Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars295
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews(4 star).Show all reviews
on May 19, 2014
This made an excellent present for my Mom for Christmas, she and I really like this movie
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 16, 2013
good comody, the best of the Vacation series. a movie i'll watch more than once. Not as funny as "Wanda", about as funny Grumpy Old Men
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2013
Christmas Vacation is a 1989 modern Christmas comedy film classic - the third of National Lampoon's Vacation film series - and was written by John Hughes, based on his short story
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
We own this on DVD and it was 4:3. It was great to see it was 16:9 on the Blu-Ray. Plus the commentary is fun and the picture is better than on DVD
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2012
Have loved this movie for years and this disc has excellent visual quality, but I was surprised it had a 2.0 soundtrack instead of 5.1. My bad, I should have checked the reviews better before I bought it. Will keep it anyway but would have preferred a a 5.1 soundtrack.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon December 22, 2006
All too often, I have found the words "National Lampoon's" to be synonymous with "not funny," but National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation is actually a pretty entertaining film. Christmas at the Griswold's turns out just like you would expect it to, with Clark (Chevy Chase) trying to persevere in the face of one disaster after another. With the whole family coming over, he wants everything to be perfect -- from the Christmas tree he finds and cuts down (er, digs up) himself to the thousands of lights he staples all over the house. He's not completely stupid, though -- he knows his parents and his wife's parents are going to argue throughout the holidays, that his wife and kids aren't all that excited about sharing Christmas with the rest of the family, and that Aunt Bethany couldn't get back in the loop even if she knew where to find it, but he's determined to make this the best Christmas ever.

Of course, there are a few things Clarke wasn't counting on: countless problems getting all the decorations up and working, the unexpected arrival of cousin Eddie (Randy Quaid) and his backwater brood in their junky RV, or the unwelcome visits of the aptly-named Snots the dog and a special Christmas squirrel. Then, of course, there's the cat-related tragedy, the Christmas bonus bugaboo, and that whole police raid.

The filmmakers brought together a really good cast for this film. Beverly D'Angelo is Clarke's perfectly understanding wife, while Johnny Galecki and a young Juliette Lewis play the long-suffering Griswold kids. The in-laws include Doris Roberts and E.G. Marshall, while Randy Quaid is perfectly cast as crude cousin Eddie. You even have Julia Louis-Dreyfus as a neighborly victim of all the Griswold Christmas cheer and yet another SNL alum, Brian Doyle-Murray, as Clarke's boss at work. With John Hughes, who could almost do no wrong back in the 1980s providing the script, it makes for a pretty simple recipe for comedic success.

This movie never managed to make me laugh out loud, but it is consistently amusing and entertaining. It's not like you could pack any secret laughter bombs the audience would never see coming because the audience knows exactly what kind of slapstick humor to expect. Still, it's the simple things, such as Aunt Bethany's blessing of Christmas dinner, that prove to be the funniest. I might also add that the gross-out humor is kept to something of a minimum, thank goodness. I won't be making this film a part of my annual Christmas tradition by any means, but it's certainly worth one viewing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on April 14, 2004
National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation was the third film in the Vacation series of films. For many years, the first film has been hailed as a comedy classic, but this one gets plenty of praise as well. Is it one of the better entries in the series, or one of the weaker ones? Read on for my review.
The storyline of the film goes something like this. The Griswalds are staying home for Christmas, and their non-immediate family members are coming to stay with them for the holidays - including cousin Eddie and his family. Yes, believe it or not, this is a Vacation film that doesn't involve the Griswalds traveling! Soon enough Clark Griswald finds himself dealing with both an ungrateful boss, as well as his entire family - which more than has their share of problems.
This film is a masterpiece. I'm even going to go so far as to say this film is as good as the original Vacation. The acting, once again, is great. Like any entry in the Vacation series, you've got to see this one to appreciate it.
The DVD is severely lacking as far as extras go despite the "special edition" tag. We get commentary and trailers, and that's about it. There's really not much other than these things, things that every DVD should have. It's the lack of extras that cost this film half a star, not the film quality itself. Still, the actual film is good, and it makes up for this.
Overall this film is a comedy masterpiece - and don't you dare deny it! If you want to laugh, pick it up. You'll be glad you did.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2003
"National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation" is one of those real gems -- you get one every five or ten years, a Christmas movie that defines that moment in time and becomes a holiday favorite like "It's a Wonderful Life," "Miracle on 34th Street" and "A Christms Story" before it. Chevy Chase and Beverly D'Angelo reprise their roles from the previous two "Vacation" movies and decide this time to stay home and have an old-fashioned family Christmas. This would not be the Griswold family, of course, if everything didn't go wrong.
The only thing disappointing about this DVD set is that Warner Brothers has the nerve to label it a "Special Edition." While it's certainly a step up from the barebones fullscreen DVD released a couple of years ago, there's still not much here. The only special features are the trailer and a commentary track that doesn't even include Chevy Chase. (C'mon, what's he got to do these days that he's too busy to record a commentary?) This would be an okay DVD release, but it's certainly not "special." Still, it's likely to be the best we'll get, and since I avoided the previous release, I picked this one up because I do love the movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2003
OK, I admit I was forced to watch it, but found myself enjoying it anyway. Chevy Chase is back once more, and from the previous ones I've seen, it's the most disappointing. There are a few funny moments, but they were predictable. How many times can you watch someone stapling Christmas lights (talk about going overboard with THOSE!) without knowing they're going to attach themselves to the roof, and then fall off the ladder? Having the dreaded family over makes me wish I'm not going anywhere this Christmas! You've got all the worst family members you can possibly imagine ... and then add some! The mum is at her best in this film, and the children are Juliette Lewis is an early role, but still looking & sounding the same, and the guy who later got a fish hook through the neck in I Know What You Did Last Summer. This isn't my fave National Lampoon Movie/Vacation movie. But it's a great movie to watch at this time of year - even though I keep complaining that I'm watching Christmas movies in the middle of November, and I want it to be Christmas NOW!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2003
The National Lampoon's Vacation films have had somewhat of a spotty track record over the years. And while the first film in the series is my favorite, Christmas Vacation comes in a very close second.
Clark Griswold (Chevy Chase) is determined to make this year's holiday "the most fun filled family Christmas ever". With his loving wife Ellen, (Beverly D'Angelo), and their two kids, Audrey (Juliette Lewis) and "Rusty" (Johnny Galecki) around him, how can things go wrong? As is the norm with the Griswold family--plenty.
Directed by Jermemiah Chechik, with a script penned by John Hughes, the film makes you forget the lopsided Eurpean and dreadful Vegas Vacations really quickly. Chase is in top form this time as always hapless Clark. His scenes on the roof setting up decorations gets me every time, The slapstick he does here reminds me of his SNL days. He also has good on screen chemistry with D'Angelo. Before she became a sought after film star, Lewis makes quite an impression here, as does future Roseanne star Galecki. The pair make great replacements for the "kids" in the first 2 films. Without a doubt though, actor Randy Quaid as smarmy Cousin Eddie, is the movie's secret ingredient. He is pitch perfect in his finest comedic role to date.
The "Special Edition" version of the DVD boasts a solid feature length audio commentary with Quaid, D'Angelo, Galecki, fellow cast member Miriam Flynn, Chechik and Producer Matty Simmons. As you might have figured Quaid provides some great sound bytes for the commentary track too. I have say though, that I wish Chase could have been on the track somehow--It just doesn't seem the same without him. Other than the theatrical trailer, there are no more extras on the disc. Some deleted material or a blooper reel would have made the Special Edition more Special
I am pretty cynical when it comes to Christmas films and the holidays in general (which explains why I chose to review this DVD around Holloween). I can't stand anything too sappy or overwrougt with melodrama. Chrstmas Vacation steers pretty clear of that kind of stuff and goes for the laughs instead. Recommended
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Elf (Le Lutin)
Elf (Le Lutin) by Will Ferrell (DVD - 2015)
CDN$ 6.88