Customer Reviews


209 Reviews
5 star:
 (139)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect
Got it within 2 days, Perfect. I don't know what else to say, but perfect.Its a new, sealed, and legit blue ray.
Published 6 months ago by Musawar

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Description was wrong
I ordered this steelbook expecting to get what was described in the special features, Limited Edition Scarface Humidor. I phoned and was told that the description was wrong. The person that I spoke to said that she would get the special features removed from the description of the item, but I see that it is still there. So to anyone who orders this item, you don't get the...
Published 3 months ago by Patrice Bentham


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Description was wrong, March 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered this steelbook expecting to get what was described in the special features, Limited Edition Scarface Humidor. I phoned and was told that the description was wrong. The person that I spoke to said that she would get the special features removed from the description of the item, but I see that it is still there. So to anyone who orders this item, you don't get the humidor. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 3 2014
By 
Dr. I. F. Jagas (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, Jan. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scarface [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Got it within 2 days, Perfect. I don't know what else to say, but perfect.Its a new, sealed, and legit blue ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product and service, Aug. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scarface [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Arrived quickly. Was exactly as advertised. Excellent movie!! Two thumbs way up. Holds its own against newer movies. Some violence but nothing gory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic re-released again, July 1 2013
By 
Gis A. Bun (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is at least the second time Scarface got the "steel book" treatment [last one was a couple of years back]. Probably nothing has changed since then except the front "cover" which has the same style as other steel books released in this series.
Of course there is still the updated audio and video quality. But you also get the original Scarface this movie was losely based on and a stack of extras. If it is the same as the previous release there are a couple of extras that were in the 2-DVD release that was removed from this release [no idea why - unless they put them back - I'm doubting it].
Too bad they never bothered to put the slightly decent prequel movie on Blu-ray.
As for the movie itself, it is a classic [even with the iffy story-line and horrible music]. Many other TV shows and movies have paid tribute in some form over the years [Breaking Bad was the most recent one in season 5].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, Jan. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So happy to finally have this movie on Blu-Ray. Great special features. Much better then the dvd version of this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie & Awesome DVD!!, Sept. 24 2003
By 
Mitch Weaver (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scarface (2-Disc Anniversary Edition) (Widescreen) (DVD)
In this remake of the 1932 film of the same name, we witness the rise of a small time Cuban refugee hoodlum, as he guns his way to the top of Miami's cocaine empire. Tony Montana's chase after the American Dream gave him wealth, power, and passion beyond his wildest dreams. But we are also witness to the man's downfall, as he becomes more and more addicted to drugs, and ruled by paranoia and jealousy. However, Tony Montana would go down as one of the most ruthless gangsters that ever lived, and be known to the world only as Scarface.
Al Pacino has made a lot of memorable films, but he has never acted with such intensity or ruthlessness as he did with Tony "Scarface" Montana. His performance alone is worth the price of the DVD. "Say hello to my little friend!" Michelle Pfeiffer looks great no matter what role she plays. She assumes the role of Pacino's love interest Elvira Hancock. The performance she gives is so great, because she was the first female lead in an film like Scarface, to ever talk back and not take anything from anyone. Her strong will actually challenges Tony, which brings out the best in the character. Steven Bauer was excellent as Tony's best friend and partner Manny. The friendship between him and Pacino is extremely well done, and it is great to watch them get to the top together. Bauer is also down right hillarious with his views on women. The funniest scene in the film is when he attempts to pick up a woman by wiggling his tongue at her, and then he gets slapped. "Lesbian!" Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio, Robert Loggia, and F Murray Abraham are all sensational in their roles as well.
But the film is not only great for the overall story and acting, but for the screenplay as well. The intense screenplay was written by Oliver Stone, and gives superb insights into Miami's latin lifestyle, as well as great dialogue to the characters, and tons of unforgettable firepower. The costume and set designs are spectacular. The musical score is haunting and drives the film. It is used especially well when you see Pacino's face. The score helps to intensify Pacino's character as a whole. Finally, the cinematography is outstanding in this film as well as the camera work. Each shot is used to perfection to capture every character reaction, and every aspect of violence.
The DVD is truly the only way to see the film for two reasons. For one thing the VHS version is 2 casettes, and nothing is worse than having to get up and change tapes when you are caught up in the story. The second is that the extras are outstanding. The original DVD release of Scarface was out of print for a long time, and now it is finally being re-released under the "Anniversary Edition". You get 85 minutes of behind the scenes footage, as well as 22 minutes worth of deleted scenes. The DVD is worth the money just for the film itself, but now you have an extra incentive to buy. Not many movies are a must own in my opinion, but this one definately is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The View From The Top, Sept. 30 2003
By 
T. Lobascio (New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scarface (2-Disc Anniversary Edition) (Widescreen) (DVD)
Actor Al Pacino gives a powerhouse performance in 1983's Scarface. Paciino plays Tony Montana, a Cuban refugee hoodlum, who quickly rises to the top of Miami's cocaine industry. On his way to the top, Tony uses any means at his disposal to get there, no matter who he hurts or betrays in the process. Pacino takes hold of the character and never lets you forget that he is "Scarface". The supporting cast is wonderful too. It features Steven Bauer, as Tony's right hand man, "Manny" Ray. Michelle Pfeiffer is Tony's girl, Elvira, and Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio, in a role early in her acting career, plays Gina, Tony's sister.
The hard-edged script for the film is written by Oliver Stone, who holds nothing back, as usual Directed by Brian De Palma, the movie doesn't flinch at all to tell its story. The film remains a favorite of mine and will leave you with quite a lasting impression. A "remake" of 1932's SCARFACE, in name only, the film is a great character study that's nearly flawless.
To mark the film's 20th anniversary, Universal decided to reissue yet another DVD version of the film. As someone who thought the "collector's edition" already provided great insight into how the film was made--unless they included an audio commentary--why bother? All I can is, I have bad news and good news, in that regard about the 2 disc set. Sadly, there is still no audio commentary track, but the retrospectives in this set, are still worth a look. The set has 88 minutes worth of well produced documentary material Rebirth of the film, the acting in the film, making Scarface, a look at the TV version and the edits that were made, and a look at the film's influences in "Def Jam presents The Origins of a Gangsta". The same 22 minutes worth of deleted scenes from before are here again. Cast and crew notes, and a 5.1 sound mix that sounds great, and is worth the price alone, round out the set.
The 2 disc set is recommended--even without an audio commentary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OVER THE TOP CLASSIC, June 28 2004
By 
Gregory Saffady (Michigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scarface (2-Disc Anniversary Edition) (Widescreen) (DVD)
SCARFACE is one of the most oft quoted films ever to grace modern culture:"In this country you have to make the money first..." "The country was built on washing money," "Don't get high on your own supply,"... Only Yogi Berra gets quoted more. This is an over the top classic, Pacino's muddled Cuban accent alone is one for the Smithsonian. Beneath all the hype, all the criticism, there is an enjoyable 3 hour story of crime and punishment. After the Hitchcockian works and before truely becoming a great American director with THE UNTOUCHABLES, DePalma and Oliver Stone (screenplay) left an undullable mark in film history. The World Is Yours are words to live by, man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The World is Yours........................................", June 25 2004
By 
This review is from: Scarface (2-Disc Anniversary Edition) (Widescreen) (DVD)
Scarface has always been a favorite! The DVD features a documentary on the movie's influence on the hip-hop culture.

True GANGSTA

This is the story of that infamous American dream ironically it's shown from the eyes of a Cuban immigrant Tony Montana played by Al Pacino. He arrives on Miami's shores with a large wave of Cuban immigrants in the early 80's. He makes contact in the world of the cocaine trade and quickly rises up in the ranks, including taking over his bosses organization as well as his mistress. The world he had to have is also the reason for his downfall.

I TRULY LOVE THIS MOVIE...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scarface (2-Disc Anniversary Edition) (Widescreen)
CDN$ 22.99 CDN$ 13.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews