Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn off your American network and watch this instead...
I think alot of Americans are turning to Britian for comedy these days. Between the advent of "reality tv"(If you'd like to call that load of bollocks reality) and censorship at an all time high, England's hysterical BBC has become a haven for SMART and INTELLIGENT Americans in search of witty and yet sometimes raunchy humor. Coupling has become my all-new favourite since...
Published on June 17 2004 by Richard Mahone

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as Good as First Season
It seems to me the writing in the 2nd season is a formulaic, "retro-fit" imitation of the first season. The scripts have gone from *creative* to *re-creative*, and much of the subtlety that made the first season so clever is gone.
For instance, a brilliant situation wherein Steve makes an emotional defense of men's desire to see "naked bottoms" to five bewildered...
Published on Nov. 3 2003 by Phil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn off your American network and watch this instead..., June 17 2004
By 
Richard Mahone (Baltimore, MD USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Second Season (DVD)
I think alot of Americans are turning to Britian for comedy these days. Between the advent of "reality tv"(If you'd like to call that load of bollocks reality) and censorship at an all time high, England's hysterical BBC has become a haven for SMART and INTELLIGENT Americans in search of witty and yet sometimes raunchy humor. Coupling has become my all-new favourite since ABFAB. So well written and performed by all concerned. Brilliant
(Jeff's most commonly used word)jokes and the most unreal sex farces you'll ever see!! All 3 seasons are so very worthy indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, even better DVD with special features, July 4 2004
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Second Season (DVD)
Plain and simple: Once you are able to ignore the canned laughter, this show is pure comic brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What situation comedy should be, June 23 2004
By 
C. Fox (New Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Second Season (DVD)
This series follows the mad antics of 6 thirtysomethings looking for love. It explores the temporary insanity people find themselves in when they are pursuing a long term relationship, or just looking to get laid. They do and say the craziest things when love (or sex) is on the line. This show illustrates just how crazy things can get in that pursuit. To make this completely plain, this show is just plain funny, because people are funny. This show taps into that human comedy better than any American "sitcom" ever has. The second season is, in my opinion the best of the best. It contains the episodes "The man with two legs" and "The end of the line". These are must sees of the coupling series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A modern comedy classic., June 2 2004
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Second Season (DVD)
Having watched and enjoyed Seasons One through Three of "Coupling," Season Two is my overall favorite. Steven Moffat's writing is strongest here, and some of the cast's finest performances came through during this season. Some of my favorite episodes include "My Dinner in Hell," "Her Best Friend's Bottom," "The Melty Man Cometh," "Jane & the Truth Snake" & "Naked." Richard Coyle is delightfully weird as Jeff, and Lou Gish is an absolute joy to watch as Julia, Jeff's new girlfriend. "The End of the Line" ends the season with a cliffhanger to be picked up at the beginning of Season Three. "Coupling" Season Two delivers 4 and a half hours of hilarious classic comedy, and is a definite must-own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Britcom, May 16 2004
By 
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Second Season (DVD)
Coupling Series One was everything you could want in a comedy show. It was funny, explicit, and you actually cared about the charcters. Coupling:Series 2 is no exception. It's just as funny,just as explicit and the added bonus of more episodes.
With over nine episodes, you definately get your money's worth on this DVD. The episodes are all funny and all have a great quirk.
Last season ended with Susan walking out on Jack. At the beginning of this series(British for season) Susan and Jack are back together and Jeff has a bit of a crush on a woman he has seen on the bus. The only problem is he has only seen her leg. When he finally does meet her, he make sthe mistake of telling her he only has one leg. Of course this leads to a halarious outcome and truly shows what Coupling is capable of. The rest of the episodes are funny and involve similar situations which truly make everyday relationships funny.
I HIGHLY recommend Coupling Season in addition to Series one because it's funny and original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better than Season One, March 16 2004
By 
Timothy Michael Resh (Roswell, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Second Season (DVD)
If you liked season one of Coupling, you will love season two. The situations are even more hilarious, the neuroses of the characters are more fully explored, and the viewer will laugh even harder. We get new "Jeff-isms," find out what is in Patrick's cupboard (closet to us Yankees), and watch Susan and Steve's relationship reach new depths of passion and absurdity.
There are two discs with a lot more episodes than season one, and the special features are vastly improved over season one. Can't wait for season three!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Growing, changing, Moving Forward, March 16 2004
By 
Kevin L. Nenstiel "omnivore" (Kearney, Nebraska) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Second Season (DVD)
If you're looking for a DVD that simply continues the first series of Coupling, sorry, this isn't it. This moves the story forward, creating more complications for the story arc, deepening the characters, telling us more about who these people are and where they come from. We find out more about Sally's insecurity, Jeff's libido, Steve and Susan's relationship, and more.
The DVD of the first series of Coupling was so short you could watch it all in one sitting. This isn't the case with the second series, which ran to nine episodes and doesn't even fit on one disk. You have to pace yourself with this one. But it's worth it, because each episode teaches us something new about our beloved characters and also gives us plenty of laughs.
The first two episodes, "The Man with Two Legs" and "My Dinner in Hell," really feel incomplete, like transitional episodes from the previous series. But beginning with the third and fourth episodes, a two-parter called "Her Best Friend's Bottom" and "The Melty Man Cometh," things get low-down, dirty, and more sophisticated. Episodes like "Naked" and "Jane and the Truth Snake," in which we learn a great deal about all six characters, and the structurally complex "End of the Line," are worth watching over and over.
One benefit to this DVD is that it contains commentary from writer Steven Moffett and various stars and production personnel. This allows us insight into the creation of this sophisticated comedy. This feature was lacking from the previous series DVD, and it's something I missed.
It's easy to see why the American version of this series failed. Like Monty Python and Doctor Who, it's such a quintessentially British show that Americanizing it could only ruin it. But after watching that Yankee turkey, now you can come over and watch this fine British songbird. I promise you, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST #2, Feb. 16 2004
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Second Season (DVD)
This is the best comedy on TV - anywhere in the world, not just the UK. But, COUPLING might be TOO British for the Yanks over here in the States to fully embrase. The tried to do a US version over here and it tanked, because they missed the wit of orginal even though they used the same scripts - it's all in the execution.
Forget buying FRIENDS on DVD - buy COUPLING. It's kind of a SEINFELD/FRIENDS fusion with British dry wit.
Where is SEASON 3?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Season, Feb. 9 2004
By 
Y. Cepeda "leogirl081082" (Miami, Fl) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Second Season (DVD)
I loved this season was better than the first i liked the man with two legs that is a funny episode and Jane's truth snake and My Dinner in Hell those were funny oh and when Jeff is turning 30 i can't wait till season 3 comes out in DVD. But the extras are ok comes with interviews and cast bios and commentary tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best sitcoms around., Jan. 30 2004
By 
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Second Season (DVD)
Coupling is one of my favorite sitcoms. Don't be put-off by the dopey American imitation. This is the real-deal. YES it is similar to Friends, but with a healthy does of Seinfeld added in.
The second season is the best currently available on DVD. It has the classic episode where Jeff unfortunately tells a woman he has an artificial leg. It also features appearances by Captain Subtext and The Melty Man.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa0936c)

This product

Coupling: Complete Second Season
Coupling: Complete Second Season by Martin Dennis (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 30.98 CDN$ 13.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews