Customer Reviews


188 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars good actors, good remake
A classic, good actors, good remake.
Published 9 days ago by Alibhay P Nassir

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment !
I will say that generally, it is a good entertainment. Norton is the nasty guy and he's cool in it. The plot and the acting are good and even if the end is very predictable, I will say that this movie is full of pressure and entertain perfectly. Good Job!
Don't expect a masterpiece after all.
Published on April 23 2004 by Guiglou


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars good actors, good remake, July 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A classic, good actors, good remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their perfect plan was met with an unplanned double-cross. Now it's time to get even and...RICH, May 18 2013
By 
Stephen Pletko "Uncle Stevie" (London, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
XXXXX

"I trust everyone -- I just don't trust the devil inside them."

The above is what seasoned thief John Bridger (Donald Sutherland) says to his protégé Charlie Croker (Mark Wahlberg) in this absorbing and fun heist movie (based loosely on the 1969 British movie of the same name).

Charlie heads a gang of thieves that help him with his jobs:

(1) Stella (Charlize Theron), a safecracker and daughter to John Bridger
(2) Steve (Edward Norton) who is not liked
(3) A computer geek who wants to be called "Napster" (Seth Green)
(4) "Handsome Rob" (Jason Statham), the gang's main wheelman
(5) "Left Ear" (Mos Def), explosives expert

For this particular job, Charlie acquires the talents of "Wrench" (Franky G) and the contacts of "Skinny Pete."

I also liked, what some say, are the real stars of this movie: the Austin mini-coopers. They are used at a key point in the heist.

The movie itself is, as I said, quite fun to watch especially if you like heist movies. I found that it held my attention with its action. (There was little CGI in this movie.)

The acting is quite good especially by Seth Green, Jason Statham, Edward Norton and Donald Sutherland. Mark Wahlberg is the straight man and mastermind in this movie.

Also, look for Spiderman and Ukranians in this movie.

The background music is also quite good. It adds to each scene.

Note that despite this movie's title, only a small part of it occurs in Italy (Venice). The majority of the action takes place in Los Angeles.

When the movie appears to end and the end credits start rolling, don't exit. This movie continues a bit into the end credits.

Finally, the DVD itself (Full Screen Edition released in 2003) has six extras. All of them are interesting.

In conclusion, if you like heist movies and escapism, then this is one movie you have to see!!

(2003; 1 hr 45 min excluding some end credits; full screen; 16 scenes)

<<Stephen PLETKO, London, Ontario, Canada>>

XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars copy cat, April 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good story, very good cast of actors. Jason, Mark & Charlize are great. Seen before but excellent movie to see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the italian job, April 15 2013
By 
G. Farrauto "mystery maven" (ontario, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
one of the funniest mysteries. have seen it 6 times. gotta love markie. it's a good, fun saturday night flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the italian job / boulot a l'italienne, Feb. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
recu en temps voulu
tres bonne qualite de film
et aucun bris dans le transport et recu tres vite
quand amazone on le film sa va tres vite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Father's Day Gift for Hubby, July 6 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this for DH for father's day. Although it's been on tv a lot, he's never seen the whole movie. Great service from Amazon with great shipping fees as I only ordered it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of British Culture, Oct. 24 2002
By 
Kevin Walker "firebook23" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a canadian That has lived in London England for a few years. I can say that this movie is one of the best to come off that island. Hey even sing the great escape song at football matches.
Michael Caine at his best ( And if your not a Michael Caine fan you will be after watching this movie). Also, the great car chase with three mini's and a very large bus.
If you are a fan of English Culture or you just want to watch a great movie buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced suspenseful action..., July 10 2004
This review is from: The Italian Job (Widescreen) (2003) (DVD)
Charlie Croker (Mark Wahlberg) has planned a gold heist with a group of professionals in Venice, Italy, that displays his sophisticated style without using violence. In order to accomplish the heist Croker has asked the old-timer John Bridger (Donald Sutherland) to help crack the safe in which the gold is located. They get safely away with a large amount of gold, however, Steve (Edward Norton) has decided to keep all the gold for himself and kill the rest of the group. Steve shoots John while the rest of the group escapes, but they decide on settling the score with Steve as they decide to take the gold back with the help of John's daughter Stella (Charlize Theron). The Italian Job is a fun and suspenseful action film with car chases and dubious schemes, which leaves the audience with a good cinematic experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 19 2014
By 
M. E. De Costa "mickey D" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Italian Job (Widescreen) (2003) (DVD)
item as discribed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really fun with a great cast, Jan. 2 2012
By 
David Sabine (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Italian Job (Widescreen) (2003) (DVD)
I have watched this a few times and it's engaging every time. This is more than just shoot-em-up action; it's clever! And Ms. Theron gorgeous or what?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Italian Job (Widescreen) (2003)
CDN$ 21.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews