Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent show that I am glad to finally own a part of.
Space Ghost Coast To Coast aired on the Cartoon Network in 1994, and the concept was simple, yet brilliant. Space Ghost is the host of his own talk show, with classic enemies Moltar and Zorak helping out. I have been watching this show on and off ever since the beginning because it is simply hilarious, and a perfect parody of those annoying talk shows we all hate anyways...
Published on June 19 2004 by J. Hayes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It wasn't that great
Nobody really needs to buy this unless there obsessed with the show already. I bought it because it was recommended for Aqua Teen Hunger Force fans. It's really nothing like ATHF. I didn't find anything funny on almost every episode. Only 5 episodes were funny to me but all the other ones were boring. You don't need to spend your money on this. I will never watch this...
Published on July 19 2004 by MMAfan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars SGC2C Brilliant, Dec 2 2003
By 
CarD (California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Space Ghost Coast to Coast Volume 1 (DVD)
Space Ghost Coast to Coast..... What else is there to say? This show is one of the best on television. It began in 1997, and wasn't aired for a couple of years, until Cartoon Network began Adult Swim. Space Ghost is the footstone of that block of shows, and is a classic comedy. It's a washed superhero who was given one more chance, a talk showw in space. Along with Zorak and Moltar, Space ghost interviews his guests who are viewed through a T.V. screen. He is totally unaware, and many times does't even know who his guests are (which causes him to improvise, like asking, "Are you a leprechan?") The entire show is made of old clips of the '60's cartoon, which means you will see the same animation of the characters over and over, but that doesn't slow the show down. If you are asking yourself if this is worth buying, let me tell you, you will fall in love with this show after the first episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SGC2C - "We put the SG in MSG!", Dec 2 2003
By 
Thorin Teague (Holt, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Space Ghost Coast to Coast Volume 1 (DVD)
This show rocks.
A talkshow hosted by a washed up superhero, Space Ghost, with his arch-enemy Zorak on keyboards, and his other arch-enemy Moltar as director. And needless to say, hilarity ensues when they bring in their "guests" (who are usually real but sometimes stock interview footage is used--these are even funnier!) I don't laugh until it hurts much, but Space Ghost often brings me to that point.
The "jokes" in this cartoon are not exactly punchline-jokes, it's just about the absurdity of it all. Space Ghost is totally clueless and always treats his guests disrespectfully.
Don't be fooled by all those imitators on Adult Swim. Like Hidden Valley Ranch dressing, Space Ghost Coast to Coast is "The Original And Best!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a good show, this is a clean show, Nov. 14 2003
By 
John K (Lexington, KY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Space Ghost Coast to Coast Volume 1 (DVD)
This is a GOOD CLEAN SHOW! There is not another comedy on this planet that has made me laugh as hard as this show has. The first season is great, but then again, they are all great. For those that like off-the-wall humor, this show is for you. EVery now and then the guest stars, usually well known actors or musicians on a decline in their career, get a stab or two from the crudely animated muscle head known as Space Ghost. If that is not enough, there are two other characters in the show, Zorak and Moltar. They were originally enemies of Space Ghost in the 60's cartoon, but now they are his slaves providing direction and musical accompaniment.
Move aside Leno, Letterman, and O'Brien. You have been outdone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Space Ghost - Well worth it, March 17 2004
By 
S. Noons "Kjb" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Space Ghost Coast to Coast Volume 1 (DVD)
Space Ghost is excellent. It manages to be both funny and subversive without sinking into preachy "weirder than you" comedy and insider jokes. The only reason I didn't give this very reasonably priced DVD 5 stars is the fact if you don't get it in the first 30 minutes, you'll probably never get it; however, this isn't usually the something you'll stumble across without having seen a few episodes. If you like Space Ghost (and his untrustworthy sidekicks) you'll like this. The celebritites he interviews don't seem to get the joke and that makes this even better.
Funny, Insightful and unappreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest and classiest "talk show" recently on TV.., Nov. 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Space Ghost Coast to Coast Volume 1 (DVD)
This show is great....seeing old tv stars from Gilligan's Isle, Batman and ChipS being interviewed by a campy-cartoon super-hero is fun...The funniest thing is when Zorak, during the Erik Estrata interview, justs starts yelling--"may the power of PONCH compell you!!!" A cartoon praying mantis with attitude, a super hero and a cartoon cameraman makes for clean humor, nostolgia and getting to see familiar faces on the tv is funny in my book---To me, this show certainly blows away any of those shameless, self-indulged reality-garbage tv---when in doubt, tune in to the CARTOON NETWORK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thank you...thank you jesus..., Sept. 24 2003
By 
Corky "glranttalo" (Emigrant, MT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Space Ghost Coast to Coast Volume 1 (DVD)
it's finally happened! space ghost, the best show on adult swim is coming to dvd! wait, actually that isn't much of an accomplishment. aside from the anime and futurama, the rest of adult swim pretty much reeks in my opinion. what is it so many people like about family guy? ugh. *ahem* anyways, space ghost. this is just a really funny show. it's got more great jokes than you can shake a giant sea monkey at, and the characters are awesome. this is simply one of the classics of cartoon network. buy now. or when it comes out. i think it was...november? ah whatever. just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Space Ghost Volume I is Excellent, Jan. 13 2004
By 
Daniel Grafton (Clemson, SC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Space Ghost Coast to Coast Volume 1 (DVD)
Space Ghost has been one of my favorite shows since the Cartoon Network began airing it. It's great how he "goes for the neck" of every guest and the interaction between Space Ghost, Zorack, and Moltar is hilarious. Although this DVD is a little light on special features, the five episodes with commentaries are great. It is like there are two episodes: the original and the producers doing a mystery science theatre on them. This is an excellent DVD. One word of caution: if you buy this without having seen Space Ghost before skip the first episode, it sucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great overall, not enough Brak., Nov. 28 2003
By 
This review is from: Space Ghost Coast to Coast Volume 1 (DVD)
This DVD is great. Funny show, overall enjoyable. The Episodes contained on this two disc set are:
ELEVATOR
SPANISH TRANSLATION
GILLIGAN
CHiPs
BOBCAT
PUNCH
BANJO
BATMANTIS
STORY BOOK HOUSE
GIRLIE SHOW
HUNGRY
FIRE DRILL
SLEEPER
JERK
URGES
EXPLODE
These are all hilarious, but brak barely appears in any of them. There aren't too many special features except for commentary on a few episodes and a hilarious version of jingle bells played by Zorak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing DVD, Dec 26 2003
By 
This review is from: Space Ghost Coast to Coast Volume 1 (DVD)
While Space Ghost Coast to Coast is a great show, this DVD is just plain disappointing. Missing are 6 episodes from the first two seasons. In my opinion, all of these ridiculous "Volume" DVDs should be boycotted by all fans. When you are a diehard fan of a show, you want all the episodes, not just some of them. Hold out on this DVD, perhaps Cartoon Network will release "Season" DVDs (the same thing happened with the "Friends" DVDs: came out with a volume, then seasons). This DVD is a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not very funny, Dec 25 2003
This review is from: Space Ghost Coast to Coast Volume 1 (DVD)
Based on some good reviews, recommendations, and what I think is a good premise, I purchased this DVD set without having seen much of it on TV. It's a good idea, but I guess you have to be on drugs to enjoy it as it's not that funny. If you want to buy an adult-oriented cartoon DVD set that is hilarious and has lots of replay value, buy The Family Guy DVDs instead.
Bottom line -- it's best to catch this show while it's playing on the Cartoon Network when you need to kill some time, otherwise it's not worth owning whatsoever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Space Ghost Coast to Coast Volume 1
Space Ghost Coast to Coast Volume 1 by George Lowe (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 34.98 CDN$ 19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews