Customer Reviews


209 Reviews
5 star:
 (139)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite movies of all time, but...
To you poser kids on here who call it a masterpiece, don't be so heavily influenced by the current "Scarface is the greatest movie of all time" trend, which was essentially started by the gangsta rap revolution. Scarface is no masterpiece; anyone with some semblance of film knowledge can tell you that. But, it's still one of my favorite movies. The action is so...
Published on June 19 2004 by Danny

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Description was wrong
I ordered this steelbook expecting to get what was described in the special features, Limited Edition Scarface Humidor. I phoned and was told that the description was wrong. The person that I spoke to said that she would get the special features removed from the description of the item, but I see that it is still there. So to anyone who orders this item, you don't get the...
Published 5 months ago by Patrice Bentham


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Description was wrong, March 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered this steelbook expecting to get what was described in the special features, Limited Edition Scarface Humidor. I phoned and was told that the description was wrong. The person that I spoke to said that she would get the special features removed from the description of the item, but I see that it is still there. So to anyone who orders this item, you don't get the humidor. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite movies of all time, but..., June 19 2004
This review is from: Scarface (2-Disc Anniversary Edition) (Widescreen) (DVD)
To you poser kids on here who call it a masterpiece, don't be so heavily influenced by the current "Scarface is the greatest movie of all time" trend, which was essentially started by the gangsta rap revolution. Scarface is no masterpiece; anyone with some semblance of film knowledge can tell you that. But, it's still one of my favorite movies. The action is so absurd, the dialogue so melodramatic, De Palma's direction so half-assed and the acting (especially by Pacino) is so over-the-top that I can't help but be absolutely entertained everytime I watch the film. I don't agree with Leonard Maltin's one star rating for Scarface, but I do agree with what he said: "Scarface is a film that wallows in it's own excess."
When I'm out shopping, sometimes I'll see Scarface posters, lobby cards and other memorabillia in it's own section. This is ridiculous. Scarface is no longer the overly-flawed classic 1983 gangster film starring Al Pacino; it's become a money-making "gangsta flick" machine. Still, it doesn't stop me from enjoying it. Shouldn't stop you, either. I highly recommend Scarface. Just don't go in expecting a sweeping "Lawrence Of Arabia" epic like this current "gangsta" trend would lead you to believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Face, the Voice, the Strut of Al Pacino, June 10 2004
By 
Kari L. Black "neurophoenix" (Keswick, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scarface (2-Disc Anniversary Edition) (Widescreen) (DVD)
Tony Montana will get under your skin, will get into your head, and before you know it you'll be talking like him, quoting lines from the movie, and watching it over and over. As gangster movies go, it's probably number three behind The Godfather, and Godfather II. And it's no coincidence that Al Pacino is in all three. Al Pacino does so many things to bring Tony Montana to life; but his most jarring piece of acting comes during the famous chainsaw scene, in his wordless closeup. His facial expression speaks volumes as Tony is stripped of his strut to reveal naked emotion. Of course, Al Pacino isn't the only great contributor. Brian DePalma is a terrific director, Oliver Stone is a great screenwriter (and director, but not here); Steven Bauer, F. Murray Abraham, Robert Loggia, Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio, and Michelle Pfeiffer are no slouches as performers. In retrospect, it seems that it would take an awful lot to make this movie go wrong; but because everyone was at the top of their game, Scarface has become a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Memorable character trapped in unremarkable action movie, May 31 2004
By 
Kenji Fujishima (East Brunswick, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scarface (2-Disc Anniversary Edition) (Widescreen) (DVD)
After watching the documentary on this 20th Anniversary Special Edition DVD of Brian De Palma's SCARFACE detailing how this movie has been an influence on gangsta rappers, I could certainly understand why this movie has become a gangster film classic. It certainly has a memorable main character, Tony Montana, masterfully played by the ever-so-versatile Al Pacino. Montana is a magnetic but deeply flawed individual who gets lucky, gets rich, and then gets greedy (which destroys him), and Pacino does a good job in bringing out the man's magnetism without making us truly like him exactly. And on a technical level it is well-made, with bright, colorful cinematography by John Alonzo to accentuate the '80s flash (and perhaps its lack of substance).
And yet after the final gun battle was over and Tony Montana had received his deadly comeuppance, the overall impression I got out of SCARFACE was of a generally unremarkable, overlong action movie with some heavy-handed, unsubtle drama beneath. I guess I just didn't buy the bloated operatic style De Palma employed in this film, and as usual with some of his speeches, screenwriter Oliver Stone has the subtlety of a sledgehammer (sometimes it works, but sometimes it makes you wince, like it does here). "Nothing exceeds like excess," says Michelle Pfeiffer's character Elvira in the movie, and De Palma seems to have followed that in SCARFACE---to the film's detriment, I think. THE GODFATHER and GOODFELLAS are undoubtedly still your best bet if you are looking for great gangster movies. SCARFACE seems distinctly second-rate in that company, despite Pacino's notable performance (and I didn't mind his Cuban accent at all).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies I've ever seen, May 30 2004
By 
J. Hayes (AL, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scarface (2-Disc Anniversary Edition) (Widescreen) (DVD)
Scarface is without a doubt a classic film loaded with memorable lines and gunfight scenes. Not one person I know watched this and didn't love it. The only real thing I regret is just now seeing it. As far as the story goes, Fidel Castro has sent over Cuban immigrants to the U.S., with most of these being political refugees. And two of those immigrants are Tony Montana and his partner Manny Ray. In a camp where the immigrants were being held, Tony stabs a man who was once near the top of Castro's regime, and he enjoyed doing so because of some of the things this man did to the people in Cuba. So by virtue of his doing this, Tony and Frank get green cards and jobs in Miami.
Scarface represents the American dream to have it all, and he does come to have it all when he works his way up in the cocaine business.One of the best but also brutal scenes takes place when Tony and his partner are sent to make a pickup that goes wrong. Another guy that goes in with Tony gets chainsawed in the bathtub, which is brutal now but must have been much more so in its 1983 release.But eventually he works his way up, and his boss tries to off him, and this led to Tony taking over Frank(his boss), killing him and taking over the empire. From the beginning Tony viewed him as a weak man whose time was running out.He takes Franks former wife Elvira(played by Michelle Pfeiffer)and marries her.So at this point he had it all, the house, the wife, the money, everything a man could want in life.
I think another point brought out in the movie is that staying on top is harder than getting there, and this is evident when Tony becomes addicted to the cocaine. It along with paranoia contributed to his gradual seperation from everyone around him, causing him to hurt those in his way. I was shocked when he shot his partner Manny Ray who had been so loyal to him, but it was also in part to his overprotectedness of his sister Gina. Once he is on top, his control begins to spiral out of control because of his distrust in anyone but himself, and his willingness to do everything in his power to keep his empire strong at all costs.His final demise is when he screws Sosa, a man he had set up a partnership with, by failing to return a favor by killing a politician who was bent on taking down Sosa and the cocaine industry that he saw as the fault of the South American government. The man makes a speech to the United Nations that he was not supposed to make and this seals Tony's fate, although the reason Tony would not kill the man was because a woman and children were with him. The final scene has Tony fighting till the very end when Sosa and his man invade Tony's mansion. It is one of the best closing scenes I have ever seen.
All in all the movie has a great message that power, or the excess of it, can bring down the strongest of men. The progression of Tony from Cuban immigrant to one of Miami's most powerful drug overlords makes for a great storyline, an I also thought this was a fantastically directed film by Brian DePalma, and after watching this you are sure to remember many famous quotes from the movie, of which would only be edited by Amazon if I quoted them here. I highly recommend this movie. There is a lot of violence, though it may seem tame to some these days, and a lot of profanity, paricularly the F word. It all works in this film though in keeping a real perspective of the cocaine industry at least as it was then. Kids should NOT see this, but if you are grown this is one movie you must experience for yourself for the story and the great soundtrack to it as well. This is a great DVD to own , and definately one of my top 10 movies of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite gangster movie of the last 25 years, May 27 2004
By 
Terrence J. Reardon (South Carolina and Mass., USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scarface (2-Disc Anniversary Edition) (Widescreen) (DVD)
Director Brian DePalma's Scarface released in December of 1983 was a remake of the 1932 gangster classic that starred Paul Muni. Al Pacino gives a superb performance (including his much imitated Cuban accent) as Cuban refugee turned cocaine king of Miami Tony Montana. He comes to Miami, Florida with his best friend Manny Ray (Steven Bauer) and goes on to become the cocaine king of Florida. Once he starts selling the coke, he gets hooked on the stuff and alienates those who get in his way. Robert Loggia was impressive as Frank, one of Tony's partners whom eventually goes by the wayside as well as Frank's and eventually Tony's wife Elvira(played by Michelle Pfeiffer whom would go on to huge success as an actress of her own right) when she leaves him after a confrontation and of course his sister Gina(played by Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio whom would go on to play Tom Cruise's girlfriend in The Color of Money). Al's portrayal of Montana is a classic role. I know this is a drama but some of the quotes he came back with are akin to stand up comedy which will leave you in stitches. He refers to bad people as cockroaches, classic. This movie has lots of usage of the f word and profanities and violence but it beats any kind of film, like those lame Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill movies. This movie is one of my Top 5 movies of all time and is Hugely Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Paul Muni was Scarface., May 15 2004
This review is from: Scarface (2-Disc Anniversary Edition) (Widescreen) (DVD)
But the merit of de Palma is the updating, from booze market in Chicago, to drugs market in Florida, which should have sent some message to the people pretending to be 'in charge'. The sad thing is not many politicitians have yet understood (of course, I'm not talking about the ones who get their cut) that the 'Prohibition' Laws only succeeded in creating the Mafia economical power, and that anything "forbidden" has a very strong appeal for many who would not care very much for something they could find in Wal'Mart; and, even if they still wanted it then, freer and cheaper availability would make life a lot safer for those risking to be mugged and/or killed so they can help junkies to get cash for their dose: just ask people in Holland (where life is not more depraved than in Miami, but much safer).
For those who like History, 18th Amendment started not long before Mr. W. H. Hays took office in Hollywood, but finished much sooner: there was sure no shortage of stupidity in the ruling class at the time, and the results of their malfeasences are still effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, May 12 2004
This review is from: Scarface (2-Disc Anniversary Edition) (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie is the best movie I have ever seen! Al Pacino is the best. No other person could have played the role like good old Al Pacino-the king of gangster movies! He did it so well-He is my favorite actor! AL PACINO, YOU ROCK! AWESOME JOB! This is the best movie. It is a ganster movie about a Cuban immigrant's rise to the top of the cocaine industry. It is awesome, the 160+ F-bombs, the gun fights, the night clubs, the babes! This is the best gangster movie ever made, with the awesomist lines like "Say hello to my little friend!" and "You got that like in your eye, like you haven't been f***ed in a year!" and "You think you can take me?! You need a f***ing army you gonna take me, I'm Tony Montana! When you F*** with me, you're f***ing with the best!" This movie is awesome, I give it 10 stars, and two thumbs up. Once I finished watching it for the first time, I wanted to watch it again and again, especially the end gun scene! It is so awesome! Awesome movie! AL PACINO MADE THE MOVIE! AL PACINO, YOU ARE THE BEST!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scarface = Amazing, May 7 2004
This review is from: Scarface (2-Disc Anniversary Edition) (Widescreen) (DVD)
If anybody says that al pacino isn't one of the greats shouldn't be watching movies, Period.
The first time you watch this movie and the first scene with al pacino you feel his presence and i was in awe of the way he played the part of Tony Montana.
It is without a doubt an amazing story and a great job has been done by Francis Ford Coppola-esque director Brian De Palma.
In brief this is a story of when CUban dictator Fidel castro deported most of his criminals to america in boats which was thought by the states to be reuniniting families.
Cue the crime rate soaring and Tony montana, a small time cuban villain.
The film shows him start at the bottom of the bottom of the business and work his way up with his long time cuban accomplice Manalo Ray. Eventually he takes over the business even tho you could tell it was inevitable it was well thought out and shot.
But by far the best part of the film has to be the ending, i have never enjoyed the ending of a film before but i loved it, it also has the immortal line "say hello to my little friend!" which has been voted numerous time to be the best film quote ever.
All in all this one of the great gangster films ever produced along with The godfather and Goodfellas, this film is a MUST SEE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100% Classic, April 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Scarface (2-Disc Anniversary Edition) (Widescreen) (DVD)
"Scarface" is without a doubt one of the best movies of the past 25 years for many reasons. As seen in this special edition DVD, it pushed the envelope to the point of tearing it wide open. "Scarface" doesn't just succeed because of shock value, though; It's actually a very enthralling story because of the plot and because of the character created by screenwriter Oliver Stone and brought to life by Al Pacino in one of the most memorable performances ever in a movie. Its supporting characters and also the fact that it was based loosely on actual events further the film and serve to make it more real and gripping. The violence, drug abuse, profanity, and glitzy Miami setting all complete the film by showing the insane world that Tony Montana has created for himself.
The plot basically shows the rise and fall of Tony Montana from coming to America on a "Banana Boat" to eventually getting gunned down in his mansion. Along the way, he lives the American dream by buying nice material possesions and getting a trophy wife who is more trouble than she's worth. Despite the serious subject matter of the film, there is plenty of levity in Pacino's performance and in his now famous one liners. "Scarface" proves to be a captivating and shocking journey through one man's vision of the American dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scarface (2-Disc Anniversary Edition) (Widescreen)
CDN$ 22.99 CDN$ 13.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews