invitation to move in with the family so that he can try to find a way to get them to come back home. This second half of the movie while not as fun and lighthearted as the first half show all the things Rohan does to get the family back together and at the same time his courtship of Pooja. The climax of the movie happens when he strategises a meeting between his parents and his brother in a local shopping mall. The reunion between mother and son is so poignant and heartfelt that you can't help but to be dragged into the emotional scene as their eyes meet after ten long years of separation. Yet still nothing is resolved as the father still won't bend. The grandmother dies and the location moves back to India. Here the mother tries once again to have her son and husband talk through their problems, after another refusal she stand up to him and tells him exactly what she thought of him,at the same time, Rohan is pleading with Rahul to come back atleast once to visit his mother, to end the rift that separates the family, to put a smile back on his mother's face. This leads to a meeting between father and song that is emotional but true to real life and can be parallel to other father son situations in everyday life. This movie took me through a range of emotions. You laugh at the lovebirds antics and fall in love right along with them; you'll hate the father for his stuborness and snobby attitude and grieve with the mother who loses her heart and joy which was her son but also cheer her along when she stands up to her husband. A bright and colourful movie that invites you into a family from the other side of the world just to find they are no different from you own. The songs will become favourites and you find yourself dancing along with them. The chemistry between the cast is electrifying as a well chosen cast rarely is. You will not be disappointed and this will become a favourite in your collection garunteed.
Also recommended: Kuch Kuch Hota Hai, Diwane Dulhane La Jayenge, Kal Ho Naa Ho, Karun Arjun, Koi Mil Gaya
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another great film from Karan Johar., Dec 23 2003
By 
Rykre "The Rogue Scholar" (of the vast Western Dystopian Wasteland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham... [Import] (DVD)
This is one of my favorite two Bollywood films. If you watch this film and "Kuch Kuch Hota Hai", you will be hooked on Indian films. You will know what Bollywood is all about.
This is a story about a man named Rohan (Hrithik Roshan) who wonders what happened to his older brother Rahul (Shahrukh Khan). He overheard his grandmother talking about how Rohan's father asked his eldest son to leave home because he fell in love with a girl from the village. Rahul married the village girl and moved to London. So Rohan sets about a quest to find his older brother in London and bring him home to their father to try to make amends. Rohan's and Rahul's father (Amitabh Bachchan) is too proud to admit that he misses his son and knows that his wife (Jaya Bachchan), is tramatically heartbroken and without peace with Rahul gone.
This is a very colorful film which really flaunts the lifestyle of the filthy rich. All the costumes are so beautiful, and all the songs in this film are truly enjoyable. This film also stars Kajol, Kareena Kapoor, and a small part with my favorite actress Rani Mukherjee. If you saw "Asoka", this is also where you saw Shahrukh Khan and Kareena Kapoor together. And if you saw "Mission Kashmir", that is where you saw Hrithik Roshan. And also, if you are familiar, at all, about Bollywood films, you will know that Amitabh Bachchan is the most famous actor in the world (perhaps only the US may be the least familiar with him).
Karan Johar has just released his third film called "Kal Ho Naa Ho" which stars (again) Shahrukh Khan, and also Saif Ali Khan, and Preity Zinta (also in "Mission Kashmir") . Pretty soon, you'll see how easy it is to start collecting movies of your favorite Bollywood stars. To download pictures of these stars and stills from these movies, go to [...] . To find out other movies these stars are in, go to Amazon's [...] .
I am so glad to see that Amazon is making these Bollywood films available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous Bollywood melodrama!, Aug. 27 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham... [Import] (DVD)
I'll admit, this was one of the first Bollywood films I had ever seen, but even after seeing a half-dozen others it is still my favorite. Drenched in luxurious locations and colors, this story of a family torn apart by love, pride and stern tradition is a real treat for the jaded American palate. It takes a while to willingly accept the cultural differences in plot and motivation - a son defying his father's choice of bride to choose his own is not something that would destroy a family in the West, but by the end of this movie you might find yourself getting teary-eyed too over the family's anguish.
Filled with lavish song and dance numbers, a beautiful cast (men and women alike) and the kind of 3-hanky Victorian melodrama we've long scorned in the US, this film is a treat. Certain aspects of the movie, such as the 3-hour length and long, loving shots of weeping mothers and brothers get tiring after a while, but invest the time and effort and you'll enjoy the whole package. A great first film (after Monsoon Wedding, which is a more realistic introduction to Indian culture) for viewers wanting the full-out Bollywood experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Fabulous Movie, Aug. 10 2003
By 
Mona (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham... [Import] (DVD)
Out of 5 stars I would give it a 10 (if I could) becuase this is my favorite movie. I was never into Hindi movies till I saw this one. Its beautifully acted written and directed. Karan Johar (the director and writer) makes movies that are so wonderful. This movie makes you cry, makes you laugh and makes you really appreciate the qualty of a good film. The casting for this movie was perfect. Shah Rukh Khan and Kajol have some great chemistry as well as Hrithik Roshan and Kareena Kapoor and it woundt be the same without the astounding Amitabh Bachchan and Jaya Bhaduri. The songs are what make this movie even better. There all my favorite, I love listenening to them and I only speak English but the songs are just so enchanting to listen to, it was weird at first but it really grows on you. I can never get tired of this movie. This isnt normally the type of Movie I watch, I never liked reading while watching a movie, but you get lost in the subtitles and it doesnt really matter, cause you feel like you can understand everything they say.
The Movie centers around the Raichand family and thier values. Yash (the dad, Amitbah) is a rich buisness man and has two sons, Raoul(Khan) and Rohan (Roshan). Raoul strays from the values set by his father by marrying Anjali (Kajol) and splits the family up. Rohan throughout the movie tries to reunite His family again.
Summaries dont do this movie justice, you have to see it to truly enjoy it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb588b468)

This product

Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham... [Import]
Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham... [Import] by Karan Johar (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 38.26 CDN$ 34.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews