Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silent Night, Deadly Night Parts 1 & 2
SILENT NIGHT, DEADLY NIGHT (4 Stars) - A good 80's slasher film... I wasn't crazy about the restored scenes, as the film quality was quite bad. While some people would really appreciate those extra scenes, I think it would have been better without them - Or with the option to exclude/include them. Other than that, it's a good film that any horror/slasher fan will...
Published on Aug. 15 2008 by Summer_Nights

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well..umm..what can i say? Wait....i know!
Before i review this film, I really have to give it to ANCHOR BAY FILMS for bringing back all these hard to find 80's and early 90's horror films. No matter if you like or dislike the films that they distribute..you gotta give them credit, they care about their clients. (I'm not a spokesperson for the company
in case your wondering!)
Back to the film, well the...
Published on July 14 2004 by djsteviev@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silent Night, Deadly Night Parts 1 & 2, Aug. 15 2008
This review is from: Silent Night,Deadly Night 1 & (DVD)
SILENT NIGHT, DEADLY NIGHT (4 Stars) - A good 80's slasher film... I wasn't crazy about the restored scenes, as the film quality was quite bad. While some people would really appreciate those extra scenes, I think it would have been better without them - Or with the option to exclude/include them. Other than that, it's a good film that any horror/slasher fan will appreciate.

SILENT NIGHT, DEADLY NIGHT 2 (0 Stars) - Poor, poor, poor film. The first 40minutes are a recap of the previous events with 95% of the footage taken straight from the first movie... I had to fast forward through it. The next 35 minutes are boring. The movie finally picks up during the last 10 minutes, but by then it's too late... BTW, Mother Superior's home doesn't seem very wheel-chair accessible and the guy who played Ricky was a REALLY bad actor! (Also: This movie does not even pass for a comedy)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well..umm..what can i say? Wait....i know!, July 14 2004
By 
"djsteviev@hotmail.com" (MONTREAL, QUEBEC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Silent Night,Deadly Night 1 & (DVD)
Before i review this film, I really have to give it to ANCHOR BAY FILMS for bringing back all these hard to find 80's and early 90's horror films. No matter if you like or dislike the films that they distribute..you gotta give them credit, they care about their clients. (I'm not a spokesperson for the company
in case your wondering!)
Back to the film, well the good thing about this film is the price and that you get two movies instead of one, but the bad thing is that only the first one is watchable. The sequel is well...very boring and hard to get through without asking yourself "What the hell is going on?" and the acting is horrific, i felt the main actor was going to blurt out laughing
at some points in the movie. I guess it was just bad casting, but i don't think that even Russel Crowe could've made this script anymore more believable or watchable.(ok..maybe he could have but you get the point!)
So i give 3 stars on the first one and zero on the second,is it still worth it for that price..I SAY YES!! HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terrible movies... that are cheesy awesome fun!, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think these movies are terrible-- in a good way! If you like B movies step right up. Everyone else please carry on. The first movie is cheesy but it feels a little more like it is attempting to be a bit more serious in tone (not really though).

The second gets so ridiculous and doesn't take anything seriously...
So many people complain about how bad the 2nd one is. It IS bad, but personally I think its bad in an awesome way. I love how self aware the 2nd movie is. Ricky's "WHAT?!" reaction to plot of the movie he is seeing with his girlfriend is a perfect example. Then there's the famous line "GARBAGE DAY!!" How can you not laugh at that?

The second movie rehashes the best parts of the first one and then has its own ridiculous over the top moments that always make me laugh. Why watch just the first movie when you can watch the best parts of it with all the weird new stuff of the second movie? If only the 2nd movie existed exactly as it is without the first one, would people complain as much? The premise is so silly just sit back and have fun.

Neither movie is very good when watched alone, but lots of fun when watched in a group of people that are into bad movies with drinks in hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars silent night deadly night dvd, Feb. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fun christmas horror movie collection the second movie is not that great, they use a lot of scenes from the 1st movie wish is boring went you just saw it an hour ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Silent night deadly night, June 5 2004
This review is from: Silent Night,Deadly Night 1 & (DVD)
this is probably the most amazing movie ever. it has everything you could ask for: blood, drinking,(...) cheesy acting, santa claus, and of course orphans. The best part about it is there's 5 of them. There should be more movies like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Silent Night Deadly Night / Silent Night Deadly Night Part 2, June 3 2004
This review is from: Silent Night,Deadly Night 1 & (DVD)
Silent Night, Deadly Night
Silent Night, Deadly Night was just how I expected it to be.The soundtrack is cheesy yet effective at times.The acting is definetly not Oscar material but it's a horror movie so you can't really blame it.The characters are pretty cool; ecspecially Billy
(The Main Character).The dialogue is also fairly good.Finally the plot is exceptionally well thought out and written.It goes like this; A little boy witnesses the murder of his parents on Christmas Eve and now around Christmas he gets paranoid and has flashbacks.He is now around 18 and is ready to kill all the naughty boys and girls.I really enjoyed many parts of the movie.Many of the death scenes were creative.(SPOILERS)The arrow shooting, the one were the girl is shoved on the deer's horns, the decapitation with the boys are sleigh riding.I really think this is an above average 80's horror flick.I can see some reasons why people wanted to ban it from theaters, but come on there are much worse things on the silver screen than a killer santa.Make sure to check this one out around the holiday season.(7/10)
Silent Night, Deadly Night 2
Silent Night, Deadly Night - Pt. 2 is a toss up. It is hard to rate this movie.The first 40 minutes is basically flashbacks.The rest is kinda silly and ridiculous.Mother Superior's face has some how gotten all moldy and screwed up and they expect us to believe it is due to a stroke.Ricky is all old now and the movie is is just 3 years older than the predeccesor.The characters aren't really remorable; except for Ricky.The dialogue is stupid and dumb.The plot is fairly interesting though.Ricky has inherited the killing spree.He is now out to seek revenge on Mother Superior.I liked the character Ricky; he was extremely stupid at times or just funny.I also hated some of the killing scenes and how they showed some of the first movie in this one; it just seemed weird.I enjoyed how they told a little about Ricky's life after Saint Mary's school;though.Only watch this one if your a fan of the series.(5/10)
Though Part 2 isn't much more dignified than its predecessor, at the very least its isolated pleasures have a culminating effect."
Eric Henderson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You know what's really scary about this movie?, Jan. 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Silent Night,Deadly Night 1 & (DVD)
...it actually has a decent story for a slasher flick. Yes, I know hard to believe. Now normally I don't like slasher flicks but when SNDN came out years ago, with all of the bad press, I just had to see it. My buddies and I were not disappointed. This is simply, the goofyist slasher I've ever seen, except perhaps Army Of Darkness(of which there is no equal). But Army of Darkness was not a true slasher, while this is.
There are some classic scenes in this one, but my favorite is when the guy dressed up as Santa robs the store, shoots the guy behind the register, and goes out to his car only to find that he only got a few bucks from the store and expressed his dissatisfaction with his meager "take". There is also the antler scene, the box cutter scene, the sleding scene....heck, they are all good.
Listen up you primitive screwheads! If you liked Army Of Darkness you'll like this one too. (Naughty!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GARBAGE DAY!, Dec 3 2003
By 
Daniel Kepley (Viola, DE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silent Night,Deadly Night 1 & (DVD)
Ah, SILENT NIGHT DEADLY NIGHT, that little slasher movie that pissed off a lot of critics and PTA groups in half the nation (it was pulled before it reached the West Coast) since the killer was dressed as Santa. Incidentally, it's easy to see why it was so controviersial, <PUNISH!> since the story is told from the point-of-view of the killer and it focuses on the factors that cause his murderous rampage. <NAUGHTY!> Gee, didn't producer Ira Richard Barmak or TriStar Pictures learn anything from the brouhaha that surrounded MANIAC (an excellent movie)? Didn't they realize that <PUNISH!> any horror movie where the murderer is the main character and not just a plot device, especially when the movie involves a sacred holiday (it worked for the excellent BLACK CHRISTMAS), <NAUGHTY!> will incur the wrath of sensitive moviegoers? (Hello, parents, it WAS rated R anyway; kids wouldn't be able to see it anyway, although those TV spots must have been scary to unwary kids.) I guess they didn't, and God bless 'em for that! Anyway, this is the good stuff here; we get an uncut presentation (with deleted scenes from another source; as with DEEP RED-THE DIRECTOR'S CUT, once you get used to the switches in quality (DEEP RED's restored scenes were in Italian only), it's a great ride), plus a telephone interview with director Charles E. Sellier, Jr., who expresses interesting and thoughtful opinions of the film and the controversy surrounding it.
But I myself prefer the hilarious sequel <PUNISH!>, which seems to piss off all the horror purists out there, especially fans of the original. Hello! This is SUPPOSED to be a comedy (along the lines of EVIL DEAD 2, which came out in the same year), meaning NOT TO BE TAKEN SERIOUSLY! <NAUGHTY!> But anyway, I think that the editing of footage from the original was pretty cool at times, especially <PUNISH!> when it jumps from old scene to new scene. For example, when we see the scene where Mother Superior is belting Billy, it cuts between that and Ricky (Eric Freeman, who was awesome) recalling it (<Whip!> She <Whip!> was <Whip!> naughty.); I thought that was too cool. Among other things, the funniest scenes are when Ricky impales a loan shark on an umbrella and opens it, as well as Ricky's shooting spree (hence the title of this article). The commentary by the director/editor/writer, the other writer, and actor James Newman (the psychologist) enhances the humor of the movie; <NAUGHTY!> I laughed right along with them and I am glad they feel the same way that I, and a few other viewers, feel.
Anchor Bay did right by the fans of these two movies by putting them on a flipper disc. <PUNISH! NAUGHTY! PUNISH! NAUGHTY!> The supplemental material on both movies as mentioned above alone is worth the retail price! So don't be NAUGHTY!; go out and see these lost gems of the slasher wave, becasuse <PUNISH!> in the words of the grandfather in the first film, "Christmas Eve is the scariest damn night of the year!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch, Nov. 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Silent Night,Deadly Night 1 & (DVD)
The first one was pretty good. A boy witnesses something so horrible then gets sent to an orphanage where some insane nun punishes "sins" of innocent silly kids, yet she believes child abuse is perfectly acceptable. The boy grows up, becomes crazy, you've heard it. It was interesting and also fun to see how FAKE it all was. Santa gutting a girl on a mounted deer antlers? Yeah, like it could really support the weight of a human body.
The first movie was good but the second was absolutely unwatchable. The lead actor was terrible. Unconvincing, he acts like he doesn't like the doctor evaluating him, and he doesn't want to be there, yet he willingly chats on and on about everything, adding his smartypants facial expressions. FAKE!! Plus most of the movie was clips from Part 1, so it was a cheat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre films, Excellent DVD, Oct. 26 2003
By 
This review is from: Silent Night,Deadly Night 1 & (DVD)
It is so funny upon thinking about it that Silent Night, Deadly Night has gained such a reputation as being a film that is so gory, so offensive, that it was banned in many places for years. Honestly, the only reason the film was banned and the only reason parents had problems with the films was the fact that the TV commercials were making little kids terrified of Santa. This movie isn't any more gory or violent than it's holiday-themed predecessors such as Friday the 13th and Halloween. It's just that fact that it deals with such a "sacred subject" as Santa that upsets people.
Frankly both of these movies aren't even really that great. Anchor Bay has released the first film unrated with extra gore spliced in, making it the most complete edition ever released. I can honestly say that I did not find any of the added footage any more offensive or disturbing than the original. The fact that these films (especially the first one) take themselves so seriously is the most offensive thing of all.
Anchor Bay has released these films on a two-sided DVD and each movie has it's own small amount of special features, including trailers, interviews, and a commentary track. The video quality is decent on both films. The "uncut" footage that was spliced into the first film from a different print looks much rougher and more washed out than the rest of the film, however I did not find it too distracting. The mono audio is sufficient for what it is. No technical problems really.
If you are looking for a good holiday movie, buy "It's a Wonderful Life." If that's not available, get "Mr. Magoo's Christmas Carol." If Christmas cheer is what you are after, these are perfect. If you want to see a psycho in a Santa suit hack people up, get the Silent Night Deadly Night double feature. Just don't expect it to instill the Christmas spirit into your family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silent Night,Deadly Night 1 &
Silent Night,Deadly Night 1 & by Lee Harry (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 40.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews