Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Plaza Suite
Walter Mathau is simply wonderful in this one. That ugly "puss' of his never fails to make me laugh.

Roy Bartlett
Published 19 months ago by Alderson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tour-De-Force For Matthau!
What happens when you combine Neil Simon and Walter Matthau? You get this hilarious remake from a Neil Simon play! Matthau is just absolutely amazing to watch, going from one character to another! He proves his status as an "A" list actor. The story concerns Matthau playing three roles. Each just happens to be staying at the same room in the same hotel, at of...
Published on Sept. 20 2000 by Alex Udvary


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Plaza Suite, Dec 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plaza Suite (Bilingual) (DVD)
Walter Mathau is simply wonderful in this one. That ugly "puss' of his never fails to make me laugh.

Roy Bartlett
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Third Rate Simon, Feb. 21 2004
By 
Joseph Hart (Visalia, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plaza Suite (Bilingual) (DVD)
I am a big fan of Neil Simon (also Woody Allen and Mel Brooks). But I didn't like this movie when it came out, and I didn't like it yesterday. Walter Matthau is not so protean as these reviews would have it. He can be very funny, but he needs a good script to do it. The women shone. The first story was brutally painful. The whole skit and all but 2 or 3 jokes belonged to Maureen Stapleton. The second sketch was simply nothing. Two things made me laugh (I was supposed to laugh, wasn't I?). When Matthau to freshen Barbara Harris' vodka stinger pours straight vodka right out of the bottle into her glass, and when she asks him (he's a movie producer) whether Frank Sinatra is as generous as people say he is, and he answers that at one of his dinners Sinatra served large portions. The third story had a lot of good guffaws in it, but it alas was a one joke show, and after the snappy ending, I was left feeling let down. Finally, I thought the curtain calls at the end of the flick were pretentious, the movie wasn't that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tour-De-Force For Matthau!, Sept. 20 2000
By 
Alex Udvary (chicago, il United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Plaza Suite (VHS Tape)
What happens when you combine Neil Simon and Walter Matthau? You get this hilarious remake from a Neil Simon play! Matthau is just absolutely amazing to watch, going from one character to another! He proves his status as an "A" list actor. The story concerns Matthau playing three roles. Each just happens to be staying at the same room in the same hotel, at of course, separate times. And offers three different and unique stories for each situation. Of the three skits, I prefer the third sketch. Sure, many say the first one is better, but it's more sentimental then the three, which is exactly what it's suppose to be. But the reason I chose the third one is because, it's simply the funniest of the three. And when I watch a Neil Simon film, I expect pleny of laughs. And the third one offers them. Wonderful performances by all the supporting women. Many think Mauren Stapleton was the best off all three, she was in the "first act", playing Matthau's wife, who learns something terrible about her husband. And no, I'm not going to tell you. Barbara Harris is quite good in her performances as Murie Tate, Matthau's ex-wife, whom he calls over to his hotel room for some "fun", is you know what I mean. And last but not least, we have Lee Grant and Matthau play Mr. and Mrs. Hubley, who are having a hell of a time trying to get their daughter, who is having second doubts about the marriage, out of their hotel bathroom, so she can make her wedding! Unbelieveable chaos insues, and is a pure delight to watch. Unfortunatley Matthau wasn't even nominated for an Oscar for Best Actor, what proves, that the Academy always makes some sort of mistake. Plus, the screenplay written by Simon wasn't up for Best Adapted Screenplay. One of Simon's best! If you enjoy this movie other Matthau & Simon films are: "The Odd Couple 1& 2", and "California Suite".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Three Great Pieces, Aug. 9 2000
By 
Ventura Angelo (Brescia, Lombardia Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plaza Suite (VHS Tape)
I think Walter Matthau is the absolute greatest comic actor of all times,and Neil Simons the playwriter just suited for him.The first piece is comparable to Pinter's plays.I admit I've hated seeing good Walter play so despicable a charachter,so phoney,devious,unfeeling,arid and shallow.But he plays it so well that I forgive him,and Neil Simon .The second picece made me admire the way the extenuated ,cunning actor plays her way into the heart of his old friend.The third piece is pure laughter,yet one cannot but think that the delusions of marriage shown in the former pieces are an anticipation and premonition of the fears of the third couple's daughter. What if she and his laconic husband end up as the first couple?Will they ever prevent it..?This movie makes you laugh first,then makes you wonder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wit at its best, July 3 2000
This review is from: Plaza Suite (VHS Tape)
great acting by walthar mattau(too bad he's dead now), really intelligent script. the audience has a very real feeling that he/she is a voyeur and somehow it helps make the movie even cleverer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF NEIL SIMON'S BEST, June 26 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Plaza Suite (VHS Tape)
Walter Matthau brings out the characters of Sam Nash (a cheating business-man), Jessie Kiplinger (Hollywood producer/womanizer), and Roy Hubley (a hotheaded husband and father). Walter Matthau did such an awesome job in the parts. Maureen Stapleton plays Karen Nash who is celebrating her anniversary at the plaza suite with Matthau and he goes out to have an affair with his secretary. Barbara Harris plays the charming Muriel Tate (who is married) who Matthau hasn't seen in years and is trying to seduce. And the lovely Lee Grant as the melodramatic mother along with her husband (Matthau) and they're soon-to-be married daughter has locked herself in the bathroom while the inlaws and guests are waiting downstairs in the Baroque Room. It is truly and enjoyable movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Neil Simon adaptation., July 21 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Plaza Suite (VHS Tape)
Very good acting and Neil Simon's talent for dialogue make this a good video choice. Matthau is enjoyable in his three roles in the three different stories in the one plaza suite that comprise this film. Dated (so what?)and worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plaza Suite (Bilingual)
Plaza Suite (Bilingual) by Arthur Hiller (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 39.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews