Customer Reviews


890 Reviews
5 star:
 (302)
4 star:
 (181)
3 star:
 (128)
2 star:
 (113)
1 star:
 (166)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good movie
i was just chilin out maxing relaxing shooting some b-ball with a couple freinds when thes men start making trobule in my neighorhood and my momma syas to ur aiunti and uncle in bell air when i whilsted for a cab i said yo hoe smell you later, i was finally ther to sit on my thrown as teh pricne of bel air.
Published on April 5 2004 by stevie123abc

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Say What?
If you disengage your brain you might enjoy Elrond of Rivendale by case attacking Neo in his Priest's get up, but by the time, you are skirting dangerous toward brain burnout! I have watched it several times, thinking maybe it was the mood I was in, but nope. Matrix was a mind-blowing one-trick-pony that just did not stretch into to a second movie well. There are a lot...
Published on July 9 2004 by Deborah MacGillivray


‹ Previous | 1 289 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good movie, April 5 2004
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (DVD)
i was just chilin out maxing relaxing shooting some b-ball with a couple freinds when thes men start making trobule in my neighorhood and my momma syas to ur aiunti and uncle in bell air when i whilsted for a cab i said yo hoe smell you later, i was finally ther to sit on my thrown as teh pricne of bel air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastique, June 8 2013
By 
madcat - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Une série de film qui vous plonge dans un imaginaire temporel incroyable et tellement imaginatif je les réécoute aux 2 ans sans jamais m en lasser
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Sci-fi carrying a powerful metaphor, Nov. 24 2007
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (DVD)
The Matrix Trilogy must be one of the most significant films of our time, and is likely to go down as an all time sci-fi classic along with the likes of Blade Runner. It is obviously laden with symbology fished from a variety of sources, but I wonder if the Watchowski brothers realised just exactly how powerful a metaphor for our reality they were creating.

The central premise that our lives are not 'real' but are steeped in illusion in order that our life force may be fed upon whilst we are enfenced unwittingly like cattle - this is a relevant and powerful message on many levels. It can easily be seen that this is true on a superficial level, with the rampant rise of ultra-aggressive capitalist consumerism, whereby everyone is 'sold a dream' in order to siphon off all income to profit the few, but it goes deeper than that, and can be used to catch a glimpse of some ideas on the true nature of reality. The overlap with material such as Castaneda is remarkable, with stories about the archetypal predator who is invisible, and feeds on us because he has 'given us his mind'. In all, it is a striking metaphor for the human condition.

Of course the great thing is that, even if you don't want to explore things to those levels, taken at surface value as a piece of entertainment, the Matrix is still a fantastic sci-fi/action trilogy, with colourful characters, awesome visuals, and a solid original plotline. Taken as a trilogy, this is a fantastic piece of film-making artwork, and the second episode seizes the now-established story and runs with it. The only let-down, as many have said, is that the second film ends abruptly and doesn't really stand up on its own as a self-contained entity - though it is always going to be difficult to be the 'middle' of a trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TOP movie on many levels!, Nov. 17 2007
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (DVD)
I know of friends who only saw the first Matrix movie and that is a shame, as all three parts of the trilogy belong together as the journey of Neo and the change that happens to him along the way. It is a fantastic job that has been done in keeping the quality at the top without descending into making B-grade follow up movies as is often the case with sequels.

It is a movie that can be seen on many levels. Some will see it just as a great action movie which it is, but there is so much more to this film. It is a fantastic depiction of the journey of the spiritual seeker and the difficulties that he encounters within himself as he starts pushing against the prisons of his own mind and the multitude of programs that operates and which keep us small.

It also neatly depicts the way humans are kept as 'food for the moon' in Gurdjieff's words or simply food for ultra terrestrials. In the film this is depicted as humans, being little less than cultivated biological batteries for the machines.

The story is part of a trilogy and all three parts are worth watching more than once, as you will undoubtedly see new things each time. Things that start making sense only after some time of reflection and reading. In this regard I can recommend reading the book by Ouspensky called "In Search of the Miraculous", and the book by Laura Knight-Jadczyk called "The Secret History of the World".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best action ever seen, but..., Sept. 6 2003
By 
Borjan Komarica (Zagreb, Croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (DVD)
Do sequels stink? Ah, that eternal question. And the only right answer is: yes, but there are exceptions to the rule.
Now, is the overhyped Matrix Reloaded worth the criticism and/or praise? There's not an easy answer, since it's in fact only half of the movie and depending on the Matrix Revolutions to lift it up there with the Back To The Future II or sink it to Speed II (which is why Speed III wasn't made).
Let's examine the evidence bit by bit and make a conclusion of the whole...
Story - good, although it could be a lot better. And those 15-20 minutes after the initial action, including the sex-scene and Zion dancers should've been cut. Thanks to the DVD chapter system, that will be avoidable now!
Characters - some small development here and there (Neo as Jesus, Morpheus' beliefs a minority), but nothing worth writing home about. Some new characters (Niobe, Architect) clearly haven't played their whole role yet. And if Merovingian doesn't appear in the Revolutions with a significant role to play, I will feel cheated - not because he's a wonderful character (he is not) - but because it'll be clear he was put there to "look cool and speak some french" and not serve any higher narrative purpose. Also, it'll be a shame not to see a little more of Monica Belluci...
Action - the best directed and choreographed action you've ever seen. Outdoes the original Matrix, which is a tall order by itself. Finale on the freeway is unbelievable!
Dialogue - Machines are keeping us alive, while blah, blah, blah... Cause and effect... blah, blah, blah... Pretty boring when you hear it twice, but it's the same for the original. The exception is "classic" dialogue between Neo and the Oracle, as well as the final dialogue between Neo and the Architect, which are the only dialogues worth watching - especially the Architect's one, since it redefines the whole movie including the original Matrix. You have to watch it very closely and a few times to really get it.
Humour - in very small doses, the same as in the original. Trinity's "excuse me" line in the toillette is the only really funny moment.
Music - standard techno, nu metal combination with a few atmosferical numbers. The original Matrix soundtrack is better, but this one serves purpose as well.
Direction - pretty pedestrian, except for the action sequences. That 15-20 minutes really kills the momentum after the initial action and also deprives the movie of five-star rating. "Bullet-time" and "frozen graphic moments" are still powerful tools, especially during the freeway chase...
Effects - see action and direction!
Sound - great! Can't wait to see it on DVD in 5.1 surround!
Coolness - anything happening inside the Matrix is very cool indeed, while everything happening in Zion is not cool at all. Of course, it's the sunglasses that do it, not the acting or anything else.
CONCLUSION OF A MOVIE AS A WHOLE:
Well, I couldn't put it any better than the "Empire UK" reviewers put it: "A five star experience, but not a five star movie." It is better than most sequels, and it achieves that with being only a first half of the movie. That's impressive!
But, should you buy this DVD? Of course! Because of the chapter system on your DVD, Matrix Reloaded will be even better to watch at home!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Say What?, July 9 2004
By 
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (DVD)
If you disengage your brain you might enjoy Elrond of Rivendale by case attacking Neo in his Priest's get up, but by the time, you are skirting dangerous toward brain burnout! I have watched it several times, thinking maybe it was the mood I was in, but nope. Matrix was a mind-blowing one-trick-pony that just did not stretch into to a second movie well. There are a lot of interesting scenes, but Neo aka up up and away, just brought a giggle out in me. The LONG action sequences make you want to go okay, enough! Less is More is NOT the banner of this movie! After Neo b**** slap's Elrond and his brother Elrond and his other brother Elrond 100 times it just redefines redundant. Then Neo reaching in to pull out the magic bullet...oh, please...sigh...and the religious overtones are so pretensious.
It was good to see Anthony Zerbe a long under rated talent get a nice spot. The effect are good, just overdone ad nauseoum. Elrond take the ship to into the West quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Keanu Reeves plays Buddha in black, Sept. 17 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Once again the graphics outstretched the story, and for this day and age the CGI did not exceed that of most movies. The continuing saga of the movie requires that you have seen the first one to get the proper background information. As with Keanu Reeves' portrayal of Siddhartha in "Little Buddha" (1994), this time a change of costume and he must deal with impermanence and the Vedic cycles. Super imposed on this gem of understanding is excessive action that would rival that of "Kung Pow! Enter the Fist" (2002).

Neo is supposed to be "The One" according to prophecy. According to Morpheus he is to lead the people out of bondage.

Is the oracle what she appears to be?

Will Neo, in the midst of endless kicking and shooting, go on to fulfill his destiny?

Or will the love of Trinity (Carrie-Anne Moss) interfere?

This story is not so comprehensive. It needs to be viewed as part of the series to make it worth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What I think, Oct. 30 2009
By 
M. N. Totten - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (DVD)
The product was exactly what I wanted and was in perfect condition. I recieved the DVD very quickly. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Film d'action et science fiction dans les dimensions de l'esprit, Sept. 25 2009
By 
I. Theoret "sardonyx" (Longueuil, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Détail: Les sentinelles sont partout. Smith se clone, Neo s'envole.. Mais un être élu doté de nouveaux pouvoirs stupéfiants ne suffira peut-être pas à stopper la progression des Machines.
Neo, Morpheus et Trinity sont de retour dans le percutant second volet de la trilogie La Matrice. De nouveaux alliés les accompagnent dans leur combat contre des ennemis clonés, perfectionnés et qui resserrent dangereusement leur étau sur la dernière enclave de l'humanité. Les frères Wachowski et le producteur Joel Silver dont eux aussi de retour afin de développer leur vision avec un spectacle qui à la fois remue vos sens, sonde votre coeur et forge le cinéma de demain.Qui a conçu la Matrice? les réponses débouchent sur un univers de possibilités infinies - et sur un destinée qui passe des révélations aux Révolutions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars random and incoherent, Feb. 23 2008
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (DVD)
this is the second movie in the Matrix saga.it chronicles the
continuing fight of the resistance to free humanity from continuing
enslavement from the machines which keep reality hidden from them.this
is not what i would call good movie.it is a collection of repetitive
and ridiculous unrealistic fight scenes,coupled with an incoherent
storyline.plus there a lot of "profound' sayings which aren't really
profound at all.then you have characters speaking in riddles which are
gibberish half the time.at time,i felt i was being preached a
philosophy lesson.the rating for this movie is pretty high on this
site(7/10)which astounds me.in my opinion,that is at least three stars
too many.My vote for The Matrix Reloaded is a 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 289 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Matrix Reloaded
The Matrix Reloaded by Lana Wachowski (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 9.93 CDN$ 7.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews