march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars326
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on March 4, 2016
It's just a old blu-ray movie!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2016
Classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2016
Old favourite
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2014
This made an excellent present for my Mom for Christmas, she and I really like this movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2013
good comody, the best of the Vacation series. a movie i'll watch more than once. Not as funny as "Wanda", about as funny Grumpy Old Men
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2013
Christmas Vacation is a 1989 modern Christmas comedy film classic - the third of National Lampoon's Vacation film series - and was written by John Hughes, based on his short story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
We own this on DVD and it was 4:3. It was great to see it was 16:9 on the Blu-Ray. Plus the commentary is fun and the picture is better than on DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2012
Have loved this movie for years and this disc has excellent visual quality, but I was surprised it had a 2.0 soundtrack instead of 5.1. My bad, I should have checked the reviews better before I bought it. Will keep it anyway but would have preferred a a 5.1 soundtrack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon December 22, 2006
All too often, I have found the words "National Lampoon's" to be synonymous with "not funny," but National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation is actually a pretty entertaining film. Christmas at the Griswold's turns out just like you would expect it to, with Clark (Chevy Chase) trying to persevere in the face of one disaster after another. With the whole family coming over, he wants everything to be perfect -- from the Christmas tree he finds and cuts down (er, digs up) himself to the thousands of lights he staples all over the house. He's not completely stupid, though -- he knows his parents and his wife's parents are going to argue throughout the holidays, that his wife and kids aren't all that excited about sharing Christmas with the rest of the family, and that Aunt Bethany couldn't get back in the loop even if she knew where to find it, but he's determined to make this the best Christmas ever.

Of course, there are a few things Clarke wasn't counting on: countless problems getting all the decorations up and working, the unexpected arrival of cousin Eddie (Randy Quaid) and his backwater brood in their junky RV, or the unwelcome visits of the aptly-named Snots the dog and a special Christmas squirrel. Then, of course, there's the cat-related tragedy, the Christmas bonus bugaboo, and that whole police raid.

The filmmakers brought together a really good cast for this film. Beverly D'Angelo is Clarke's perfectly understanding wife, while Johnny Galecki and a young Juliette Lewis play the long-suffering Griswold kids. The in-laws include Doris Roberts and E.G. Marshall, while Randy Quaid is perfectly cast as crude cousin Eddie. You even have Julia Louis-Dreyfus as a neighborly victim of all the Griswold Christmas cheer and yet another SNL alum, Brian Doyle-Murray, as Clarke's boss at work. With John Hughes, who could almost do no wrong back in the 1980s providing the script, it makes for a pretty simple recipe for comedic success.

This movie never managed to make me laugh out loud, but it is consistently amusing and entertaining. It's not like you could pack any secret laughter bombs the audience would never see coming because the audience knows exactly what kind of slapstick humor to expect. Still, it's the simple things, such as Aunt Bethany's blessing of Christmas dinner, that prove to be the funniest. I might also add that the gross-out humor is kept to something of a minimum, thank goodness. I won't be making this film a part of my annual Christmas tradition by any means, but it's certainly worth one viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2004
INTRODUCTION:
National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation was the third film in the Vacation series of films. For many years, the first film has been hailed as a comedy classic, but this one gets plenty of praise as well. Is it one of the better entries in the series, or one of the weaker ones? Read on for my review.
BASIC PLOT:
The storyline of the film goes something like this. The Griswalds are staying home for Christmas, and their non-immediate family members are coming to stay with them for the holidays - including cousin Eddie and his family. Yes, believe it or not, this is a Vacation film that doesn't involve the Griswalds traveling! Soon enough Clark Griswald finds himself dealing with both an ungrateful boss, as well as his entire family - which more than has their share of problems.
FILM OPINIONS:
This film is a masterpiece. I'm even going to go so far as to say this film is as good as the original Vacation. The acting, once again, is great. Like any entry in the Vacation series, you've got to see this one to appreciate it.
DVD:
The DVD is severely lacking as far as extras go despite the "special edition" tag. We get commentary and trailers, and that's about it. There's really not much other than these things, things that every DVD should have. It's the lack of extras that cost this film half a star, not the film quality itself. Still, the actual film is good, and it makes up for this.
OVERALL:
Overall this film is a comedy masterpiece - and don't you dare deny it! If you want to laugh, pick it up. You'll be glad you did.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse