Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars225
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews(4 star).Show all reviews
on June 11, 2015
A little scratched due to DVD moving around inside but plays fine.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2015
It's like Grand Theft Auto: Vice City: The Movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2014
A classic
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 17, 2004
No matter what anybody says, this has to be one of the ten best gangster movies ever made, if not in the top three. If you are a fan of this genre, Scarface is a gourmet banquet of acting, action, dialogue and intensity. And if you don't enjoy this, all I can say is I'm sorry that you're missing out. The only reason I don't give this movie 5 stars is that I don't know what to make of Giorgio Moroder's cheesy sythn soundtrack and disco tunes. If you think in the context of the movie, that 80's Cuban drug dealers might like listening to really bad disco music ("...Rush, rush to the yeyo") then this music works in the confines of the Babylon nightclub along with the bad hair, clothes, Belzer's lousy comedy and the mime. But these songs, if they had to stand on their own outside the movie, would be totally ignored. I wonder if Deborah Harry ( then at the height of fame with her band Blondie) knew when she laid down the vocals for Moroder's muzak that this song was designed as junk to suit the movie or if she thought this might boost her singing career. If you account for the disco muzak as necessary "set dressing" for the Babylon it still doesn't excuse Moroder's cheesy synth soundtrack. How much better this movie could have been if it was scored by an accomplished orchestral composer such as Morricone or Williams. If you want more proof of Moroder's shortcomings check out the soundtrack of Metropolis.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 29, 2004
Five stars for Pacino's performance, three stars for the plot, it's just not very realistic. Pacino's Tony Montana carries this movie and makes it watchable over and over again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2004
why do they need to waste space on the dvd for whatever todays biggest hiphop stars think about this movie? Think is a joke of course, because, all they care to talk about is how Tony Montana came "from nuthin' man", and, "he's like me", "I'm Scarface nigga". Uh, yeah sure. Don't watch it, it'll only make you pissed. But if you find the producer of this dvd, make sure you smack him in the head for that terrible blunder.
The other extra is pretty funny. Its a look at the tv eidited versions of Scarface. Too funny. "Now we sittin' in Bently's man, yeah"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2004
If anybody says that al pacino isn't one of the greats shouldn't be watching movies, Period.
The first time you watch this movie and the first scene with al pacino you feel his presence and i was in awe of the way he played the part of Tony Montana.
It is without a doubt an amazing story and a great job has been done by Francis Ford Coppola-esque director Brian De Palma.
In brief this is a story of when CUban dictator Fidel castro deported most of his criminals to america in boats which was thought by the states to be reuniniting families.
Cue the crime rate soaring and Tony montana, a small time cuban villain.
The film shows him start at the bottom of the bottom of the business and work his way up with his long time cuban accomplice Manalo Ray. Eventually he takes over the business even tho you could tell it was inevitable it was well thought out and shot.
But by far the best part of the film has to be the ending, i have never enjoyed the ending of a film before but i loved it, it also has the immortal line "say hello to my little friend!" which has been voted numerous time to be the best film quote ever.
All in all this one of the great gangster films ever produced along with The godfather and Goodfellas, this film is a MUST SEE!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2004
Name is Scaarface
Direcoter: ?
Actors: Al Pacino
Scarface was a man who almost everyone knew and if he did not like you or if you got on his bad side or did something to someone in his family he would kill you. Scarface was a man you who would never want to get on the bad side ofor tell something to inportant to you Scarface was someone no one could mess with because he always had to be on the top..
There were to many drugs in this move and every 2 seconds they where doing drugs but after all it was a good movie it kept you interested because you never knew what was going on so it kept you watching it.
The acting of Scarface was really good. it looked very real
all the people that played in Scarface were great.
The soundtrack was really good, they played the right music at the right time which made the movie.
My personal opinion about seeing this flim is I would watch it asain and I would recommendat this flim beacuse it was funny and it kept me and others very interested and wanting to keep watching to find out what going to happen to Scarface...........
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2004
The movie " Scarface" is derected by Brian De Palma. Scarfase is about a Cuban refugee who builds a powerful cocaine empire throudh a ruthless reign of ultra violence and business savvy.The main character in this film is Tony Montana who believes that "first you get the money, then you get the power and then you get the woman". In the end it all goes up in a hell of bullets and hallfire: Tony Montana was a man so obsessed with the American dream, that he did not realize it had consumed him in every way possible.
The film "Scarface " was very interesting but on the other hand it was scary to watch because there were a lot of actions that involved killing,robbing and a lot of money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2004
This movie is really good but I think it gets a bit to much hype. I know that the movie Blow is a lot more recent of a movie but it's a lot better I think. If you like these kind of movies blow is knid of the same think, but not as violent. So I guess Scareface is a bit different then Blow. Scareface is great considering it is an old film I just can't believe all the hype that is still around it. It's obviously worth owning I myself own it. Check it out it IS a good film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Casino (Anniversary Edition) (Bilingual)
Casino (Anniversary Edition) (Bilingual) by Robert De Niro (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 8.88

GoodFellas (Bilingual) [Import]
GoodFellas (Bilingual) [Import] by Robert De Niro (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 7.89