Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Album and Vote Bush Out of Office
Where to start? I rarely give anything a 5-star rating -- unlike most of the 12-year-olds who review albums on Amazon -- but Metric's 'Old World Underground' was easily one of the best albums of 2003. That goes for rock, hip hop, country, opera, it's THAT GROOVY. So here goes:
Metric's a four-piece outfit that's not British but musically can best be plugged into...
Published on June 16 2004 by Thomas D. Moore

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Snort.
Initially I loved this album, it has clever lyrics, and with the involvement with Broken Social Scene, whats not to love? I'll tell you: after an emotionless and motionless stage show by a twitchy, cracked-out lead singer, the album now gives me the creeps. I find it tasteless. But due to my initial love and dance a thon, I can't bear to give this album less than 3/5...
Published on June 10 2004 by kortnay


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Album and Vote Bush Out of Office, June 16 2004
By 
Thomas D. Moore "Tommy Moore" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Where to start? I rarely give anything a 5-star rating -- unlike most of the 12-year-olds who review albums on Amazon -- but Metric's 'Old World Underground' was easily one of the best albums of 2003. That goes for rock, hip hop, country, opera, it's THAT GROOVY. So here goes:
Metric's a four-piece outfit that's not British but musically can best be plugged into the new wave genre -- although the keyboard doesn't drive the band, save for ferocious climaxes in songs like "IOU" and "Hustle Rose." Nope, Metric actually has a pretty good guitarist whose style can best be described as 'riffy' -- not too complicated but incredibly infecting. Plus they have a real bassist and drummer, so there's no cheesy 80s-style machine pounding out the beats.
The vocalist/keyboardist is an incredibly cool woman whose name escapes me, I've seen 'em twice at the 9.30 Club here in Washington and she's worth the price of admission. As stated above, her keyboards complement a rock band, and if you absolutely must know they're not Black Sabbath, which I love just as much as the next guy.
No, their sound is totally wild -- 'IOU' is a punk-themed ode to the stupidity of bombing children, see the rocking chorus (every ten-year-old enemy soldier thinks falling bombs are shooting stars sometimes, but she doesn't wish on them ...); 'Hustle Rose,' the next song, is the classic new-wave synth-style tune about ringing the virtues of commercialism; "Succexy" is a blend of synth and rock chiding the public for sitting around and doing nothing while Dubya and his minions lead us into foreign policy disaster after disaster (all we do is talk and split screens while the homeland plans enemies). The tune most likely to make it big on college radio is 'Dead Disco' -- a ROCKING nod to the fact nobody makes original music anymore -- YOU'VE GOT TO HEAR IT.
Hopefully I've painted a decent picture of what you can expect to hear after you buy this album. Please do so, for every Metric there's 200 crappy bands out there (the Darkness) getting fat and happy off MTV or whomever the man is these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fresh and so clean clean, March 3 2004
Well i just got this cd and have to say they have a pretty fresh sound. Definitely more pop than indie, they are certainly classified as an indie band...reminding me of a more electronic 'that dog' mixed with 'the anniversary'. I did read a review that said the songs were too simplistic, but i dont think being simple is a bad thing, especially when they are catchy simplistic! The lead singer has a craft at using her voice to achieve wonderful melodies, girlish at times, mature and rich at others, and then dark and almost reminiscent of a female interpol at others. the variety in her voice adds to the 'simplicity' of their music, and at any rate, the songs are damn catchy so who cares?! the only negative criticism i can give is that some of the songs, such as the slower ones, have the potential to be more intense and endearing, but then their potential is shortened by the ending riff of the guitar. It's a sad thing when you hear a song that is just starting to build up and in your head your singing harmonies and visualizing amazing guitar solos to come, and then the song ends. some of the songs have the potential to rise to a 'rainer maria' kind of intensity, when the lead singers voice grows and the music grows and you move to the edge of your seat in awe.
But all in all they do have a unique sound for a poppy indie band with a female lead singer (i rarely hear very good ones)...
enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fashion plate, April 21 2004
By 
This is a new hip anglophile band that has gained a following in Los Angeles. They were once part of the Williamsburg scene, and they also lived and worked in Toronto and the UK. Live, lead singer Emily Haines is the focus and she has these three other guys with her. She looks like a deranged Chloe Sevingy and does manic dances onstage. Metric is a pop, punk, electronic exploration. Haines writes clever, somewhat nerdy, self-conscious lyrics. Metric is influenced by new wave and Britpop. They are much like Catatonia or Cinnamon, or any girl fronted band that starts with a C for that matter. Fans of their music tend to like "Combat Baby" and "Dead Disco." They even have an anti-war song called "Succexy" which doesn't go all the way. Like Roxy Music, they have a rotating bass player. In one song, Haines says she "wants to paint it black." You only wish she would go there to those dark places more often. Maybe she is only a fashion icon for the moment?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For once the hype is not hyperbole, Nov. 30 2006
By 
Pberg (Ottawa, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Old World Underground, Where Are You Now? (Audio CD)
This is a great example of wicked contemporary Canadian music and how less can be so much more.

Great melodies and instrumentation, and E Haines has one of the purest, sexiest voices I've ever heard. Not a huge fan of the more synth oriented songs, but even they are way more original and better than anything you'll hear on the radio.

I can't say enough about songs like Succexy, IOU and The List... they are insanely catchy (that guitar riff in the "passive attraction" section is sick).

It's fascinating, this is the kind of band I usually detest, but I guess it's the combination of deceptively simple arrangements, great oblique lyrics, solid guitar/bass/drumming and that beguiling voice that does it for me everytime.

I think my gf is starting to regret ever introducing me to them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant absolutely brilliant, June 11 2004
By 
Dustin F. Johnson (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Remember that commerical for poloroid fortune telling pictures? The guy and the girl are all in the library and stuff? Come on you remember. Anyway, remember that kick ass song in the back ground? Well i fell in love with it, and went on this wide search to find out who this mysterious band was. The song was "Grow up and blow away" by Metric.
Unfortunately that song isn't on this cd. But this album is full of songs and music that are so full of uniqueness that i swear the band members must walk around creating slime trails of everything creative in the world. This is one of those cds that you just have to listen to over and over. I've owned it since the day it came out, and have since then bought around 400 new cds, and this is still a cd that i come back to.
Buy it. Do it. Trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars some good punk new wave, Feb. 29 2004
By 
this album was definitely a suprise. the singer is the same singer from stars and broken social scene. if you are familiar with those two, metric is totally different. the music is pretty punk at times. im talkin late ramones style, maybe some PIL, definitely a Blondie thing going on here. but the unmistakable trait of all of emily haines bands is the intricate songwriting skills of the musicians involved. there are lots of riff changes and different beats throughout each song. it gives the cd lots of replay value. this album is also very danceable. there is no doubt we will see more from these guys. their sound is just so catchy and emily has such a great voice. also keep your eyes peeled for stars and broken social scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Metric Kicks Ass, Jan. 20 2004
This is one of my favorite bands of the year -- maybe my favorite. The producer of the CD, however, didn't flatter Haines by any means on vocals. She has a very strong voice and this is seen to the greatest degree in her live performances. The simplicity of their music and the subtle "intertwineing of lines" (Spinal Tap) makes this music grow on you every time you listen to it and it is always fun to listen for each seperate line of the pieces instead of trying to decode the overplayed "wall of sound" that is being used by too many bands. All of these guys are A+ musicians (the guitarist actually was a trumpet major at Juliard!) and I can see them going very far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Infectious!, March 21 2004
I'm a big fan of bands with female vocalists, but Metric blew me away. From the beginning seconds of IOU, I was loving this band. The songs are damn catchy and extremely well written and polished. Emily's voice is so crisp and clear, she's truly a talent.
They carry a very 90's sound which isn't a bad thing by any means. I think the best comparison I could give this band is Joy Drop. However, its obvious that Metric is far more talented.
The best tracks on this album are "Combat Baby" and "Succexy"
I haven't seen this band live, but its obvious they carry a lot of energy.
This is definitly one of the best albums I've heard so far this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blew Me Away, and I Can't Stop Listening, Nov. 1 2004
By 
This album (and Emily Haine's striking voice) grab you from the start and don't let go. I can listen to it over and over and never get sick of it.
I can't describe Metric's genre and style, but it's very dynamic, layered, the lyrics are clever, the guitarists are talented and who doesn't love a rock band with a girl as the lead singer?
IOU, Hustle Rose, Succexy, Combat Baby, Wet Blanket and Dead Disco are all standout tracks. That's a significant portion of the songs. And each listen you'll find something new to love.
I've seen Emily live and she's fantastic, as are other unreleased songs from this band that should be discovered, just like this hidden gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Metric delivers an album worth paying attention to, May 19 2004
By 
Sam S. (Salt Lake City, UT USA) - See all my reviews
"Old World Underground, Where Are you Now?" is an exciting album with a style unlike anything else. It is an album which celebrates music and breathes new life into rock. I wouldn't hesitate a moment to purchase this album. From track one to ten the album is solid through and through. The vocals and keyboards of Emily Haines, the guitar of James Shaw and the drums of Joshua Winstead come together to form something wonderful. Paired with meaningful lyrics with some true substance, Metric is an aural delight. Metric's "Old World Underground" is an album worth paying attention to and definately worth purchasing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Old World Underground, Where Are You Now?
Old World Underground, Where Are You Now? by Metric (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews